Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 104 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I like what was done with Arium in theory, but not in execution. I'm glad she got to be in the spotlight, but it feels kind of forced. I never got the sense that any of the Discovery crew were friends (outside of the main cast), so it feels kind of strange to have that be the focal point of an episode. It'd kinda be like if one of the characters from the TNG episode "Lower Decks" was Riker's best friend, even though they'd never been mentioned previously. And they really shouldn't have killed Arium off. That "emotional" ending didn't resonate with me at all, and it wasn't earned in the slightest.

Ethan Peck did a great job as Spock. I already think he's better than Zachary Quinto. I think he has really good chemistry with Michael, and I think their dynamic was surprisingly the best part of the episode. Besides Pike, at least, but that goes without saying.

Overall, not the worst episode of the show, but certainly nothing special. If the Spock/Michael stuff wasn't here, I'd say that this is a definite clunker, but because that stuff is so good, I think this episode just barely scrapes by with 2 stars out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I thought of something. I never ever want to see Captain Kirk or Dr. McCoy in this show. But if Kirk and McCoy were in the show, who would you guys want to see cast in the roles?
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Trent

Yeah, I agree with Cody B. You obviously like the show.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Booming

Yes, I agree going forward (especially a century) from TNG/DS9 would be VERY tricky and I understand why writers would want to avoid it at all costs, but I think there are still some things you could do scientifically before you get to the magic barrier. I was reading up on the Enterprise-J recently, and I heard what the creator had in mind when designing it was that it wasn't constructed, it was 3D printed, and therefore was capable of having a structure very different from ships we've seen before. I think that's a really neat idea that could be explored further.

This probably sounds silly, but I'd like to see Star Trek's interpretation of the Andromeda galaxy. Maybe every life form there is silicon based. Maybe some federation vessels get stuck with no way of coming home and have to remain in this new galaxy forever. Do they stick to their Federation ideals, or do they explore this new galaxy, or do they fight amongst each other?

Or on a different note, we could explore different dimensions, or travel between planes of existence (that last one is a little magical, I guess). I think there is a lot that can be done, honestly.

P.S. Personally, I thought Breaking Bad was beautifully done. I love the show, but I get that it's not for everybody. Outside of my father who already loves it, I can't get the rest of my family to watch it even if I pay them.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Booming

"@Mac
To be fair we always know that in the end all will be fine prequel or not. The Borg, the Dominion or whatever. We all knew that Star Trek Voyager, DS9 or TNG wouldn't end with 'and then the Dominion conquered earth and killed every Federation official' or the Borg assimilating the galaxy."

I absolutely agree with you, but The Original Series, The Animated Series, The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and even Enterprise were all made in a time where serialized storytelling in television wasn't as popular as it is now. Of course there are exceptions, but for the most part, the writers couldn't write cataclysmic scenarios that would change the characters and the world they live in forever because the characters had to remain relatively consistent for the next week's episode. New shows are free of those shackles. We're in a world where shows like Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones are the norm. Discovery could have done unexpected things and doomsday plots that break the universe if it were set after TNG, but by making the show take place before TOS, the writers have once again restricted themselves because everything HAS to be okay in the end.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Saru's Ganglia

Yes, there are ways to do something like that in a smart way, but I'd prefer we don't see it at all. Star Trek: Discovery is a prequel, so we know that the galaxy is gonna be just fine. So why include a plot like that at all? Unless the destruction of the galaxy that they're trying to stop will take place in the 26th century or something, but that wouldn't work because it wouldn't be a danger to these characters we're watching now. Either way, it doesn't work.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Once again, I really enjoyed the episode. This is the fifth episode in a row that I would have to call "great" (3 stars or above for me) and it marks 7 of 8 episodes this season that I would call "great." That's very high praise from me considering season one was incredibly rocky, and I only thought 3 episodes were on par with what season two is currently delivering.

I like almost everything on display here. I think Ethan Peck was great as Spock. I am very happy that the crew of Discovery is much more in the spotlight relative to season one. I like Detmer, Owosekun, and Arium a lot. The Talosians weren't demystified at all, as some were concerned about. I think that they were written perfectly, however, I do prefer their original design with the throbbing veins and what not, but I understand that design doesn't age well. I seem to enjoy Section 31 more than most. They don't bother me at all.

The only thing I didn't like isn't a flaw with the episode, it's a flaw with the season. I don't much care for an event that ends all sentient life in the galaxy. The "end of the world" threat is played out, and dumb. I've seen it a thousand times. I'm tired of it.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 5:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So the actress who plays Vina is Melissa George.

She is an Australian most famous for her role on the soap Home and Away.

The name of her character: Angel
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@ Hank

Beverly's ghost mate had been haunting her family since the 1600s, though.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@ Shannon

I don't really see it as breaking the Prime Directive at all. Isn't the Prime Directive only valid when applied to pre-warp capable societies? The Kelpiens are already familiar with warp drive and interstellar travel because the Ba'ul are capable of it. And I didn't view Pike's actions as wanting to cause the Kelpiens slaughter the Ba'ul, but to elevate the Kelpiens to an even playing field so the two species would work together.

That's how I took it, anyway.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@Cody B

I think it's after The Cage. Definitely before The Menagerie, though.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I really liked it. I'd probably give it 3.5 stars. The cinematography was very cool. Jammer predicted that the Spock reveal would ultimately be lackluster, but I thought they pulled it off very nicely. I'm excited to see the Talosians again, and oddly enough, I'm pretty excited to see Section 31 again. I thought it worked well in this episode. I liked how the bridge crew finally got some screentime. Anson Mount as Pike is really something special. He's only been in seven episodes, but he's legitimately one of my favorite characters in any Trek show. Ethan Peck did pretty well as a crazy Spock, and I look forward to seeing his proper Spock performance (hopefully) next week.

I really miss the captain's log, though. These melodramatic monologues are pretty generic, and I find them oddly out of place.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

POSSIBLE DISCOVERY SPOILERS AHEAD




What year was Pike irradiated? I thought it was 2258, which would make it a possible plot point of a future Discovery episode. Can anybody give me a solid answer for where and when Pike's disfigurement took place?
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@OmicronTheteDeltaPhi

"It's not a fair comparision mostly because you can't compare star-ratings across different shows like that. Jammer said that explicitly."

I know. That's why I said it was just for fun.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@ bonelocomotive

Just curious, what didn't you like about the pilot? I thought it was pretty good except for almost irreparably damaging Michael's character.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I'm super excited about season 3. I've found myself looking forward to Thursday every week since it came back. I really enjoy the show and have become attached to many of the characters. Something I forgot to mention about this episode is that even Burnham is kinda finally clicking with me.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@ Cody B

No problem. Happy to help.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@ bonelocotive

"I predict we're about due for Hitler/Nazi arguments (Godwin's Law) and religion/atheism arguments any time now."

Please don't give them ideas...
Set Bookmark
Mac
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Cody B

"I didn’t like Sisko going on about the unrealistic racism. Until now I don’t think race was ever mentioned (besides time travel into the past episodes). I preferred how it was never brought up as if in the future race is not even noticed. The captain is black. Why wouldn’t he be? No need to even speak of it."

"@ Booming

You missed my whole point. I’m talking about a fictional television show that takes place in the future. I’m talking about Sisko, not Avery brooks. The future is so advanced that human race is not even discussed. The fact that the captain was black was never talked about. It just is. Why wouldn’t he be black? In the future no one cares. It’s not even discussed. As for o’brien, his hate of cardassians was TNG not ds9. It’s barely talked about in ds9. And cardassians don’t impact our real world the way not acknowledging a black captain in the future can."

"@ Tim C
Well at this point the Benny Russel episode was a long time ago. Strange time for him to recall. But I see what you’re saying

My whole entire point is that I just loved how race wasn’t acknowledged. As if the future has went beyond. I’ve even seen a clip where Avery brooks is asked about being the first black captain and he says “I don’t live my life thinking can I do this because I’m black?”. If you take that one step further into the show taking place in the future, that seems to be everyone’s attitude and a given. Race isn’t even talked about in the ds9 present (until this episode)."

"@ Garth

Exactly. No one was “racist” at all. It was a perfectly respectable discussion. And no one “told Avery brooks to shut up”. That guy is either a race baiting troll or so overly sensitive to the topic of race that he can’t calm down to see everyone is being perfectly respectful"

There you go. You said nothing along the lines of "Sisko's anger is only included to separate people and make white people feel guilty."
Set Bookmark
Mac
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Dave in MN

Pizza cutters are quite useful, especially if you have a pizza. I think that would be an admirable name for a ship.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Cody B

People don't like how the Discovery spins? It kinda reminds me of flipping a pancake. What's not to love?
Set Bookmark
Mac
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Nobody has really mentioned it, but I love the ship designs for this show, especially the Klingon ships. They don't make very much sense from a canonical standpoint, but they just look so cool. I adore the design of the Qugh-Class Destroyer and the new Bird of Prey. Anyone else?
Set Bookmark
Mac
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

I just saw this episode for the very first time, and I think it is another four star episode for me. I had no idea how the crew of DS9 were going to solve the problem, and Sisko shined as a leader in this one. I really sympathized with the young Cardassian's situation, and I thought O'Brien underwent some excellent character development, very similar to Kira's in Duet. For the first time, I liked Dr. Bashir, and I think this is easily his best one so far. I thought Gul Dukat made for an excellent antagonist, and I'm really looking forward to his next appearance.

This show really clicked for me this episode and for the first time, I want to continue watching, not because I feel I have to because it's a Star Trek show, but because I care about these characters and I want to see where they go. I'm surprised this happened so early. I wasn't invested in TNG until the second episode of season four.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Boomer

No, I wasn't trying to say that TOS isn't static, because it is. I was trying to say Star Trek as a franchise isn't static.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Booming

"@Mac: There is a whole debate going on here what is Trek and what isn't and following what you write that TOS 'is no enlightened future' then it isn't Trek.
But to your point. If you like it for the hammy acting and the campy style that is, of course, a legitimate reason. So nostalgia and liking campy stuff. But when somebody says they think that TOS is the best TREK show well..."

Well, what? If you wanna throw shade, don't imply it, just do it. You think that I don't understand Star Trek and therefore my opinion is not valid. Alright, you can think that if you want, but hear me out for a second. Star Trek is a work of art. People don't look at art because they want to see what someone else sees in it, they look at art to determine what they see in it. George might watch Star Trek because he sees it as a Utopian view of society, Janice might watch it because she likes the action and set pieces, Bill might watch it because he loves the characters, Joe Bob might watch it because of how it answers ethical questions, and Joanna might just watch it because it's entertaining. George, Janice, Bill, Joe Bob, and Joanna all get something completely different out of the franchise, and they are all correct. You and I are both right. What is Star Trek and what isn't Star Trek isn't static; it changes with time and depends on the individual that watches it. And that's what I like about Star Trek.

I don't love TOS because I'm an out-of-touch old man who's been blinded by nostalgia: I'm nineteen. I like the show because it's a good show. All I ask is that you respect my opinion the same as I do yours because they're both equally valid opinions to have.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.