Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Thu, Aug 24, 2017, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

2 1/2 stars for me. I disagree wholeheartedly with all the extremely negative comments on this episode and agree with Jammer for the most part.
A lot of people seem to be taking Watters' story of what happened with Cpt. Ramirez at face value.
For all we know Ramirez just told Watters with his dying breath, "Get the ship home, take command..." and no one was really close enough to hear what he said clearly except Watters, who decided to live out his Captain fantasy instead of taking the ship home. That wouldn't be out of character for him based on what we see in this episode.
Call it speculation if you like, but we are never shown what really happened with Ramirez so to blame the writers for what could be a lie by Watters is silly.

Set Bookmark
Lenny
Thu, Aug 24, 2017, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

This episode is not a good one, but it's not terrible either.

There is one thing everyone seems to have missed. Kai Winn has always cared a lot about the fact that the Prophets have never spoken to her directly, and she feels a great deal of frustration about that, and resentment towards Sisko.
Here she comes face to face with a Prophet and passionately asks for it to communicate with her and validate her as Kai. The Prophet completely ignores her. I think this tipped her over the edge and down the path she takes in Season 7. I truly believe Winn's desire for a spiritual connection with the Prophets is genuine, but she becomes disillusioned and angry with them.

This combined with the point others have made that she would lose her status if the Reckoning were allowed to be completed, give her ample motivation to do what she did (questions of how she got into Ops and how she knew what to do aside).
Set Bookmark
Lenny C
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 5:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

I love how Sisko orders O'Brien to use the stun setting and bring the Voles in alive, but a few scenes later when the situation gets a bit worse he's like "Set those phasers off stun, Chief! No more Mister Nice Guy"
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Thu, Oct 6, 2016, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

Another awesome comment by William B, bravo.

I must say I was a little shocked when Spock and Scott discuss that they have 20 minutes to get the ship ready or they're dead, and then they forget that urgency and Scott starts drinking on the job! Perhaps it was the space madness.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 4:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I agree with the reviews by Mike and William B above. I give it 3 stars. I found it very interesting and engaging, and it has a truly great monologue from Spock/Kollos about the human experience. A multifaceted episode with a lot to appreciate.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Fri, Jun 24, 2016, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I agree with most of the criticisms Jammer and the other commenters have made about this episode. So many things in it that are nonsensical. But that didn't really bother me that much. I found myself really enjoying Kirk with amnesia. I though Shatner brought a subtle performance to those early scenes; you can see him trying to figure out if he really is the God the natives think he is. As others mentioned, it reminds me of The Inner Light which is a classic. In the end I agree with the 2.5 stars, given the flaws, but I did quite enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Wed, Jun 16, 2010, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

What? I loved this one. It explores Sloan's character more, and develops O'Brien/Bashir relationship really well I thought. The whole 'inside the mind' thing was a stretch but I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Mon, Jun 7, 2010, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Anyone who doesn't like this episode is an icicle who needs to lighten up and have some fun
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Sat, May 8, 2010, 1:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Don't worry Jammer I agree with you, in fact I would only give it 1 star. The idea that the Cardassians have all these programs and recordings specifically automated to stop all these possible scenarios is ridiculous, why wouldn't they just deal with it at the time like normal people. Especially the one where the higher-up Cardassian has left a recording and program IN CASE Dukat tried to escape during a self destruct. Ludicrous. That's my complaints on top of what you already outlined in your review.

Very uninspired writing all round.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Sun, May 2, 2010, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Surely not worse than Threshold?????
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Sat, Jan 16, 2010, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I felt it was satisfactory, not great, but not awful. Oh how I wish Voyager was so much more, but I still enjoy what it is.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Tue, Jan 12, 2010, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I think the problem here is that everyone sees the episode as necessarily a commentary, and thus considers it a fault of the episode if it does something outside the realms of direct correlation with reality. Yes it has some commentary, but really that just allows us to relate to the story, which, being science fiction, is separate from reality. If you are looking for an essay on the life sentence in tv show form then this episode deserves 3 stars. If you want a good star trek story then it deserves 3 1/2.
Set Bookmark
Lenny
Wed, Jan 6, 2010, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I disagree with your interpretation of Tuvok's "attempts at negotiation". Indeed, this is not how a Vulcan or Starfleet officer would talk, but I think it is quite obvious that Tuvok is attempting to appeal to what the aliens might understand, violence and coercion, for it is obvious to him that any kind of standard diplomacy would be useless. Thus, Tuvok attempts to appear powerful and menacing to the aliens.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.