Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 110 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Louis-Joseph Tremblay
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

@Chris Arturo, I had no idea that he was from Montréal, to me everything about him just shouts “Toronto” and that’s only because I knew that he’s Canadian.

Anyhow, on it’s own this is an alright episode but I really enjoy it in context, particularly in light of Data and the Doctor. For me, as a biology graduate and someone interested in philosophy, the idea that a robot of any sort is life, let alone a sentient person is profoundly unsatisfactory, they are well designed copies — my sister in law is allergic is shellfish and so when I had them over for dinner the other day used surimi, imitation crab. I think that if I hadn’t prepared it and didn’t t know the truth I would think that it was real, does that mean that surimi *is* crab?
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 9:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

I was thinking that this was a pretty decent episode but I got really annoyed near the end when Tom and B'Elanna neglected to pick up the Nyrians weapons in the ice cave. That was such a stupid oversight.
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Tue, Sep 29, 2020, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Just watched this episode. Chakotay would have been justified in taking command of Voyager after Janeway's bumbling here. They had a ripe opportunity to get home and she blew it again.
Set Bookmark
I get dumberer
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Reading this site. Doesn’t matter which twit types. Look at this crap from Jason R about AI.

This site makes formerly potentially possible standard intelligence people into yammering idiots.
Set Bookmark
Jimbo
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Pretty decent episode, and now starting to connect all the dots.

So romulans go to attack soji homeworld. Picard can't stop them, star fleet mini fleet wiped out, Borg ship flys in to save the day. Soji kills evil pointy eared one. seven becomes Borg queen / sauron, makes the Aussie elf her assimilated orc. Evil brother appears, captures soji. Cue season 2.
Set Bookmark
Jamboney
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Jambaloney has plenty of time to write, read, and censor comments on his blog.

He also does not have his California Consumer privacy act done. I’ll be reminding him of this costly mistake. Very costly.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Tue, Feb 11, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I think it's clear in the past that 24th Century humans don't all share the same quality of life or luxuries, though. Even pre-Maquis the colonists in the DMZ had it differently than those on Earth, and that definitely wasn't solely about choice.
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Hey Jammer, just a point of clarification that Johnathan Frakes directed this episode, as they rotate every two installments.

Also re: Raffi's living situation...even in the economics of the 24th century we have seen citizens and officers accrue status and, in turn, creature comforts. I think her situation is similar to that of Dr. Bashir father, who in Ron Moore's own words was an example of a 24th Century man who could never quite "make it".
Set Bookmark
Pambo
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Snitch : "I am pretty sure the new Picard series is a comment and reflection on the anti-immigrant sentiment of the Trump administration and a call to stand up against those fascist tendencies"

Oh, here we go. This is why so many Star Trek fans have been alienated by STD and the woke versions of so many films these days. We just want to enjoy Star Trek. We want interesting characters and good stories that are respectful and consistent with the established Star Trek universe. Is that really too much to ask for?

We don't want left-wing indoctrination or your opinions on contemporary shoved in our faces every minute. By the way, the Trump administration is not "anti-immigrant". It is against people who enter our nation illegally. That's a clear distinction. It is especially against those who commit crimes such human-trafficking and bringing in drugs that help kill thousands of people in the U.S. every year.

"Fascist tendencies"? You should first what fascism truly is before using terms like that.

As for Picard, the premiere episode was pretty good. Clearly this series is going more like STD rather than TNG but that doesn't mean this can't be a good series. Looks like it going to take a few episodes to get a firm sense of the tone and nature of this story.
Set Bookmark
Catdaddy in Columbia SC
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 2:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

This episode has numerous problems, but the worst is the fact that nobody on 1701-D has any idea how orbital mechanics works. SLOWLY accelerate the stupid garbage scow thing and park it in a higher orbit to buy some time, then go rescue Picard and Whil Whheaton, then come back and get the garbage scow out of orbit using the same technique and send it into the local sun.
Set Bookmark
Rumblered
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Call me crazy, but this place looks different lately..
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

And here it is, Jammer's first four-star review for a Star Trek episode since ENT's "Damage", fifteen years ago next month.
Set Bookmark
GMBC
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

"Other than inserting overt pop culture references, it's not clear where else The Orville writers are drawing inspiration from."

Ahem.

https://tubitv.com/tv-shows/331527/s01_e25_a_steel_angel

https://tubitv.com/tv-shows/331535/s01_e33_ulatress_screw_mountain

https://tubitv.com/tv-shows/331565/s02_e19_the_pitch_dark_sisters

https://tubitv.com/tv-shows/331569/s02_e23_dyruz_the_space_monk
Set Bookmark
GMBC
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

If explodiblood is yellow, why were Orrin's "daughter's" needle marks red?

Is the implication that the two of them knew about the ceasefire all along - otherwise what would have been the point of the her continuing to pretend to be his daughter after their rescue?
Set Bookmark
Rumblered
Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

As a total aside, what if Airiam being taken over by the squidbot leads to a complete ban on cybernetic life forms serving in Starfleet? That'd explain why we don't see any until Data shows up later, even though they seem to be somewhat commonplace (or at least not a visible oddity) here.

I think that's probably giving the Discovery writers too much credit, but it'd be neat.
Set Bookmark
RumbleRed
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@BZ

Finally! I was waiting for someone to point that out! Saru has lost his fear before, and made it quite clear that he wasn't under any insidious mind control, that's just how he was when he wasn't being constantly burdened by his biology screaming at him. If anything, the crew should be wary of this turn of events.

Guy went from "huh, I'm finally not afraid" to throwing people around like ragdolls in the space of an episode.
Set Bookmark
HumbaWumba
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@ Rahul

You jail a changeling with force fields, they do it multiple times throughout the series
Set Bookmark
HumbaWumba
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Sisko isn't really gone, if anyone wants to see him they could just communicate with an orb. Technically he could contact anyone he wishes through visions even without orbs
Set Bookmark
Bumb
Wed, Jul 25, 2018, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

24th century version:
Soren: Tell me about your sexual organs.
Riker: That's not usually a topic of casual conversation.

21st century version:
Soren: Tell me about your sexual organs.
Riker: I have a dick the size of an elephant's trunk. Want to see it?
Set Bookmark
Komrad_Tombstone
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Oh, one final though: it's disappointing that we didn't get a final reaction to Kira's foolish attempt to seek vengeance from Chief O'Brien. It would have been nice for him to say something to her, or even just give her a disapproving head shake, to let her know that she had let him and his family down through her recklessness. He should have been given the chance to tell Kira that it would take a lot of time for him to come to terms with her actions, and the fact that she nearly got his unborn baby killed, and that he might have a hard time trusting her again in the future. Instead we get a useless, though pretty, belly-angle shot of the Defiant flying away from the planet.
Set Bookmark
Komrad_Tombstone
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I just watched this episode, and I read the review and most of the comments below. I don't want to address any specific people who have posted, but instead discuss why I didn't like the episode. I will surely get flack from certain people for being "misogynistic" or "sexist," but I don't care what any of you think of me, haha.

The episode was all in all pretty good, in my opinion, up until the final act. I enjoyed the mystery aspect of it, and the idea of Kira's violent past coming back to haunt her. She was a terrorist afterall, and as such, she and her fellow terrorists probably deserves some comeuppance. That being said, I love Kira as a character! I usually enjoy her hot-headed, fire-brand attitude. She's tough and she takes no crap from anyone! Nana Visitor plays the part very well.

However, this episode was a terrible place to showcase her rebellious nature. The fact that she deliberately and remorselessly endangers the life of an innocent unborn child, that isn't even her own child, makes her come off as ridiculously irrational and thoughtless. For her to go charging off after a "villain," while nearly at term in a pregnancy, is completely unrealistic and is an example of a poorly written script.

If anything, Kira should have been most concerned with protecting the child within her, as per her natural motherly instincts, as well as guided by the fact that she would be letting down her good friends, the O'Briens,' if the child was harmed. Earlier in the episode, Miles says to her, "You're caring for someone else now." To which she responds, "Yes, you're right." So the character specifically admits that caring for the baby is her top priority, not some half-cocked chance for revenge.

Someone posting above said to give Kira a break. No! She cannot be let off the hook for endangering the O'Briens' baby! It's completely unconscionable and stupid! This has nothing to do with sexism. If the character was male, and he was in charge of caring for a baby, and suddenly carried the baby off into battle for dubious reasons, I would be just as hard on that character, too!

Am I the only one who feels that Prin is the real victim in this whole thing, too? Okay, sure, he assassinated a bunch of people, but those people deserved it based on the lives they had led, and the choices they had made, during the occupation. As Prin discusses, Kira (and likely the others too) showed no remorse for their terrorist murders of various Cardassians.

When Prin explains that 26 Cardassians were killed in the explosion, including innocent civilians like himself, Kira is remorseless and believes that a laundryman is just as guilty as a soldier. Ridiculous! While Prin actually cares about innocent civilians, and goes out of his way to protect others not involved in the Shakaar resistance cell attacks when he assassinates them, Kira is the opposite. She's basically repeating the old, racist saying: "The only good Indian is a dead Indian," or "the only good German is a dead German." Instead of "Indian," or "German," though, she replaces those with "Cardassian."

We have no way to know who those 26 Cardassians were, except that Prin tells us that most were innocent members of the Gul's family. Does that include children? Probably, and that makes Kira and her cohorts even more the true villains of this episode. As one poster above stated, Kira deserved to die for what she had done. Yes, she does! Killing innocents, especially children, despite it being a time of war, is still a crime against humanity. While the episode tries to make Prin out to be the villain, he comes off as pitiable, and is really but a psychologically damaged and misunderstood victim of the Bajoran terrorists' crimes against "humanity."
Set Bookmark
Ian Whitcombe
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

A few interesting Jammer Review stats:

The last chronological season finale that Jammer recommended was "The Expanse" from ENT season two.

Enterprise's "Damage" from 2004 is the most recent entry in the Star Trek canon to earn four stars.

Only season of Trek to have only one stand-out (3.5 stars or higher) entry. The two reviewed Andromeda seasons share that record.

This season of Discovery is tied with the first season of DS9 to have the lowest amount of losers in a single season: 2 two-star episodes and none below two-stars.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Combs
Thu, Jan 4, 2018, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

@Drewmina - We don't talk about Babylon 5 here. Jammer doesn't like it. Too much competition for DS9, I guess.
Set Bookmark
Tom Chambers
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Norvo, my apologies, I should have refrained from commenting. McFarlane's 'Admiral Halsey' shout-out is ultimately just a matter of trivia. I suppose the more relevant question is, not whether you knew, but did Seth McFarlane know? It doesn't matter at all to anybody except naval history buffs.
Set Bookmark
Tom Chambers
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Norvo, you may be right about 'Admiral Halsey' being a Mcfarlane shout-out to a McCartney/Wings song. But (just checking) you do realize that Admiral Halsey was a real person, yes? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Halsey_Jr.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.