Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Leen
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

How the writing of this leaves me annoyed. Everybody keeps jumping to the right conclusions with minimal information.
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@4Q2
I have rewatched ST Discovery dvd and new ST movies (2009, Into Darkness, Beyond) again - conclusion: Anson Mount's Pike is just great. I see a lot of Shatner's mannerisms and posturing from Anson, who digested old Trek thoroughly it looks like.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Jammer, can you go back and comment on Short Treks included in dvd sets please?
Short Trek The Brightest Star about Saru and Lieutenant Georgiou is quite relevant to Kaminar episodes.
Many thanks for good reads in Jammer's Reviews.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Re Vulcan Hello:
I thought the desert planet intro culminating in Star Trek logo etched in the sands is so very well done. Yay!
However, none of the Klingon episodes grab, so far.
Except maybe the time crystal acquisition episode - Pike's vision of future fate may not be meant for him, if my surmise that he's from the mirror universe plays out (he winked back at badass Georgiou when she confessed to being Terran).
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

New Eden's buildings so reminiscent of where the Caretaker plonk down Janeway's crew (Voyager pilot).
Simplistic unravelling of what the Red Angel's missions are.
I like it.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 4:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Re: Stamets/Culber - relationship breakdown can perhaps be explained in another way: Culber is from mirror universe! Hence he does not have any inclination to step into original Culber's shoes.
And when Pike gives Georgiou a wink at her revelation that she's mirror universe version, showing no surprise at all: are we to surmise that Pike too is mirror universe version all along?! He did after all appear out of nowhere, didnt he.
ST Discovery universe has CGI galore - how about "dating" each series with a bit more of that, eg the imagined spectacle of when Andromeda galaxy collides with ours, eg Betelgeuse implodes with a big bang, etc More astronomy please!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Just read critique/review on Season 2.
I love them bringing back the 3-dimensional chess - missed out on ordering a model decades ago. Figurines I never cared to own, so perhaps we will get a second chance to own that futuristic chess set soon?!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:56am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I read somewhere that fans are very interested in Rey's origin and parentage. Just watched Rogue One on dvd - Jyn's crystal pendant holds the clue, because her mother's (Lyra) side must have the Force in them, as blind monk Chirrut could sense Jyn's presence when she walked past him. Maybe Jyn was saved somehow and Rey is offspring from Jyn-Lyra's family tree, which would tie in Rogue One characters with Rey's future stories.
By the way, re swordplay and ancient Japanese folklore - I grew up watching black & white movies of Chinese swordplay and 'ching kung', much like Yoda's lightsaber fights. So Chinese audience may be wooed if Michelle Yeoh (of ST Dicovery fame) turns up with a lightsaber in SW franchise!
Set Bookmark
VanzeSpleen
Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 4:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

Re: Geekgarious on audio version of ANH - I concur wholeheartedly on how good it is to just listen to audio of a beloved and much watched old movie. I used to enjoy listening to Leonard Nimoy narrating his ST movie on saving whales whilst on long drives, until in-car cassette players were superceded by CD players. (not looking forward to driving the all electric car minus CD player next year - what we have to sacrifice to drive emissionfree!).
I am binge watching the entire 8 movies again, and it strikes me how scifi productions are tending towards youngling's audience and their taste for computer games. ANH series was purely story telling of space sagas for families going to the movie to be entertained, full stop. Hence the distinctly different movies in the I-VIII Star Wars series. Still, I am looking forward to December's Rise of Skywalker.
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

One thing I'm surprised about: no one has mentioned the links to Bladerunner. Kira's planted memory that only she would know and Deckard's "You ever told anyone that story?" Ghemor's "It's time to go" vs Roy's "It's time to die."
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I like Worf's comment: "What a handsome race." It always makes me laugh for some reason. It is a very silly episode, but I'd up it to two stars just for that comment plus some of the expressions on Picard's face during the dinner...oh yeah And for Mr. Ho's chug a lug!
Set Bookmark
Kayleen
Tue, May 1, 2012, 8:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I never felt the chemistry between Kira and Odo. The whole thing felt forced
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.