Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Levi
Sat, May 27, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

My problem with this episode is the conclusion that rape victims should be responsible for any resulting child. Chakotay's vision-dad basically told him that since it's his DNA, it's his son and he should take care of it. And Chakotay was basically scifi-raped by Seska.
Set Bookmark
levi
Thu, Apr 8, 2010, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I liked much of the movie, but the bad guy sucked. I completely agree that the motivating and characterization was uninspired and unconvincing. 2.5 stars from me - hopefully the next one will be better.

Still, they did better than I thought they would.
Set Bookmark
levi
Wed, Aug 19, 2009, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Exactly - comments like that imply that if you don't enjoy TMP, you are somehow not on the intellectual level of films like it and 2001. It's hogwash - the only thing TMP has in common with 2001 is that it's long.
Set Bookmark
Levi
Wed, Jul 1, 2009, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Seriously, will you idiots STOP comparing St1 to 2001!?
You are insane. 2001 is a masterpiece and it's enthralling. ST1 is empty garbage that makes a nice sleep aid if you are out of ambien. You people are completely delusional on this one.
Set Bookmark
Levi
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Jesus enough with the fake reviews. That one idiot posted like 15 positive reviews of this shitty movie in one day.

STMP sucks ass. It's slow, ponderous, and boring, and it's a 100% recycle of the Changeling, yet it manages to be about 5% as fun.

No amount of alternym reviews changes that. Read Nimoy's book - he agrees with me and 90% of the other people who wasted 2.5 hours on this turkey.
Set Bookmark
levi
Thu, Jun 5, 2008, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

This movie more or less sucks. They should have just moved on without bring the tattered remnants of the TOS crew, minus those who had too much dignity (Kelly and Nimoy) or those who weren't asked. A real pointless excercise, and Kirk's death scene is terrible and unnecessary. "It's been fun?!" Christ.
Set Bookmark
levi
Thu, Jun 5, 2008, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Great sendoff for the original crew, and it's a shame some of them returned to sully it with Generations. The plot does have some generously labled "quirks" that don't really hold up to close scrutiny (the motivations of the Valeris character seem pretty thin), but in the end it's so well-executed and entertaining you just don't care. I left the theatre on opening night with a big grin, and so did everyone else that night. This is a well done movie with a great concept and great dialogue that for the last time exploits this cast's chemistry to the nth degree, and also features the best special effects of the original movies. This is a movie that knows how to give its audience what it wants.
Set Bookmark
levi
Thu, Jun 5, 2008, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

This movie is no masterpiece, we all know it. But all in all, to me it plays like a clumsy season 3 TOS epidode, which makes it more watchable than STMP, which comes off as something more or less unrelated to TOS and a boring 2001 knockoff. This movie has it's charms, and really only goes off the rails in the ridiculous 3rd act. It's just too damn bad they went with this script and concept, and it looks worse than it is in comparison with the great 3 films that preceded it. It has it's moments.
Set Bookmark
Levi
Thu, Jun 5, 2008, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I used to rank this as the 2nd worst film, but having re-watched it and ST V back to back, I'm sorry to say it's the worst. It's just so damn boring, and what is with the verbatim recycling of the the Nomad story?! IT'S THE EXACT SAME STORY, right down to the carbon unit talk. Seriously, who greenlighted this? It's the nomad story stretched out for 2+ hours, with absolutely nothing interesting added. The opening scene is great, the next 20 minutes or so has points of interest, but once the enterprise launches it's a huge bore that adds nothing to the Star Trek canon. The chemistry and charm of TOS is completely absent here. If ever there was a sign that Rodenberry had become more of a detriment than an asset to Star Trek, this is it.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.