Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 61 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Leif
Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Anyone else find this episode disappointing and not that engaging because there are no aliens, New or otehreise, no new anomalies or sci-fi mysteries or phenomena..I,don't mean dumb action and character destroying plots like Kes in Fury..I,mean awe and wonder inspiring sci first mystery and new alien encounters like One Small Step and Riddles and Good Shepherd or even the Kobali in Ashes to Ashes..or make the alien or more unique and fleshed out in the Haunting of Deck Twelve..this Doc Zimmerman stuff should've just been a B plot in this episodeSame with Pathfinder..a B plot with main plot setting up the Vaadwaaur subspace corridors development and their alliance with Suspiria and the Nacene also paving the way for the return of Kes in a more plausible multi episode arc....and introduce new subspace born life forms related to the Ba'neth lets say, who were never sufficiently explored but had potential to be one of the best original aliens in the show..and maybe bring back the Voth and the Think Tank too..show the Both at Jupiter with Zimmerman and Dr. Riley Frasier..Thats a cool twist and set up...ANYONE AGREE?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, May 6, 2019, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammer,

Can you please elaborate on why you found Michael's travel through time brilliantly conceived and mind bending? Do you mean just visually the images they chose and how they were edited? Because there were no new ideas or concepts underlying them as far as I could yell..no new aliens or phenomena either..so I'm wondering what impressed you. Thanks. Hope you can respond.
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, May 2, 2019, 2:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Come on didn't anyone else think this was an imaginative, original, and memorable unconventional sci fi outing..other than Lazarus looking human? Original premise, if repetitive..
Set Bookmark
Leif
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 12:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Dpesnt anyone else wish this show was more serious sci fi with more strange new worlds and aliens like Discovery is sometimes or TNG instead of Trek Parody or Commentary Goofy Lite?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I thought Queen Po was going with them into the future since she said she wasn't leaving Tippy! Didn't anyone else think this or want to see more of Po and Zahia, one of the coolest looking and most original and unique Strange New Worlds the show has come up with to date? And have more episodes exploring this world in the future..and havr made the last Red Signals related,to,some cool new alien being and or phenomenon as opposed to just Michael again twice...did anyone else want this?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Why is Captain Pike leaving the show? Has that been confirmed? Why don't they keep him on..it wouldn't violate continuity would it since The Menagerie wheelchair incident does happen for another ten or so tears right? Or they could retconn it with time travel or some such maybe..
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Sorry infernal autocorrect. And I meant the TNG Season 7 episode Firstborn with Worf's son Alexander. In would love for some feedback on my thought that control might be a corrupted version of V'GER from ST The Motion Picture maybe from an alterbate universe. And after the disappointment of the Red Angel being not a new alien species or phenomenon, is anyone else hoping the Seven Signals are some new life form like a multidimensional time creature that is made partly of dark matter and maybe grew from the time crystals on Boreth and can communicate through the spore network..Whay does everyone else think? I hope the signals aren't just random signals or some technobabble thing since they seem to set up a big mystery about them after Mama Burnham said she has nothibg to do with them..I hope they're not just a byproduct of Control or something...

Abd P.S. Jammer, I did enjoy your Control April Fool's joke. And I did get it...I didn't find it confusing or annoying at all.
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I like the neat and unthinkable fairly original idea of the time crystals. Can anyone back me up that it's fairly original, at least in Trek? Aside from,the similarity to the idea of past present anf future all happening at once a la that Doctor Who episode The Wedding of River Song..that and Captain Pikes vision smacking of Sisko or Kira's experience with the Orb of Time or Orb of Prophecy on DS9..anyone else think this..but I like the twost of a sory of Time Garden or Temporal Arboretum as I like to call it..where time is not fixed until you snap off the Crystal...But is any of this violating continuity 29th Klingons and Boreth on TNG? I DON'T remember learning about any time,crystals in Rightful Heir or Birthright episodes from TNG..Dpes this violate continuity? Are these time crystals what Alexander used to go back in time,on that TNG Season 7 episode Bloodlines?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

April Fools Much or did Ariam's virus spread into and corrupt Jammer's network??
Set Bookmark
Leif
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Jammer thanks for the review. Can you elaborate on why the story is potboiler to you? As opposed to "boilerplate" meaning predictable or standard..just cheesy ..did you find the plot twists too predictable, like Burnham s mom being the red angel? Or did you find twists like that surprising?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

I was very surprised by,the twist..so I liked it..at least it wasn't Michael..I thought it would be Old Captain Pike in a wheelchair from Talos or something else....still wish it would've been a cool new alien species or phenomenon though instead. Does anyone else think they should relate the super advanced Control-spawned AI that wipe out all life to an MU version of the V'GER probe from ST:TMP that couldn't find it's creator or something? To make the whole AI idea more original and creative...What does everyone else think?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I don't know why the word Boston came up in my last post..dumb autocorrect..just meant to say also explore more on Pahvo..amd on that front I just thought..if the singing plants on Talos sang in harmony with the vibrating crystal on Pahvo..would the mycelial network explode?? Or melt the Ba'ul or something? Or make a cool intergalactic two part chorus between the Talosians and their big vibrating plant heads and the Pahvans and their vibrating crystal gas bodies and entire planet etc..I await the soundtrack on iTunes....Thank you..

Also on the world building and exploration front, why don't we follow up with the Tardigrade and see how he's doing now that he's in a committed relationship with a very lovely Gormagander and they are raising a litter of um...Tardiganders? or Gorma-grade spore babies? Other name suggestions will be happily accepted....
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@ Paul M. Yes!! I echo your sentiments about world building and discovering and exploring new species...which is why in a previous comment I clamored they bring back the,CRepusculans from the very first episode, if you'll recall. Totally incidental to that episode and the series' storylines thus far yet one of the neatest and most original at least in visual design species the series has yet introduced. Don't you think they should bring them back too? Let's start a petition....

.And as Alan Roi and others mentioned they did explore the Jasepp in spore worldland but maybe explore more mycelial life forms and more about the Ba'ul..it has been very limited so far..Give the Talosians their own Daytime Talk Show in the Federation or something...Show the Xindi again from Enterprise as galactic refugees now that the Expanse is gone and they're home..And Boston an electronic intergalactic techno dance concert on the planet Pahvo ..like the Ultra Music Festival they have here in Miami..but with aliens..and the whole planet vibrating to the beat...And hopefully the sound will give Section 31 a headache at night or something

@Chrome Thanks for the enlightenment. I've never seen it but have heard of it. I'm not likely to watch much that isn't sci fi or fantasy but maybe one day I'll watch it. Literally the only 80s movies I know are whichever Star Trek and Star Wars movies came out in the 80s..and I think Back to the Future which I know Jammer is a fan of if that is from the 80s. But thanks for the suggestion.
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Can Jammer or someone else enlighten me on the Chekov's Cameron's Ferrari reference? Is that Star Trek Chekov or someone else...Back to the Future perhaps? Thanks for the review Jammer..I can't believe it didn't even occur to me that the impact of the anomaly on Saru's planet should've been addressed
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Ezri D Sorry that wasn't my intention. I'll stop with the caps. Just hoping for feedback.

Can someone clarify for me..did the Kelpians always die during Vaharai...and Saru was the first to survive? Or he's just the first that Saru knows of? If so what happened to all the other survivors like Saru..were they killed by the Ba'ul?

Can someone explain why people were calling the Ba'ul the Go'auld since they look nothing like them... the Go'auld on Stargate were mostly humans or humanoids with a snake or slug creature inside them.....except for Anubis and maybe because of the deep synthesized voice? Although the Ba'ul do look like Armus as many and Jammer pointed out,,
Set Bookmark
Leif
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Even though alien possession is a tired trope if not a cliche, this was a twist that was pretty fresh to me..since it's a whole,group of people being influenced by a sort of,energy matrix..which is like a telepathic library--itself a neat and pretty original idea-- and not just possessed by other entities but specifically acting out a power struggle those details make the episode more unique and creative and original sci fi...wouldn't you agree Jammer..this was pretty original and creative,sci first..maybe even more than Distant Voices from season 3..even if it wasn't totally riveting or powerful drama..does anyone else agree..?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Artymiss..oh darn sorry I didn't see your post..and here this time I thought I was being original..but then I also forgot that Lorca's first bane was Gabriel..I commiserate I hope it's not MU Michael either..so how biit this: THE RED ANGEL IS ZOMBIFIED SECURITY CHIEF LANDRY BROUGHT BACK TO THE LIFE BY THE TARDIGRADE USING ITS SPECIAL SPORE CONNECTIONS..USING LANDRY AS A SPORE PUPPET TO DO ITS BIDDING,,OR THE RED ANGEL IS JUST THE TARDIGRADE ITSELF WEARING A HUMAN SUIT AND WINGS AS A DISGUISE..COME ON NOW HAS ANYONE ELSE THOUGHT OF THAT? This time I think I'm original...

I honestly also like my idea of it being a Tilly and May interdimensional love child spore monkey,thing..there's a subject for a spinoff show..forget the planned Georgiou section 31 spinoff..
Set Bookmark
Leif
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

..I just had a brainstorm what if the RED ANGEL IS PRIME UNIVERSE LORCA NOT DEAD AFTER ALL?? Has anyone else thought of this...having been in hiding and. or lost in the spore network..allowing him to travel to,the future.and become a human -Jasepp hybrid with special spore like abilities..hence the wings..what do you guys think..not to,be immodest, but even that sounds more creative and interesting than having the Red Angel be Future Michael or Future Spock or,Future Zombie Georgiou or,Future Predatory Saru or Future Tilly-May spore human interdimensional love child or the other possibilities floating around here..

Hope its good and FOR GOD'S SAKE BRING BACK THE CREPUSCULANS ALREADY!!
Set Bookmark
Leif
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Robbie: Thanks so much for your response..I'll have to check out tbse TAS characters..and yea you should check out the Iconian design if you haven't already...does anyone think there is still hope that the red Angel is still some new strange alien race we've never seen before..maybe even Pike was wrong and it is a nonbumanoid? If it involves time travel I think t would be cool to tie it in with the Temporal Cold War since they never revealed who the Shadow Man was on Enterprise..make the Red Angel one of Vosk's species from ENT or a Xindi or a Talosian or something creative but that fits with Canon...what does everyone else think?
Set Bookmark
Leif
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

No no! Am I the only one sorely,disappointed that the Red Angel is apparently NOT a mysterious angel like winged nonbumanoid alien but just some human or humanoid alien in a suit? I wanted a really unique, exotic, original or at least fairly imaginative alien race like Species 8472 or the Bynars or the Xindi orbthe Iconians as depicted in Star Trek Online video game..somethibg akin to what the Baul looked like in this episode..or the Sphere thing from the Obol episode..is anyone else as disappointed as I am? So the Red Angel is what..Spock in a butterfly drag queen suit from the future? It looks like Spock in a suit with wings.. I was hoping for something more..maybe a Talosian or some new alien race that looks cool..again something like the Ba'ul looked here or the Jasepp like May on the spore network..I hope we see the Ba'ul again and learn more about them...

Yea the rest of the episode was good...
Set Bookmark
Leif
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

Doesn't anyone else think the life form launch pad or subplot about a holographic lattice was actually pretty inventive and at least somewhat unique--the kind of life form that it was I mean and how it retaliated..by sort of,converting crew members into a form of its own species...even though though it was a Misunderstood Life Form premise..it had that added layer..did anyone else think that??
Set Bookmark
Leif Elliott
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Hey Omicron,

You don't seem stupid. I just got lucky and beat you and everyone else to the punch..I hope you and Jammer et al liked my other lame MU jokes though..I also like Dave' in MN's 23.25% "from concentrate Section 31" only 25%...

And I'd assume I'm also not the only one who thought OMG IS MIRROR EMPEROR GEORGIOU THE DESCENDANT OF MIRROR EMPRESS HOSHI SATO FROM THE ENTERPRISE MU EPISODE IN A MIRROR HAS ANYONE ELSE THOUGHT THIS?..It its yes I' mainly saying because they're both Asian women but also it fits since they were both Starfleet and empresses and since MU Empress Slut-Sato slept with Archer before she MU poisoned him does that mean that OMG IS MU GEORGIOU ALSO THE MU LOVE CHILD OF MU ARCHER WITH EMPRESS SATO FROM THEIR PRE-POISON TRYST..BUT WAIT GEORGIOU HAS NEVER MENTIONED WATER POLO SO SHE DOESN'T SEEM LIKE AN ARCHER..BUT WAIT THAT BIG SPORE DRIVE ORB THINGY ON HER MU PALACE SHIP COULD'VE BEEN A MYCELIAL WATER POLO BALL SO MAYBE SHE IS EMPRESS GEORGIOU AUGUSTUS ARCHER SATO TRIP TUCKER THE THIRD OR SOMETHING...OMG!!..HAS ANYONE ELSE THOUGHT THIS??

And last WILD PSECULATION..COULD TRIP'S CLONE SIM FROM SIMILITUDE BE ALIVE IN THE SPORE NETWORK LIKE CULBER SINCE THE GRAVIMETRIC BUBBLE GUM FIELD THE SPHERES CREATED IN THE DELPHIC EXPANSE LOOKS LIKE INTERDIMENSIONAL WOO-WOO THAT COULD BE CONNECTED TO THE SPORES..JUST A THOUGHT..MAYBE MAY IS SIM IN DISGUISE..Sorry for all caps..just want someone to read and be entertained amidst the 3,000 other comments here..
Set Bookmark
Leif
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Can someone remind me when Section 31 was introduced on this vseries? Ws it two episodes ago this season with Georgiou's Klingon surprise party on Q'onos? Or was it sometime last season with MU Lorca

..and has anyone else ever thought they should show Section 31 in the Mirror Universe but that MU Section 31 would be like a charity organization that gives people in the Federation free hugs and gives Klingons some bunny rabbits to hold to male the Klingons look softer and less bald? And of course the MU Section would be called Section 13...bexwause you know like, 31, but like the reflection..Sorry this was my attempt at lame Rom on DS9-style mirror uni puns...Hope it makes somebody chuckle....
Set Bookmark
Leif
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Jammer you say this episode was original..May I ask,in what way you thought it was..because to me it seemed a but familiar like the Chariot of the Gods idea..or can someone tell me if it was a fresh spin on that?? To me Elogium had a more original and imaginative alien race than this..although the genetic memory idea is a unique alien trait..and the fact they are so advanced yet live in cloaked jungle villages was pretty unique..so what exactly made you say this was so original over other episode s with origbalanced sci-fi premises like Elogium and Twisted and Persistence of Vision?..I'm not saying I necessarily disagree. I,hope you can answer thanks for your time..
Set Bookmark
Leif
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I'm sorry but the 2-d life forms plot was one of the most,original, imaginative, engaging, and satisfying alien enoucnters and sci-for concepts TNG ever did..think about it..even if,it's not scientifically plausible at all, it's still creative and unique..a great example of the seek out new life mantra..and they were developed well enough withh the interaction with the cosmic string..doesn't anyone agree..this to me is right up there with Tin Man or Darmok or the Bynars..don't you think so Jammer in retrospect ?
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.