Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 121 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
The Dirty Mac
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

One addendum to my last statement: TOS was known for allegory. If Picard tries a little of the same, should we poo-poo? After all, our moral compass here is Jean-Luc Picard! What a vehicle to see the world through!
Set Bookmark
The Dirty Mac
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

The story continues.

Though the "Borg RItual" (sliding across the floor with your shoes off scene) was too cute by half, the story of Soji and Narek does advance. There is now a time limit placed on Narek's method of "romancing" Soji. Soji, in turn, has shown as that she is inquisitive, smart, and won't be played for a fool. Plus, there is also mentioned danger of pushing her too far and "activating her". All good stuff.

The story of Elnor and Picard is told well. They actually acknowledge the fact that the Picard we knew hated kids ("Disaster" anyone?). This elder man sets the record straight. I love the idea of having Picard closely protected by a Romulan Ninja/Assassin/warrior young man. Great dynamic.

It is also great to be seeing a show that is ADDING to the canon of the Prime Universe. Learning so much more about the Romulan culture is akin to us actually learning more about the originally one-dimensional Klingon culture in TNG.

There is no incest. There is only a very seductive Romulan power play afoot (i am thinking of the Romulan Commander in TOS' "Enterprise Incident"). Think of Rizzo as throwing Narek's methods back in his face. Seduce. Is this what you want? Is this what will help reach your goals?"

Rios still kicks ass, and his ego, having every ship hologram programmed as the many versions of himself is a continued experience! Bravo to Santiago Cabrera for pulling off so many characters. Not since Jeffery Combs have we seen a Star Trek character pull off more than two characters in a single episode. The rest of the crew are sophisticated and great additions.

Sevens entrance, though a bit predictive given the time left in the episode, the constant use of the pronouns his/he/etc., and her name being in the opening credits, was terrific. I can't wait to see Jeri Ryan's take on this new, more matured, Human, version of Seven!

It may be blasphemy, along with the cursing, but it is a tad refreshing seeing the Federation as not quit the bastion of righteousness it once was. It is clearly established in the show that Starfleet/The Federation has failed to stand up in a moment of galactic need. When the Romulan star exploded, Starfleet failed. Interesting. Especially if you want to use this as an allegory for America in the age of.... But, I digress.
Set Bookmark
The Dirty Mac
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Just a couple of comments on Jammer's review:

- Soji does say "Hugh" when speaking with Ramdha. The moment comes and goes quickly, but I did catch it on my first viewing and even thought to myself at the time, "she said Hugh, cool".

- As for Rizzo suddenly appearing on the cube, and in Romulan form, she did tell her brother, I believe in the first episode, that she was coming to the cube. I believe Commodore Oh's orders for Rizzo were to keep an eye on her "guy", which is Narek. So her moving to the cube to oversee his seduction of Soji makes sense.

Final thought on the show itself: I liked it. It held my interest and moved the pieces along competently. The attack on the chateau was great, all the more so for coming out of left field, as Jammer indicated. Rios was interesting from the beginning. I liked Raffi as well, and found a joy in seeing a new character who has her own history with Picard. She may know things about him that we the audience don't even know to be true.

The ship looked cool, though I did miss its name if it was said. Loved seeing a "personalized" version of an EMH. And, I don't mind the slow build at all. If I am being entertained, than what is the complaint? Attention spans have shortened since the days of TNG, to be sure, but if the next seven shows, or majority of them anyway, take place in space, then, in the end, what will all the fuss have been about...

We will see...

Three stars
Set Bookmark
Mac
Wed, Dec 18, 2019, 3:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I had to take a Star Trek break for about 8 months because as this season was airing, I also managed to watch the final 3 seasons of TNG and films, and 2 seasons each of DS9 and VOY, so I was a little burnt out.

I just finished watching the entire second half of season 2 in one sitting, and I thought it was alright. Not as strong as the first half of the season, but not as bad as I had been hearing. This episode in particular I felt was fairly strong. I only had a few issues with it. Despite looking quite cool, I thought the Georgiou zero grav fight was kinda dumb, and a little hard to follow. And towards the end when Spock tells Burnham that his ship was damaged and he can't go to the future with her, that whole scene felt out of place because as they're speaking to each other and being all emotional, all I could think about was how many people were dying as they took the time to talk about it.

I thought closing the season in such a definitive way was a very odd choice, but I'm intrigued to see what they do in the future next season. Maybe they'll seek out new life and new civilizations? Fingers crossed.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Mr. Paris doesn't grow much of a beard in 30 days.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

To all the folks that claimed Species 8472 have been "neutered" and that no alien race would be empathetic, your response is so very human, albeit, American human.

As I continue my journey through Voyager from beginning to end, this episode has been one of the best.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Fri, Sep 6, 2019, 11:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

At a recent convention an audience member mentioned she had a podcast that discussed all of the plot points of Voyager and analyzed them, much like many of these reviews have turned out to be. The audience member was asking a question of Kate Mulgrew at the time, and she looked back incredulously and asked "why would you do this"?

I just watched this episode and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I've seen better, I've seen a lot worse, but this is a well done episodes. Sometimes you have to sit back, relax, and enjoy the presentation for what it is.

Machias out.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 4:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

One of the things I've always enjoyed about this episode is the Janeway-Chakotay "coffee commercial" near the end. The dialog and the cadence of the delivery is straight out of 1970s era coffee commercial. Cracks me up.

And Janeway is right, coffee is the finest organic suspension ever devised. Coffee. Black.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

I really enjoyed this episode. I understand there were some plot holes along the way but honestly, it's a good Star Trek episode to escape into. If you have to, pretend it's a holonovel gone rogue. Turn the safety off. Occasionally we all have to escape.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Watched this again on Netflix last night. I didn't realise how long Data and LaForge spend in that Jeffries Tube!

Another one for the fans who would happily watch a whole hour of the crew roaming around, pressing buttons and having a drink at Ten Forward.

This reminds me of Twisted from Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Thu, May 16, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

At least we're not tearing ourselves to shreds over Game of Thrones too.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 6:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Star Trek's first 'Treehouse of Horror' episode. I'm sure this would have been followed up in Season 8.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 1:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

DS9 Worf wouldn't have let that happen.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 5:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I'm glad they all had their Maquis/Terran Rebel outfits ready to go.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

They could have beamed away from every dangerous situation except for that pesky ion storm, cave covered with strange minerals, system lock out, forgetting about the transporters on the shuttles, bad guy taking comm badges...
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Science Fiction TV recycles plot ideas and themes frequently (time travel paradox, evil twin, body switching, long lost parent/sibling, etc.)

I'm not saying this is a bad thing necessarily. You could make an argument that TOS did all the sci-fi plots back in the 60s.

The thing that I find annoying about Orville is that McFarlane and Braga seem to start with an episode of TNG they want to 'do'. They then re-write the TNG episode to fit the Orville setting and characters.

I find Orville reasonably watchable but I can't shake the feeling that I've seen it all before. I don't get that feeling when I watch Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Another TNG rip off. Second Chances explored this idea in a more interesting way and it was original in the 90s.

They did a good job of making Kelly look younger and the twist at the end was a nice idea - if it goes anywhere.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I like what was done with Arium in theory, but not in execution. I'm glad she got to be in the spotlight, but it feels kind of forced. I never got the sense that any of the Discovery crew were friends (outside of the main cast), so it feels kind of strange to have that be the focal point of an episode. It'd kinda be like if one of the characters from the TNG episode "Lower Decks" was Riker's best friend, even though they'd never been mentioned previously. And they really shouldn't have killed Arium off. That "emotional" ending didn't resonate with me at all, and it wasn't earned in the slightest.

Ethan Peck did a great job as Spock. I already think he's better than Zachary Quinto. I think he has really good chemistry with Michael, and I think their dynamic was surprisingly the best part of the episode. Besides Pike, at least, but that goes without saying.

Overall, not the worst episode of the show, but certainly nothing special. If the Spock/Michael stuff wasn't here, I'd say that this is a definite clunker, but because that stuff is so good, I think this episode just barely scrapes by with 2 stars out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I thought of something. I never ever want to see Captain Kirk or Dr. McCoy in this show. But if Kirk and McCoy were in the show, who would you guys want to see cast in the roles?
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Trent

Yeah, I agree with Cody B. You obviously like the show.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Booming

Yes, I agree going forward (especially a century) from TNG/DS9 would be VERY tricky and I understand why writers would want to avoid it at all costs, but I think there are still some things you could do scientifically before you get to the magic barrier. I was reading up on the Enterprise-J recently, and I heard what the creator had in mind when designing it was that it wasn't constructed, it was 3D printed, and therefore was capable of having a structure very different from ships we've seen before. I think that's a really neat idea that could be explored further.

This probably sounds silly, but I'd like to see Star Trek's interpretation of the Andromeda galaxy. Maybe every life form there is silicon based. Maybe some federation vessels get stuck with no way of coming home and have to remain in this new galaxy forever. Do they stick to their Federation ideals, or do they explore this new galaxy, or do they fight amongst each other?

Or on a different note, we could explore different dimensions, or travel between planes of existence (that last one is a little magical, I guess). I think there is a lot that can be done, honestly.

P.S. Personally, I thought Breaking Bad was beautifully done. I love the show, but I get that it's not for everybody. Outside of my father who already loves it, I can't get the rest of my family to watch it even if I pay them.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Booming

"@Mac
To be fair we always know that in the end all will be fine prequel or not. The Borg, the Dominion or whatever. We all knew that Star Trek Voyager, DS9 or TNG wouldn't end with 'and then the Dominion conquered earth and killed every Federation official' or the Borg assimilating the galaxy."

I absolutely agree with you, but The Original Series, The Animated Series, The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and even Enterprise were all made in a time where serialized storytelling in television wasn't as popular as it is now. Of course there are exceptions, but for the most part, the writers couldn't write cataclysmic scenarios that would change the characters and the world they live in forever because the characters had to remain relatively consistent for the next week's episode. New shows are free of those shackles. We're in a world where shows like Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones are the norm. Discovery could have done unexpected things and doomsday plots that break the universe if it were set after TNG, but by making the show take place before TOS, the writers have once again restricted themselves because everything HAS to be okay in the end.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Saru's Ganglia

Yes, there are ways to do something like that in a smart way, but I'd prefer we don't see it at all. Star Trek: Discovery is a prequel, so we know that the galaxy is gonna be just fine. So why include a plot like that at all? Unless the destruction of the galaxy that they're trying to stop will take place in the 26th century or something, but that wouldn't work because it wouldn't be a danger to these characters we're watching now. Either way, it doesn't work.
Set Bookmark
Mac
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 9:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Once again, I really enjoyed the episode. This is the fifth episode in a row that I would have to call "great" (3 stars or above for me) and it marks 7 of 8 episodes this season that I would call "great." That's very high praise from me considering season one was incredibly rocky, and I only thought 3 episodes were on par with what season two is currently delivering.

I like almost everything on display here. I think Ethan Peck was great as Spock. I am very happy that the crew of Discovery is much more in the spotlight relative to season one. I like Detmer, Owosekun, and Arium a lot. The Talosians weren't demystified at all, as some were concerned about. I think that they were written perfectly, however, I do prefer their original design with the throbbing veins and what not, but I understand that design doesn't age well. I seem to enjoy Section 31 more than most. They don't bother me at all.

The only thing I didn't like isn't a flaw with the episode, it's a flaw with the season. I don't much care for an event that ends all sentient life in the galaxy. The "end of the world" threat is played out, and dumb. I've seen it a thousand times. I'm tired of it.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 5:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So the actress who plays Vina is Melissa George.

She is an Australian most famous for her role on the soap Home and Away.

The name of her character: Angel
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.