Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 1:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

@ Omi, my arguments are fine, and whatever you want to believe about the episode is fine, but some of you have a nasty tone to your messages. I've read comments by people on this DS9 board that pointed out how many DS9 fans swarm and attack with nasty attitudes when someone gives negative feedback (I'm not the first), then others as you are doing now, try to play it off like its some kind of respectful criticism and other people are taking it too seriously. It's the other way around chum, you take it too seriously and have poison in your posts, don't blame others for defending themselves against you.

Also, I don't assume I'm "better than everyone else" but I do think that I'm better than most at understanding what makes stories good or bad only because I've worked hard at this understanding for many years, as I stated above.

As for taking the role of the victim, I'm not a victim but I stand up to idiots trying to be bully's. I only created a post and you attacked, so try and be a bully if you want to, doesn't phase me, I've dealt with bully's in real life and now on message boards, but again, good try.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

This episode was okay. I agree with Jammer on much of what he wrote, but I would have given it less stars. My review boils down to two elements: I like the political intrigue and strategizing but I don't like the romances.

I agree with Jammer about the Nog/Leeta romance. Really, it comes down to the fact that I hate the Nog character, the way he's portrayed that is. Yes, I get it, he's kind of like an idiot-savant when it comes to engineering. This is the one part of his personality I DO like. But I hate the delivery. I would bet that the actor was told to act the character in this way, so not his fault. But damn, as I go through the DS9 series there is alot about families, babies, people breaking up, getting back together, more than I like. The only relationship I like, which was not profiled in this episode, is K. Yates and Sisko. She's great, well-acted and I like that she's a strong woman. Anyway, back to this episode. I also don't like the Worf/Jadzia coupling, basically because I don't like Jadzia at all. I have a lot of problems with her character in that she's shown to be a drinker, party-girl, gambler, she's been manipulative about relatively minor things. My opinion is that the writers try too hard to make Jadzia powerful by having her act like a debauched person, all for the sake of 'experience', but that doesn't make someone 'tough' and it's a poor example of a Starfleet officer. In any case, I don't like her.

The positives about this episode for me have to do with Weyoun and Sisko playing the diplomatic game that eventually leads to action. I thought this was very believable. The scene of them calmly and politely exploring what the other person plans to do was understated, which made it more powerful. Here is a situation where I think Sisko acts like a great Starfleet officer. He's polite but firm regarding the influx of Dominion ships/personnel/supplies, and if it leads to war then so-be-it. Also, I like how Sisko supports keeping Bajor essentially neutral, it's clever for all the reasons that have been stated above.

About the replicating mines, was this something that already existed? Or did Nog invent this on-the-spot? I'm not sure. I realize that the writers want Nog to come across as brilliant in engineering terms, so perhaps he invented this. In any case the mines were necessary, and they couldn't be regular mines because the Dominion would simply blow them up. It worked.

I agree with Jammer again in that the writers seemed to be going for a "love and war" theme and that it didn't really work. I just subtract more points for the failed romantic plotting than Jammer.

2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

You folks have a real problem with criticism. Despite all of your arguments I still don't agree with any of you about this episode. So, keep making those arguments but I think the 'A' plot line was dumb, the baseball card was dumb, and those two actors are two of the worst on the show. If you care to have more detail about that then see my above comments.

@ Peter G. you're completely wrong about the gift idea needing to be something other than writing, like the card. Sisko has praised his son many times for his literary accomplishments and is clearly proud of him. So both Sisko and Jake appreciate Jake's writing and is meaningful for both of them. Also, taking into consideration that a beautifully written poem, or meaningful story, has a deeper meaning than a baseball card, then this makes my idea better than the baseball card. And yes Peter, I have great ideas for stories and music. I've proven this in my own life many times. I've recorded music and played it live to many audiences, written poetry and done many poetry readings. I've read many books of American literature, studied story construction in stories, poems, and songs, and after a many years of doing this (decades) I know what a poorly constructed story looks like compared to an average story compared to a great story. Maybe you don't, and that's okay but I do. Why is that so hard to believe? Some people, like me, devote years to learning these things because we are interested.

@ Omicron, I made the "stalking" comment as a joke because Booming and I had just finished a long dialogue on another episode, so I expected him to get the joke. It wasn't meant for you but you inserted yourself anyway and did have quite a nasty tone to your post. I completely understand that you want to play some kind of victim but you are not, you are a bully who inserted themselves into a discussion. Heck, I never even addressed you. I simply put up a post and you all responded negatively to it. Oh and in the 24th century humans are beyond acting nobly? How is this so? Acting nobly, morally, ethically, those are hallmarks of the Federation and Starfleet. Yes, writing a small piece of literature reminding Sisko of these virtues that even death and war can't take away, a piece of writing devoted to him from father to son, is more eloquent and more profound, and in the end more meaningful, especially during a difficult time, than a baseball card. I know, you can't see it, which is fine.

@ Booming, your last sentence proves my point that you are arrogant which is probably why you, along with your buddies here, so ravenously attack anyone who doesn't like DS9. Keep being arrogant see where it gets you.

Along these lines I'll address how you all seem to wolf-pack anyone with a negative comment about DS9. I see it on here all the time. You all come off as arrogant know-it-all's who can't stand if even a couple of people on this thread criticize this show, it's a bit disturbing considering the vast majority of people on here love DS9 episodes. Is your goal to have 100% agreement? Are you so threatened by just a few people criticizing this show? You seem like it, the way you gang up. Am I not entitled to give a negative critique of DS9? According to you all I guess I'm not. You all come across as a bunch of babies really. I can hear the crying now.

As an aside, I actually like some DS9 episodes, parts of episodes, and some characters quite a bit. But you all ignore that, which proves you're trolls.

I will continue to watch the series because I wanted to give it a fair shot, just like VOY, I started watching these series years ago, didn't like them and stopped watching them. Recently I decided, why not just muscle through the episodes and give them a fair shake. It turns out that I began liking VOY a bit more, I don't hate it like I used to, so that's nice. However, DS9, sorry, still don't like it. But I'm coming from a place of open-mindedness, you all are simply close-minded trolls trying to demolish anyone who doesn't agree with you. So continue being trolls, get upset when not every single person agrees with you. I will continue critiquing as I see fit. Hey, I'm about to write a couple more reviews. Be sure to comment.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 4:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

@Omi I never said Sisko was "forever depressed" or going to eternally sulk, your words, not mine, but nice try. I stated that it is silly to think that a baseball card, or any gift for that matter, will alleviate the depression that comes from a looming conflict such as war. If you have ever written fiction then you understand that you put yourself in the place of your characters and try to understand what they are feeling in that moment as if it were real. When war is coming you begin thinking about your own death, the death of loved ones, the destruction of your planet, civilization, or people as a whole. I think a "funny" episode about trying to find a gift to alleviate these weighty issues is silly, the two drastically different plot lines made the episode feel uneven.

I'll even give you a quick example that I just thought of. How about a tie-in to Jake's writing ability to have him write a an ode, a sonnet, any kind of poem, or short story, for Sisko that incorporates Sisko's life, his present love interest, as well as themes of peace, love, and acceptance, the beauty of life, the nobility of fighting and dying for your beliefs, and have part of the episode revolve around THAT. Now THAT balances out the theme of looming war, death, and destruction. A baseball card doesn't get the job done. Oh well, maybe you guys need to read more classic literature, you don't seem to get it. But to each their own Omicron.

Oh, and the "are you stalking me now" was a joke, or couldn't you tell? I'm beginning to think some of you have no sense of humor, take things way too seriously, and are overly-sensitive. You kind of showed your nasty attitude there Omi but whatever. Keep it coming!
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

@Booming, are you stalking me now? I'm flattered.

The concept of giving a gift because someone is depressed about going to war is utterly shallow and stupid. It's like you have the weighty, meaty concept of going to war on one side, and on the other side I'm going to give you flowers or a baseball card??? Silly. They could've come up with a much deeper, more meaningful gift from Jake, but no.

Yeah, you just made the perfect comparison between DS9 and TNG: Picard's interest in ancient civilizations, their artifacts, and what their culture's history can teach present-day peoples versus a baseball card. Thanks! The metaphor is made clear.

My comment about Chrome's (and I'm sure it was Chrome) comment works well for either DS9 or Voyager, but it works better for DS9. Either way, it works.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This was a dumb episode. Chrome made a good point several episodes back in one of his/her? posts that DS9 is like watching 20th/21st century people in the STDS9 environment. This doesn't seem to bother Chrome based on his mostly positive reviews of DS9 but it bothers me. After all, I don't watch ST to see people behaving as they would in today's civilization (boring). This episode is a great example of this point.

First, we have Jake becoming obsessed with getting his hands on a baseball card (I used to collect baseball cards too, but that was the 20th century, been there/done that). Okay, so one of the refreshing things about some of the other ST series, like TNG, is the evolved nature of human attitudes regarding material items and monetary wealth. Namely, the lack of both in those worlds is refreshing in terms of story-telling, and is believable from an evolutionary standpoint for a futuristic society. But here on DS9 it's like the 20th century, where if your loved one is upset then just buy them a shiny necklace or baseball card, and they'll be happy again. How shallow and absurd is this idea in the ST universe! I would expect something more profound from ST but then this is DS9, which is an outlier for me in terms of ST series. So Jake tries to get Nog to give up his entire life savings through a guilt trip (bad friend) to buy this dumb gift, like that card all by itself will cheer up Sisko since he's depressed about, you know, an oncoming war (implausibly stupid). That doesn't work so the writers set up this dumb scavenger hunt plot line where Jake lies and manipulates his way along, Sisko's over-the-top yelling at the two for 'getting drunk' is silly, and the ending is boring and convenient. About the ending, Jammer writes "And the ending goes down as a classic in my book". Sometimes Jammer I think YOU are the one trolling us with comments like that. What was classic about it? It was simplistic, convenient, and boring.

I much preferred the B story. Kai Winn and Weyoun are very interesting characters and acted superbly. I wish this had been the A plot and more time had been devoted to it. I thought it was serious, credible, and interesting while moving forward the larger story arc of Dominion/Federation conflict. I find the Kai, in particular, to be such an interesting character. She's like one of those corrupt Pope's from Europe's Middle Ages, at least that's how I see her. This B plot line is why I think DS9 has a large fan base. The political intrigue is done pretty well. Unfortunately, it's the silly plot lines like the Jake/Nog fiasco that ultimately drag the show down, at least for me.

I consider 2 stars out of 4 to be an average episode. This episode gets less than that because the awesome B plot was so small.

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I really enjoyed this episode. I thought the blending of the two series was seamless, the acting was good, and I enjoyed and understood the DS9 crew being a bit ga ga for Kirk and co.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Jammer, sorry buddy but you got this one wrong. First, people commenting here can't believe that plants can grow without sunlight. I suggest you all Google articles on the amount of life found in extreme environments on Earth for goodness-sakes. It's a lot. Several examples are the bottom of the ocean where there is NO sunlight, in caves where there is NO sunlight, even at the bottom of underground lakes and water-sources where, you guessed it, there's NO light. Now, understand that life on other planets may be very different from life on Earth and life may have found ways to thrive in environments vastly different from our own. Considering these two ideas, then it's not at all hard to think that living things may find ways of growing without a sun nearby.

Next, Jammer you call the plot "redundant" but you don't explain which part of the plot you're applying this word to, the mystery? As far as Star Trek episodes, I've never seen an episode like this, with aliens using a planet as their hunting ground, the planet is a rogue planet, and the species they are hunting is sentient. Those are three plot elements I've never seen in ST. This makes the episode fresh, original.

I will agree with you Jammer on one of your central points though. Namely that the mystery was contrived. You are absolutely right when you say that there is no reason for the mystery-woman to keep secrets from Archer and likewise there is no reason for the hunters to also keep the mystery to themselves until the very end, except of course that the show was ending and they had to resolve the conflict. This is just lazy writing.

I thought the resolution to be original though. Archer doesn't confront the hunters though he does discuss this with his bridge officers and realizes that confrontation is the wrong choice. I like that they at least discussed it, believable. Instead he gives the shapeshifters an advantage against the hunters. I'm glad there was no predictable confrontation scene, but not leaving the shapeshifters to their doom either. Strong episode overall.

3 Stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

Agree with Jammer's rating: 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

"The “magic number” of people needed to create a viable population for multi-generational space travel has been calculated by researchers ... 160 people are needed to maintain a stable population."

Carrington, D. (15 February, 2002). Magic Number For Space Pioneers Calculated. New Scientist. https://www.newscientist.com/article/dn1936-magic-number-for-space-pioneers-calculated/

Can't believe this episode got 4 stars. Wow. So when ST fans commented on ENT "Rogue Planet" they couldn't believe that plant life would survive without a star (Sun), but this time travel episode is just fine. Riiiiight. The bias for DS9 is deafening.

This episode was okay. I generally don't like time travel episodes but I realize that since no one creating these stories truly understands the science of time travel it is impossible to explain it to an audience so I just try to put that out of my mind and enjoy the episode. Doing this, the episode was okay. It wasn't terrible but it was incredibly predictable. We knew they weren't going to stay on the planet and the big ol' RESET button would come into play.

Jammer hammered "Rogue Planet" for being a bit contrived in places, namely the forced mystery, and I agree with that even though I really like "Rogue Planet" but HELLO! This episode is freakin' super-contrived. I mean, time travel arbitrarily used, along with the descendants of the crew, to create a faux-conflict. More melodrama.

I liked the touching interaction of Kira and Odo, and I liked the descendants on the planet, except Worf's descendants who kept saying they were warriors, blah blah warfare and fighting. Fighting who? There's literally never been anyone on the planet to fight - ever, but somehow this warrior culture survives for 200 years? Stupid.

Enough rambling on my part: 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@ Booming : In regards to our latest dust-up I quote from the BSG video that you so generously provided.

"I assure you I heard them out. I weighed their statements against those of the guards and I took into consideration their service records and commendations. It was a difficult decision Commander Booming but I dare say, it was a fair one.

Regarding my conclusion on the quality of DS9:

"I am a Flag Officer on detached service during a time of war. Regulations give me broad authority in this matter."

"Booming has taken us over the line. He's left me with no choice. Launch the Alert Vipers!"
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@ Booming. Point taken about adding emoticons.

It makes more sense that this episode was supposed to be added when Odo was human. I can easily believe that going from Changeling to Human would throw anyone for a loop in a huge way.

It's true, I don't like DS9 much. I've tried to like it, seriously. I've heard so many positive things about it, and negatives, but I've watched about 4 seasons and still it's my least favorite ST. I've written stories myself, lots of poetry, and recorded an album of original music. I've read lots of American classics as well, and devoted a lot of time thinking about what makes a great story versus an average story versus a poor story, how to create believable plots and so on. At one time I quit my job and devoted all of my time for several years to this endeavour. I ended up switching to music and had more success (paying gigs). Maybe my expectations are too high, this is TV after all. My snarky sense of humor gets me in trouble as well. Don't blame me, I used to be a lawyer.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

General Hospital a la DS9

This was a terrible episode IMO. It was predictable cliché-ridden dialogue. Also, a bit unbelievable that Kira and Ghemor could feel that close to one another, like father and daughter, after all they don't really know each other that well.

Predictability - I knew Ghemor was going to say he was dying before he said it. I think it was just his demeanor and they way he was talking to Kira but I said, out loud, "I'm dying" just before Ghemor said it. Also, when Ghemor offered Kira the Cardassian secrets and because this is DS9, I knew Kira would at first decline. This is melodrama, poorly built conflict, or conflict arising for no good reason. Of course Kira would want to hear Cardassian State secrets! But no, it's a soap opera so she's got to say 'no' until someone (Sisko) talks her into it. Why wouldn't she want to hear these secrets? She still has lots of resentment towards Cardassians and the Cardassians are more of a threat now than ever. Silly.

I will say that I didn't see it coming that Kira would become angry at Ghemor during the episode, but I knew she'd go back and sit by his bed, predictable.

After Ghemor died Kira was talking to Bashir and uttered 3 cliché's with 60 seconds. One was "he didn't even know I was there." Of course Bashir had to say, "yes he did, blah blah blah". I forgot the other two statements but they were back to back to back. This kind of writing doesn't have weight, it's hackneyed, been done to death. Oh well.

An aspect of the episode that I thought wasn't good or bad was Kira deciding to allow Dukat's obvious attempt at separating her from Ghemor to work temporarily. I mean, it's obvious what Dukat is doing; he gives Kira a juicy piece of info about Ghemor during the war, hoping she'll get angry and reject Ghemor, leaving him defenseless. At this stage of the game Kira must have known that Ghemor participated in violence during the war and by now she either must have decided to forgive Ghemor or not. This is a situation where I'm trying to climb into Kira's mind, which is impossible, but I still thought it odd that Kira would allow Dukat to play her.

On a positive note Nana Visitor, the actor playing Ghemor, and Alaimo's acting were great!

1 star for production value and some good acting.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Wow! Lots of sensitivity here. I did apologize for the snarkiness.

Good stories have credible plots and characters, there are certain rules to great or even good fiction. I'm not going to try and teach you these rules but whether or not these rules are adhered to make the difference in quality of story.

The element of Chrome's argument that I chided him about was something he legitimately made up to make the story fit. A few of you stated that Odo is a changeling so now he has no identifiable personality? That we've gotten to know over the years? That was a silly argument. Or that he went through something traumatic recently, so he's acting differently. Here's a bit of education for you. When the writers want you to think that Odo is acting differently because he recently went through some trauma then they will give you a hint, even if it's the slightest of hints. None of these implausible theories that you all mentioned actually took place. The simpler and more logical answer is that the show is not of high quality or even good quality most of the time. That seems more plausible then all of these mental gymnastics that you all are using to explain weird character choices. Oh well. And sorry if my harsh humor came across as sincere, it was tongue-in-cheek, I mean we're all ribbing each other here right? Sheesh.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Jammer, I thought your review was very accurate and I would give it the same rating.

I really love the premise as well as the Doc living in the culture and having a life within it, and the last act with the two astronauts visiting Voyager. Like many here, I wish we had seen some of the Doc's life on the planet.

I agree with Jammer, however, that the scenes with the extras were weak and not memorable. I like the premise of the scenes, and it's not as if the extras were terrible in my opinion, but those scenes should have popped and really stood out. I did like the Protector debating the monk but it was all too much like Earth.

I especially liked the first scene on the planet showing the creation of ancient custom and belief when one humanoid assumed the bright object was a "god" and that now the natives were not supposed to eat a certain fruit. It makes one wonder about our own customs. I also enjoyed watching the evolution in the middle ages-looking period where the ancient beliefs are fading and that an attempt at scientific explanation is taking hold.

For me, I'm fascinated by history, evolution and Anthropology. I have a History degree with an Anthropology minor, so the idea that Voyager was watching a civilization evolve over the span of centuries was a fascinating idea. Overall, much of the episode worked and I agree with many posters here that it could and should have been spread over 2 episodes. Overall, for Voyager, a very good episode.

3 Stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@ Chrome. Thank you for your post. It exemplifies my complaints about DS9 fans absolutely! You have created your own truth about Odo in this episode in order to fit his inaccurate and bizarre characterization. Kudos!

In the episode there is no evidence that Odo somehow "picked up on the fact" that Arissa was actually a "security operative", no hint of dialogue or behavior led the viewer to this conclusion. Thank you for providing insight into the twisted mind of a DS9 fan (not a pretty sight). I'm starting to understand why people like this show. If you simply make up your own reality about characters, plots, etc. it does become more enjoyable! (sorry for the slight snarkiness)
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Sat, Sep 28, 2019, 2:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@ Peter G. no, I get it, specifically you're referring to the "femme fatale" trope. I've seen Bogart's detective movies along with other incarnations of this tired old plot line, but here's the thing, doing "ode's" to genre's or popular movies is a poor way to tell a story because it means a writer has no great or good ideas left so they have to use already well-worn material to create a plot.

Another problem with giving a "tip of the hat" to the noir-detective genre is that it pulls Odo out of character, which damages his credibility as a character by having him behave in a way that is unlike his character, i.e. he is not Sam Spade.

@ Top Hat "Crossfire" is a completely different circumstance because Odo is falling for a co-worker, Kira, whom he knows well and trusts. The gist of my point is that in "A Simple Investigation" Odo does not know Arissa, she admits she's worked for the Orion S. (highly dangerous criminal organization) and lies to Odo, that business about finding her daughter. This is my point, Odo, as he's been presented to the viewer, would NEVER fall for this person, in fact, he'd be incredibly leery of her. But, as we all know DS9 does not like to live in the reality of the Star Trek Universe.

DS9 consistently has poor episodes because it lacks credibility much of the time and this episode is an example. It's also predictable and boring most of the time. Yet consistently there are apologists who come out of the woodwork to point out why someone "missed the point". We didn't miss the point, we got the point, it was simply a poorly executed point.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@ NoPoet completely agree with your last sentence "Oh well, this is DS9, better give mandatory 3 stars and needlessly trash Voyager." It's Jammer's "3 stars and go!" for a below average DS9 episode. But TNG's "Darmok" is 3 stars too, sure okay. Hey Jammer, "Darmok is at least 3.5 maybe 4, this crud is 1, 1.5. N'kay?

Like many posters have written this was a trite episode also lacking in credibility. The lack of credibility comes from the character I know of as Odo actually falling for this lady. Several others have mentioned above, and I agree, that the writers stretched the character to match their storyline. The Odo of old, who put duty first, suspicious of everyone, would never fall for a person that admitted to being a criminal who might still be conning him. Also, as a "constable" (is this England?) it's beyond stupid to become romantically involved with anyone you are investigating, protecting, etc. I don't believe that Odo would bend his values for this. If the writers wanted Odo to have a romantic interest (other than Kira) this was the wrong episode for it.

A few positives: the girls gabbin' gossip/Work becoming irritated, O'Brien on the Holodeck, and Rene Auberjonois' superb acting, per usual.

Also, let's face it, Odo looks like a person who is starving or sickly, "bedroom eyes"??!! Gotta freaking be kidding me! More like dead eyes.

1.5 Stars
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Okay, even though I'm trying to study for an exam in Principles of Human Development I had to look up this Les Mis question before it drove me nuts.

@ Booming and Peter G. You are correct gentlemen. I was mistaken, Jean V. was imprisoned for B & E as Booming stated. Five years for breaking and entering, as well as theft, is believable, in that context (pre-revolutionary France). Suspension of disbelief sustained! For Les Mis, not DS9.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

*correction* "I know"

sorry
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

@ Booming and Peter G.

I'm know the French Royal regime in the 18th century was harsh, hence the revolution, but 5 years for stealing a loaf of bread? Cite your historical source and I'll believe it. Otherwise, it's simply hyperbolic fiction written by Hugo to gain sympathy for the Republican cause (of which I agree wholeheartedly), however, I still think Hugo was embellishing regarding the actual event of a man getting that much time in prison for stealing food. I could be wrong, but again, cite the historical source and I'll give you props. Otherwise my disbelief is NOT suspended for Les Mis. and DS9 still sucks :).
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Really, this is the last one . . .

Nog, WTF? He looks 12 years old. Couldn't they have hired an older actor? I mean essentially Nog is in college, right? Oh, but that might make it more believable.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

One more thing . . .

I find it ironic that the writers use Les Miserables to help tell this miserable tale. When reading Les Mis I could not suspend my disbelief that Jean Valjean would be imprisoned for 5 years for stealing a loaf of bread (another 14 years for trying to escape). Likewise I could not suspend my disbelief that there would be NO consequences for Sisko! Sorry but that destroys the credibility, believe-ability of any story. You get the feeling that the writers/show-runners for DS9 aren't really trying to be credible. They obviously didn't care when they created this drivel so neither do I.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Archideus - "honor, honor, honor, hodor, hodor" LOL!!!!! Made me laugh out loud hard!

Wow! Brooks' acting is terribly overdone (much more than Mulgrew's) and his decision at the end was incredibly wrong. Some DS9 fans love this "dark side", I do not. Picard is special, Kirk is special ("A Taste of Armageddon" is a completely different situation), even Janeway because they don't do things like this. Sisko is now like any number of petty dictators on Earth today. Wow, different (sarcasm).

To get to the point, there are other less destructive ways of removing settlers from a planet. They're not going anywhere, bring a Federation ground force to stun them all. Did Sisko really need to contaminate an entire planet? I feel sure that flora and fauna were affected as well, even killed soooo . . . no respect for life? Sisko is a POS, I don't understand why anyone thinks he's a capable commander. And nobody even came close to protesting this decision. I knew stupid Worf wouldn't, but what about anyone else?? (side note: DS9 has ruined the Worf character) I think Sisko appeals to the aggressive side of some Trek fans who grow tired of peace and diplomacy.

I keep watching DS9 episodes because they fall right in the middle of the H&I channel's lineup of 5 ST series episodes shown in a row, so I tolerate it, but damn DS9 suuuuucks. Once in a long while there is a decent episode. VOY has better episodes, as well as Enterprise, much better, and that's saying something.

1/2 star.
Set Bookmark
Lew Stone
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

No, not 4 stars. More like 2.5, 2.75 stars and I liked it okay.

I generally like Barclay episodes, "Hollow Pursuits" is great, but I thought it was lazy writing to still have him back at square 1 with his various personality issues. A more interesting plot is as follows . . .

At the beginning of the episode, and for the next 15 to 20 minutes, we see a different Barclay. He seems to have cured his holo-addiction and lack of confidence, he seems like a normal, confident member of Starfleet who is second in command of the Pathfinder project. This would be a great hook for the viewer many of whom would be expecting the Barclay of old. Troi can visit him at some point and he confidently introduces her to his friends and girlfriend. Troi is impressed. About 15/20 minutes in a new director of Pathfinder is appointed. It's an officer from Barclay's past who knows the old Reg and doesn't like him nor believes he's really changed for the better and tells him as much. Everyone else in Barclay's life is relatively new and doesn't know about the old Reg. This reminder of Barclay's old bad habits triggers said habits and Barclay starts screwing up a la old Reg. We see the confusion on the faces of the new people in his life. This is where Troi comes in to help. So this is the middle of the episode when Reg is returning to his old bad habits. However, he does hit on a possible way of communicating with Voyager which his boss dismisses. Much of the rest is the same. Get a different guy to play Admiral Paris, and at the end Barclay, with Troi's help in-session, chooses and forces himself to discard his older bad habits forever. Also, they should have created a holo-deck whose sole purpose is for running simulations for work. It could have had an observation deck outside the holo-deck, on the second floor, for other workers to look down on, and listen to what was happening. This is where the Admiral would have been, watching Barclay's sadistic new boss chewing him out for being in the holodeck for 24 hours straight, working on Pathfinder then . . . we hear Voyager come across the speaker. The Admiral fires the sadistic boss and puts Barclay in charge, with promotion, of the Pathfinder project. Leave in the final scene of Voyager communicating with Starfleet, except maybe have the Admiral and Tom speak to one another directly.

In this way the beginning is fresh, a Barclay we've never seen, not cocky or a quaking, stuttering mess. The viewer can feel like this man is making progress and we're happy for him. Then the step back with the new boss from Barclay's past. Then at the end, Barclay reclaiming his new good habits while showing off his genius in front of the Admiral. In this way the viewer can feel like Barclay is making huge progress and doing really well. In the actual episode they show Barclay at the end, seemingly doing better, and talking about his new girlfriend, but it's only like 2 minutes so it comes across as flat, convenient, and underwhelming. Generally, I couldn't stand Barclay's over-the-top stuttering in this episode, it's gotten old. It's almost like the writers/director whomever said "give me more, give me more!" It doesn't work because it's too grating. That's why my idea would have been better. Show Barclay in a way we've never seen, confident (not arrogant) around normal, non-holographic people. Oh well, missed opportunity.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.