Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 31 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Luka
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 5:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

They make such a big deal about reunification and yet all we see are a few dissidents in caves and that's somehow supposed to convince the audience that this is some monumental event in history. There needed to be a much more compelling back story to get invested in. Storytelling is always beat when we are shown how a situation develops not simply told it by random characters.

Spock wasn't established nearly enough. This episode should've been about an assassination attempt on Spock akin to Martin Luther King. This episode should've been focused exclusively on Vulcan or Romulus. The Enterprise wild goose chase with the Zakdorn should've been dropped entirely.

The ending was just plain stupid. Hologram trickery? Lol come on.

The whole two parter feels rushed and a gimmick to promote Spock without having a good story to tell.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Fri, Nov 30, 2018, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I just couldn't get into this episode. The dialogue sequences between Troi and Toreth are perfunctory. Toreth hates the Tal Shiar we get it. We are told about the Tal Shiar but not shown anything. It would've been far more interesting of a story if we actually witnessed Deanna being taken prisoner on an away mission and having to escape. I also didn't think the DeSeve character added much to the episode. A traitor of the Federation that could've been an episode in and of itself with Troi having to find out his motivations and perhaps she becomes sympathetic to the dissident movement. I don't quite feel that dropping Deanna in disguise on a Romulan ship was the best way to go.
Set Bookmark
Lukaeber
Wed, Sep 12, 2018, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

How are there no security cameras in the 24th century?
Set Bookmark
Luka
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 9:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Everyone says that the battle scenes in this episode are incredible. After six episodes though this gets incredibly tedious. Sisko reciting some offensive attack, O'Brien and Nog making some stilted banter about rank and duty, rinse and repeat. In the beginning of the arc it was entertaining to see them using the Jem'Hadar ship but six episodes of pointless space shooting gets old quick.

Odo and the female changeling. How many times did she say... "you were meant to be with us in the great link". Literally repeating herself for the third straight episode.

The scenes with: Kira, Jake, Lita, Quark and Rom were ridiculous. There's no way they should've been able to escape let alone disable weapons at the end. It would've been much more plausible if the aforementioned had been put into a labor camp and they have Kira lead an escape.

Admiral Ross and Sisko planning the entire war and no one else from Starfleet in sight. Could this Admiral be any more anemic? No passionate speeches? No take charge and maybe lead a ship into battle as the casualties mount?
Set Bookmark
Luka
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Major Kira is so sexy.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

The soundtrack to Dark Frontier is impressive.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Sat, Sep 9, 2017, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

"He.. is a clone".
Set Bookmark
Luka
Sat, Aug 20, 2016, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

The characters on Voyager are amazing despite how juvenile the writing is at times. That's what can make an episode like "Investigations" completely watchable.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Sun, Aug 14, 2016, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

God Rosalind Chao was sexy in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Aug 4, 2016, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

This episode only gets 2 stars from me. The episode is one endless crisis that is riddled in technobabble after a while it gets tedious. The story never settles down long enough for us to really understand what is going on or what the characters are going through.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Release the force fieeeeeeld!
Set Bookmark
Luka
Tue, Aug 2, 2016, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

"You fight well... for a tailor."
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

The writing for this episode is so lazy and unimaginative. I hate how one phaser shot to the back and Suder is dead. Why not just have him get vaporized? At least that would make it more dramatic. Tom should've been able to track Voyager and landed his shuttle on that planet with reinforcements and he and Chakotay should've led a team of Maquis back to re-take Voyager. Chakotay then chases Seska to main engineering where she has a compression rifle pointed at the warp core. Seska goads Chakotay... "you wouldn't shoot me..." then Chakotay vaporizes her to save the ship. This episode needed some kind of showdown between Seska and Chakotay. Basics only gets 2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, Jul 13, 2016, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

This episode is the epitome of comfort TV. It's so competently made that it doesn't really matter that it's a bottle show or that that the story isn't exactly pushing the envelope. It most definitely deserves three stars because it gets from point A to point B effortlessly and we can just sit back and enjoy these great characters interact with each other and their situation. A lot of people have commented "why didn't the MacDuff just make himself Captain?" that's a legitimate question but in the end who cares? On a side note
, I always liked that music when the Sutteran ship is on the viewer. It's kind of a mysterious cue but it fits the mood perfectly.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

This episode is awesome. Yeah it's a one off Voyager adventure but god damn B'Lenna makes it worth watching. Watch this episode drunk and you'll totally enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

I actually really enjoyed this episode. I have a soft spot for Lwaxana episodes because she really was Trek royalty and I always felt bad for how crappy she got treated in most episodes. She was such a truly beautiful woman and deserved so much more in Trek. RIP Majel Barrett. No matter how badly her episodes are reviewed by the masses I will always enjoy her charm and beauty.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

This episode is brilliant. Seriously, I was a fan of TNG forever but when you get the depth of episodes like Hard Time man this is just awesome. Heh. Four stars is very appropriate. I actually conceived a story very similar to this in my mind before seeing this and then to actually see something play out like this I gotta give the DS9 writers major props. O'Brien I feel bad for the guy, he suffered for 20 fuckin years. Wow. The writing on this show is top notch.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Sat, Jun 25, 2016, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

When Sisko and Laan are discussing settling who the real emissary is, I laughed to myself and said they should've played a game of darts to determine it. All kidding aside though this was a damn great episode. O'Brien trying to adjust to being a family man and leaving his bachelor life behind. Usually the Bajoran episodes can be a bit dull but this one was really good.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, Jun 15, 2016, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

The technobabble in this episode is amazing.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Jun 9, 2016, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

"When you need to infiltrate a toxic environment it helps to be a hologram." Words to live by.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Jun 2, 2016, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

"Thought is the basis of all reality." This episode is the law of attraction. I'd give this episode at least three stars. Season 1 of TNG really was trying to explore the intricacies of human reality. That is something special that Gene Roddenberry knew about and that is what we are all lucky to have experienced watching the first season or two of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Fri, May 13, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

The episode starts out well enough. I was fully expecting this episode to be the start of a Klingon arc and tie into "The Way of the Warrior" in some way. Unfortunately, the last third of the episode is padded out with unnecessary bickering between: Worf, Kor, and Dax and a completely unsatisfying ending where they beam the sword in space. This one deserves a 2.5.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, May 11, 2016, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

"If you can learn to bend the rules, we can learn to follow them."
Set Bookmark
Luka
Thu, Feb 4, 2016, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

This episode would've been much better if Bareil had to go through with the positronic brain implant procedure from the beginning and Kira had to adjust to him being a robot. They could've kept Bareil around and maybe the Cardassians kidnap him and turn him against the Bajorans. This episode seemed like a missed opportunity on all fronts.
Set Bookmark
Luka
Wed, Feb 3, 2016, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Anyone else felt kinda bad for Lwaxana? She was a beautiful and charming woman and kept getting turned down. It's sad that Majel Barrett is no longer with us.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.