Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That wink:
Now why would Pike wink back in answer to Empress Georgiou's confession?
Does he know she's Terran all along? (how, since when?)
Is HE Terran?! after all he did beam aboard out of nowhere.....

Perhaps another Short Trek to please explain.
Or maybe cleanshaven Spock, gorgeous (non-hirsute) Number One & Pike all bump into mirror Georgiou again in Section 31 spinoff?
Make it so!
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 6:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

This time travel episode is pure fun, to be enjoyed.
Critiques should note when this was produced: in the last century.
We did get to see Mr Spock applying his unique neck pinch.
And his dry humour about "little green men" ( he is green-blooded, but taller than "little" green men.)
This is a rewatch, first seen in 1970's on tv, but still thoroughly enjoyed it.
Big fan of Nimoy's Spock
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 3:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Great episode featuring Guinan the alien mystic working in Ten Forward.
More please!
Big fan of Whoopi
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 1:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Great to see your fans coming back already to post in 2021! Presumably like me, having watched Star Trek:Picard series 1 (Remembrance episode).
Re-watched this TNG finale episode more than once on dvd past decades - always enjoyed All Good Things.
Highlights: Picard in his vineyard, Data the Cambridge professor and card playing scene.
Why wasn't Guinan in those Ten Forward scenes? must be a backstory to it (like why Kirsten Alley was replaced in ST movies).
Big fan of Whoopi G.
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

hi Jamahl, been re-watching newly acquired dvds for ST:Picard.
Regarding your critique of Agnes - poor woman didnt have the wisdom of Picard to help her unpack her Maddox dilemma. I say she maybe wouldnt have been so hasty with Maddox's murder if Picard had been able to question her judgment, step by step, like he did with Raffi's erroneous accusations against Agnes & Soji.
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Only just got to watch ST:Picard series 1 on dvd past week. Loved Remembrance, Nepenthe, and Picard's last goodbye to Data (season 1 finale). All in all, a great intro to Picard's new motley crew; but here's hoping to see all the other ST characters & much loved veteran actors in the next 12 seasons (and why not, Midsomer Murders still going strong, decades old, like you).
Engage!
Set Bookmark
Leen
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Empire Economy/Planning makes no sense to me. What kind of an operation does the Empire run where they routinely lose 100% of their important shipments to pirated so that any one that makes it is treated like a hero?

This whole show is written like a video game scenario.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 4:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Luddite babyboomers like me just got our hands on the dvd - and I've watched it 3x already, the last time in a binge of TFA, TLJ & TRoS. Have to say whilst I find Kylo Ren/Ben Solo life history an unlikely tale, overall the storytelling is great, mostly (did skim thru some irrelevant bits). Abrahms did a good job with Leia scenes.
Wonderful landscape and sunset scenes - Luke's homeland & island hideout in particular.
Plagiarised scene is probably not the right thing to call out JJ Abrahms' favourite pastime - the words spoken sinks in, and leaves one distracted: where have I heard that before, where have I seen that before - Stargate? ID4? Star Trek:Picard? No matter, new generation of Star War fans probably like that sort of teasing from Abrahms, prompted by Mom/ Dad. (I am still puzzling over Poe agonising by Leia's deathbed, which movie was it).
By the way 'new' Star Trek movies, Abrahms style, I didnt like at first viewing, probably because they are standalone stories.
Those fans panning this final trilogy of Skywalker saga should try and view these family movies thru the eyes of younglings, and not as would be movie makers !
Set Bookmark
Leen
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

How the writing of this leaves me annoyed. Everybody keeps jumping to the right conclusions with minimal information.
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 3:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@4Q2
I have rewatched ST Discovery dvd and new ST movies (2009, Into Darkness, Beyond) again - conclusion: Anson Mount's Pike is just great. I see a lot of Shatner's mannerisms and posturing from Anson, who digested old Trek thoroughly it looks like.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Jammer, can you go back and comment on Short Treks included in dvd sets please?
Short Trek The Brightest Star about Saru and Lieutenant Georgiou is quite relevant to Kaminar episodes.
Many thanks for good reads in Jammer's Reviews.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Re Vulcan Hello:
I thought the desert planet intro culminating in Star Trek logo etched in the sands is so very well done. Yay!
However, none of the Klingon episodes grab, so far.
Except maybe the time crystal acquisition episode - Pike's vision of future fate may not be meant for him, if my surmise that he's from the mirror universe plays out (he winked back at badass Georgiou when she confessed to being Terran).
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 1:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

New Eden's buildings so reminiscent of where the Caretaker plonk down Janeway's crew (Voyager pilot).
Simplistic unravelling of what the Red Angel's missions are.
I like it.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 4:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Re: Stamets/Culber - relationship breakdown can perhaps be explained in another way: Culber is from mirror universe! Hence he does not have any inclination to step into original Culber's shoes.
And when Pike gives Georgiou a wink at her revelation that she's mirror universe version, showing no surprise at all: are we to surmise that Pike too is mirror universe version all along?! He did after all appear out of nowhere, didnt he.
ST Discovery universe has CGI galore - how about "dating" each series with a bit more of that, eg the imagined spectacle of when Andromeda galaxy collides with ours, eg Betelgeuse implodes with a big bang, etc More astronomy please!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 9:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Just read critique/review on Season 2.
I love them bringing back the 3-dimensional chess - missed out on ordering a model decades ago. Figurines I never cared to own, so perhaps we will get a second chance to own that futuristic chess set soon?!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I read somewhere that fans are very interested in Rey's origin and parentage. Just watched Rogue One on dvd - Jyn's crystal pendant holds the clue, because her mother's (Lyra) side must have the Force in them, as blind monk Chirrut could sense Jyn's presence when she walked past him. Maybe Jyn was saved somehow and Rey is offspring from Jyn-Lyra's family tree, which would tie in Rogue One characters with Rey's future stories.
By the way, re swordplay and ancient Japanese folklore - I grew up watching black & white movies of Chinese swordplay and 'ching kung', much like Yoda's lightsaber fights. So Chinese audience may be wooed if Michelle Yeoh (of ST Dicovery fame) turns up with a lightsaber in SW franchise!
Set Bookmark
VanzeSpleen
Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 4:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

Re: Geekgarious on audio version of ANH - I concur wholeheartedly on how good it is to just listen to audio of a beloved and much watched old movie. I used to enjoy listening to Leonard Nimoy narrating his ST movie on saving whales whilst on long drives, until in-car cassette players were superceded by CD players. (not looking forward to driving the all electric car minus CD player next year - what we have to sacrifice to drive emissionfree!).
I am binge watching the entire 8 movies again, and it strikes me how scifi productions are tending towards youngling's audience and their taste for computer games. ANH series was purely story telling of space sagas for families going to the movie to be entertained, full stop. Hence the distinctly different movies in the I-VIII Star Wars series. Still, I am looking forward to December's Rise of Skywalker.
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Thu, Mar 10, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

One thing I'm surprised about: no one has mentioned the links to Bladerunner. Kira's planted memory that only she would know and Deckard's "You ever told anyone that story?" Ghemor's "It's time to go" vs Roy's "It's time to die."
Set Bookmark
Eileen
Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 9:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I like Worf's comment: "What a handsome race." It always makes me laugh for some reason. It is a very silly episode, but I'd up it to two stars just for that comment plus some of the expressions on Picard's face during the dinner...oh yeah And for Mr. Ho's chug a lug!
Set Bookmark
Kayleen
Tue, May 1, 2012, 8:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I never felt the chemistry between Kira and Odo. The whole thing felt forced
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.