Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 104 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Some kind of an episode...

Really, though I don't quite think it deserves four stars, this an almost Lazarus like performance from the Voyager team, after such a horrid clutch of episodes from mid season. The Borg would eventually be neutered by this series, but for now they're still effective, there's a new villain on the block, and the stage is set for the resurgent season 4, before VOY gets turned into the Seven of Nine Show featuring The Doctor.

And... I'm calling this an unofficial record, because I'm going to try to stop counting, but in this episode (largely in the first half) we get...

Some type of protective shielding
Some sort of premonitions
Some kind of subspace turbulence
Some kind of starfleet protocol
Some sort of bio-readings
A warp propulsion system of some kind
A ship of some kind
Some kind of a weapon
Some sort of parallel universe
and Harry gets 'transformed in some way'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

If this hasn't been asked above, I imagine it's been asked somewhere on this site - but could someone just remind me what the actual benefit is of being to disengage holideck safety protocols so that people can die?

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Wow, VOY really hit the skids in season 3. Usually when rewatching a ST series I miss out the odd episode, but this time through, this one and 'Unity' were the only ones I even bothered with out of the last handful.

One thing I've noticed this time is that Kes annoys me a lot less than usual. I actually really appreciated her understated acting in this ep (I may have been burned out on Avery Brooks' overacting, having just been through the otherwise much superior DS9).

One thing thougn - and I have to bring this up because it's driving me nuts, and once you start noticing it I promise it'll drive you nuts, too - even in these two superior episodes, the inexplicable fetish by the writers for the phrase 'some kind of' is as rampant as ever. I mean, really, in most of these cases, they could have just said 'a'.

In 'Unity' and 'Before and After' alone, we get

"some kind of stasis"
"some kind of colony"
"some sort of natural disaster"
"some sort of axonal amplifier"
"some Borg collective"
"some neural processor"
"some kind of automaton"
"some sort of senility"
"some kind of time paradox"
"some kind of radiation poisoning"
and
"some sort of biotemporal field"


Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

As someone who has recently had to watch two of their best friends slipping into premature dementia, I found this quite poignant - which OTTOMH is nearly a first for a Klingon episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Entertaining enough episode, but too many episodes not advancing the main story arc, and this you'd hardly call this SF.

In the two weeks everyone found to devote to preparing for this match, perhaps they could have hand-built a few ancient Bajoran spacecraft, too.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jun 4, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I just want to mention something that bothers me about this ep every time I see it:

A few seasons ago Sisko was at his wits end about his father's heart condition and frail health, and how he wouldn't look after himself. Now he has no problem with dragging him through an interminable hike through trackless desert, dehydrating and exhausted?

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, May 26, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Flawless episode with some sublime performances. I'd probably grant four stars to part two as well. I'm trying to think if there are any bad Garak episodes...
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, May 23, 2018, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

This really wasn't nescessary. It had already been established that Odo and Quark's relationship was thawing and that they actually cared for each other (as $G noted). So to me the idea of Odo gloating over the idea of having Quark locked in some distant prison for the rest of his life was jarring, well before the mountain stuff.

This was one of my favourite episodes of this season originally, but I only found it average this time 'round.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 21, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Yes, I realise that link had little to do with that episode, and was a Voyager compilation, but the overuse of that phrase is endemic to TNG and to a lesser extent DS9 as well, as is the 'too much interference' problem (it's amazing how mindbogglingly sophisticated Starfleet's scanners are - except when they can't read through a cloud)
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 21, 2018, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

This a Klingon episode, and myself being an insomniac, I thought I'd do an 'honour tally' (number of times 'honour' is mentioned.)

Seventeen. I'm not sure if that's more or less than usual, but I do get a bit tired of hearing it.

Though it's nowhere as wearing as the number of times, in any post TOS series, they say 'some sort of' or 'too much interference'. I think I counted fourteen individual 'some sort/kind of....''s in one episode of Voyager. DS9 fares a little better perhaps because they don't do as much exploring, but I just heard Dax come out with it twice inside of about 20 seconds in a season five ep.

Someone who was even more bothered than me put this clip reel together. It's hilarious. Anyone who hasn't seen it, pkease cut and paste this link. If it doesn't work, just do a search for 'voyager' and 'some sort of'

I hope this doesn't break any forum rule

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JwZiezIxCVU
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, May 19, 2018, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Come to think of it, I suppose if he can survive Keiko and Molly, the rest of it is pretty small potatoes.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, May 19, 2018, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Unforgettable episode, and no complaints about its emotional clout, but sometimes Trek just stretches credibility a bit too far when it comes to a chatacter's ability to bounce back from mentally devestating experiences.

Before this 20 years in solitary business was thrown in for good measure, Miles - who has no officer training (if that would even help deal with such things) has already quite recently had to deal with travelling back in forth in time, dying in his own arms, then time travel back to an earlier DS9 which he doesn't really feel he belongs in - as well as seeing an identical clone of himself die virtually in his own arms, AGAIN after begging him to tell Keiko that he loves her. And now this?

What would it actually take to crack this man permanently? I dunno, but after this experience he's obviously the perfect candidate to send on a lengthy undercover operation against the Orion Syndicate where he has to betray his new close friend and send him to his death.

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 14, 2018, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

No,, it wasn't the most pentrating criticism I've ever made, was it?

Ok, how about this: I don't think Siddig does a very convincing drunk....

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, May 13, 2018, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

If Odo is literally a rock when he becomes a rock, how does he change back again? Or think?

There is a lot of stuff about Changelings that I have to just ignore. Like how come Odo can't get a human nose right, but he can turn into a 100% perfect rodent or bird almost magically and probably without practice? When the Changeling changes back from a perfect copy of a human in the ladt ep of this season, why does he change back to a cruddy Odo-like humanoid copy? How come all the Changelings on their home planet take the same wonky version of a human shape as Odo, when Odo developed that form eithout habing ever met another Changeling (plus the others are supposed to be better at it)? It can't be to appear like whatever humanoid company they're in, because they stick to it when they're with the Cardassians.

Changelings require a bit more suspension of disbelief than average.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, May 13, 2018, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

I don't think most Irishmen, when they get plastered, would passionately burst into 'Jerusalem' , given it's pretty much the de facto English national anthem.

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, May 13, 2018, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

Alexey - saying that DS9 is superior to BSG is not, in my opinion, going out in a limb - much as I like the latter. Going out on a limb might be asserting that it's better than Bab 5 (those are my two fave SF series anyway) :)

I have to echo Jammer's comment from an earlier review that Robinson's name deserves to be in the main character credits by this stage. He's contributed way more to this season than Dax, for instance.

Fantastic double ep.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 7, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

It's emblematic of the quality of DS9 that a supporting player like Garak (who at this stage in the series was almost unutilised) would, in Voyager, or Enterprise, have been the show's strongest character.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 7, 2018, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

After a run of excellent episodes - particularly last week's 'The Wire', I got bored two thirds of the way through this ep on re-watch, anf skipped it. I'll probably do the same with the other Mirror eps. The whole concept leaves me uninterested and unmoved. I find it a pointless distraction, and don't care about the 'characters'.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

WESLEY: Why would anyone use a faulty replacement?

This guy's supposed to be a boy genius?

Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

By now TNG had at least a couple of top-notch eps under its belt, and its average was improving rapidly. Still, this is probably the most important of them. And BTW look how far we've come since the Ferengi were introduced as the new bad guys in season one, and proceeded to caper about like disturbed chimpanzees.

Yes, the whole Borg thing was reduced to banality by Voyager and its familiarity breeds boredom, yea even unto the point of a Borg Brady Bunch, but that only strengthens the solemnity and impact of this debut performance.

Speaking of the score, I particularly liked the moments where complete silence was employed whilst contemplating the Borg Cube (which BTW has to rank as one of the most audacious and iconic spacecraft deaigns since Disovery in 2001).

So much has been said, I can't find much to add, except that if there is one little moment that doesn t work for me, it,s when Guinan faces off against Q, with her fingers poised like cats claws. It looked really corny. I half expected lightning to suddenly shoot out of her fingers. Were we supposed to believe that she has some powers which would have serioualy threatened Q? It's implied here, but I don't remember it being taken up again; at least not in 'wizard battle' sort of way.

But it's a minor thing, and I admit that Guinan is capable of periodically annoying me a little.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

TNG was rapidly finding its feet by now, but it was still plaqued by more than occasional sloppy writing and silly dialog. This moment made me cringe a little:

They make visual contact with the anomaly:


WESLEY (rather in awe): There it is, sir. It's like a hole in space.
...and his next line, moments later:
WESLEY: Captain, if this were any ORDINARY kind of hole in space..

That's getting jaded a bit too fast!
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Mar 5, 2018, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

"We're just about to start pumping.


And filtering the water."


Watching the crew entranced by this woman's comatose acting while the opening credits were rolling wasn't a flying start to this episode, and frankly that monotone monolog turned out to be eblematic of the whole story: a decent sci fi idea executed with all the tension or excitement of a documentary on gargling.

And why can Data read a database in ten seconds, but can't dodge a laser and talk at the same time?

There was nothing howlingly wrong with this episode; it was simply plodding.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Mar 5, 2018, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Excellent by first season standards, but I think four stars is a bit generous. I think this ep's company makes it seem better than it perhaps is. I probably enjoyed Datalore nearly as much, despite Beverley's latest oubreak of ickyness over Wesley.

Minor irritations: Riker falling in love with a hologram in about 1.3 seconds, and what is this 'blondes and jazz don't work, but redheads and jazz do' nonsense? If I were more poitically correct I might leap to the accusation that this is a sublimated racial stereotype (dark hair and jazz, he clearly approves of)

Yeah, I'm biref and nitpicking, and don't buy that myself.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Mar 4, 2018, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Sorry about that orphaned line at the bottom: I evidently started writing the review from another tangent and didn't notice it was leftover when I posted it.

I tried completing in a variety of silly ways, involving, for instance, Van Morrison, but lost interest.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Mar 4, 2018, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

I'm not very impressed by this episode, but I've been grinding my way through season one for the first time in ages, expecting it to be awful. Consequently my expectations are so low that I found this entertaining in an 'of academic interest' kind of way.

Rodenberry was involved with this, so no surprises some of it reeks of bad TOS (thank God he only co-wrote the screenplay, and wasn't responsible for the overall story, or we might have ended up with Q dressed up as Robert E Lee, or Richard Nixon or Tiny Tim) .

People have covered most iof what I would have said, but I do want to mention Picard's tirade at Q on the bridge, early on. I've always thought Avery Brooks was given to fits of bizarre overacting when Cisco gets angry - especially when he giggles at the same time, he comes across as sort of deranged - but I must say I was taken aback by the ferocity of Patrick Stewart's delivery here. It was so intense it makes Cisco's tirades seem genial. I'd forgotten just what a hardass he could be early in the series.

The other thing that struck me, having recently re-watched TOS, is that (with a couple of exceptions perhaps) even in the hokiest TOS eps, you could sit through it, because Spock, Kirk and McCoy were just so charismatic and magnetic right from the get go. By comparison, all the major characters in TNG, at this early stage anyway, seem insipid. Picard and Data are getting there gradually, but I'm afraid even Picard's Shakespearian meltdown here isn't as powrful as Spock raising one eyebrow.

The scenes on the 'planet' with the
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.