Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25,451 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,019
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 5:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I wish I'd given this episode a thorough review when I first watched it, but I'd binged the first 4 episodes in one sitting and I was still in the afterglow of FINALLY getting my Trek fix.

I've already talked this segment to death in other episode reviews so no need to rehash ithis yet again, but I'm glad to see it holds up to multiple viewings. (The actress who plays Haveena is a wonder to behold.)

⭐⭐⭐ is right on the money, factoring in how much The Orville improves by the end of Season 2.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 2:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Is the intention of the writers to persuade us that the Vulcans were right and terrans should stay on terra. Dumb, dumb, dumb! AAAARGH!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

'someone I can trust' - why would she trust him (unless she wanted a big fat s**tstorm.
When it is disclosed that these Vulcans aren't really Vulcans - seems the only possible explanation based on all their actions in this series.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

To be fair if I got to spend that much time with Virginia Madsen it would probably be one of my favourite episodes too.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 4:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

This was Robert Beltran's favorite episode? No wonder he wasn't a fan of Trek... he wanted to do pointless dull love stories.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 4:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

1 star is about right.

The episode had a lot going for it, but just draaaaaaaaags.

Worf is hilarious! Both the turbo lift scene and the room service scene are laugh-out-loud funny.

Data playing craps is awesome fun, definitely picked up later by The Sisko in Badda Bang.

And even a few of the side stories are intriguing (especially the old Texan who is leading a young lady to life of despair... woah, pretty dark stuff!).

BUT. SO. FUCKING. BORING.

I suppose they couldn't figure out if they wanted to do a holo-deck malfunction episode (where they get stuck in a Hotel Royale story), or a prime directive episode (like Piece of the Action).

And so they structured it as some weird Hotel California episode that just didn't work.

Guys, how was this place still up and running 280 years after the guy it was built for had died??? Unlimited POWER!

@Dr Lazurus, LOL. Playboy for me.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 3:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

There we go again. There are now 9? shows with the Trek label and I liked 2. I'm happy that I can see these debates and are only mildly amused about all of this. Kurtzman and CBS have ended my emotional relationship to Star Trek. I even have Lower Decks on Amazon but didn't watch a single episode. When I see debates about this or that auldTrek episode I think:"Interesting how much these people care about thirty year old shows."

@Bob (the other one)
"I really don't understand the Trek fan base. But then again, I don't like comic book movies either so maybe I'm just out of step with our current culture."
In times of uncertainty and crisis the USA gets a hankering for strongman. These movies are about a good guy punching the bad guys until all is well again. It is a simplistic desire for a singular human (looking) being to solve societal problems. It lives somewhere between childish power fantasy and adult desire for dictators. Apart from that these movies are well made. Then there is Thor and Captain America *sigh*... so I guess there is something for everybody. :)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

If Trek is just a skin that can be draped over any frame, at least give me something entertaining like Sex and the Single Klingon.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 9:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm one of those people who draw conclusions on previous evidence.

I actually recall seeing Trek when I was 3 or 4 and thinking it was interesting, but I also was testing 5 years ahead of the curve. I didn't really start watching it until TNG premiered and Nick reran the animated series.

Setting aside my personal anecdote, you'd have to be willingly obtuse to watch TNG or DS9 and conclude that preschoolers are the target audience.

Frankly, there is a lot in Trek that isn't appropriate for a child that age. And it's not SUPPOSED to be.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"Trek isn't supposed to be for toddlers."

Says who?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

And I don't "hate" Prodigy. (The fact I could barely muster a few paragraphs should tell you how much I care about the franchise nowadays).

But it will most likely be another nu-Trek desecration, and the only emotion that stirs in me anymore is sadness.

Oh well, thankfully there's new Orville episodes in just a few months.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Trek isn't supposed to be for toddlers.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"I don't look at those characters and think "Trek", I see a hodgepodge that looks more like the toy shelf at Target. or Guardians of the Galaxy."

This show is for children Dave, not for you or me. Children don't care about what you see and what conclusions you draw about the show without seeing second of footage. They don't care about Okona's TNG episode or what adults deem worthy of watching. They certainly don't care about declarations of doom (like the ones that were had been declared in the past for the current ones who, without an exception, are headed full-steam for their next seasons). They don't care about the profound definitions of Trek according to you or me. As long as they like the show, chances are they will become future Trekkies. They will thankfully begin watching Prodigy without any preconceived hatred toward the show just from seeing a single image.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't look at those characters and think "Trek", I see a hodgepodge that looks more like the toy shelf at Target. or Guardians of the Galaxy.

Bringing smarmy forgettable Okona (of all people) back is tone deaf .... that was one of TNG's lamest episodes.

I think this falils as a gateway to Trek and it wi'll bomb big time.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Different Bob

Good God, what?! 🤣😂😅

This show is doomed!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 6:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Wesley's jumper - the pretendy uniform effort again.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Wesley's jumper - still the blue-grey thing with the red/gold/blue striping.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 4:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Trip! Trip! Come back!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

'Trained diplomat' ????? Hah!
Still waiting for that Star Trek: Pets series - Spot & Porthos are shoe ins !
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I really am having a hard time trying to understand Starfleet's approach to this compassion for all sentient beings thing and where is the line drawn. Are you supposed to help the wounded even if they are a known threat to you?

That's like the Defiant stopping to help an in distress Jem'Hadar ship. It doesn't make any sense.

Janeway is risking the whole crew for this alien that 1. broke onto the ship causing a breach 2. attacked crew members 3. Is being hunted by the Hirogen who have them outshipped.

I get showing compassion but this seems pretty dangerous. They are in a unique situation in the Delta Quadrant where the same rules shouldn't apply, or at least not be as black and white as Janeway tries to make them seem to Seven.

Sometimes I think she tried so hard to uphold her morals and commitment to the uniform that she forgot they were on their own far from home and didn't have the luxury to be the perfect little Starfleet officers.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 10:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

omg haha amazing.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@ Robbie

Unless Ezri is talking to Garak or with Worf behind enemy lines, you can skip every scene she's in and not miss anything relevant.

She's my least favorite character in ALL of old school Trek, a total waste of precious screen time.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

Why can't CBS just make a normal Trek series?! It's like they want people to be hooked on a brand name instead of a franchise. It's so weird to me.

They don't know what they're doing.

However, looking at the bright side of things, I am glad Kate Mulgrew has a new revenue stream.
Set Bookmark
Neil Mack
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This looked like it was going to be TNG's Cause and Effect meets Grandhog Day meets Edge of Tomorrow when Janeway kept dying. I thought we were in for a treat. It could have been a plot where she has to get everything right to pass through the anomaly unscathed. But hey ho, it was a silly Alien-plays-tricks plot that was too transparent once all its cards were revealed. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I kept thinking of how they would reverse this but he actually had to live with 20 years of prison and everything he experienced. I would've liked to see the Argrathi pay for wrongfully convicting him.

This show has a kink for torturing O'Brien poor guy, but somehow he never fully breaks and for the most part lives a happy life.

Also, the whole episode I was trying to figure out where I knew the actor who plays Ee'Char from. It's the Doc from Nightmare On Elm Street 3! One of my favorite movies.
Next ►Page 1 of 1,019
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.