Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Tue, Jun 7, 2016, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

One extra star for the character playing the piano in the junkyard bar. Loved the blues piano duet with Riker, and her rendition of the Klingon opera joined by Worf. She was an absolute hoot!
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, May 14, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

This episode starts out with Data acting the part of Scrooge and trying to understand fear. I wouldn't consider Dicken's ghosts in Christmas Carol religious figures. Insofar as some religious mythology references fear, there is a parallel, but this is hardly a story about religion.

The episode was trivial but cute. The actress who played Ardra carried the show - she was delightful.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Thu, Mar 31, 2016, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Why did Wesley need the traveler at the end of the episode to help him create a vortex bridge to the warp bubble when he had apparently created several earlier vortex bridges on his own?
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, Dec 12, 2015, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

I really liked the portrayal of the conflict between Dr. Stubbs and Capt. Picard. Both men had a good argument and both were likable during the debates. (Unlike Deanna Troy, who was abrasive and unlikeable in this episode.) In the first two seasons, Capt. Picard would have lectured Dr. Stubbs, would have always had the last put down line, and Dr. Stubbs would have been properly chastised in the end. The maturity level of this episode compared to seasons one and two was notable.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Thu, Jan 23, 2014, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

This episode might have worked were it not for the terrible, awful whining violins throughout. All of the background music was unbearable.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, Jan 11, 2014, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

While much of the script and most of the acting was still wooden (except the superb DeLancie), I did like the nuanced theme of why the Q Continuum was interested in humans. Was it just curiosity as in Farpoint? Or was it a new concern of jealousy or feeling threatened by this human race that showed signs of evolving some day into a competitive species? Let's make Riker one of us so we can "know the enemy" or simply assimilate humans like the Borg will eventually try. The scene with Picard and Q quoting Shakespeare back and forth on these ideas was excellent.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Mon, Sep 30, 2013, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

"Her life could have been as fulfilled as any other woman". The sad, sad last line of a series I loved.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Fri, Sep 20, 2013, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

I really liked the concept of a city in the clouds. They did a good job with that visually. Spock's initial attraction to Droxine was artfully done in his initial voice over while Kirk was asleep, then the flirtation, and then you could see the cognitive dissonance for him when she defended her society and its class distinctions during the 4-way conversation with Kirk and Vanna in the rest chamber. Spock was struggling between his attraction to her and his dislike of her views. Very subtle - nicely done. 3 stars from me too.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

"Someguy" says it best. I'd give this episode 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

I would never rate this episode equally with Balance of Terror. You give both 2.5 stars. Balance of Terror was one of my all time favorites and this episode was pretty awful. The petulant, childish Lenore drove me to distraction.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Excellent insight, Grumpy. Perhaps the reason this series died was the unwillingness to develop any other characters besides the big four.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

"There's a much better story lurking beneath..." Perfect analysis. Only 2 stars is too high. 1 star at most for this episode. Maybe 0.5...
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

Certainly a lot of bible references in this one: Starts with the scientist on the video tape quoting the Old Testament, then the crucifixion scenes with Kirk and McCoy along with the concept of voluntary self-sacrifice, the test being whether Gem has compassion, and the final scene has Scotty quoting from the New Testament about a "pearl of great price". I enjoy theological ideas as much as anyone, but this just wasn't very interestingly portrayed. 1 star from me.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

I would give this episode 2.5 stars. True, Spock's rationalism was overdone, but I liked Scotty's character on this show a lot. The Jeffries tube scene in the anti-matter chamber was great, and the special effects inside it excellent. The film technique for Losira to come and go was neat - looked like a door opening and closing and for I appreciated a female leader that wasn't a romantic interest for Kirk and was strong and competent (contrast Spock's Brain). The concept of her being a computer enhancement of a person long dead was a nice surprise at the end.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Mon, Sep 9, 2013, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

When I first saw this as an 8th grader in 1969 I was awed by the allegory about racism. The two sided people was a creative way to address it in a one hour TV episode. Yes the story is simplistic. But all of the first Trek is simplistic. It was breaking new ground every week, and I still appreciate 40 years later the courage with which a weekly prime time series could go boldly where no one had ever gone before.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, Aug 24, 2013, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

To analyze this episode you must go back to the first time you saw it. The numerous surprises in the plot from the hoax to get them down on the planet, to finding out there were invaders, to chasing them across the galaxy, to suddenly being stopped by the Metrons, to transport to the "arena" for the competition and first discover what a "Gorn" is, and lastly to see that awesome looking "Metron" and learn about their advanced state of being was, as Spock would say, "fascinating". Kirk's final expression of humility and then hope was a superb ending. Four stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Fri, Aug 23, 2013, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I thought the concept that physical appearance is the hardest prejudice to overcome was interesting. Miranda's line "Who's to say Karlos is too ugly or too beautiful to behold?" was a good example of the Star Trek philosophical/psychological concepts that the series was unique for.

I also liked the last interchange between Miranda and Spock about diversity is good, and that it is how our differences combine to give life beauty and meaning.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.