Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 130 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Nov 8, 2019, 5:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: One

The Doctor to Seven, during one of increasingly terse exchanges:

"Between impulse and action, there is a world of good taste begging for your acquaintance."

God, that's a delicious use of language. The sort of line 'Deadwood' might have produced half a dozen times per episode, but most TV never manages at all.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Nov 2, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

@Rahul - what does his being or not being a socialist have to do with anything? No, don't answer ; I don't want to dwell on this Elliot business. @ Doug Willis - why did you have to invite people to discuss Elliot in a thread which he hadn't posted to for eight years?

Sorry
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, Oct 31, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

From Encyclopaedia of Galactic Expressions


"Computer, halt turbolift!"


- used when one party feels a conversation has suddenly entered disconcerting new territory. A more archaic version may have been "Time out"'.

---

Honestly, this time around I can tell when 'computer, half turbolift' is coming - whenever two people walk into a turbolift having a conversation, and it goes to a two-shot of them continuing the conversation inside the lift. It never fails.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I like Vic Fontaine, and I like this episode.

But by my count, of the last 12 episodes, only 2 contained material which meaningfully advanced the Dominian War arc ('Treachery..', where we learn that a disease has infected the Great Link, and 'Covenant', where Dukat's agenda is incrementally advanced)

And then we rush into the last third of the season like our lives depend on it.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Sep 1, 2019, 3:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

It's just not obvious to me that there was any need to replace Jadzia. With her departure the show had the same number of lead characters as in the first three seasons, and it managed ine then (and this was also before Rom, Kassidy, to an to an extent Garak, and various other supporting characters had become significant players). We just had Vic Fontaine added at the end of season 6, did we really need the show, in its crucial final season, to dick about trying to establish a new major character?

Oh, well. I don't particularly dislike Ezri - except insofar as I'm just not very invested in the whole Trill thing. I generally found Jadzia's early Trillcentric episodes rather boring, though she did grow in stature as a character later - it's just that it's frustrating to watch the series frittering episodes on this sort of thing just when you're dying to get back to the main story arc.

For that matter, the baseball game episode tossed into this three-episode hiatus was questionable timing. It's not like we really needed a break from anything by that stage.

Not a bad episode all the same; just question the need for this character to exist in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

@Yanks 'I never thought the "great link" meant sex.'

It may not MEAN sex, but IMO the linking between the female Shapeshifter and Odo has to be supposed to make us think of intimacy in a way that suggests sexual pleasure. She even asks him "do you want me to stop?" as she's 'seducing' him.

Really strong episode. I'd give it 3.5*, and it doesn't fall short of 4* because of any particular thing it did wrong.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 2:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

@Dusty

" I wondered if Hanok was played by Rene Auberjonois"

I was just about convinced it was Rene. The posture, facial mannerisms, tone of voice seemed spot-on. I even thought the final scene where Hanok winks at Odo was an acknowledgement of that. I think Cromwell is even lankier than Auberjonois; that's about all that seemed wrong.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 8:53am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I also wish you comfort and any good memories you can forge together in this hard time.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Oh, my giddy aunt - the Skye Boat song!

I was actually looking up the origin of that expression (giddy aunt), and the first page I landed on had a photo of Patrick Troughton as the Second Dr Who, playing his recorder. Troughton was still the Doctor when I first saw Dr Who, so I should have remembered this...

So the flute has tassles hanging off it, just like Picard's flute...

I can't be the first person who's noticed this - but amazingly I didn't find any webpages making a connection between ST, Picard, Dr Who, Troughton, flutes and/or recorders.

So I was going to suggest you search for images of 'troughton' and 'recorder' - but nevermind, because THIS came up straight away

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4C8Bpl32rl4

and nobody even made the connection even on that page!
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

The reveal at the end of 'Whispers' has no doubt been done before - it feels a particularly good fit for SF - but this episode preceded it's famous deployment a few years later in 'The Sixth Sense' (and then 'The Others'). I'm sure Philip K dick used it too, though OTTOMH can't remember in what.

In any case a great episode, and I found the clone's death tragic and disturbing (and the idiot alien who shot him didn't even get a raised eyebrow)
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, May 31, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Was just watching the 'Dave I'm Losing My Mind' scene from 2001, and realised that isolinear chips were invented in 1968
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, May 23, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I'm a bit confused as to how O'brien 's actions constitute trampling all over the Prime Directive. I realise it can be a rather rubbery concept, but it is generally invoked when dealing with pre-warp civilisations (e.g. Starfleet Captains are prepared to let pre-warp civilisations go extinct rather than lift a finger, but will gladly shove asteroids out of the way if a warp-capable society is involved). In the case of a warp-capable civilisation the PD does get invoked in certain situations, such as not taking sides in the Klingon Civil War, but I'm doubtful that O’Brien's interference in The Hunt could possibly be construed as anything close to that.

Well, anyway, other than it bringing back memories of those boring Hirogen episodes of Voyager, which of course were years away, I enjoyed this ep, as I have all the DS9 eps so far. Season 1 may not be up to the high standard the show would achieve later, but with the minor exception of Rom, the show hit the ground running.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 6, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Geordi's discomfort with the fawning attention of Ensign Tyler could probably just be considered as part of a nebulous b-plot which in this episode includes anything not directly to do with Data's dreams. Also it turns out to have some ironic purpose when he ends up grateful to her for saving him from Picard's annoying him ("Good work, Ensign. I thought he'd never leave.").
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, May 1, 2019, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Worf wasn't just 'late for work', he was eyes-glazed-over immersed in some spiritual ritual which turned his quarters into a smoke-house, and had no apparent intentions of turning up for work that day at all. And Picard was so rough on him that he gave him an indefinite leave of absence and a shuttlecraft. At least they didn't turn the whole ship around this time, but I wonder how often shuttlecraft get loaned out to crew members to go on non-Starfleet related spiritual quests, or to go shopping or whatever.

I was also a bit confused as to how a clone is supposed to automatically have their original's memories (like visiting Worf as a boy). To achieve something like that, I'd have thought you'd require a literal duplicate like next week's Riker.

I do like Worf, but I can't say I like Klingons much. The Klingons were maybe fleshed out a little more in DS9, though I still wasn't fond of Klingon-centric episodes, and had to resist counting how many times per episode Worf would say 'honour' (with double points for 'he/she/they have no honour!'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

From the first five minutes, I genuinely thought this was going to be gold, but AFAIC from this point it drifted gradually into above-averageness. Better than the last two, but that wouldn't be hard.

Like episodes of this show, not all of my reviews are going to be memorable.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

...to be fair to Menosky, perhaps the Jack London thing was Jeri Taylor's doing when it was fleshed out into a teleplay.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I didn't make it through this one. Yes, I've seen TNG umpteen times, and on each repeat viewing I'm inclined to skip episodes I know to be duds, but this is the first time I can remember giving up on this ep, especially as i made it through part one.

It doesn't help that we're immediately back with Clemens, but it was actually the other 'historical' character which proved to be my undoing. I mean, I knew it was coming, but somehow when it came to the Jack London reveal I really felt like wringing Joe Menosky's neck. Seriously, was their any point to that character being in the story, other than to surprise us by revealing his identity? Well, yes, I suppose he did the shopping for Data.

I'm also a bit dubious that aliens with the sort of technology these guys possess would need to go and find a culture experiencing a cholera epidemic in order to disguise their energy-stealing.

Most of all it's simply ominous that TNG should stoop to something as lightweight as this for a season cliffhanger. It sure doesn't bode well for season 6 - though I'm hoping it's a little stronger than the back nine of season 5 turned out to be.

I'd probably not be making such a fuss over this episode if it had just been a regular one-shot, but to plant it at such an important juncture, and to give it an obviously substantial budget... Maybe Trek should just have stayed away from these time-travel-back-to-Earth larks, let alone making them into two-parters. They did it successfully twice in the first season of TOS, but since then, I dunno. I even got impatient with DS9's 'Past Tense'.

At least they left Troi's mother and Worf's son at home.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

' the Twin character'

...I meant of course, 'the Twain charcter'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Just watched this for the umpteenth time. I'm afraid the Twin character gets less and less bearable with each repeat viewing. Why people at that party actually stood around putting up with him is beyond my understanding. At least they didn't try to do Oscar Wilde.

From the opinions expressed over the years I have determined that the classic period for TNG lasted for seven seconds during the closing credits in an episode near the end of season three, but I can't work out which episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Oct 27, 2018, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

A bunch of hillbillies storming onto the first interstellar ship they've ever seen, somehow overpowering the Vulcans with primitive weapons, figuring out how to fly it, and then somehow enslaving the Vukcan empire has to be the most preposterous notion this series has developed (I'm not sure if it beats Paris and Janeway mating as Salamanders) .

The opening titles were clever, but after that it was just a pointlessly nasty, unpleasant experience. I skipped the DS9 mirror universe eps last time I watched it, and they were better than this.

And yeah, calling your readers delusional - not cool.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Oct 27, 2018, 9:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

Can't believe I missed Seth MacFarlane the first time I watched this. After seeing a couple episodes of 'Orville' he stood out like dog's nuts.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Oct 21, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

The other day I stumbled across an episode of 'My Favorite Martian' on TV, for what must have been the first time since I was a kid. Martin, for somereason had become a folk singing sensation. Rather than being reminded of Boothby, I was instantly reminded of Robert Picardo (in this, and especially the ep where he daydreams hypo-spraying Tuvok while singing Verdi). It was so uncanny I was convinced Picardo must have had Ray Wakston's character partly in mind.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Oct 15, 2018, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Oddly I didn't comment on this the first time around. I think I may have been in the middle of a several episode binge, and recapped on them all at the end.

I won't take up much space: this, which is effectively the second half of a two-parter*, is the strongest episode of ENT yet. Criticisms seem like quibbles, but I won't be able to resist a few ;). 'Damage' is strong enough to stand alongside some good DS9 eps (though not alongside their best). and on my second time 'round I was struck by frustration and 'some sort of' sadness that the series couldn’t t have managed this level of quality back in season one, when it might have kept the boat afloat for its presumably intended 7 seasons.

A few odd thoughts: the theme song and whole feel of that title sequence have seemed out of place for all of season three, and positively inappropriate by now.

Much as I applauded them finally giving Travis some proper airtime, I wish I could say he seized the opportunity. I thought his delivery of the lines "We're getting home" - which should have been filled with nuance and passion, were flat, uninflected and characterless. Honestly, I think this episode convinced me that his near absence in most episodes later in the series is no great loss. I'm tired of feeling embarrassed for him.

Best ep of the season so far. If only the consistency had been there from the start of the season, let alone the start of the series.

*how many Trek two-parters improve in their second part?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

* struggle* *strain*..... no, I just can't do it. I TRIED to get into this episode again, and I just don't care. I can't take Klingons seriously. They're an idea that should have been left in the 60's, or at least downplayed, instead of trying to persuade us that a culture like this could ever get into space., where they go around head butting each other and saying, "The toaster has no honour!" And though I actually liked B'Ellana as a character, I just couldn't get interested in this story, or take it seriously.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

'Pointlessly compelling' seems a decent way of summing up this episode. I can't deny it had a powerful emotional effect on me, but to absolutely no end, so far as I can see, at least in terms of the series.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.