Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 465 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

I liked the character stuff in this episode, but the entire Plot is too contrived for me. And again we have another episode where Voyager is useless, only this time, it's to computers who were outclassed by 1999.

That scene REALLY chuffed me, I must admit. Was that the only way they could think to make drama? To jmake Voyager the "underdog". It couldn't be cleverness on the part of the villain or underlying moral principles that cause a problem, no, it's cause everything is broken and because somehow his repurposed tech that looks completely in place in 1996 actually happens to also have all the future technology capabilities, he just doesn't release that.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

To be frank, this episode feels like it's an episode written by atheists trying to justify religion, but their heart isn't into it.

As a result their "justification" feels like forced contrivance. It doesn't make sense because it doesn't make sense. Stop asking questions.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

The one thing I think undercuts this episode's success is B'lanna's righteous indignation scene where she calls the head Enaran a murderer....even though based on the memories, if they're correct, this was completed by the parents of the oldest Enarans there. Further, the majority of the population was told the cover up story, which they would have believed, naturally, so.....B'Lanna is attacking people that are almost certainly completely innocent. in fact if anything the fact they were lied to at all implies that most of the populace would have been opposed to the plan had they known, and so it's really just a small cabal of government officials that are responsible for such behavior.

And that undercuts the entire denouement for me. It makes Capt. Janeway cut all relations with the Enarans but...this is both incredibly naive and not terribly just. Voyager needs all the help it can get and, even if the Enarans as a people are 100% guilty, they were also lied to as a majority and it wasn't these people. That sort of group judgment is....some kind of -ism and definitely unjust.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, May 28, 2019, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Hoo boy this comment section. I liked this episode, but Jammer identifies something I couldn't quite put my finger on when Tuvix is so adamant on not being separated. Up until that point it feels like Tuvix is acting like Tuvok and Neelix in one body, but then there' s a split there.

I'll also admit when Tuvix said there' s a problem that "he doesn't want to die" I was taken aback a bit, as that idea hadn't ever occurred to me. And while I don't think Doc's refusing is really in line with him, I think Janeway's handling at the end where she's obviously shaken and disturbed by what she must do rings true. But......

Lt. Yarko got it right in 2015 (and honestly I'm surprised it took 7 years for that to surface). There is no "murder" here. Tuvix is a composite of Tuvok and Neelix. There is a blended conciousness with its own "identity" there, but it's still just Tuvok and Neelix. And the episode makes that clear at several points. When they arrive back on Voyager merged, he says I am Neelix and he says I am Tuvok. He has both of their memories, emotions, and desires. He loves Kes because he is Neelix, but he also loves Tuvok's wife...because he is Tuvok.

The only reason we think of it as a "killing" is because Tuvix suggests that it is, but that doesn't mean Tuvix is correct. It's simply the two minds trying to deal with their situation as best they can. He is two lives in one body, and reseperating that out doesn't "kill" anyone, it simply lets them act independently of one another, despite what the combined consciousness may feel at the time. But there's no indication his feeling is correct. If anything the evidence of the episode indicates he is just Tuvok and Neelix, only in one body.

But I might be slightly colored by my previous experience with Dragon Ball Z. Lol.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, May 27, 2019, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

I didn't like this one as much as Jammer, there were a couple of big points that bothered me.

First, from a show standpoint, the "Voyager is getting wrecked" part just takes too long, especially as they aren't the ones to solve the problem and it doesn't give them any insight into their situation. It's just a long slow destruction.

Second, the Vidiians takeover was terrible. I thought I was going to get some cool action scene of Starfleet security barricading a hallway and having a shootout a la the opening scene of Star Wars, but...they're far too incompetent for that. And as someone else mentioned, this voyager still has their transporter, seems like they could just transport enemies into the vacuum of space for days. Of course, they creates a problem because they don't have time for that with the other Voyager, but they're complete helplessness irritates me. Especially since it seems to be a trend in the series. Voyager is always the weakest ship in the fight, and that kinda sucks.

And the philosophical implications of the ending are....uncomfortable. And unaddressed. Also kind of a problem. Though the Amoeba analogy helps me a bit.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, May 27, 2019, 7:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Funny, I'm usually commenting because I found an episode worse than Jammer, but here is one of the odd exceptions. I liked this episode a lot and found the conclusions to be satisfactory. It does make assumptions about what the Kazon will do, but....they've been pretty predictable in the past so this doesn't bother me. It's also feasible that in the original plan Paris would have contacted them if they didn't come after him, either way would have worked for their plan, and I found the action to be pretty good.

Neelix's dabbling and general flaky nature actually work for me in this episode, because I can accept making a morning TV show is something he would do on a whim...and something he would abandon two weeks later as his attention was drawn elsewhere. In the meantime, aggressively and annoyingly pursuing something to the chagrin of others is kind of his thing, so he was basically already a Journalist, this just lets him have plot significance.

And to top it all off Voyager actually won a space battle for once, which is quite the miracle.

So yeah, I liked this one a lot. I was a little surprised they just killed Jonas off, but they weren't going to execute him so this is a nice clean way to end his story line and give him his just desserts. I'll also say that like someone else said, I got Hogan and Jonas confused at first. But overall, good episode.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, May 27, 2019, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Soran

Thanks for proving my point.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Exactly. Why is Roddenberry's personal viewpoint the only position that should matter? It amazes me that so many fans who lambast religion are simultaneously so religiously devoted to the dogma of Roddenberryism - i.e. "Gene wouldn't approve of.... fill in the blank." And it goes beyond religion in Trek. Capitalism/capitalists are shown in a semi-positive light? Can't do that, Gene wouldn't approve! Conflict between the Starfleet and Maquis characters on VOY? Can't do that, Gene wouldn't approve! Any questioning of any aspect of the "Roddenberry ideal" of early TNG? Can't do that, Gene wouldn't approve! Any interpersonal conflict between main characters? Can't do that, Gene wouldn't approve! For crying out loud - children mourning the death of their parents (a.k.a. TNG: "The Bonding")? Can't do that, Gene wouldn't approve!

So, we're supposed to celebrate diversity, but we're also supposed to conform to the herd mentality. I just don't get it.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, May 26, 2019, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

I expected this episode to get savaged and was surprised it wasn't as badly rated as threshold. I hate this one a lot.

I think I just can't get past the initial premise. A doomsday superweapon with an everything proof shield....built by the Cardassians? If the Cardassians could build this thing they would have defeated the entire Dominion single handledly and retaken DS9 without a sweat. That lone concept just sets this episode up for failure for me, cause it's built on contrivance, which makes everything else seem like contrivance. I wish that instead of just being invincible they had given Voyager some reason to not destroy the Dreadnought so there could still be tension but it not be contrived. Maybe it contained some part that Voyager desperately needed or something. That would use the Delta Quadrant aspect and mean they couldn't just fire upon the ship.

But yeah, the basic premise was just a bridge way too far for me and it ruins it.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, May 25, 2019, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

"This episode is not in keeping with Gene's vision of the future..."

You mean the vision that lead to McCoy saying "if you're speaking of worships of sorts, we represent many beliefs" in "Bread and Circuses"?

Or the one that lead to the Enterprise having an area that was specifically designed as the ship's Chapel, complete with numerous religious symbols on the walls, an alter and a woman genuflecting before said alter twice in "Balance of Terror" and where Kirk's funeral was held in "The Tholain Web"?

Or the one which had Kirk saying "mankind has no need for gods; we find the One quite adequate" in "Who Mourns for Adonais?"?

Or the one which had Kirk saying "Daystrom felt such an act was against the laws of God and man" in "The Ultimate Computer"?

Or the one that lead to Spock and McCoy dropping biblical references so often that it would be pointless to list them all?

"... which I've always found to be optimistic. It is not optimistic, but rather pretty depressing that hundreds of years from now, belief without evidence is held in such high regard."

I've also always seen Gene's vision as pretty optimistic - that all people, atheists and all different religious types, could leave in harmony and just except each other despite their differences. It really is pretty depressing that so many atheists can't do that, instead wanting everyone to just conform to their way of thinking in one huge, civilization-wide group-think.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Well, you heard it here folks. When a white man says that he doesn't believe in burning non-white women alive and instead wants to punish those who do.... that's somehow "terribly racist, bigoted garbage" that should land someone in jail.

What a world we live in.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Men decide what? Whether or not they "get any"?

Women are the ones who ultimately decide whether or not a sexual encounter takes place. The only time that isn't the case is in cases of rape, which this episode obviously didn't depict.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: E2

Given that Spock's was green, I'll day green.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Well, given that you seem pretty prejudiced against all white people, I'd say you sound pretty awful yourself.

I thought Star Trek was supposed to be a post-racial society, where stuff like what Sisko rails against doesn't exist anymore.

But then, I am white, so I guess I'm just a racist for saying that.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Mon, Dec 17, 2018, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

I'm sorry, but did you just compare all white people to a death bringing scourge? Sounds kind of bigoted to me.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 1:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Stay with the man who kidnapped her? Yeah, I don't think that would have been a good idea.
Set Bookmark
Luke (THE SHIT)
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!

LUKE YOU ARE A SUBHUMAN SHIT. A CONSERVATIVE TURDSUCKER AS YOU CAN'T WATCH STAR TREK. NEVER! IF YOU'LL BE CAUGHT AGAIN WATCHING STAR TREK YOU'LL DIE SMELLING MY FARTS FOR 5 DAYS. AFTER, YOU CORPSE WILL BE TURDED AND TURDED AGAIN FOR THE ETERNITY. GO EAT TRASH AND SUCK STINKY TURDS AND BARF, U DIRTY BASTURD AND SUBHUMAN SHIT!
Set Bookmark
Luke
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Our Man Bashir

@Elliott

Quick question - how do you compute your final rating for a given episode? I ask because I have no idea how your scoring system works in regard to the scores assigned to each individual act and how they all relate to the final score. Where would this episode (which you gave three stars) fall on a 0-10 scale? 7.5 out of ten, perhaps?

I'm curious because I, as an admittedly HUGE James Bond fan (I even said in my review that Bond is probably my second favorite franchise after Trek) gave "Our Man Bashir" an 8/10 and you, as an admitted non-fan, seem to have given it something close to the same score. That may actually be the first time I've seen that happen - for a fan and a non-fan of Bond to come to the same overall opinion of the episode. In my experience this episode seems to be liked by Bond fans but disliked by non-fans.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

@Elliott

"...we are reminded of the existence of Banjoman's mate (whom I suspect guises herself as Lulu Hogg)"

Are you comparing the Caretaker to Boss Hogg from "The Dukes of Hazzard"? If so, why do you have disrespect J.D.'s good name like that? He was a much more three-dimensional character than Banjoman (or Suspiria) ever was.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

@Elliott

"...but in 1995, this must have been a huge let-down for this promising new series."

I actually remember watching this back in 1995 when it first premiered and I can assure it was indeed that.... a huge letdown. For all the flack VOY gets (some richly deserved, in my opinion) VOY Season One is actually really enjoyable on the whole. I've always thought the show had the strongest opening season of them all (I'm not counting "Discovery" - I haven't seen a single episode and have no desire to). If I ever get around to continuing my reviews I'd be interested to see how the first season actually does stack up against the others.

I am confused about one thing you wrote, however....

"Chakotay enters and confronts the group. Doughy says they're just going to do things “the Maquis way,” whatever the fuck that means. Well, apparently “the Maquis way” is actually “the Sisko way,” as Chakotay just decks him right out of his chair, warning him that further insubordination like this will just incur further punches. Beltran gives a good performance here, but I have to say, I fucking hate this. First of all, what if it was Henley (the girl with the headband) who had given his little Braveheart speech? Would Chakotay have punched her in the face? Or the Bajoran kid? This isn't the 60s. Kirk is dead—let's just let the machismo die already, unless the Maquis have decided to abandon sexual equality along with common sense. Heh. Tell that to B'Ellana."

Are you saying that obviously he shouldn't punch Henley? Because if you want sexual equality, then yes, he should be willing to punch her just as readily as he punches Dalby. Or are you saying that nobody should be punching anybody (FYI, I agree completely, if that is what you're saying)?

What bothers me most about this episode is the discrepancy between how the Maquis are treated and how Neelix is treated. Dalby messes with a gel-pack in order to fix it and inadvertently interferes with a couple of minor ship's systems (most notably being Janeway's holonovel). What's the punishment for this? He and three other Maquis, who weren't even involved in the gel-pack disruptions, are put through a grueling training program in other to "whip them into shape". Neelix, on the other hand, through sheer fucking incompetence, not only damages ALL the gel-packs but in so doing threatens the entire ship. What is his punishment? Oh, that's right, he's not punished at all! He's not forced to endure 10K runs with the gravity increased or made to clean the entire transporter room with a futuristic toothbrush. He sure isn't forced to adhere to every single minute detail of Starfleet uniform standards. All we basically get is.... "Oh, that's just our Neelix. Isn't he such a character? Hyuck hyuck!"

Gee, I wonder why the Maquis are having trouble adapting to life on this ship. One of them commits a small breach of protocol and four of them are singled out for rigorous "reeducation". And when they, quite rightly, point out the ludicrous nature of the punishment, they're physically assaulted by their own captain. Neelix, however, can jeopardize the lives of everyone onboard and not even get a slap on the wrist because, apparently, he has some kind of special, protected status.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 2:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

@Iceman

"It's interesting reading both Elliott and Luke's takes on the episode. It seems that the one constant in the Trek fandom, regardless of political ideology, is that the Ferengi are horrible."

Indeed. Elliott and I make not agree on much - for instance he thinks that " capitalism, especially in its current Neoliberal expression, is a blight upon the earth" and I'm of the opinion that capitalism, even in it's corrupted neo-liberal form, is the best hope humanity has for prosperity and long-term advancement. However, on one thing we most certainly agree.... the Ferengi are just a joke. Heck, I was even harsher on this episode than he was.

While I do have a real soft-spot for Quark (he's probably my favorite character on DS9) and for the Ferengi in general, I got to admit the execution of so, so much of the Ferengi-oriented material (from TNG to DS9 and VOY, and even on ENT!) is just downright garbage.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Fri, Oct 19, 2018, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Elliott

1.) "Well, it was well-established that the Bajoran culture was once very advanced. It was established all the way back in “Ensign Ro.” What hasn't been explained is what slowed them down before the Occupation. Hmm...I wonder if Bajor had a dark age, when religious paranoia squashed out understanding, reason, science and skepticism?"

If I remember correctly, the only thing that "Ensign Ro" established was that the Bajorans were "culturally advanced" - meaning they were doing things like producing philosophers and artists and great works of literature - when Humans weren't yet standing erect. Aside from these light-ships, I don't think it's ever been said that the Bajorans were in any way technologically advanced prior to the Occupation.

Dukat will later say when the Cardassians first came to Bajor that the Bajorans were at least a century behind them, technologically speaking. Now, granted, that comes from the mouth of a deluded madman with a gargantuan ego and an overwhelming sense of racial superiority plus a Cardassian version of the White Man's Burden, so take it for what it's really worth. However, from everything else we see or are told about the Bajorans prior to the Occupation, they seem to have a much more contemplative species than most. They don't seem to have been all that interested in advancing their technology.

I doubt there was a "dark age, when religious paranoia squashed out understanding, reason, science and skepticism". They just seem to have followed a much different path than did Humanity, or indeed most of the races in Trek.

2.) "Over dinner, Sisko tells Jake that the most difficult part of the trip, besides overcoming common sense, will be getting through the Don Cheadle Belt or whatever it's called."

Actually, I'd say the most difficult part would be.... getting the thing off the planet in the first place. Seriously, how did the ancient Bajorans (who, remember, aren't that technologically advanced) get this rickety and delicate thing into orbit? Notice how Sisko doesn't even bother with part of the journey? He and Jake don't start their little get-away from Bajor. They launch the thing out of one of the station's cargo bays. I actually like this episode a fair deal more than you seem to (I gave it a 7/10) but it is rather convenient how that little problem is just skimmed over, isn't it?

3.) "I don't understand why Sisko couldn't have built a regular boat...you know, on the water. He and Jake could have sailed across the Bajoran sea—still an impressive and difficult thing to do by yourself with 800-year-old equipment!"

That.... is a very good idea! I would have loved to see that. Sadly, I think that wasn't even considered because DS9 was already getting plenty of criticism for being a "soap opera in space" and not having enough science-fiction elements, a la TOS or TNG (or even VOY at this point). Focusing a whole episode on one group of characters doing the decidedly non-science-ficiton thing of sailing in a boat and another group grappling with interpersonal issues probably wouldn't have helped in that regard.

4.) "Finally, in my opinion, the character of Jake is not adding very much to the series. Sending him off to school, where he could return, Wesley-like, now and again when the story could use him, would alleviate the awkwardness of having this ostensible main cast member so frequently absent from the show. I suppose there may have been contract issues preventing this, but it seems like a missed opportunity."

I doubt there were any contract issues involved. Sadly, the reason Jake so often appears as "Sir Not-Appearing-In-This-Picture" is because the writers created him in the first place not to be a fleshed out character in his own right but to simply add dynamics to Sisko's character. It wasn't until they basically stumbled on the idea of making him a writer that they had any idea what to do with him at all in his own right, divorced from his relationship with his father. And even from here on out, with the writer aspect attached to the character, they STILL don't do all that much.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

@PJ

Even though I completely agree that this is nothing but a slap in the face to all Kes fans, myself included, I have defend Braga on this one.

He was only one of four people involved in the writing.... including Rick Berman himself. That means Braga and the other two were most likely only doing what Berman commanded them to do.

Berman deserves all the blame for this train-wreck.
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, Sep 22, 2018, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

@Elliott

"Do we really think Starfleet would casually explore Borg space if it were nearby? "

Well, I honestly wouldn't put it past them given how utterly moronic Starfleet Command and its flag officers are routinely shown to be across the whole franchise (seriously, with the exceptions of Admiral Ross in late-DS9 and Admiral Forrest in ENT, I can't think of a single example where an admiral/ambassador/bureaucrat is consistently shown to be one of the unalloyed "good guys").

"not only do they look completely human..."

Oh, come now, that's not fair. After all, they all have yellowish discolorations running from their eyes to the hairline on their temples. So, therefore, by Trek logic, they MUST look like aliens. Right?

"So, Deral, a widower, and Dax have a date where they climb trees, stand around manicured-lawns, listen to cheesy harp music, and do other really boring shit."

LOL! You know, I may disagree with Elliott on a lot of things, but I got to admit that he does know how to bring the funny. That is such a perfect description of that entire scene!
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

@Elliott

With all the talk you gave to how sexist the B-plot is, I'm just curious.... what kind of sexism are you saying "Molly must go with her mother" is? Is it sexist against women by saying that the women must take care of the children or is it sexist against men for implying that a man obviously can't be capable of caring for a child on his own?
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Count me in the camp that doesn't think "Babylon 5" has aged all that well. But, then, I was never all that impressed with it to begin with. It's a damn fine show, no doubt, but I've encountered plenty of people who honestly think it's the greatest thing since sliced bread. Sorry, but it's just not that good.

The special effects were never that great to begin with and REALLY have not aged well at all. The acting is rather hit and miss - you have phenomenally great actors like Peter Jurasik (Londo) and Andreas Katsulas (G'Kar), but the rest of the cast vary from average at best (Boxleitner as Captain Sheridan) to downright awful (Claudia Christian as Commander Ivanova). The characters themselves are also hit and miss - Londo and G'Kar are standouts, some like Marcus, Lennier, Lyta and Garibaldi are passable and others like Delenn, Vir, Zack and Ivanova range from slightly off-puting to borderline unwatchable.

The writing also varies a great deal in quality. JMS was unbelievably good at set-up and atmosphere, but often failed miserably in the pay-off to many of the shows grand arcs (at least in my humble opinion). And Season Five is.... .... well.... .... bad, just bad!

Now don't get me wrong, I do consider myself a fan of the show - in as much as I consider myself a fan off any flawed, slightly-above-average series. But if there is one thing I've always taken away from B5 it's that it has made my appreciation for DS9 rise considerably.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.