Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Trek Fan - Great episode. 4 stars. Sorry Jammer, your constant negative reviews of this show are disgusting. Please do not review any future Star Trek content. Thanks.

Yea Jammer, go back in time 15 years and don't review all future episodes. Also don't create and maintain this website which contains reviews that I have read in order for me to ask you not to review any Star Trek.

Now you may have been Trolling and I have fallen for it, but I have a feeling Trek Fan, that you are simply an idiot.
Set Bookmark
londonboy73
Sun, Mar 15, 2015, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Icarus32Soar - Sun, Mar 15, 2015 - 10:36am (USA Central)
The episode was unspeakable and so is the latter part of this thread which has degenerated into a jingoistic bonebrain rant about football genres. I'm outta here, this is an insult to ST.

How the hell is this an insult to ST??? If anything it shows what a good debate even one of the worst episodes of ST can bring.

I didn't agree with lots of the points being made and agreed with others (being English and a soccer fan it's obvious which side I took). But the whole debate was very interesting and even Jammer had his say! I fail to see how it is in any way an insult to Star Trek.

I didn't enjoy the debate on the comments section of 'Far Beyond The Stars' which went on for ages about the intricacies of the American Federal Govenment. You know what I did....... Didn't continue reading it...... You know what I didn't do...... Say it was an insult and throw my toys out of the pram!

If you don't like the debate don't read it. Saying it is an insult just because something doesn't interest you is just sad.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Thu, Jan 1, 2015, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Yanks - I don't think many sports will die out. Weak American football? pffft. Any sport that doesn't allow the use of your hands is not a sport. .

I have read hundreds of comments on this site, hundreds... I have never seen such an ignorant, incorrect and pathetic comment in all that time. Any sport that doesn't allow use if hands is not a sport.... Seriously mate, grow up.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Sat, Apr 12, 2014, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

I love this episode for all the reasons said above. The Picard scenes are among the best in Trek

I have to say though that there is a major floor in the fact that Riker is apparently the best shuttle pilot on The Enterprise. It's obviously Data as he is programmed to be the best!!

If you have to be extremely precise in dropping mines who you gonna call...... It's not going to be the imperfect human is it.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Sat, Mar 8, 2014, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

DLPB - which is why this is Science Fiction.......

The clue is in the name mate!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Fri, Mar 7, 2014, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Ric - I wouldn't take much notice of what people have told you about Voyager disappointments.

I have watched all the Star Trek incarnations - and Voyager is by far and away my favorite. I don't dislike any of the others I just enjoyed Voyager the most.

The main thing is you are enjoying it and as a television program after season 1 - you can't say fairer than that!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Thu, Feb 27, 2014, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

By the way. Alex, your statement:-

"Saying Brooks can't act is like saying Stewart can't act"...

is one of the weirdest things I have ever read. It doesn't even make sense.

I am all for debating with someone but this is clearly a bizarre thing to say with no foundation whatsoever!!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

To be fair, my original point (way back in 2012) was that I DO like DS9 but Avery Brooks spoils it for me because if find him to be a poor actor. Yes I did say cannot act. Maybe should have used the phrase ‘in my opinion is a very poor actor’. That is just being pedantic with my words when the point I was making was very clear.

People are well within their rights to disagree with my viewpoint. In fact, I think it is only right that Avery Brooks is being defended by people who like his acting. However that does not mean that people cannot comment that an actor or indeed episode is poor.

I see nothing wrong on voicing a negative opinion on a Start Trek discussion forum. In fact, I struggle to think of a better forum to voice it on!
Set Bookmark
londonboy73
Fri, Sep 13, 2013, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Josh

Great response to my post... I don't think I can argue against any of the points you made.

Excellent logic that would make a Vulcan proud (if they had emotion!!)
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Wed, Sep 11, 2013, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Wanderer2575

I think you misunderstood my point. It is the fact that a 1 inch blade killed someone almost instantly inserted in a relatively non lethal part of the body that spoilt things for me.

As I said previously Picard was stabbed through the heart and survived. It was just convenient for the plot that in this case he did not survive when logic says he should be cured easily. I thought this was lazy writing that spoilt an otherwise excellent episode.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Nathaniel,

Actually - on refelection- lets just forget it shall we. You like his acting and I don't. We are both entitled to our opinions and both can't believe the others point of view.

We could go on at each other for weeks and at the end of the day we are arguing (in public) over an epsiode of DS9 over 10 years old!

When you look at it like that I think we have both been 'morons'!! OK mate???
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

'Educate yourself if you wish to further to discussion.'..... You can always tell when you won an arguement. The other person just relies on insults.

Of course O'Brien was suffering a breakdown in Hard Time. The fact you are arguing he was not is beyond belief!!!

Please don't insult me any more though eh. You are simply embarassing yourself.

By the way over 10 people on this site have complained about Brook's overacting. I take it they are all 'morons' as well......
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 6:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Colm Meaney wasn't having a nervous breakdown?? He was just going to kill himself for the hell of it??

Ok - end of arguement - there is no point discussing the issue with someone who thinks a person would try and kill themsleves after 'getting emotional' and 'losing a bit of control'

You want to believe that Brook's acting was good that's fine. I am happy you are so easily pleased.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Sun, Sep 9, 2012, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Nathaniel:

Why is it when people disagree they have to revert to insults. Calling me a moron doesn’t change the fact they guy can’t act. Just because he is performing a breakdown doesn’t excuse the fact that he destroyed what could have been an excellent show with acting not out place in a school play!

Also, just for the record – and only using Trek examples – here are some breakdowns to compare it with:-

Jonathan Frakes: Frame Of Mind

Patrick Stuart: Chain of Command, Part II

Colm Meaney: Hard Time

hmmmmm – None of these performances are quiet and understated.... but they are all really well performed and believable?? How is that possible??.......Maybe because THEY CAN ACT!!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Sun, Sep 9, 2012, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I Just read this on memory-alpha:-

“According to thethe Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Companion, everyone who worked on the episode felt that Brooks gave an Emmy award winning performance, and there was a great deal of disappointment amongst both cast and crew when he wasn't even nominated.”

HA HA HA HA HA. This has literly made me cry with laughter!!!

An Emmy winning performance!!! HA HA HA.... Maybe if there was a catogry for ‘most over the top performance in this history of television’... then he would be a dead cert!!

Seriously – was everyone who worked on this episode on mind altering drugs or something. How can ANYONE think this performance deserves an award. It is diabolical beyond belief.

Thanks to Mr Brooks though for giving me the best laugh I have had in ages.... “You cannot destroy an idea! That future, I created it, and it's real! Don't you understand? It is REAL! I created it and IT'S REAL!".... HA HA HA HA HA – unlike your acting mate which is the most unreal I have ever seen!!!!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Sun, Aug 12, 2012, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Nathaniel - I can believe that people may tolerate his acting because they love the series but think it is good??

If you take DS9 as a series out of equation and simply look at the guy’s acting – can anyone hand on heart actually say it is of a high standard.

Or simply compare his acting to ANY of the other main cast members.

As I say, in the UK at least, this is why the series never took off like TNG or Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Fri, Aug 10, 2012, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Unbelievable! I didn’t think it was possible – but Avery Brooks’ acting has actually got WORSE!!
How on earth did this guy ever get to star in what would otherwise be an excellent series. Have you ever seen a worse actor leading a show? I am amazed that this is not mentioned, here especially. In this episode he cannot deliver a line without sounding....out...every...word... Who talks like this in real life?

As for the scene where he is interrogating the cadet from red Squad - watch it again and try and argue this is not the worst acting you have ever seen – it would be criticised in a school play let alone here! It’s such poor acting that I am amazed he kept his job for 7 years!

Those who love DS9 wonder why with the best plots and great story arcs this is considered by those who dip in and out of Trek as the weakest of the incarnations. Look no further than this episode...Avery Brooks take a bow!!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Wed, Aug 8, 2012, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

I actually fell asleep during thisbone for the first time in any Trek episode. Soooo boring!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Wed, Jul 25, 2012, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

Thanks Ian. At least I am not alone

In the UK they show repeats of TNG and Voyager all the time but never DS9. It is not very popular and I think this is mainly to do with Avery Brroks.

Such a shame because if you get past him it's very good.
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Tue, Jul 17, 2012, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

I like DS9 – I really do – but this episode highlights the major problem the series has:-

Avery Brooks. – HE CAN’T ACT!!

He is possibly the worse actor I have ever seen in a leading role. Every mannerism is overacted, every line is wooden. When he has to laugh or cry it is painful to watch. If he got the role how bad were the ones who were turned down??

Am I the only one who thinks this? Surely not!
Set Bookmark
LondonBoy73
Tue, Jul 10, 2012, 8:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Amazing - right up to the last minute...

So Picard can be stabbed through the heart and live yet a blade about 1 inch long in the small of the back instantly kills?

Don't get me wrong its one of the greatest ever episodes of Trek but why spoil it with this!
Set Bookmark
Londonboy73
Tue, Jul 3, 2012, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

Q is often used for comedy and Jammer has noted Q Who? as an example here he is not. I think that Tapestry should also get a mention as this is one of Q's best moments ever.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.