Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 137 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Icheb’s scene was devastating...
When Seven said “my child” I remembered of the episode Drone and “you are hurting me”.. that really got me.

I enjoyed the episode, for me having Steward and Ryan sharing scenes is ST bliss. I’ve seen Ryan in many other roles, she good but never as good as when she plays Seven. She is amazing as Seven, for me better acting in the Star Trek universe, only coming second after Sir Pat.

I do not find Seven’s “evolution” out of character, she is constantly a “work in progress”. In kind of a funny way it makes sense that life as a docile drone would make Seven yearn for a life with more thrill. The whole episode made me wishing for a Seven spin off now.. At least I hope we will see her again in the series.

- Did anyone caught when Seven took something Rios left in a console?
- I loved the mention of Quark!!!
- Poor Icheb... damn...
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Dec 17, 2019, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

I already reviewed this nearly three years ago, and don't have much to add on my third trip through this series . I still feel that at this point of the season, with I think four meh episodes in a row they'd squandered the goodwill generated by the season concept, and the excellent 'Anomaly'. At least the next episode was a substantial improvement.

But, this time as soon as I saw Tarquin I was certain it was the same actor who played Laas, the Changeling who tries to talk Odo into abandoning DS9 in 'Chimera'. I would probably still believe this had I not bothered to check.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Dec 3, 2019, 8:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I'm with those for whom this episode foundered on some awful incongruities. Probably the biggest being Starfleet putting EMH's to manual labour that is both outrageous and anachronistic. I found it jarring in 'Life Line' when Zimmerman reveals that EMH I's are all being forced to scrub plasma conduits. It might have been written off as a sarcastic exaggeration if they'd left it at that, but the idea that The Federation would consign even possibly sentient beings to swinging picks in 19th Century style mines is beyond the pale (not to mention being, one would assume, difficult to even organize).

Also, I couldn't help wonder if the idea of a traditional style literary publisher is even remotely likely in the 24th Century. And even if it were, this ep was released in 2001, when the idea of recalling every 'copy' of some digital software was already a silly notion. Even if we were still in the CD /DVD era, everybody knew that once the digital cats were out of the bag it would be farcical to go trying to round them up (for context, this was the year after Metallica took legal action against Napster).

But the Doc's holonovel is still treated like some physical artifact that can be retrieved. The only critique of the effectiveness of recalling the copies is that thousands of people must already have seen them - not that there would be copies of copies everywhere, and the idea of a digital original versus a copy is meaningless.

Nevertheless I can't say the episode wasn't enjoyable or well-paced; just that the bits that worked were mostly the more comedic moments.

I rated this 2.5, but then I saw the following 'Friendship One' and rated it at 2.0. Friendship One is far inferior to this. I can't decide if I'm being too kind to it, or too harsh to this. Or both.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

There's something bittersweet about an episode as good as this, so close to the end of Voyager's run. Voyager has done this over and again; after squandering its premise, neglecting many of its characters, and serving up so many enjoyable but ultimately unremarkable episodes it tosses in something like this. Not a new development. It's pretty much managed an excellent or even great episode at least once per season, but what makes this one especially refreshing (and frustrating) is that for once it's an ensemble piece. All the characters put in, and nobody really gets overused. It just makes you wish they could have managed this more often over the past seven years.

I don't really have much to add to what's been said, except for one obligatory nitpick. Actually it's a pretty big one, really. If it requires frequently administered injections at the plant to supress everyone's memories, how come Tom remains oblivious after being fired the first day and drifting til he gets a job in a bar?

Well, anyway, lots of fun. And for once in a ST two-parter, the second half wasn't a significant letdown.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

@Jammer
"And, of course, there's blatant disregard of basic elements of the series like in "Ashes to Ashes" or "Fury," which seem to make the Delta Quadrant the size of your average backyard, where ships can travel 40 or 50 thousand light-years in six months"

Not really what you were talking about, but the whole idea of the galaxy having 'quadrants' which are necessarily vast distances away from one another is rather silly. I recently saw a ST representation of the galactic quadrants, and it was essentially what I'd expected: a two-dimensional map of the galaxy divided into quadrants by two intersecting lines. Sol sits exactly on the latitudinal 'north-south' line, about halfway below the 'equator'. Kazon space, where Voyager started out, is also relatively close to the center line, but about halfway 'north'.

The 70,000 light years is mostly a function of the latitudinal distance. Voyager could actually have been thrown even further from home by being thrown toward the 'western' longtitudinal edge of the Alpha Quadrant.

In fact, wherever it is that the latitudinal and longitudinal arms of the quadrant intersect there must be a place where, if you got on all fours, you could stand with one foot or hand in the Alpha, Delta, Beta and Gamma quadrants at the same time. Surely someone must have done a cartoon of this.

Incidentally, the Galactic Quadrant map reminds me of the Political Compass. If we were to superimpose the former on the latter, The Borg and the Kazon would be right-leaning authoritarians, The Cardassians would be socialist libertarians, and The Dominion would be leaning towards authoritarian communism.

The Federation (or at least Earth) would be Centrists with liberal-leaning social policies.

I'm going to go wash up now.

So whereas I'm happy to go along with Voyager being 70,000 light years away from home, this isn't simply because it was hurled into the Delta, or any particular quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Nov 24, 2019, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Harry: I tried to get Lindsay back to Voyager, but she was already dead. I buried her
in space.

What? Was she going off and stinking up the shuttle? You didn't have some means of putting her in stasis, or behind a force-field in an airtight or refrigerated state or any number of other possibilities that would have allowed her a normal funeral back on Voyager (which Janeway seems to imply is what happened near the end of the episode)?

The writing for this episode just seemed atrociously sloppy. I lost count of the number of silly moments in the script. I genuinely enjoyed Spirit Folk' more (and I wasn't exactly crazy about tha5 one either) but It wasn't pitched as serious SF, and this was.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Voyager had improved significantly at this point in its run. It may never hold a place in my heart like DS9 but 'Latent Image' and to a lesser extent last week's 'Counterpoint' are worthy episodes that provide a satisfying back-to-back viewing experience on this umpteenth rewatch. Something that was rare in a single episode from seasons 1 - 3. Yes, the over-reliance on three key characters is a major problem (Janeway, Seven and The Doctor remind me of Kirk, Spock and McCoy carrying the whole series in the las season of TOS), but nevertheless the last season and a half has been such an improvement in general. My memory insists this wears thin eventually and seasons six and seven sag in comparison, but considering how much I generally deride Voyager, at this point in season five I'm enjoying it more than I'd expected to on this latest visit.

FWIW I think the young Jammer was a little stingy with this one. I'd definitely give it a solid 3.5. Next week we're back to whocaresville with Chaotica , but I've been pleasantly surprised that a show of which I have so middling an opinion has been so frequently enjoyable over the past thirty-odd episodes.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Nov 8, 2019, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

The Doctor to Seven, during one of increasingly terse exchanges:

"Between impulse and action, there is a world of good taste begging for your acquaintance."

God, that's a delicious use of language. The sort of line 'Deadwood' might have produced half a dozen times per episode, but most TV never manages at all.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Nov 2, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

@Rahul - what does his being or not being a socialist have to do with anything? No, don't answer ; I don't want to dwell on this Elliot business. @ Doug Willis - why did you have to invite people to discuss Elliot in a thread which he hadn't posted to for eight years?

Sorry
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, Oct 31, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

From Encyclopaedia of Galactic Expressions


"Computer, halt turbolift!"


- used when one party feels a conversation has suddenly entered disconcerting new territory. A more archaic version may have been "Time out"'.

---

Honestly, this time around I can tell when 'computer, half turbolift' is coming - whenever two people walk into a turbolift having a conversation, and it goes to a two-shot of them continuing the conversation inside the lift. It never fails.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I like Vic Fontaine, and I like this episode.

But by my count, of the last 12 episodes, only 2 contained material which meaningfully advanced the Dominian War arc ('Treachery..', where we learn that a disease has infected the Great Link, and 'Covenant', where Dukat's agenda is incrementally advanced)

And then we rush into the last third of the season like our lives depend on it.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Sep 1, 2019, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

It's just not obvious to me that there was any need to replace Jadzia. With her departure the show had the same number of lead characters as in the first three seasons, and it managed ine then (and this was also before Rom, Kassidy, to an to an extent Garak, and various other supporting characters had become significant players). We just had Vic Fontaine added at the end of season 6, did we really need the show, in its crucial final season, to dick about trying to establish a new major character?

Oh, well. I don't particularly dislike Ezri - except insofar as I'm just not very invested in the whole Trill thing. I generally found Jadzia's early Trillcentric episodes rather boring, though she did grow in stature as a character later - it's just that it's frustrating to watch the series frittering episodes on this sort of thing just when you're dying to get back to the main story arc.

For that matter, the baseball game episode tossed into this three-episode hiatus was questionable timing. It's not like we really needed a break from anything by that stage.

Not a bad episode all the same; just question the need for this character to exist in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

@Yanks 'I never thought the "great link" meant sex.'

It may not MEAN sex, but IMO the linking between the female Shapeshifter and Odo has to be supposed to make us think of intimacy in a way that suggests sexual pleasure. She even asks him "do you want me to stop?" as she's 'seducing' him.

Really strong episode. I'd give it 3.5*, and it doesn't fall short of 4* because of any particular thing it did wrong.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 2:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

@Dusty

" I wondered if Hanok was played by Rene Auberjonois"

I was just about convinced it was Rene. The posture, facial mannerisms, tone of voice seemed spot-on. I even thought the final scene where Hanok winks at Odo was an acknowledgement of that. I think Cromwell is even lankier than Auberjonois; that's about all that seemed wrong.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I also wish you comfort and any good memories you can forge together in this hard time.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Oh, my giddy aunt - the Skye Boat song!

I was actually looking up the origin of that expression (giddy aunt), and the first page I landed on had a photo of Patrick Troughton as the Second Dr Who, playing his recorder. Troughton was still the Doctor when I first saw Dr Who, so I should have remembered this...

So the flute has tassles hanging off it, just like Picard's flute...

I can't be the first person who's noticed this - but amazingly I didn't find any webpages making a connection between ST, Picard, Dr Who, Troughton, flutes and/or recorders.

So I was going to suggest you search for images of 'troughton' and 'recorder' - but nevermind, because THIS came up straight away

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4C8Bpl32rl4

and nobody even made the connection even on that page!
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

The reveal at the end of 'Whispers' has no doubt been done before - it feels a particularly good fit for SF - but this episode preceded it's famous deployment a few years later in 'The Sixth Sense' (and then 'The Others'). I'm sure Philip K dick used it too, though OTTOMH can't remember in what.

In any case a great episode, and I found the clone's death tragic and disturbing (and the idiot alien who shot him didn't even get a raised eyebrow)
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, May 31, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Was just watching the 'Dave I'm Losing My Mind' scene from 2001, and realised that isolinear chips were invented in 1968
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, May 23, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I'm a bit confused as to how O'brien 's actions constitute trampling all over the Prime Directive. I realise it can be a rather rubbery concept, but it is generally invoked when dealing with pre-warp civilisations (e.g. Starfleet Captains are prepared to let pre-warp civilisations go extinct rather than lift a finger, but will gladly shove asteroids out of the way if a warp-capable society is involved). In the case of a warp-capable civilisation the PD does get invoked in certain situations, such as not taking sides in the Klingon Civil War, but I'm doubtful that O’Brien's interference in The Hunt could possibly be construed as anything close to that.

Well, anyway, other than it bringing back memories of those boring Hirogen episodes of Voyager, which of course were years away, I enjoyed this ep, as I have all the DS9 eps so far. Season 1 may not be up to the high standard the show would achieve later, but with the minor exception of Rom, the show hit the ground running.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 6, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Geordi's discomfort with the fawning attention of Ensign Tyler could probably just be considered as part of a nebulous b-plot which in this episode includes anything not directly to do with Data's dreams. Also it turns out to have some ironic purpose when he ends up grateful to her for saving him from Picard's annoying him ("Good work, Ensign. I thought he'd never leave.").
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, May 1, 2019, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Worf wasn't just 'late for work', he was eyes-glazed-over immersed in some spiritual ritual which turned his quarters into a smoke-house, and had no apparent intentions of turning up for work that day at all. And Picard was so rough on him that he gave him an indefinite leave of absence and a shuttlecraft. At least they didn't turn the whole ship around this time, but I wonder how often shuttlecraft get loaned out to crew members to go on non-Starfleet related spiritual quests, or to go shopping or whatever.

I was also a bit confused as to how a clone is supposed to automatically have their original's memories (like visiting Worf as a boy). To achieve something like that, I'd have thought you'd require a literal duplicate like next week's Riker.

I do like Worf, but I can't say I like Klingons much. The Klingons were maybe fleshed out a little more in DS9, though I still wasn't fond of Klingon-centric episodes, and had to resist counting how many times per episode Worf would say 'honour' (with double points for 'he/she/they have no honour!'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

From the first five minutes, I genuinely thought this was going to be gold, but AFAIC from this point it drifted gradually into above-averageness. Better than the last two, but that wouldn't be hard.

Like episodes of this show, not all of my reviews are going to be memorable.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

...to be fair to Menosky, perhaps the Jack London thing was Jeri Taylor's doing when it was fleshed out into a teleplay.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I didn't make it through this one. Yes, I've seen TNG umpteen times, and on each repeat viewing I'm inclined to skip episodes I know to be duds, but this is the first time I can remember giving up on this ep, especially as i made it through part one.

It doesn't help that we're immediately back with Clemens, but it was actually the other 'historical' character which proved to be my undoing. I mean, I knew it was coming, but somehow when it came to the Jack London reveal I really felt like wringing Joe Menosky's neck. Seriously, was their any point to that character being in the story, other than to surprise us by revealing his identity? Well, yes, I suppose he did the shopping for Data.

I'm also a bit dubious that aliens with the sort of technology these guys possess would need to go and find a culture experiencing a cholera epidemic in order to disguise their energy-stealing.

Most of all it's simply ominous that TNG should stoop to something as lightweight as this for a season cliffhanger. It sure doesn't bode well for season 6 - though I'm hoping it's a little stronger than the back nine of season 5 turned out to be.

I'd probably not be making such a fuss over this episode if it had just been a regular one-shot, but to plant it at such an important juncture, and to give it an obviously substantial budget... Maybe Trek should just have stayed away from these time-travel-back-to-Earth larks, let alone making them into two-parters. They did it successfully twice in the first season of TOS, but since then, I dunno. I even got impatient with DS9's 'Past Tense'.

At least they left Troi's mother and Worf's son at home.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

' the Twin character'

...I meant of course, 'the Twain charcter'
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.