Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 809 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

For me simply the best Star Trek episode ever written! Excellent acting all around. Captivating and riveting dialogue. Not one punch thrown, not one phaser fired, not one explosion. The current people working on Star Trek could learn a lot from this episode. 4/4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

For starters, I think there's a big misconception about JJ Abrams' contributions to "Lost," which is held up as the example for which he's the Worst Showrunner Ever. He created the show by way of writing the pilot and was involved in the first season, but beyond that he was minimally involved. That show was run by Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse. All the mysteries everyone complains about and attributes to Abrams might have been (partially) initially set up by the pilot, but Lindelof and Cuse were the ones who teased them out for six seasons.

Another thing about "Lost": This idea that it was an epic failure that collapsed under the weight of all its mysteries is overstatement at best, revisionist history at worst. Maybe the ending (and the sixth season in general) wasn't everyone's cup of tea. Maybe the show went on longer than it needed to. But in litigating the mysteries and answers and resolutions (and their adequacy or lack thereof), the whole point of "Lost" -- its terrific characters -- gets completely overlooked in retrospect. This was a character show (and in many ways an anthology) first and foremost. The mystery box plotting could be dismissed almost as MacGuffin if you so wanted. I think people get so wrapped up in wanting plot answers *to their satisfaction* (let it be said "Lost" answered most of its questions; perhaps you just didn't like those answers), that they don't see the forest for the trees.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I gotta say, I've never quite understood the (increasingly fashionable) Abrams hate.
Set Bookmark
Jimmy
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I can't and never will consider Discovery as ANY part of classic Star Trek canon. Probably not the Picard show,Or the Section 31 show either.I don't care what CBS or the show-runners say. Discovery is just too aesthetically and tonality different for me to reconcile it with classic Trek. They have just taken wayyyy too many liberties with aesthetics and canon. The ridiculous things for me that will never fit in for instance the R2-D2 like droids on the Enterprise hull or the Red Angel Iron Man suit . They are not era appropriate. For me these and the terrible (IMO) writing and unlikable characters are just insulting, laughable and cringe worthy . But if people like it that's absolutely fine. Everyone is different and has different opinions and tastes. I totally get it I just can't bring myself to watch it.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I have not. I imagine it might be a different viewing experience seen through a different lens now.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

@Springy,

I didn't say this on the DS9 thread when you got to the end of that series, but meant to: Thanks for bringing your rewatch of all these shows back here to share with us. It was fun and enlightening to hear your perspectives over the past several months!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 24, 2019, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Some quick thoughts, if perhaps we take the Picard topic over there:

https://www.jammersblog.com/2019/05/24/trailer-star-trek-picard/
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I haven't really watched much of it, but my 6-year-old daughter really likes the new DuckTales. She doesn't get all the social media references, but hey.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, May 11, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor, Thank you for your kind words!
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seeing as this pointless sniping over who said what and whether it's right or wrong, etc., blah, blah, has nothing to do with Star Trek and no sign of stopping, I'm deleting a bunch of this white noise in the hopes it will get things back on track.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The star ratings are what they are, and are explained here:

https://www.jammersreviews.com/info/ratings.php

Read the paragraph at the end. Not sure what else to say...
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

There are not going to be other reviewing projects. Three and a half months is about all I can manage in a year. It's not sustainable.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Without summarizing my thoughts on the creative value of either show overall (I find strengths and weaknesses for both), I'll just say that creative and commercial success are often two different things. Drawing a correlation between the two is tenuous at best. Lots of people like garbage, while many gems go unappreciated.

Also, comparing the streaming business to the traditional broadcast one is a clear case of apples and oranges.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Okay, this unending personal argument has nothing to do with the episode and is completely out of hand. I'm going to delete it and ask that it be stopped at this point. Thanks.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Though there are many flaws with the whole "Cornwell's heroic sacrifice" moment - most notably, as I said, the idea that blast doors (with a window!) could protect Pike from a photon torpedo exploding less than 20 feet away - from a character sense it was clear what they were trying to do here. Cornwell died for one reason only - in order to reinforce why Pike has accepted his fate to become a wheelchair-confined invalid.

The key is in their final exchange. Pike is ready to die in Cornwell's stead, since it is his ship. He's also a bit incredulous that he can die, considering he knows his true fate, and perhaps is considering that such a heroic out is better than what otherwise awaits him. Cornwell notes that he may be wrong, and he needs to think of all the people he could yet save in the future. This convinces Pike to let her make the heroic sacrifice.

The point of the scene is basically to say the reason Pike is now fated to end up in the chair isn't because there's some sort of god of destiny pushing things to their improbable conclusion. It's because he's a man driven by his sense of duty and selflessness, and because of that, he will continue to make the right decisions, right up to saving the cadets. Making other choices simply is not who he is.

Honestly, it was probably the single best "character moment" in the entire episode. It's a shame the scenario they used to railroad this moment into being was so fucking contrived.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I had a lot of issues with this episode (some listed above) but Discovery still going into the future once "Leland" was killed and Control seemed defeated was not one of them. Remember Mama Burnham said no matter what she did Control always ended up with the Sphere data. Also remember that the Discovery crew thought they had defeated Control after the end of Project Daedalus when Airiam was dead and the station was destroyed, but Control managed to piggyback via Mama Burnham back into the 23rd century. Any defeat downtime would only be temporary without moving the Sphere data out of reach.

Now, why they picked the future - rather than 1 billion years in the past, or just spore jumping to Andromeda or an alternate universe - I'm really not sure.
Set Bookmark
FELCommentary
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

All of the things I complained about last episode are somewhat redeemed here. There's a lot to go over so I'll just go with what I didn't like first since there's few.

The giant CGI space battle was really distracting and too Star Wars-y for me with hundreds of fighters flying around. If it was a bunch of Section 31 ships in formation vs Disco and Enterprise and fighters that would have been fine.

Section 31 going under the radar because of this is fine (probably ship decommissions), but it still doesn't explain how they pulled off what they did in DS9. Also if Section 31 was still around by this time, why didn't they help with some of the bigger events in TOS/TNG like the Klingon Civil War or Borg encounters?

So Control was halted, but the ship still went into the future, which draws some confusion. My assumption is that Control is obviously conscious outside of one host (as seen two episodes ago) and was still active in some way. It still would chase after the Sphere data, so they had no choice but to go into the future. That or them going into the future is what creates the seventh Signal, that completing the time loop of the Signals forming in the first place. Speaking of which, how did the loop begin in the first place? Was it just destined in the timeline for this to all happen?

Now for the good, pretty much everything else:

*I have not had such a huge turnaround on a character before than this show's Spock. The shot of him at the end of the episode was beautiful - Ethan Peck has the face!

*All of the main cast (including Pike) all were outstanding in this episode insofar as performance. I didn't even really mind the lame attempts at jokes that Reno and Naan shot off.

*That effect of the Red Angel traveling through time was the coolest shit this show has done. A really good representation of space bending that comes with time travel.

*The sound mixing and direction were actually better compared to the rest of the show on his one. They finally got it together for this behemoth of a finale.

Basically it gave me a warm fuzzy feeling about the season as a whole (which still had some huuuuuuuuge issues mostly in the writing department), but overall I'm feeling a 6.5 for the season as a whole. I enjoyed the Search for Spock series of episodes more so than the Control arc later, but it's waaaaaay better than Season 1. And now that season 3 is on the way and literally anything is possible, I'm actually pretty hyped for the wait. I also can't wait for all the angry boomers to come up with more conspiracy theories about why the show is still going on despite """everyone hating it""".

3.5 stars for "Such Sweet Sorrow, Part II". Well done Discovery, you can rest now.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That was a fairly satisfying - though not perfect, finale to the season.

What I Liked:

Spock's final monologue was on point. Peck is so damn much better at delivering these monologues without making them seem overwrought than SMG is.

I was expecting the Klingon cavalry to come in, but I enjoyed L'Rell's crowning moment of awesome, particularly the "Today is a good day to die"

Siranna showing up, on the other hand, was totally unexpected. A bit forced honestly (how did they learn to fly Ba'ul ships so fast?) but it was still a nice touch which helped to tie Saru's arc this season in with the season arc as a whole.

In general, I feel like the the arc tied together much more neatly than last season. The way out of the "seven signals" issue was not totally unexpected, but it was a nice answer for why we had yet to see two of them. And yeah, in retrospect - since they wrote everything towards this conclusion - I can see how each of the earlier five signals was building towards this point in the finale. They found a way to work faith back into the arc as well. So even if they made hash of the planned arc midway through the season, they managed to salvage it by the end.

What I Disliked:

The action and VFX were overstuffed. The space battle was much more beautifully rendered than in the first season, but it was so busy that it was hard to keep track of action. And while I appreciated seeing Burnham relive the five earlier signals from her POV, it really was just episode padding.

You mean to tell me that all you need to do in order to stop a photon torpedo from blowing up a ship is to close emergency bulkhead doors? The scene made some emotional sense (someone had to make a heroic sacrifice) but it didn't make a lick of logical sense.

I don't understand how destroying Leland was enough to kill Control - at least locally. One would imagine AI is a distributed intelligence, and just like how he was simultaneously able to possess Leland and that mook the other week he would be able to run on the ships and within Leland at once. Not that it mattered much, since by the time Control "died" Discovery was already on its way out, but still.

Spock telling Michael how damn special he was to him during the scene where he was stranded in the shuttlecraft was laying it on a bit thick. Not that I think it's out-of-character in any way for Spock to feel deeply for someone underneath the surface, but being that explicit and overwrought about it was just eye-rolling.

Also, I find it curious they decided to end the episode from the POV of the Enterprise crew rather than the Discovery crew. While as I said Spock's closing monologue was good, it sure gave the impression that we were going to pick up next with the Pike series rather than with Michael & company.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I think this thread has run its course.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Oh, give it a rest, @Alan Roi. Your constant refrain that the only explanation for anyone who has a negative take on Discovery's plotting is that they aren't watching the show closely enough or don't understand it or can't follow it (unlike yourself) just comes across as arrogant condescension and arguing in bad faith.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Review now posted.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.