Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 119 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Sat, Apr 1, 2017, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

Bravo! A Colm Meany tour de force! What an actor that guy is, and Rosalind did a wonderful job as evil Keiko. I just wish she was better at regular Keiko. What's up with that? What a great episode! I had no problem with the humor mixed with the tension. At one point I thought to myself "Wow! Not only am I on the edge of my seat but i'm laughing nervously as well!" I also really liked Rom in this, too, but I do have a hard time with him being so brilliant all of a sudden. The ending sucked though. I would have liked a bit of explanation as to how Miles accomplished zapping the pah-wraith instead of the wormhole. Did he sneak off for a few minutes to the shuttle before calling the wraith, and how was Keiko not harmed by the zapper? Disappointing ending but great episode otherwise. 3.5 Stars
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Yes. Jake's acting wasn't stellar but also wasn't terrible. Julian's acting was a bit awkward but again not terrible. The biggest problem with this episode was that it was overwritten. One of the commenters above said that the episode tried too hard, and that pretty much nails it. I just felt like the writers are constantly beating me over the head with what they were trying to convey at every turn. If they could have toned down the writing a bit this would have been a great war episode. I give it three stars because I was impressed with Mr. Lofton's acting, which, over time, has definitely Improved.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Yikes. What a strange, awkward episode. Yeah, there were a few laughs with the ferengi/Klingon culture clash stuff but there was also too much cringey stuff, especially in the kira/miles story. I didn't buy the connection between them at all. And, why, exactly, is kira living with them? That seems like a rather extreme move. I thought she had a boyfriend. Did that relationship end? Couldn't he be giving her back rubs?

I did like jadzia coming on to worf at the end, probably mostly because Terry Farrell is such an amazingly attractive woman and I would want her to pay me any kind of attention, even if it's growling at me.
No more than 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 30, 2017, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I had a lot of the same problems with this episode as others mention in comments above. But what really bothered me was the jem Hadar killing themselves. Really? They can't continue living to protect another founder at some point in the future? And then the vorta says "well there's nothing I can do to stop you from taking the ship" but she clearly had a ship in orbit because she was able to beam out, and she should have been able to blast the ship from space, destroying it and killing all her enemies inside. Our heroes got out of this way too easily.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Tue, Mar 28, 2017, 6:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Oh, some of you people just aren't any fun!
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Sun, Mar 26, 2017, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

I'm sorry, but asking someone to kill you and standing there while they do it IS suicide. It might also be murder, but it is suicide.

Why wouldn't the Klingons see living as long as possible and using that life to fight back for your honor until the last possible moment as honorable? Assisted suicide is really just giving up. I don't have a problem with honor, just the way the Klingons think of it. This was the most whiny I've seen Klingons (Worf's attempt at assisted suicide in TNG was pretty bad too), and I have to say it is realty unattractive. Man, find something else to do with your life. There's a whole universe out there.

This is why I hate nationalism and ethnic self-identity when it becomes central to a person's personality. Kurn's problem is that he can't be anything but a Klingon since that's what they are raised to be. Worf is able to be more flexible because he wasn't brain-washed with only one perspective.

The acting in this episode is great, and Kurn has been a favorite character of mine, but this episode really turned me way off the Klingons and Kurn. It's really depressing to see him go out of the canon in this way. I would have so much rather seen him die in a glorious battle! What a terrible way to end his story.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 23, 2017, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

I have a lot of the same nitpicks that others have already mentioned. However, my biggest problem with this episode is Dax's seeming immaturity. You'd think that after seven lives lived a symbiote/Trill combination would be able to handle this situation more maturely. I was irritated every time Jadzia would look lovingly into the other woman's eyes during the science experiment. I just felt like they didn't act like adults. I kept wanting to scream, "Stop staring at each other and get to work!" They kept acting like love-struck teenagers. No, they acted even worse than love-struck teenagers. This really got in the way of my enjoyment of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Wed, Mar 15, 2017, 11:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

Um, where's Molly? It was hard for me to feel sorry for Keiko's mopiness when, apparently, someone else is raising her daughter!
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Boy, isn't it great to see these three reprising their TOS roles? It's so enjoyable to watch strong actors. And they play them the same way they played them in TOS. Only a bit more tired. Perfect. Too bad Koloth had to die. But one of them had to. Good stuff.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 6:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Also, it was weird when the mother was excited to see her the little girl. Wouldn't the mother just be sort of confused? "Wait. I was just in my craft room. What just happened?" And all the people seemed to immediately know that the fix was a success and that they were brought back online successfully. Wouldn't they have to be told that the thing was fixed? It's as if the holograms go into some kind of hologram waiting room when they are shut off, just sitting around waiting to be brought back online. "Hey! We're back!" Weird writing.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Another episode that belongs in TNG, or, really, TOS. It's weird that so many DS9 episodes have the head dudes who are supposed to be managing a space station running around doing stuff that clearly should be being done by lower level flunkies or even starships.

Would have been nice of the dude to tell Odo and Dax not to waste their time with a mystery investigation as they started one. Would have saved them some time. And why didn't he fix the thing himself? He built it. He just let people disappear and waited for someone else to come fix it? Then he doesn't want to fix it and bring it back up? This guy was really weirdly written. Early DS9 definitely suffers from really questionable writing.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Wed, Mar 8, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Whoever made the clone sure had a terrible plan. Big gamble that he would be in the right place at the right time. I hope they had a plan B in case their clone thought he actually was O'Brien and ended up actually trying to live his life.

I loved the mystery and the reveal, but it all falls apart when one thinks about it for 5 seconds and realizes all the problems people have listed here in comments. It's hard for me to respect the good stuff when its embedded in a broken framework. It's the same problem I had with Armageddon Game. So much promise and good moments but ends up being a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Tue, Mar 7, 2017, 7:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

You know, I agree that Avery Brooks can be an awkward actor. I, too, wonder why they couldn't find a stronger black actor. (Perhaps there simply weren't any willing to commit to a Trek spin-off at the time.) However, it takes a very, very good actor, and there are few of those around, who are able to rise above truly crappy writing. And, man, the writing in this one stinks. I simply can't blame Mr. Brooks for this.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I am surprised at all the dislike for this episode. I guess some people just really need a solid plot. To me, dreams can be just as fun! I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. 😀

As for Frakes acting, yeah it got a bit hammy, and there were some weaker moments (why any writer ever writes a character to tell "No!" Is beyond me), but he reminded me a lot of shatner and that was kind of fun!
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Sat, Dec 5, 2015, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Been revisiting posts made after mine which I made some time ago on this site since I have been watching some Trek again. Having read all the interesting explanations commenters have provided on this thread, I still feel that the whole sisko being a product of god-alien manipulation is just cheap and definitely the writers trying to get themselves out of a big hole they dug. I expect the commenters providing explanations here spent more time trying to understand the problem than the writers did. The sisko scenario presents a major problem I also have with religions that include predestination as a doctrine: If the god-aliens knew that making something happen long ago in the past would have a definite result in the future, then that implies that Sisko has no free will. He didn't chose to do anything in his life. It was all set up by the god-aliens. Also, as someone else eluded to, if the god-aliens have that kind of power, can't they just do something in the NOW that solves whatever problem they are trying to solve? It's all absurd. The writers tried to do a pull a “chosen one” messiah story out of their butts, and they did it terribly sloppily. Happy holidays all!
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Sat, Dec 5, 2015, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

"Wow, sorry but anybody who thought this episode was anything less than a waste of time has no taste and is very easily amused."

Grow up.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

LOL @ DLPB! "Trendy liberalism?" You're kidding, right? The original series was probably the most liberal show on TV back in the 60s. If one is gonna watch Trek, one is gonna see liberalism. I don't know how any conservative can watch any Trek episode what with all the “trendy liberalism” of women doing man work, non-whites in positions of leadership, and trying to reason with one's enemies before attacking them with armies. “Trendy liberalism.” Now that is funny.

Anywho, I didn't comment on this before, but watching this episode again made me realize that there is no way in hell that the question of why a person seems to kill for no reason wouldn't have been asked and dealt with by the universe long before Voyager got sucked into the delta quad. Vulcans have been around a long time and would have mind-melded with psychopaths long before this. Even today, we know that people who seem to kill for no reason have some kind of psycho/emotional/social brain problem that gives them more violent impulses than normal, difficulty controlling those impulses, and, in some cases, a lack of ability to feel bad about their violent acts. Our only questions now are how does a person get that way (nature or nurture or both), and can we repair it and/or stop it from happening? I still like the episode a lot, but it does seem unreasonable that any of this would happen at this point in history.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 2:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

You know, I didn't find this as sexist as I thought it was going to be. Kirk's tantrums could have come from a deranged man as much as from an irrational woman. However, when he sat down and started doing his nails, I HAD to laugh. What silliness.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I noticed that toward the end of TOS there was a lot of characters somehow knowing why things happened and just explaining it to each other and, really, to the audience. Very lazy stuff.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 2:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Oh my dog. The pressure. More pressure. Come on. More. Pressure. Do it. Apply more pressure. Now. More. Yes. More Pressure.

What a godawfully strange and out-of-nowhere solution. Yikes.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Fri, Dec 4, 2015, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

Didn't even get to see their lips touch. And if we did, can we really count a black woman and a white man being psychically forced to kiss a real interracial kiss? They were trying their hardest, it seemed, to avoid it! Worst first interracial kiss ever. Funny, there can only be one first interracial kiss and, man, did we f*ck it up.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Thu, Dec 3, 2015, 2:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

All this talk of murder is nonsense.

There was no murder here. Before the accident, there were two individuals. Afterward, there were two individuals mashed into one body. No one died or was murdered. They were both alive in Tuvix. After the splitting, the two people were back to two individuals. The fact that the mashed together individuals resulted in a seemingly third individual is only an illusion. Everything about both of them was in the one body. They were still both there. The fact that this mashed together two person didn't want to be spilt apart and was deluded about the process being murder is beside the point. NO ONE DIED. Before, you had Tuvok and Neelix. Then you had Tuvok and Neelix as one. Then you has Tuvok and Neelix again. There was no death.

Interesting episode science fiction wise, goofy episode morality wise. And, Tuvix would have known all this and wouldn't have complained about being split in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Wed, Dec 2, 2015, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Dumb, dumb dumb. Insanely dumb.

They spend months and months infiltrating and then one of them decides to infiltrate the Enterprise by, what? Fist fighting the entire crew. Good plan, obvious stunt stand-in for the alien old guy. And, god, the fighting was so terribly awkward. Yeah. Geordi could survive being thrown so hard through Enterprise sliding doors that both doors are entirely knocked into the corridor. And, he just gets up and dusts himself off. Yes. Makes sense.

And, then... Let's expose that we are all aliens by serving Picard worms. Don't kill him or take him over as soon as he arrives since they are super strong, there is no one to stop them, and there are like lots of extra claymation aliens hanging out in the mother bug. Just sit him down for dinner a la any lame Bond villain and gross him out. I guess once you carefully infiltrate, you can just be arrogantly uncareful. “We've won, Captain! Eat up! The worms, they are so tasty! What? You don't like worms? HAHAHAHAH! HAHAHAHAH!”

And why were there absolutely no guards with the mother bug? Can only command personnel be taken over? No two lower rank expressionless flunky sentries standing outside the door? And, yes. Just blow that mother bug away. Don't try to trap it so that you can interrogate it or whatever. Gore! Guts!

And then, OF COURSE, all the bugs everywhere conveniently die when the mother does, leaving their hosts in perfect health! KILL THE HEAD VAMPIRE! All the rest will come back from undeath!

I simply cannot believe that anyone could give this such a high rating, except for the guy who saw it when he was seven and will always love it, admittedly, irrationally. :)

1 star for the decent mystery story that was going on before the episode when into la-la land, and then take that star away for the crap after. ZERO stars.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Tue, Oct 22, 2013, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

I hate hate hate Scotty in this one. How he didn't lose his commission after the crap he pulled on this one...
Set Bookmark
Lt. Yarko
Wed, Sep 11, 2013, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

I realized about 15 minutes into the first episode of this two-parter that I would have to shut off my logic machine to get any enjoyment out of the rest of it. Boy, is that a hard thing for me to do. Here is what I liked about the episodes:

- Good special effects
- Good make up (the goryiest episode of tv Trek by far, I think)
- Good set design
- Decent acting by the cast

And, that's about it. There is simply no logic anywhere to be found in these episodes. The Borg is an absolute mess at this point in the series history, and I mean a mess premise-wise.

And, yes. I find things like cliffhanger season enders to be scummy, manipulative, dirt-bag TV moves, one of the many bullsh*t things tv does that that keeps me watching it in any way that will allow them to make money. If they are going to be aholes to their audiences, I will be an ahole to them and watch their mostly crappy dreck for free forever. ha ha ha. TV is the only thing in the universe I feel comfortable stealing.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.