Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 152 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 10:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

I thought this was a great episode. I thought the trash collection antics were really fun. The Pakleds were hilarious. I think Boimler got some good character development. And Captain Freeman was used really well in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 2:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I've been making my way through Star Trek: Enterprise for the first time and I've been really enjoying it. I think it comes down to people telling me the first two seasons of this show are terrible for years, and yet when I actually get around to it, I go into episodes with extremely low expectations, and then I'm usually pleasantly surprised by how good some of the episodes are. I find many of them to be underrated. This episode is one I'd heard about for years. It's one I think a lot of people point to as one of the worst Star Trek episodes of all time. So I went into it expecting something horrible like Shades of Gray, or Sub Rosa, or Threshold, or the Voyager Kazon episodes. And I just don't see it. Don't get me wrong, it's not a good episode, it's a poor one, but it isn't one of the worst hours of television I've ever had to sit through, or even one of the worst hours of Star Trek I've had to sit through. The worst thing about it is Kaitaama, who is very wooden. But even then, I didn't find it grating. I just thought, "Oh, that's kind of a strange choice. Huh..." I actually really like the stuff aboard the Enterprise with Archer and T'Pol creating a faux tribunal to scare the other captor into giving information. I would say this episode is a 1 star or 1 1/2 star episode. A bad episode that I won't go out of my way to rewatch on its own, but if I'm rewatching Enterprise as a whole, I probably wouldn't skip it. Just my thoughts.
Set Bookmark
Contumacious
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 6:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Adam reminds me of a live action version of Beavis from Beavis and Butthead.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jul 8, 2021, 7:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I'm very surprised Jammer didn't see the twist ending coming when it was telegraphed throughout. A guy sat in a 'VR-style unit' clearly controlling the ship td me they weren't on the ship. The dialogue tries to throw you by saying they hope they don't make it to the bridge but that just firmed my belief even more.

I found this very ordinary, like so many Enterprise episodes. 2 stars max.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 24, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Home

This was trying to be like TNG's 'Family' after 'BOBW' but was a shadow of that episode.

I found it a bit boring and obvious at times (eg T'Pol's homecoming was predictable). They should have made much more of the debriefing and earth's population reacting to the events.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 7:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm with Stef on the Sixth Sense - it was telegraphed in trailers. I didn't watch the movie and said to my wife, that man is dead isn't he, because the boy says he sees dead people!

As for T'Pol, it crossed my mind when I first saw her but then thought, nah, they keep giving Vulcans immunity from abnormalities so she's up helping. But that makes me come to Jammer's question why Phlox chose her... it was to throw us off the scent of her being an hallucination.

At the end I was half expecting the reveal but i still chuckled at the misdirection and this added value to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jun 12, 2021, 3:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

Boring! Can't believe Jammer gave it 3 stars! Especially as he has given less to much better DS9 and TNG episodes.

As for the shuttlepod scene. I thought it was poor visual effects plus I was scratching my head. Did the sphere have gravity? If not, disabling the thruster wouldn't bring it back to the sphere; the pod would keep moving in the direction it was heading. Guessing I missed that detail about the sphere as no one else has mentioned it.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, May 23, 2021, 5:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Jammer gives this 2 stars but the ultra dull, inconsequential Risa episode 3!

For me, this was a disappointment (2.5 stars). But I wasn't blown away by part 1 (3 stars). Time episodes have to be done far more thoughtfully than Enterprise has seen.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, May 23, 2021, 3:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Three. 3. THREE stars for that absolutely dire, boring and amusing episode!

You've been tougher on brilliant DS9 episodes.

One of the worst Trek shows I've ever seen, and I've watched all TOS, TNG, DS9 and Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I didn't enjoy this too much. 2.5 stars from me. Acting and issues with timeframes blocked my full enjoyment.

My main quibble is the two astronauts reached high orbit and you heard the transmission from the surface sped up. So the time had already changed to space time/Voyager time. Yet they get on Voyager and everyone is 'frozen' and they haven't transitioned!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Another instance where you haven't aligned your scores with other shows. You say this isn't quite the drama of Yesterday's Enterprise (and I'd say a long way off) yet you give this 3.5 stars!

I found this quite mundane. It was ok in places, especially the bit which reminded me of The Butterfly Effect when he goes back pre-birth. But even that bit was not done well. How does she pass the point where doc is firing Croniton(??) beams at her yet able to reverse back (forward) to then?

2 stars for me
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This looked like it was going to be TNG's Cause and Effect meets Grandhog Day meets Edge of Tomorrow when Janeway kept dying. I thought we were in for a treat. It could have been a plot where she has to get everything right to pass through the anomaly unscathed. But hey ho, it was a silly Alien-plays-tricks plot that was too transparent once all its cards were revealed. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Yet again, Jammer massively over rating a Voyager episode, when you keep in mind the DS9 ratings which I thought Jammer said was superior.

This felt similar to TNG's Frame of Mind or Future imperfect for the twists, and inferior to Ship In A Bottle for the holodeck angle.

Saying that, I did enjoy it. A solid 7 for me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 4:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Very surprised to see Jammer gives this 3 stars just because there were a few nice character moments. I was bored throughout and the character moments should be a given. There was no strong dialect.

Jammer, you seem more forgiving with your ratings than DS9. Perhaps it's because when DS9 - the superior show - failed, it hurt more?!!
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Massive let-down. Everything just seemed to be conveniently wrapped up for the good guys, with the Winn/Dukat arc wrapped up in a very pathetic manner that seemed rushed. And let's never mention that cringeworthy scene where Kira laughs!!

Remove the end nostalgia and you've a very average episode.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 5:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I was very disappointed with this episode and expected a scathing review from Jammer.

My problem with it was the Quark story was boring and unfunny plus, like the last episode, the non-war stuff felt like filler ahead of the big crescendo. I was impatiently waiting for the Quark scenes to end. There was not enough peril for the trio down on Cardassia and the uprising catalyst fell flat - a mixture of poor acting by extras and direction.

They wasted a couple of episodes earlier where Quark's arc could complete. And where are Winn and Dukat?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 5:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

I'd give this 3 stars as well, or just under. Mainly for these reasons:

1. I didn't like the Winn/Dukat scenes - never been a fan of the prophet stuff but their scenes felt like just filler.

2. Gowron & Klingon honour & glory - eugh, cliche-ridden stuff.

3. Ezri - more soap opera dialogue and it was obvious Bashir wasn't going to let her finish her explanation and get distracted....

One other minor flaw or niggle. If Odo really was infected first, shouldn't he have been thr first to show the symptoms? Or is Bashir wrong in his conclusion?
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I expected so much more than this. I'd give it no more than 2.5 stars. Reasons:

1. Star Wars knock-offs including shooting the power source (and didn't they do that in an earlier S6 episode?) and Ben feeling the prophets.

2. Dax's pointless, contrived, Yar-like death.

3. Stupid demonic eyes and voice - it was laughable in The Reckoning and never expected it to resurface.

4. Too many unanswered questions/things to tie up.

5. A bit dull for 3/4 of the show. All too laboured pee-battle, as if it were feature length.

6. Bored of the CGI battle sequences. BTW, how come shields don't protect you from an oncoming ship?!
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

SPOILERS

I liked the episode overall, but I have some problems. First off, how big is the Discovery? It doesn't feel like that turbolift room could fit on the ship. Is it bigger on the inside?

Second, I feel it was too early to make Burnham a captain. I felt that's where the show was eventually going, but I don't feel like that's where her character should be right now. She's made the wrong decisions the entire season and things have happened to work out favorably, but I don't think she should be rewarded yet. Also, I really think they could have done more with Saru as captain, so I hope this isn't the end of that, but it probably is.

Third, I don't understand how Su'Kal didn't blow up the dilithium planet. Maybe I missed something, but I don't think they explained how he could destroy most of the dilithium in the galaxy (or maybe it was just the quadrant) but the planet of dilithium he was on didn't blow up.

Fourth, what was accomplished by the Ni'Var fleet showing up? They did nothing. I guess it just showed that Ni'Var is now willing to cooperate with the Federation.

Something I'm really excited about is to see how Stamets and Burnham's relationship will be from here on out. I'd like to see how their dynamic.

I love thag the bridge crew not named Michael finally got something to do. That was pretty cool.

Overall, I've liked this season a lot. The characters have really grown on me this year, and I'm excited to see them again next season.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

I can't believe Jammer gave this boring, goes-nowhere story 2.5 stars. 1 star at best from me.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 5:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I can't believe Jammer gave such a boring, paper-thin episode with a poorly devised, cliche-ridden A story, 2.5 stars. I'm not a massive fan of Klingon stories anyway but thought even those who are would find this a dull fest. The B story was kinda predictable too. 1.5 stars max from me.
Set Bookmark
ToadyMacToady
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 4:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Meh. Whatever it is, it ain’t Trek.
Set Bookmark
Virtual Machine
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 2:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Crisis Point

Is Vindictia's outfit supposed to be a tattered and grimy version of Queen Emeraldas's, or am I giving them too much credit?
Set Bookmark
Neilmack
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Tears like niagra falls at the end!!

I was a little underwhelmed with most of what went on this season. Yes, there were good moments and some great TNG nostalgia but I wasn't too bothered how episode 10 panned out.

With 15 min to go I was like "oh this exciting but so what?" Then Picard dies and those scenes hit me hard! Emphasised by having just finishing watching the whole of TNG from start to finish over a 3 to 4 month period.

I discovered Jammers reviews after another guy's reviews ended in season 4 or 5 of TNG. Love reading your thoughts after the episode!
Set Bookmark
Tony Macaroni
Sun, May 10, 2020, 3:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Love the continuity this episode sets up. I feel the errors can be best brushed aside when you think about it like this. Enterprise doesnt necessarily take place before TNG, DS9, etc, but on a slightly different timeline changed by their fairly frequent visits to the past which probably changed a few things here and there, e.g First Contact.
The music and direction in this one were stellar, and I feel we have to give John Billingsley some major credit for his performances as Phlox, every episode he's superb, here he conveys the fear and confusion of borg conversion extremely well, he may be my favourite Trek doctor.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.