Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 37 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Lorenzo
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Well, no matter how sloppy or unlikely this season finale (and, overall, this series) was, it made my cry a bit.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Lorepedo
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Sorry fo the nitpick but I was taken out of the episode briefly when a huge Borg cube crashed onto a planet and there were only 2 small streams of smoke coming from not even the cube but to the side of it. And everything landed right side up (it landed the same direction it seemingly flys through space?).
Set Bookmark
Lorenzo
Tue, Dec 31, 2019, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

After several rewatches, this is still my favourite Enterprise episode (and by the way, ENT is my favourite ST series). So it always breaks my heart to see Jammer's low rating of it :-(
Set Bookmark
Lorenzo Heard
Mon, Oct 8, 2018, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

I am late to the party, so let me right to it. Someone asked why Berman would let this episode air? He wasn't in charge then, Maurice Hurley was in charge of the writer's room then, and he hated the episode. Roddenburry liked it though, and it was approved. I think it is the Second Greatest TNG episode( after Measure of a Man), I was a young scriptwriter looking for a way in at the time. This episode blew me away! People keep saying "it's like Aliens", So what's wrong with that? The fact that it was so unlike Star Trek is part of what makes it great. There were some great first season episodes, not a lot, but there were some and this was one of them. It showed Trek's potential, until the third season when Trek became boring. But this episode gave me hope.
Set Bookmark
Datalore
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

The Sela/Tasha Yar arch was not worthless at all. The Romulans were genius, by showing an offspring into the scene, it sent the Enterprise into confusion. This is the reason why Guinan had to talk to Picard because accdg to her "news travel fast". You can infer from this statement that the crew is into confusion. In fact it would have been better if TNG pursued the matter further and should have shown how DATA should have responded. Alas it just doesn't have the luxury of time in such an era of television.

This episode actually juggled 4 archs in a single throw. Pretty slick and exciting!
Set Bookmark
Explorers!
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

My main gripe with this episode is the fact that they will go light years out of their way to explore new life and civilizations, yet when entities appear, *literally* inside their living room, they go out of their way to avoid any contact or investigation of them until after Ming The Merciless has taken out a handful of their people. Granted, it would have made for a short episode if they had made contact first, but it just goes against the whole concept of what they're doing out there in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Lore
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

@SlackerInc

There are several reasons I don't buy the post-scarcity idealism in Trek.

1. Even if food and goods can be replicated freely leaving nobody wanting, there is one thing that will always be scarce - land. In The Orville, we've already seen that Ed and Kelly lived in a high-rise apartment. Who decided that? What if they want kids and want a roomier place with a backyard? Sure, you can say there are now more worlds to migrate too, but what if their family is all on Earth and they want to stay close to them?

2. Kelly says we no longer work for money, but for reputation. Isn't that simply making others think more highly of you so that you receive benefits from them? How will that be beneficial in post-scarcity and why will people feel the need to work to achieve that? There have always been people who worked not for money, but for reputation. They have always been the most egoic people in society. Now there are signs the young are starting to see through the myth of nobility of working for reputation, and won't have any part of it.

3. Another thing that is never going to be scarce - services. Say I have a sore back and want a back massage every morning. Who is going to do that, and what for?

Anyway I don't want to make a speech because discussions like these are better in dialogue, but I think there are plenty of objections to the idea.
Set Bookmark
Lore
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Lightweight episode which could have been a lot deeper. I've never been much of a fan of the unexamined "post-scarcity we don't work for money anymore, we work for reputation" in Trek. Here was an opportunity to go into that but the whole thing was a cop out. LaMarr was happy in his job, but since the Commander thinks he should be Chief Engineer he just accepts that? That doesn't seem like the actions of the smartest guy on the ship. I wanted to see more analysis of the purpose of work in a post-scarcity world. Trek still has yet to give us that. Maybe because their know their utopian vision will fall apart as soon as it is scrutinized.
Set Bookmark
Lore
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Re: Use of the spore drive -
From the animation of the ship's arrival, it didn't look like they used the spore drive to get to the nebula. When they used the drive before, the ship seemed to spin on its fore-aft axis in a flash of light. This time it just appeared to drop in from above - which doesn't fit with the use of warp either.
Set Bookmark
Lore
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

WTBA - I also found the Elon Musk reference to be unfortunate. What has he done exactly besides make far-fetched statements about the future? It seems like the only reason for it is that he has some fans in the writing staff, nothing more.
Set Bookmark
gigalore
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

3/4 episode.

Don't like just a dream, don't like Brooks acting, like more or less everything else.

Regardless, disappointing to see what appear to be devoted Trek fans expressing what can only be described as regressional political views.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Tue, Jun 7, 2016, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

One extra star for the character playing the piano in the junkyard bar. Loved the blues piano duet with Riker, and her rendition of the Klingon opera joined by Worf. She was an absolute hoot!
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, May 14, 2016, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

This episode starts out with Data acting the part of Scrooge and trying to understand fear. I wouldn't consider Dicken's ghosts in Christmas Carol religious figures. Insofar as some religious mythology references fear, there is a parallel, but this is hardly a story about religion.

The episode was trivial but cute. The actress who played Ardra carried the show - she was delightful.
Set Bookmark
Loren
Thu, May 12, 2016, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Sorry, but this episode made absolutely no sense to me, and had a completely unresolved ending. What was the point of this episode? I feel like nothing actually happened.

I guess this is just one of those episodes where I feel like the typical Voyager hater, although I really like this series.
Set Bookmark
Loren
Mon, May 9, 2016, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I find it both sad and hilarious that such small, maneuverable ships would fly right in front of the gigantic, time-erasing doomsday cannon on purpose.
Set Bookmark
Loren
Mon, May 9, 2016, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

In rewatching this episode, it bugs me that Janeway mentions to Annorax that Earth is 65000 light-years away. What?
Set Bookmark
Loren
Fri, Apr 15, 2016, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I can't say I agree with comments pointing out the oddity of Seven being helpful in the episode. She and the other Borg may not be true allies with them, but there's no argument that there is an extremely dangerous thing happening around them. Don't forget that at that timeframe, Voyager was the Borg's only hope against 8472, and should any threat, especially something natural like a temporal anomaly potentially disturb or destroy the ship, it could have meant the end of the Borg. In the end it was in their best interest to assist the best they could.

The Borg generally strike me as the types to not mess with that stuff, anyway, considering how paradoxical temporal mechanics can be, and that the Borg over anyone else most likely do not enjoy the uncertainty of what would happen if they interfered with events. Even in First Contact their own interference didn't end up working out. Maintaining the status quo is what the Borg are all about, after all.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Thu, Mar 31, 2016, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

Why did Wesley need the traveler at the end of the episode to help him create a vortex bridge to the warp bubble when he had apparently created several earlier vortex bridges on his own?
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, Dec 12, 2015, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

I really liked the portrayal of the conflict between Dr. Stubbs and Capt. Picard. Both men had a good argument and both were likable during the debates. (Unlike Deanna Troy, who was abrasive and unlikeable in this episode.) In the first two seasons, Capt. Picard would have lectured Dr. Stubbs, would have always had the last put down line, and Dr. Stubbs would have been properly chastised in the end. The maturity level of this episode compared to seasons one and two was notable.
Set Bookmark
Datalore
Wed, Aug 27, 2014, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I think the biggest compliment I can give this film is that I've watched it with people who no nothing of Star Trek, and they still enjoy it.

It's not just a great Star Trek movie, it's a great movie!
Set Bookmark
Datalore
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

One of my favorite episodes of ANY Trek ever.

I loved the concept of seeing things through the Junior Officers eyes, so simple, yet never been done before. This give a real "life" to the Trek universe, that there is so much happening on a Starship we don't see.

How cool would it be to see (or even hear mentioned) one of the Characters again someday? Can you imagine a line of dialogue like "Captain Worf, Captain Navelle of the Archangel is hailing us" A man can dream.
Set Bookmark
Datalore
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Of all the things I remember about this movie, I recall that it is pretty fun right up to (and including) the destruction of Enterprise D. After that, it is plain boring.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Thu, Jan 23, 2014, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Haven

This episode might have worked were it not for the terrible, awful whining violins throughout. All of the background music was unbearable.
Set Bookmark
Lorene
Sat, Jan 11, 2014, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

While much of the script and most of the acting was still wooden (except the superb DeLancie), I did like the nuanced theme of why the Q Continuum was interested in humans. Was it just curiosity as in Farpoint? Or was it a new concern of jealousy or feeling threatened by this human race that showed signs of evolving some day into a competitive species? Let's make Riker one of us so we can "know the enemy" or simply assimilate humans like the Borg will eventually try. The scene with Picard and Q quoting Shakespeare back and forth on these ideas was excellent.
Set Bookmark
DataLore
Wed, Dec 4, 2013, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

One of my favourite episodes, but also one of the scarier ones because of Data's attempted kill-shot; it is clearly stated that the disruptor (disruptor is NOT spelled dis-rup-ter, ffs and btw) was "in the state of discharge", meaning Data 100% definetly, certainly and with out any doubt whatsoever fired the weapon, intent to kill Fajo. What makes it even scarier is that Data seems to have hidden a subroutine for lying or denial, since he is all like "Discharge? Must've been a transporter thing *shrugs*". That sneak! I'd rate it 4/4 Stars, but there are other Ep.'s that would easily deserve negative Stars, and other very good ones deserve 1000/4 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.