Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 46 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Watched this again on Netflix last night. I didn't realise how long Data and LaForge spend in that Jeffries Tube!

Another one for the fans who would happily watch a whole hour of the crew roaming around, pressing buttons and having a drink at Ten Forward.

This reminds me of Twisted from Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Thu, May 16, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

At least we're not tearing ourselves to shreds over Game of Thrones too.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Star Trek's first 'Treehouse of Horror' episode. I'm sure this would have been followed up in Season 8.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 1:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

DS9 Worf wouldn't have let that happen.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I'm glad they all had their Maquis/Terran Rebel outfits ready to go.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

They could have beamed away from every dangerous situation except for that pesky ion storm, cave covered with strange minerals, system lock out, forgetting about the transporters on the shuttles, bad guy taking comm badges...
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Science Fiction TV recycles plot ideas and themes frequently (time travel paradox, evil twin, body switching, long lost parent/sibling, etc.)

I'm not saying this is a bad thing necessarily. You could make an argument that TOS did all the sci-fi plots back in the 60s.

The thing that I find annoying about Orville is that McFarlane and Braga seem to start with an episode of TNG they want to 'do'. They then re-write the TNG episode to fit the Orville setting and characters.

I find Orville reasonably watchable but I can't shake the feeling that I've seen it all before. I don't get that feeling when I watch Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Another TNG rip off. Second Chances explored this idea in a more interesting way and it was original in the 90s.

They did a good job of making Kelly look younger and the twist at the end was a nice idea - if it goes anywhere.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 5:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So the actress who plays Vina is Melissa George.

She is an Australian most famous for her role on the soap Home and Away.

The name of her character: Angel
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Hey, an original story!

Good boy Seth.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Another boring TNG knock off.

The premise and themes of this episode have been done to death.

Another edition from the pre-teen McFarlane fan fiction archives.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Another boring TNG knock off.

As soon as we caught sight of the aliens dressed as Nazis I knew the concentration camps weren't far away.

I'm glad we've all been able to experience the fan fiction McFarlane wrote when he was twelve.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Have to back up @Booming here.

It was definitely clear from the mini series that Boomer is a Cylon.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Get ready to duck Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

Oh dear. This movie is the product of 20 years of rewrites. It's clear that every time they started a new draft they kept one 'cool idea' from the previous version.

The best one for me was the idea that a ground war had been waged in Africa. This would have been a great premise for the entire movie.

Never mind.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Another great 3 star addition of Abrams Trek designed for a broader movie-going audience. As I said with regards to Into Darkness, this film series will bring some to discover the various TV series - the purest version of Trek. This has to be a win for the longevity of the franchise as a whole. Again, I dare to suggest that Gene would have been onboard with this reboot given that he was a producer and not a religious leader.

I have two small complaints about Beyond. Firstly, I think they need to tone the alien crew members down slightly. They are a bit too 'Jim Henson' for me. Secondly, why did Ambassador Spock's lock box have to say "Property of Ambassador Spock"? Another example of the film makers assuming the audience is stupid.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

3 stars - I agree. That is all.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, Feb 17, 2016, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Hi JC

I don't think this an error.

I think they are mimicking Odo's hair rather than Dr. Mora's. In 'The Search' I think they were trying to look similar to Odo to make him feel at ease and by default mimicked Mora.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Jul 18, 2015, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Disclaimer: I've only scanned through the comments above so sorry if this has already been discussed.

I revisited this episode yesterday after starting to watch the excellent Ch4/AMC series 'Humans'. A series about robotic servants who gain self awareness.

I thought Picard's arguments were excellent but I was interested to note that the judge only ruled that Data has the right to choose, not that he is a sentient life form. I'm scratching my head about a later episode of TNG that deals with this issue in more depth. Maybe someone can help me out?

I was also interested in one of Maddox' arguments that was largely ignored by the episode. That if data was a box on wheels with largely the same skills and ability to communicate would we be having this debate?

Are the crew motivated by the fact that Data looks like them and would they fight with the same zeal if data looked like the robot from Lost in Space?
Set Bookmark
Macca
Mon, Jul 13, 2015, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Was this episode the inspiration for 50 Shades of Grey?
Set Bookmark
Macca
Mon, Jul 13, 2015, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Best line ever in all of Star Trek:

Troi: "That brick may be an important clue"

Me: "Sheesh" (face palm)
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Dec 12, 2014, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Not sure if this has already been raised elsewhere.

When did the character of Jadzia Dax change to Terry Farrell playing herself?

I reckon it was the beginning of Season 3.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Todd,

A quick Google search will tell you that Star Trek XXX has already been produced. I don't think Jammer has reviewed it though.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Hi Jammer

The comment above probably needs to be deleted as inappropriate.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.