Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27,000 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,080
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 6:55pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I didn’t like it when Captain Marcos, after Mercer said the "thirteen-button salute" thing, said, "I understand." What a dumb thing to say! It suggests to the Kaylon (correctly) that Mercer conveyed some hidden information to Marcos. The Kaylon probably knew what the phrase meant anyway, either because of their super-intelligence or because Isaac told them, and thus didn’t need for Marcos to tip Mercer's hand to figure it out, but still. The Union captains should be trained not to react that way.

I did like when Primary's head was lying on the floor and he spoke threateningly to Isaac, after which the lights in his "eyes" went out. It reminded me of the death of the Borg Queen in First Contact.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 3:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I still think mutilation is too harsh a word. It's like going to the dentist to get your wisdom teeth pulled. There are just certain parts of human anatomy that evolution has reduced to unnecessary appendages.
I think the word mutilation should be left for more serious things like limbs and facial disfigurement.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 3:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Hey Yanks! One of the computers looked distinctly like the face that invaded Airiam in Discovery. But it could just as easily be a generic crazy computeresque face.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 2:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

If a movie made by a megacompany can ruin somebodies childhood... That is just sad. I was a little afraid that the Coffee Thing could compromise your independance, nice to see that it did not.

I liked the first of the triology the most. Daisey Ridley was cool. It was simple but I felt for her. Being poor and fearing to grow old and sad, while being screwed over by the powerful. I still chuckle about the scene when she goes berserk on John Boyega. Adam Driver is probably one of great actors of his generation. It also had the most memorable soundtrack. The second... I have seen it and it left me completely cold.
This one was amusingly bad. But I often like the more silly ones. Star Wars 6, Mad Max 3 and another example I have forgotten. Thing is, I cannot take any of this seriously, that is why I like the more silly ones. The ones which are still great but it starts to fall apart.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 2:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

Dax spoilers!

I was probably a little hard on Farrell when I rewatched the show, though probably way too kind to this episode.

I think the problem is that she was given too difficult a character to do very well, and gave her frequently bad material. An episode like Facets is pretty doomed from the get go but could only really work at all with a performer convincingly playing a person with parts of their personality carved out. Farrell doesn't rise to that challenge, though in fairness not many could. Auberjonois gets to run away with the second half of that episode by playing Odo combined with Farrell's Curzon joie de vivre, both doing excellent acting work and getting to have fun, whereas Farrell is stuck playing...Dax with her energy sapped out, which is bound to be a drag even if she could fully do it. Similar with the Daxless Jadzia parts of Invasive Procedures, same with the "what if you've got a psycho killer in your head" stuff in Equilibrium.... I don't know if it's reasonable to expect anyone to sell this stuff, but Farrell didn't. Most Dax episodes in s1-3 are Trill episodes and they're mostly bad, and then she gets Meridian on top of it.

Anyway. Blood Oath is a blast, I like Rejoined, she's fine in Sword of Kahless though I don't like that ep's take on Worf, she's strong in a supporting role in The Quickening and Tribble-ations, she's great in Change of Heart, etc.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 2:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I wouldn't call my reviews negative. I see the show as a spoof of Star trek. I like spoofs. My main criticisms would be treating religion as if it's demise is a foregone conclusion and the pointlessness of using Moclans to make a point about human morality. But overall I quite enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Pamellllaaa
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 10:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

I love this episode too but I couldn't find anyone who mentioned another great exchange:

Troi: I am sensing an emotional presence, Captain. I would normally describe it as being terrified.

Q: How rude.

Amen.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 10:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It seems one has to be in lockstep with the general-consensus opinion that this movie is an abominable crime against humanity in order to be relevant in the fan circles. Forgive me for going against the grain. Actually, don't forgive me. Keep the hits coming. I want to hear every reason why this movie destroyed your childhood, stole your time and/or money, and wasted the goodwill of a storied franchise, and now how this middle-of-the-road non-fire-breathing review is doing the same.

If I don't understand the visceral bile toward this movie any more than you understand my apparently overly generous disposition toward it, then I guess we simply occupy different places on the space-time continuum. It happens.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 10:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Jammer is just a relaxed guy and tends to be fairly generous with his ratings. Sure some points are odd but hey, he doesn't see sw seriously and is probably fairly desinterested. 2.5 is the ultimate shrug rating. I'm puzzled why he wrote a review at all.
Set Bookmark
Lmo
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 8:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

The guest actors, including Sylvia, were all very good in this episode. The Chekhov/Sylvia scenes were sweet and believable. The set was excellent as was the music. The story was engaging, other than the silly ending with Chekhov not having really died. The last conversation between the “big 3” was one of their best, with the assertion that humans had evolved past their violent tendencies, and Spock simply raising an eyebrow. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
PM
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 6:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Compared to the film Rise Of Skywalker, this show is a masterpiece
Set Bookmark
PM
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 6:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

After fifteen years of this review not being up, I saw the handsome, generous 2.5/5 for this sin against nature of a movie, scanned some of the text, read the phrase "Structurally, this mostly works", threw my hands up in the air and said "@&$*!^!! this, I'm done."
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 2:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Trent

'I didn't realize people hated Farrell's acting until I started reading the comments on Jammer's website [...] I always thought Dax was wonderful and wonderfully acted - aloof, sensual, playful, smart, wise, mischievous like an old man, always with a glint in her eye.'

Yes, same here.

@Jason R.

Thanks for this explanation. It seems to be quite a common feeling regarding Farrell's acting, even though I don't share it myself. It may be comparable to the sudden failure of suspension of disbelief I sometimes get when Brooks and Visitor veer into intrusive over-acting. (Most people have mentioned that aspect of Brooks' performance before, but not Visitor's.) It is definitely subjective and hard to describe as well, as you say: I'm trying to think of examples of the latter and am a bit stuck. I'll do a bit of digging.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Okay, I admit that I didn't recognize Combs and that was despite reading an article before this aired that he would be back this week. Maybe that's a testament to the actor's range, or maybe it's just a testament to my short attention span this week.

It was a pretty good episode and truly it was nice to see an A and B plot that didn't revolve around established Trek Lore or trivia. The stories feel mostly irreverent though, and I agree with Jammer that resolving *why* Mariner would sabotage Boimler's chances to advance would have made this episode great. Maybe they're saving that conflict and resolution for the finale. We'll see.

Oh and among others, I recognized Control making a cameo in the ending.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 10:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Found this to be very underwhelming, mainly because I felt the entirely Billups sex storyline was so lazily puerile - a repetitive complaint, I know, but I think it's this misjudged yet persistent juvenile humour that has let LD down most in recent episodes. I'm aware some people like it, but it's like watching American Pie in Starfleet uniforms for me. I really don't understand who its target audience is meant to be.

Nevertheless, the Boimler/Mariner and Tendi/Rutherford team-ups continue to be interesting (though not so fresh or earnest this week), and it was obviously great to have Jeffrey Combs on board as a guest voice.

Laugh out loud line this week: 'You're the closest ship in the quadrant.' Well played. Also liked the idea of science terminology being renamed to sound more magic. Could have done more with that.

Hoping next week is much better.
Set Bookmark
Michael Z Freeman
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 3:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

Thanks for the review. Watching this episode again I wonder if Dr. Mora knew the gas would be on that planet and it was all his plot to get back his experimental subject into his lab ? Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but the scene with them when Dr. Mora forces Odo to transform seems especially disturbing. The story seems to suggest that he is just putting pressure on Odo to confirm his theory that the monster is really him. But why suggest that Odo has always been committing these crimes ? Why state that he needs to be back in the lab, even a zoo ? One could take this as Dr. Mora knowing exactly what upsets Odo. But he also initially seems to block Odo from getting help with the gas even if he relents after Odo's transformation in front of him. At the end he seems to accept a closer relationship with Odo over getting him back in his lab, if you ask me. Maybe I'm just overly suspicious (a bit like Odo ?) but did Dr. Mora know about the gas before they got to that planet ?
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Rahul
@Peter G., et al.

Peter G. provides a truly excellent, comprehensive overview and assessment of the 'Farrell/Dax question' here. Impressive post. Thanks.

Taken together with Rahul's directly above, which I also agree with for the most part (see below), we all seem to be agreeing that the problem is more with the weak writing afforded Dax, which consistently limited Farrell. I don't know why Dax was given such short shrift by the creative staff. It's a pity.

However, I don't agree that Farrell was in any way 'out-acted' by her co-stars. It's all subjective, naturally, but while I dearly love them both, I notably sometimes found Avery Brooks' and Nana Visitor's acting to drift into uncontrolled scenery-chewing, which Farrell's never did. (That's not to say Brooks and Visitor aren't good at acting - they obviously *are*, which made their occasional over-the-top moments all the more striking.)
Set Bookmark
Starfleet Acting Academy
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 12:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

Look. Avery Brooks is an incredible actor. Not blinking is page one in Michael Caine's "acting for film" text book. This episode is trying hard to call back to the weird gothic romance vibes of TOS, and it obviously brings along some pretty icky gender politics. I can't defend that, but I also can't condemn an episode which gives Sisko so many beautiful moments to brood, smile, flirt and giggle. Brooks rules/stuff it, haters.

PS. Kiley's dumb.
Set Bookmark
Pamellllaaa
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 4:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Long time reader but first time commenter on this site (which I'm reading as I rewatch all of TNG after many years). I just had to say "I Am Nomad"'s comment above had me cracking up so hard tears were flowing. My nine year old son was dying to know what was so funny...
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 3:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

@Scott

Agreed. I've never understood why so many people are of the view that Farrell is bad at acting.

Of all the actors/actresses in Trek, Farrell doesn't stand out as particularly 'bad' for me, and I really don't get it. She's fairly natural and likeable in almost all episodes.

Maybe some of the criticism is that Dax as a character wasn't given much to work with.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 1:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Review now posted.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 10:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

That was a great episode hands down.

The A plot with Mariner, Boimler, and the evil computer voiced by Jeffrey Combs was fantastic. The scope somehow felt epic in a way that Lower Decks seldom manages, there was a nice, somewhat unpredictable twist at the end, and the character interaction was awesome.

The B plot involving Billups being royalty was kinda silly, but I was happy to see a secondary character get a good deal of focus. It provided us with some nice contrasts between Tendi and Rutherford at the end as well - two characters I had issues distinguishing in the first season sometimes.

I especially loved that this episode was basically a straight up drama. Jokes were limited, and memberberries from earlier Trek were almost absent. The show is finally confident enough to stand on its own.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 6:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I really, really prefer to engage with the text of the review itself rather than the star ranking.

But for this dumpster fire...

TWO POINT FIVE JAMMER? REALLY?!

....sorry, had to get it out there.😜

My feelings haven't changed from my original comments up above. This was an incredibly disappointing film and wasted the opportunity to redeem the bad parts of TLJ and TFA, retroactively making the entire sequel trilogy worse. A waste of a talented cast.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 6:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

More gently amusing middle-of-the-road fare. The bizarre concept of Phillips' mum constantly trying to trick him into losing his virginity was gross in all the right ways, and earned the two genuine laugh lines of the episode for me - "What? Phillips loves his virginity!" and "Will it hurt?"

Aside from that, though, it was more smiles and laid-back silliness. This episode was actually far less reliant on meta-references and inside Star Trek jokes than the show's usual fare, but it still couldn't cross the line into outright hilarity for me.

Mariner is now actively starting to annoy me in a way she hasn't so far. Her constant needling at, and sabotaging of, Boimler just feels juvenile now. I suspect it's a cover for deeper feelings she has for him, but whatever the true motivation, I'm ready for the show to hurry up and get to it.

Season two so far still hasn't produced any outright duds, as far as my rankings go. But it also has yet to hit any "Crisis Point" or "No Small Parts" highs (although "Mugato, Gumato" came close for me.).

Jeffrey Combs was the evil computer! I didn't pick it until the credits. I did enjoy the idea that the Federation has a building full of these things, though. A terrible, terrible idea that's perfect for both Star Trek and this show.
Set Bookmark
Michael Miller
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 7:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

At the beginning, when they were watching the supernova, they stated that they were 10 billion kilometers away ( 6.2 billion miles) they called that "close" lol that's out of the solar system. And there's no way a shock wave could bit them that fast, at the speed of light that's only 186,000 miles a second. When will star trek writers ever TRY to make the physics make even a little sense!
Next ►Page 1 of 1,080
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.