Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 119 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, May 23, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I'm a bit confused as to how O'brien 's actions constitute trampling all over the Prime Directive. I realise it can be a rather rubbery concept, but it is generally invoked when dealing with pre-warp civilisations (e.g. Starfleet Captains are prepared to let pre-warp civilisations go extinct rather than lift a finger, but will gladly shove asteroids out of the way if a warp-capable society is involved). In the case of a warp-capable civilisation the PD does get invoked in certain situations, such as not taking sides in the Klingon Civil War, but I'm doubtful that O’Brien's interference in The Hunt could possibly be construed as anything close to that.

Well, anyway, other than it bringing back memories of those boring Hirogen episodes of Voyager, which of course were years away, I enjoyed this ep, as I have all the DS9 eps so far. Season 1 may not be up to the high standard the show would achieve later, but with the minor exception of Rom, the show hit the ground running.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 6, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Geordi's discomfort with the fawning attention of Ensign Tyler could probably just be considered as part of a nebulous b-plot which in this episode includes anything not directly to do with Data's dreams. Also it turns out to have some ironic purpose when he ends up grateful to her for saving him from Picard's annoying him ("Good work, Ensign. I thought he'd never leave.").
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, May 1, 2019, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Worf wasn't just 'late for work', he was eyes-glazed-over immersed in some spiritual ritual which turned his quarters into a smoke-house, and had no apparent intentions of turning up for work that day at all. And Picard was so rough on him that he gave him an indefinite leave of absence and a shuttlecraft. At least they didn't turn the whole ship around this time, but I wonder how often shuttlecraft get loaned out to crew members to go on non-Starfleet related spiritual quests, or to go shopping or whatever.

I was also a bit confused as to how a clone is supposed to automatically have their original's memories (like visiting Worf as a boy). To achieve something like that, I'd have thought you'd require a literal duplicate like next week's Riker.

I do like Worf, but I can't say I like Klingons much. The Klingons were maybe fleshed out a little more in DS9, though I still wasn't fond of Klingon-centric episodes, and had to resist counting how many times per episode Worf would say 'honour' (with double points for 'he/she/they have no honour!'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

From the first five minutes, I genuinely thought this was going to be gold, but AFAIC from this point it drifted gradually into above-averageness. Better than the last two, but that wouldn't be hard.

Like episodes of this show, not all of my reviews are going to be memorable.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

...to be fair to Menosky, perhaps the Jack London thing was Jeri Taylor's doing when it was fleshed out into a teleplay.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I didn't make it through this one. Yes, I've seen TNG umpteen times, and on each repeat viewing I'm inclined to skip episodes I know to be duds, but this is the first time I can remember giving up on this ep, especially as i made it through part one.

It doesn't help that we're immediately back with Clemens, but it was actually the other 'historical' character which proved to be my undoing. I mean, I knew it was coming, but somehow when it came to the Jack London reveal I really felt like wringing Joe Menosky's neck. Seriously, was their any point to that character being in the story, other than to surprise us by revealing his identity? Well, yes, I suppose he did the shopping for Data.

I'm also a bit dubious that aliens with the sort of technology these guys possess would need to go and find a culture experiencing a cholera epidemic in order to disguise their energy-stealing.

Most of all it's simply ominous that TNG should stoop to something as lightweight as this for a season cliffhanger. It sure doesn't bode well for season 6 - though I'm hoping it's a little stronger than the back nine of season 5 turned out to be.

I'd probably not be making such a fuss over this episode if it had just been a regular one-shot, but to plant it at such an important juncture, and to give it an obviously substantial budget... Maybe Trek should just have stayed away from these time-travel-back-to-Earth larks, let alone making them into two-parters. They did it successfully twice in the first season of TOS, but since then, I dunno. I even got impatient with DS9's 'Past Tense'.

At least they left Troi's mother and Worf's son at home.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

' the Twin character'

...I meant of course, 'the Twain charcter'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Just watched this for the umpteenth time. I'm afraid the Twin character gets less and less bearable with each repeat viewing. Why people at that party actually stood around putting up with him is beyond my understanding. At least they didn't try to do Oscar Wilde.

From the opinions expressed over the years I have determined that the classic period for TNG lasted for seven seconds during the closing credits in an episode near the end of season three, but I can't work out which episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Oct 27, 2018, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

A bunch of hillbillies storming onto the first interstellar ship they've ever seen, somehow overpowering the Vulcans with primitive weapons, figuring out how to fly it, and then somehow enslaving the Vukcan empire has to be the most preposterous notion this series has developed (I'm not sure if it beats Paris and Janeway mating as Salamanders) .

The opening titles were clever, but after that it was just a pointlessly nasty, unpleasant experience. I skipped the DS9 mirror universe eps last time I watched it, and they were better than this.

And yeah, calling your readers delusional - not cool.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, Oct 27, 2018, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

Can't believe I missed Seth MacFarlane the first time I watched this. After seeing a couple episodes of 'Orville' he stood out like dog's nuts.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Oct 21, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

The other day I stumbled across an episode of 'My Favorite Martian' on TV, for what must have been the first time since I was a kid. Martin, for somereason had become a folk singing sensation. Rather than being reminded of Boothby, I was instantly reminded of Robert Picardo (in this, and especially the ep where he daydreams hypo-spraying Tuvok while singing Verdi). It was so uncanny I was convinced Picardo must have had Ray Wakston's character partly in mind.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Oct 15, 2018, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Oddly I didn't comment on this the first time around. I think I may have been in the middle of a several episode binge, and recapped on them all at the end.

I won't take up much space: this, which is effectively the second half of a two-parter*, is the strongest episode of ENT yet. Criticisms seem like quibbles, but I won't be able to resist a few ;). 'Damage' is strong enough to stand alongside some good DS9 eps (though not alongside their best). and on my second time 'round I was struck by frustration and 'some sort of' sadness that the series couldn’t t have managed this level of quality back in season one, when it might have kept the boat afloat for its presumably intended 7 seasons.

A few odd thoughts: the theme song and whole feel of that title sequence have seemed out of place for all of season three, and positively inappropriate by now.

Much as I applauded them finally giving Travis some proper airtime, I wish I could say he seized the opportunity. I thought his delivery of the lines "We're getting home" - which should have been filled with nuance and passion, were flat, uninflected and characterless. Honestly, I think this episode convinced me that his near absence in most episodes later in the series is no great loss. I'm tired of feeling embarrassed for him.

Best ep of the season so far. If only the consistency had been there from the start of the season, let alone the start of the series.

*how many Trek two-parters improve in their second part?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 30, 2018, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

* struggle* *strain*..... no, I just can't do it. I TRIED to get into this episode again, and I just don't care. I can't take Klingons seriously. They're an idea that should have been left in the 60's, or at least downplayed, instead of trying to persuade us that a culture like this could ever get into space., where they go around head butting each other and saying, "The toaster has no honour!" And though I actually liked B'Ellana as a character, I just couldn't get interested in this story, or take it seriously.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

'Pointlessly compelling' seems a decent way of summing up this episode. I can't deny it had a powerful emotional effect on me, but to absolutely no end, so far as I can see, at least in terms of the series.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Jammer's review of this episode is genuinely more original and entertaining and contained more thoughtfulness and insight than the episode itself. There is clearly some sort of law at work here, such that especially forgettable episodes produce especially memorable reviews. It's some consolation.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Some kind of an episode...

Really, though I don't quite think it deserves four stars, this an almost Lazarus like performance from the Voyager team, after such a horrid clutch of episodes from mid season. The Borg would eventually be neutered by this series, but for now they're still effective, there's a new villain on the block, and the stage is set for the resurgent season 4, before VOY gets turned into the Seven of Nine Show featuring The Doctor.

And... I'm calling this an unofficial record, because I'm going to try to stop counting, but in this episode (largely in the first half) we get...

Some type of protective shielding
Some sort of premonitions
Some kind of subspace turbulence
Some kind of starfleet protocol
Some sort of bio-readings
A warp propulsion system of some kind
A ship of some kind
Some kind of a weapon
Some sort of parallel universe
and Harry gets 'transformed in some way'
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jul 9, 2018, 1:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

If this hasn't been asked above, I imagine it's been asked somewhere on this site - but could someone just remind me what the actual benefit is of being to disengage holideck safety protocols so that people can die?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sun, Jul 8, 2018, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Wow, VOY really hit the skids in season 3. Usually when rewatching a ST series I miss out the odd episode, but this time through, this one and 'Unity' were the only ones I even bothered with out of the last handful.

One thing I've noticed this time is that Kes annoys me a lot less than usual. I actually really appreciated her understated acting in this ep (I may have been burned out on Avery Brooks' overacting, having just been through the otherwise much superior DS9).

One thing thougn - and I have to bring this up because it's driving me nuts, and once you start noticing it I promise it'll drive you nuts, too - even in these two superior episodes, the inexplicable fetish by the writers for the phrase 'some kind of' is as rampant as ever. I mean, really, in most of these cases, they could have just said 'a'.

In 'Unity' and 'Before and After' alone, we get

"some kind of stasis"
"some kind of colony"
"some sort of natural disaster"
"some sort of axonal amplifier"
"some Borg collective"
"some neural processor"
"some kind of automaton"
"some sort of senility"
"some kind of time paradox"
"some kind of radiation poisoning"
and
"some sort of biotemporal field"
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

As someone who has recently had to watch two of their best friends slipping into premature dementia, I found this quite poignant - which OTTOMH is nearly a first for a Klingon episode.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Entertaining enough episode, but too many episodes not advancing the main story arc, and this you'd hardly call this SF.

In the two weeks everyone found to devote to preparing for this match, perhaps they could have hand-built a few ancient Bajoran spacecraft, too.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, Jun 4, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I just want to mention something that bothers me about this ep every time I see it:

A few seasons ago Sisko was at his wits end about his father's heart condition and frail health, and how he wouldn't look after himself. Now he has no problem with dragging him through an interminable hike through trackless desert, dehydrating and exhausted?
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Sat, May 26, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Flawless episode with some sublime performances. I'd probably grant four stars to part two as well. I'm trying to think if there are any bad Garak episodes...
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Wed, May 23, 2018, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

This really wasn't nescessary. It had already been established that Odo and Quark's relationship was thawing and that they actually cared for each other (as $G noted). So to me the idea of Odo gloating over the idea of having Quark locked in some distant prison for the rest of his life was jarring, well before the mountain stuff.

This was one of my favourite episodes of this season originally, but I only found it average this time 'round.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 21, 2018, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Yes, I realise that link had little to do with that episode, and was a Voyager compilation, but the overuse of that phrase is endemic to TNG and to a lesser extent DS9 as well, as is the 'too much interference' problem (it's amazing how mindbogglingly sophisticated Starfleet's scanners are - except when they can't read through a cloud)
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Mon, May 21, 2018, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

This a Klingon episode, and myself being an insomniac, I thought I'd do an 'honour tally' (number of times 'honour' is mentioned.)

Seventeen. I'm not sure if that's more or less than usual, but I do get a bit tired of hearing it.

Though it's nowhere as wearing as the number of times, in any post TOS series, they say 'some sort of' or 'too much interference'. I think I counted fourteen individual 'some sort/kind of....''s in one episode of Voyager. DS9 fares a little better perhaps because they don't do as much exploring, but I just heard Dax come out with it twice inside of about 20 seconds in a season five ep.

Someone who was even more bothered than me put this clip reel together. It's hilarious. Anyone who hasn't seen it, pkease cut and paste this link. If it doesn't work, just do a search for 'voyager' and 'some sort of'

I hope this doesn't break any forum rule

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JwZiezIxCVU
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.