Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Just saw this episode last night. I agree with many posts written here. But I enjoy the episode every time I watch it. I did feel bad for Hogan, and yes, it only brought the point up that when they need to kill a "major" character, they pick my favourites: Hogan, and then later, just before getting back to the Alpha Quadrant, Carey.

On first viewings, I missed the grieving moan given by Culluh on seeing Seska dead. Kazon for the most part were not interesting to me. Exceptions were the young Kazon Kar played by Aron Eisenberg, and Anthony De Longis' Culluh. He always amused when he acted chauvinistically, even slapping Janeway for daring to ask a question. Yet we know he cared about Seska. And once on Voyager, he stomped around some more, complaining about Federation females, making his mourning her death all the more touching. Great job by DeLongis.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Just watched this this evening. I admit I do like the episode. Worf sometimes bored me with all his Klingon honour blah blah. But seeing him with his human "brother", I enjoyed the sparring dynamic between the two.

This episode also gives me yet another reason to not like Picard. He rails at Nikolai throughout the episode, yet at the end says "Our plan worked". Oh right, take credit once its been shown to work. Shut up, Picard!
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I did see comments about this in any of the other reviews. I saw an uncut version of this episode, which made more sense because the Doctor discovered the cause of Dr. Zimmerman’s illness - it was his prolonged exposure to all of holographic creations! Of course Zimmerman resisted this diagnosis because his holograms were his only friends. Part of the treatment was that most of them needed to be shut off. Once all of that was edited out to make room for commercials, the story lost its main purpose. I was hoping to see the uncut version again on Netflix, but that hasn’t been the case. Am I the only one who saw those extra scenes?
Set Bookmark
Lisa M
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I find Picard's unwavering support of the PD annoying. As in the episode where Worf's brother saves one village of an entire planet, against the PD, of course. Then as the planet dies, the bridge crew stands and watches. Sorry, I could support Nikolai's desire to save his host village, defying all rules.

These episodes are why I don't care for Picard. I would gladly serve under Kirk, who would do anything to save planets or races, against the rules. Picard would rather spout rules and watch a world die.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Regardless of how people feel about this episode (it was just on TV today), I kind of wished the crew managed to get the time capsule off safely and that Voyager, upon arriving at the spot where they found only odd debris, did find that capsule. Seeing them find out that the duplicate ship and crew managed to leave their home world and experience adventures different from our crew and ship would have been interesting to me.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I thoroughly enjoyed "Muse". I liked watching the play within a play, and how Kelis used the Flyer's records to write his plays. (Why is some of that information in the records anyway?) Kim's part may have been unnecessary, but seeing B'Lanna happily greet him by name made me think back to when she was calling him "starfleet". Quite a change after all they've been through as one crew. And the fact that B'Lanna found the kissing extraneous, when it was she who wanted more romance in Tuvok's holonovel from "Worst Case Scenario". And Kelis' last lines, talking about Earth as a place where hate had no home, almost moved me to tears, wishing it were so. Sometimes Trek writers really know how to touch my heart, schmaltzy as it is.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I guess I'm one of a few people who believe time is made up of many lanes on a vast freeway. If the Defiant crew went back to their own time, why couldn't the colony still exist in a lane of their own, while the DS9 crew headed back to their own lane. I just don't think that once matter is created, it can be so easily dispatched. It will always exist, somewhere.
Set Bookmark
LisaM
Sat, Sep 21, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Apple

These people just lost their god, yet laugh at the end as if strangers killing your god is no big deal.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

These comments are so funny!! I think this episode was unintentionally funny and terribly overacted by Robert Brown. Yes this episode is boring and ridiculous and the special effects are amateurish.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

I love this episode! I loved it when I first saw it, and I loved it again when it aired on the "Heros" Channel a couple of weeks ago. The crew going crazy was the best! Good, fun episode.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

All episodes involving Garak deserve 4 stars, IMO, and this was no exception. I loved this episode. The interaction btw Garak and Odo was great. I also LOVED Garak's take on "The Boy Who Cried Wolf." The first time I heard it, my jaw dropped, and I laughed b/c it is really true!

Anyway, great 2-parter.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Am I really the one viewer who liked Neelix? LOL! I liked him from start to finish. I never had a proble w/the character, but then I didn't have a problem w/Jar Jar either. Guess I'm just weird that way.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this episode. I completely agree w/William B's analysis of Neelix. I understood why he was desperate to maintain his "usefulness" to the crew, and even though he had been on the ship for two years, I can see why he didn't feel a part of the actual crew. Neelix was probably shocked that Janeway felt he was part of the family.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Some of you take these shows way too seriously! Iove this episode. It's not even a "guilty pleasure" for me. I outright love "Genesis." I also loved "Masks" and "Sub-Rosa." Those are some of my favorite S7 episodes. Yes, it didn't make sense but it was highly entertaining, which is all that matters to me!
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I will never understand all the Neelix hate. I always liked the character. I liked his relationship w/Kes, and I liked him when in the later seasons. He was a good character IMO. I enjoyed his send off. It was sweet though we could have gotten another scene w/him and Naomi.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I like this episode, but I'm probably in the minority in NOT liking Picard's speech to Wesley or Wesley confessing. That always bothered me. At the end of the day, no one forced that guy to participate. It's a shame he died, but that's the risk they all took. I wanted Wesley to stick w/the lie and not confess. Picard's speech had me rolling my eyes at the time.

I've always liked my characters a bit darker and w/some edge, which is probably why ST: DS9 is my favorite. Darker characters. Less goody-goody actions. More human dilemmas and moral questions. That said, this is a good episode!

I loved Nick Locarno. He was interesting and definitely not irredeemable, IMO. think the royalty reason is the probably the real reason why he was not brought onto Voyager. RDM did a great job w/Nick. I really liked the character and was happy to see "him" on Voyager when it premiered. At the time, I thought "Tom Paris" was "Nick Locarno" since I didn't remember "Nick Locarno" was the name of the character on TNG. I just assumed it was the same character from this episode. I thought it was cool that they brought back the "character" and gave him a role on the new series, esp since he was such an interesting character. It wasn't until I saw this episode again that I realized they were two different people. LOL! I like to think of them as the same person though.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

@Stefan - it is definitely reminiscent of "Christine," esp. that scene w/B'Elanna choking in the shuttle. I love that movie, which is probably why this episode is one of my favorite Voyager episodes.

I don't understand the hate for it. I enjoyed this one. Plus, Tom Paris was my favorite Voyager character, so I enjoyed any episode that focused on him. Yes, Threshold is one my favorite episodes too. LOL!
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

4 stars for me!

I love this episode. First, it involves my favorite DS9 character: Garak, and second, I loved seeing him go crazy and taunting Nog and O'Brien. I also like that the episode started w/Garak being kind of sad that ppl are no longer leery of him as they were in the past. Well, that changed after this episode. Haha!

When I first got my series DVDs for Christmas, this was among the first episodes I sought out to watch, incl. The Wire, ITPM, Duet, and the Visitor. Any episode involving or centering around Garak is a great episode to me. LOL! This episode was no exception - IMO.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Aug 12, 2017, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

Ouch . . . Startrekwatcher! LOL! I just watched this episode, and I enjoyed it like I did the first time around.

Tom was my favorite character on Voyager, and I loved all the episodes that centered on him - Threshold, Alice, the Chute, etc. I think this was a nice way to advance the Tom/B'Elanna relationship. B'Elanna was open to Tom about her feelings on their relationship, and Tom made it clear that he prioritized her over everything.

And I will never truly understand the hate for Neelix. I thought he did a great job narrating the race. He made it fun.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I'm late to the party, but I always like Neelix. I'm not sure why so many hate him. I really enjoyed this episode. It was on BBC America a couple of days ago. It's very touching AFAIC.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Tue, May 2, 2017, 4:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

About the doctor not telling her patient, that's something that already happened in our history and it's still happening.

Most intersex people are never told by their doctors about their condition, they just give them meds or surgery to "fix" (meaning hide) their condition because most of the society is ignorant about intersex conditions and how sex is not binary so the individual can be lead to a life of reject, humiliation and worse.

So when I saw that this episode it was a very natural thing to do, they just tried to give her the most humanitarian option, considering her life is almost done. That revelation would destroy her entire world, partner, career, etc.
Set Bookmark
Lisa
Sat, Nov 26, 2016, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

can't find this addressed anywhere: Janeway felt a moral imperative to destroy the Caretaker array lest it fall into the wrong hands, even at the consequence of leaving them stranded 75k light years from home. But there isn't even a moment's consideration given to what will become of the tetryon reactor, or keeping it out of the wrong hands THIS time..for the benefit of being only 3 years closer to home. ??

I also dislike the loose ends. Why is the tractor beam that drew the tetryon reactor into subspace shrugged off and forgotten? Perhaps this will come up later in the series (watching for the first time), but it seems unrealistic that they would all just laugh it off and forget about it.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

I actually like Data's emotions being used as a plot point. Don't get me wrong, I want to see him feel and emote just as much as the next Trekkie, but you have to stop and think outside the fandom. Would that ever really happen? Is his goal even realistic or good for his character? We were introduced to him by this need and want to become more human, so whenever the writers try to sneak them in or give him some, it always ends up being backed out of. Data is his quest, and I think we needed this episode 2-parter to remind us of that. (Lore coming back was awesome, btw)
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I love this episode, (definitely one of Riker's best), but also because I love the amount of emotion and raw energy being thrown at us. The psychological manipulation, the horrifying treatment, and the amazing monologue Riker gives during the play. But in the opening scene, I felt the most disturbed not when Riker was playing the Insane Person, but how Data was playing the Doctor. His voice was so serene, and so level it was creepy. Brent Spiner has done a lot of things, but never has he made me unsettled. All in all, I love this, and I will always come back to this episode.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I think the only reason I kept watching this one is because I got hooked on Picard's smiley face. It was FINE, but not great.
Set Bookmark
Lisana
Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Although it does make him sound like a prostitute. (Is that even possible for him?)
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.