Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 37 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Leonard de Lechistan
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

I'm sorry, but I have to disagree with the take that the mutiny and murder of Crashdown was justified. You want to say he's flawed. Sure. Did he make mistakes while on Kobol in command. You bet. But the move to attack the AAU was not one of them.

1) In times of war, officers carry pistols in part to deal with the insubordinate. Cally was being insubordinate when refusing a direct command out of nothing but cowardice. The chain of command does matter. Soldiers are obligated to follow orders that put them in harm's way. That is war.

2) Tactically, they still had the element of surprise regardless if there were three or five Cylons.

3) Strategically, they had no choice. The AAU would have likely taken out the Raptors that would try to rescue them. They also said originally it could be turned on them to incinerate everything in the valley. The missile battery, not the dish, was the critical target and threat. Plus, doubling-back to attempt to destroy the dish would likely take too long to protect the incoming Raptors.

4) Tryol's contention that the dish was unprotected was based on empy supposition and Baltar's faulty intelligence. The show goes out of the way to show it's faulty when he drops the binoculars and lies about that he was not observing the dish for the five minutes he claimed he was!!

6) Lastly, there seems to be the notion that shooting Crashdown for ostensibly being a poor commanding officer was morally permissible, but the notion of shooting Cally for insubordination and being a poor soldier is morally impermissible, a gross abuse of his legal authority. How is this circle squared?
Set Bookmark
Kenneth Leonard Kirk
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I'm amazed by how may people don't get the HUGE geometry fail, especially the writers and production staff of a space show. The reflector is WAY too close to the planet. The crew would NEVER be able to simulate a fake star that way even if the planet's inhabitants has no spectroscopic analyses. I'm amazed by the stupidity needed to both write this crap into the script and not catch on to the colossal fail. It's like the entire production team and most of the audience have no clue at all about perspective and luminosity. My respect for MacFarlane's intellectual capacity fell into the toilet with this, he obviously doesn't even get triangles. Maybe they need someone who didn't fail elementary science and math on staff.

Dumb-asses.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 4:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I just watched this episode and I liked it. I liked the simple, natural ways of the villagers, I like the emotional conflict between Worf and Nicolai, I like how Picard has to make tough choices, I liked Deanna's compassion when Vorin found himself terrified in ten forward, I liked the surprising ending where Vorin committd suicide. I'm not going to analyze ir further to find flaws
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Easily one of the top worst episodes of Season 3. In fact I'd put it as the number one. There weren't many misses in season 3, but this is definitely one of them. It was slow paced, boring, cliched romance, annoying irritating ferengi (then again when aren't they) etc. Watch for completionist sake but skip if you've seen it already.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I didn't think this episode was that bad. It was decent. The holding cell to me was interesting, albeit it did get stale after a while. It didn't take long for you to narrow it down to who was the responsible person in the room so the twist wasn't as good as it could have been. The only thing that puzzles me is the faux Picard. I didn't get his motivations for acting strange or the reason for why he even wanted to get close to that star. I mean if you're conducting a experiment and you don't know how long it's going to be, wouldn't you want to be off of peoples radar and try to act the way the real Picard would have acted? I guess the writers had to put some drama happening back at the ship cause to do a hour episode of the holding cell only would have been horrible. Still decent episode despite unanswered motivations and plot holes.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 8:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Actually I thought the episode was pretty good. The ending though was interesting. (Spoilers ahead). I guess I thought Riker would actually stun Utah or something. I didn't expect him to vaporize her. The last scene with Riker sitting in the mess hall regretting his actions felt powerful but when Picard entered, I thought he'd at least address how Riker was feeling. The fact that he just extended Shore leave felt meh. Especially coming from Picard.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

I agree with what Marshal wrote. This is about Jesus, transdescending and being reborn. The episode has humor also and a story of connection between the doctor and the humanoid transdescending.
A thoughtful and nice episode. Me and my brother watched it yesterday and he made the remark: why can't they make Star Trek like this today?
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Dec 14, 2019, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The moment that really underlines how terrible Discovery is comes when I type the antispam answer: Picard. TNG comes to mind, and honestly it's like Dostojevskij compared to Weekly World News.
I'm more on the left side of the political spectrum, but I don't like to be underestimated and thought a moron.
I don't know why they made this and why they push woke agendas so blatantly. I know one thing, though. I will continue to watch TNG, Voyager, DS9 and occasionally TOS and Enterprise, but I will never rewatch Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Some hate this episode because how can Janeway welcome a mass murderer, an evil man? They argue it flies in the face of everything we know today of justice. I don't agree with that. I live in Scandinavia, and one of the principles of our justice system is that the victim's families should not decide the punishment. It is believable that Janeway keeps an open mind and actually sees a man who tries to undo some of the damage he has caused. In my mind this is the future I would like to see. I call it progress to move away from punishment to redemption. The end scene is powerful. I think this is a good episode.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Yeah cat storyline was horrible filler. It's not even a B storyline line, it's literally a C storyline. The Ferengi are still annoying idiots. After their initial encounter, we never hear from them again, which is again, more padding as they weren't necessary to the story at all. Horrible B storyline. Then the main storyline. I hate episodes being overly preachy and especially Geordi's line at the end "there's still enough time to fix this" BARF. Obviously that is a stab at us to get more involved in the environment, protect the earth. Won't be revisiting this episode anytime soon.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Pretty boring episode. Very hard to watch it through all the way but it got done. Won't be revisiting this episode anytime soon. Unfortunate too as I always think Martina is attractive as hell.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

This was definitely one of the most bizarre episodes I've seen of not just Star Trek TNG, but star trek as a whole. Weird that Picard kissed a dude. Picard should have introduced him to the concept of "pain" after that.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Most body count I've seen in a while. Most of the thieves died in barium sweep and the last one exploded. Pretty hardcore.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Thu, Jan 10, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Aquiel started off as a pretty interesting episode. I was invested in the whole mystery of who done it, but it left a lot of unanswered questions and was a let down in the revelation. It didn't explain why the Klingon captain took the subspace communcations. What was in those communications that was so important? Then the revelation that it was the dog who was another organism was lame. Ok so let me get this straight: Roche goes to the outpost, but he isn't really Roche. He tries to attack Aquiel but she escapes. I guess he turns into the dog instead? Lame
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I agree with those who say that Odo's action here is very unforgiving. Even if you love someone to death, would you sacrifice 8000 people for that person? I really like this episode, I especially like the scene where Worf and the klingons come to help with sowing. I do not especially care for the Odo character. He seems kind of insane. If I was Kira I would never have trusted Odo again.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

I agree with Snitch. The use of violence to make a point is perhaps the real weakness of this episode. I do agree that Picard is passive in a way that is very unlike him, but isn't that the whole point? He wants to change things he did in his youth, and the tapestry of his life would unravel. The very act of trying to change makes him a different person.
I think the real strength of this episode is not seeing Picard going back to change his youth, but the introspection each viewer does into his own past while watching.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Someone called Yar a bad actress that couldn't handle a love story. I totally disagree. She is a human being like millions other she is an individual, she reacts and show feeling the way SHE can! I think she does a very good job!
Others complain about trivial details like why did the enterprise only fire 3 torpedoes or how come the Enterprise happened to be just at those coordinates? All besides the point. This episode has a much broader perspective.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

One of the very best epidodes of TNG. I don't see any faults with it. It's got everything. Picards makes the right decision to listen to Guinan. It's got nothing to do with new age. Patrick Stewart is amazing here. Tasha's legacy is forever secure in Star Trek lore.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Terrible episode. I agree with another reviewer that they should have stuck with the Time loop concept (although that's been done countless times) as it seemed more interesting with the vidians. The whole "alien in your cerebral cortex" was pretty lame. Especially the death trying to snatch you. LAME. The ending didn't make you feel great either. Really no explanation about who the alien is, how it got there etc. So are we to believe that there's some alien hanging out in your head until you're about to die? How can Captain Janeway have some tea with her first officer knowing this alien is still going to be there? Pretty terrible.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

I liked this episode. And I liked the review. Picard's sense of duty reminds me of Horatio Hornblower. Hornblower marries a woman whom he does not love, and he does it because she loves him so dearly, and he remains true to her until she dies. These philosophical and ethical discussions is why I love Star Trek so much.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I have always come back to episodes of TNG, DS9 and Voyager. Because of the interesting moral, ethical and philosophical questions raised. I can not see me coming back to any episode of this new series. Some of them are not bad, it's just that they do not offer a lot below the level of action and suspense.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I just rewatched the episode, and again found it emotionally engaging. This episode is not so much a comment on the value of life from the eyes of humans, as it is from the viewpoint of Data. Data is a machine, and he has experienced the same as the exocomps have. Data stands up for them, and Picard has empathy with him. This has a powerful impact on me as a viewer. Why is it so hard to imagine that these machines can be intelligent? Just because they do not have two legs? This is science fiction! When Data blocks the transport of the exocomps, we get another very powerful moment, and the ensuing dialogue between Data and Riker is another high point.
The exocomps are shown to be intelligent, but even more importantly we see how intelligent and good Data. There is just a good feeling to this episode, because of the inherent goodness of Data, but also because we can feel the compassion and empathy of both Picard, Riker and LaForge.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I don't agree that because the exocomps, or let's say an animal don't have friends, relationships and attachments the way we know, they then have less value. We don't know anything about the reality of being animal, but we very quickly believe we have rule over them. If some alien inteligence came to earth and wanted to use humans as lifestock, they might use similar logic.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 5:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

A complete farce! Makes fun of original TNG Q episodes. Cheap scores. What kind of complete morons would make a script like this, much less sanction it? And why did Levar Burton say yes to direct it??
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I liked this episode a lot. When they kiss at the end I started crying. I don't think the science is unbelievable. After all, this is Star Trek, with Borg cubes, Q and whatnot. A touching story about what it means to make a sacrifice, about an extremely difficult decision and about love.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.