Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 939 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 38
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, May 22, 2020, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Boring. It's as if Kim wrote a holonovel where everyone acted like him. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Just watched it for the first time. Great episode. Seven adds a lot to the show. The spacesuit moments reminded me of BSG, when Apollo got stranded in the middle of a battle.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, May 17, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

I am watching every episode for the first time. I don't enjoy this one as much as the other people commenting here. It needed more subtle moments. There were a couple, but for the most part it was like BOOM the Borg are here. Boom, they have an enemy. Boom, space battle. It needed to slow down to explore its ideas.
Set Bookmark
Womp Rat
Sun, May 17, 2020, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Coffeeteamix, I think Baltar's trial (when I first watched it, way back when I was in high school) actually played a(n indirect) role in my decision to become a lawyer. The only real fictional example I had at that point was Atticus Finch, whom I adored, but I found Romo fascinating as well for the very reason that he's nothing at all like Atticus Finch. I was actually relieved at the verdict of NG (and even more relieved that Adama had voted NG) , which helped me realize that I was comfortable with the occasional moral greyness of the defense attorney's work... although I would draw the line at Lee's CX of Roslin, and I'm certainly no kleptomaniac.

(Here because I'm watching this episode for the second time, a decade after I first watched it, and the last ten minutes of Part 2 hit even harder. They're my favorite ten minutes of BSG... I wouldn't change a thing!)
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, May 8, 2020, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I think they were trying to attract new viewers with all the good looking girls and space battles. I don't think it worked.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This episode is all over the place. Not fun to watch.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

When the young girl called Janeway a coward, you can see the emotion hitting Janeway like a sack of bricks. What a brutal episode.

I only wish Voyager allowed the other prisoners to escape.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

But seriously what happened to Donatra?
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

3 out of 4. Better than last week's and had many great moments. Picard's meaning of life speech and Data's desire to die being standout scenes. The season as a whole turned out pretty solid.

But the Romulan political situation is a narrative disaster. Are they still a superpower or not? Where is Donatra and why didn't Picard saving Romulus from Shinzon and Donatra being grateful enough to allow peace talks factor in to the refugee plot?

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

My question is why they got Akiva Goldsman of all people to close out the season. Frakes or Vrjilo (sp?) would have been far better.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Imagine believing that the sequel trilogy is better than the prequel trilogy. The sequel trilogy is more like Kurtzman Trek in every way. The entire backstory that the trilogy is built on makes 0 sense.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

RLM are a bunch of clowns. Funny, but too rigid thinking to enjoy most things.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

This episode was not as good as the previous three and I think it comes down to direction. Akiva Goldsman is a bad director, on par with if not worse than the director of the first three episodes.
Shaky cam in dialogue scenes was through the roof, the melodrama wasn't as successful because of corny staging, and the aesthetic/visual quality of the episode felt less well done.

I still didn't hate it though. 6.5/10.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Mar 16, 2020, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Why did the alien race have a crashed shuttle on the planet? Is it part of a trick to get the kids to their final destination?
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

James White- I'm not even sure what my point was besides Sci Fi fans/nerds acting like TFA was good but then trashing Picard.
Take Red Letter Media for one small example.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Picard does better with how they got from A to B/there to here than The Force Awakens does, at the very least. And The Force Awakens has over 90 percent on Rotten Tomatoes.
Ergo....
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

The complaining is reaching pathetic new levels. Notice how the host of the website and the commentators opinions are starting to wildly and seemingly permanently diverge. What does that say? It says to me that Jammer continues to live in reality while others have wished it adieu. After all, they presumably came here because once upon a time they valued Jammer's opinions.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

^Plus, I really dom't see how some of these guys ever liked Star Trek if their standards are so ungodly high.
On a continuum from "I, Borg" to "Descent" to "Code of Honor", STP sits comfortably closer to "I, Borg" than to "Descent", let alone to stinkers like "Code of Honor".

The complainers don't seem to be being very objective.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Rez isn't wrong.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 1:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

This show took a while to get going, but now it's really going. Almost everything about this episode was great. Troi actually being smart in her "role" as counselor, the whole log cabin aesthetic which is very Star Trek, Jurati injecting herself, Soji's paranoia, etc.

I'm at the point now where the show has enough good will with me that the quibbles I still have (questionable characterization from time to time + slightly excessive darkness) are just that.

The show definitely has a great humanity though, even with that darkness.
"I'm not as brave as I used to be."
"That means you're wiser."
Set Bookmark
Temporal ColdWarrior
Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

A military tribunal investigation concluded that acting Captain Watters was posthumously charged with disobeying orders, manslaughter, and drug abuse in the destruction of the Valiant. The hearing was conducted on Deep Space 9 by Captain Sisko after his son submitted the factual account of this incident for publication for SFN. The Deep Space Commander was ordered to conduct the hearing after Star Fleet declined to clear Jake Sisko's news story and it was subsequently classified due to the Dominion War.

The Tribunal consisted of Captain Sisko, Commander Worf and commander Degorion of Star Fleet Intelligence who was sent by SFC to investigate the Valiant incident. The conclusion was although acting Captain Watters was correct in continuing with the intelligence gathering mission after the death of the original Captain and maintaining the communication blackout while deep in enemy territory, the failure to immediately return to Federation space ONCE the Dreadnought's intelligence was gathered should have been paramount instead of the youthful inexperienced attack which resulted in the deaths and loss of the Valiant. The abuse of chemical stimulants and lack of experience were major factors contributing to the failed mission.
Set Bookmark
Big Pimpin'
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

I was REALLY into this episode. I'm sure why but the drama almost completely sucked me in, and it didn't feel manipulative or cheap loke some of the drama has so far.
I just got lost in a great episode.
I agree that the poster way above me who said that the show wants us to feel more than it wants plus to think, but after 6 episodes I think I'm growing to fully appreciate the merits of that approach.
They took the somewhat cheap death of Maddox and made me care about Jurati.
Hugh was great.
The Soji Narek plot actually sucked me in this time, too.

I like this show. I'm fully on board now.
Set Bookmark
An Empire's Lullaby
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

We just finished reviewing this episode on our podcast and we think this episode is great. It's even earned its place as Briar's favorite season 1 episode. If you read the Wadi collectively as a trickster god figure, their episode plays that out in a far more satisfying way than any Q episode ever could.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Sorry, I have to disagree with the consensus. This episode was painfully boring. The premise that someone killed another crewmember because the way he looked at him is as implausible as the creatures at the end of Threshold.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I watched it on Netflix in 2020, and there was no applause at all in the episode. It was an okay episode, but it seems odd to form alliances while you are leaving territory and heading home. Why waste the time. Just keep going. Eventually you will outrun them.
Next ►Page 1 of 38
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.