Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 67 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Demons

I saw this episode a million years ago, and again just recently..same question now as then: can somebody please just tell me where the baby came from? I heard the word 'clone', but from where? How would someone get samples of T'Pol's and Reed's dna if that was the method?
Thank you..
Set Bookmark
Don Meisner's Jubilee
Sun, May 19, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

"I want an explanation Mr LaForge. Picard out. "


No shit! Their technology is soooooooooo flaky!

Picard's reaction after hearing about the Theta buildup and the mysterious force that saved their lives is every IT manager's life....

clearly the writers of this had no technical background if they think the shite systems could form an intelligence

I'm all for science fiction but this isn't consistent with the shitty (did I mention that?) systems as they are...

4/10 the lowest of the low
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Since they already knew that fear was an issue, they should've at least considered sending Tuvok to the clown.

Apart from that, this episode absolutely blew me away. Twisted and unique; it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

I tip my hat.

4 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 14, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Sketchy
Thank you for that comprehensive list of technobabble terms. The Viidian take over was by far the highlight of this episode, but it only lasted for about 10 minutes. The rest was almost painfully boring - then again, I've never been a fan of the time shift/dimensional/parallell universe ep's.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, May 6, 2019, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Sloppy writing aside, this episode turned out to be quite entertaining. Neelix managed not to be irritating, Seska shined and the Doctor nearly stole the show! I also loved Janeway's impeccable delivery of the line "Fire at will" at the end. Unfortunately Paris still annoys me, and I would have liked to see Tuvok and Chakotay not being utterly useless. Jonas was a big waste of a character.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

We get the same basic plot in DS9's "Civil Defense", only this time it isn't nearly as interesting.

2 Stars, but only barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

There's something about dark and bad ass trek stories that always gets to me.

4 Stars. Easy.

PS. "I love the fact that Tuvok has a "Kill Neelix" hologram program, though I suspect it's part of the ship's general library for any crew member to use."
Great comment XD
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

4 things that were quite enjoyable in this episode.

-"I don't know how I'm going to enter this into the log."
"I look forward to reading it."

"Can you wake him? "
" Of course. WAKE UP, LIEUTENANT! "

"Here lies Thomas Eugene Paris, beloved mutant... Beloved radioactive mutant. "

"... Neelix's coffee."
" It's a wonder he's survived. "
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Excellent episode. Sure, some dialog where somewhat lame/lazy, but the story was captivating and well directed. Stop nit picking', h8rs.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

A stellar story. Out of all the captains in the previous series I like Janeway the most, in this episode she is at her best. Very moving.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

....following my post above, then Saru even says "All remaining power to forward shields." This was said by captain Robau.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Did anyone else notice that almost perfect lift from dialogue in Star Trek (2009) from the USS Kelvin battle? One female officer on the Kelvin mentions "Life support failing on decks seven and thirteen" and then George Kirk mentions something along the lines of "Shields at eleven percent and dropping, ten percent...we're at nine."
These lines are repeated exactly at around 25:00 by Detmer and Owosekun.
Thought I'd heard that somewhere before!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Consider, if you will, that at the time this episode aired, the idea of ancient aliens wasn't as prevalent in pop culture as it is today.

Those who have actually looked into the myths of indigenous (american) cultures know that the they feature the basic story of this episode i.e. people coming down from the skies and interacting with them.

The fact that they mention the mainstream understanding of life as evolving from one single organism as a "pretty much proven fact", gives the story way more weight than just a simple analogy for imperialism as many here seem to view it.

Ingredients like symbology and destiny, not to mention the extremely entertaining b-story, makes this one a stellar episode and the first VOY that gets 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Steven Lee
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@MadMenMUC.

"No question; but — if we're really honest with ourselves..."

Er, no because I prefer J J's Treks to Discovery. I like all three films.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The premise is good and actually has a lot more potential than was explored in this ep. What if he switched places with the Kim belonging to the alternative timeline? They should really have included one more character who'd been misplaced - at least Paris - but no.

Instead it falls rather flat. Harry Kim is annoyingly incompetent in adapting to the situation. Instead of playing along (and spend some quality time with his fiancée he hasn't seen for months) and ease his way out of the problem, he incomptetently messes everything up way more than necessary.

The fact that he completely lacks personality doesn't help. Luckily Paris has one drink too many and decides to give it all he got anyway.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Until now I haven't had too much of a problem with Neelix. Unfortunately he started to annoy me in S1"Jetrel"; and in this one it only gets worse. Too bad actually, because when he sticks to being somewhat in the background he more often than not gives the show some well needed comic relief.

For some reason Chakotay has been watered down in this and the last few episodes. Many times now I have thought to myself "he used to be a maquis leader - really?". I mean who was that guy punching another starfleet personel in the mess hall recently?

At least one can always count on Janeway.

Not much of interest in this episode. Won't return to it ever.

One star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Strong episode with a few issues holding it back.

I. The actor playing Jetrel did an overall great job but unfortunately blew it at two crucial occasions, one being "I have mreonia, I will be dead in a few days" and the moment he takes his last breath after Neelix forgives him. Both instances dampened the potential power of respective scene.

II. Albeit, some moments caused tears, it eventually got tiresome hearing Neelix mentioning Talax again and again.

Some people are provoked by Kes talk with Neelix about forgiveness. I find the scene brilliant. It goes in line with the harmonious (and boring) nature of Kes, as well as giving Neelix humbleness and intelligence by seeing and accepting the points Kes brings up - after all, she is right.

I don't like half stars so I'll give it a 3. And maybe it deserves it, after all, if it caused tears...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Janeway steals the show in the last 2 minutes of the episode. Just remarkable. The first tear jerker in VOY for me.

3 Stars!
Set Bookmark
Sleepytect
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Some interesting concepts, but a dull episode with little to get the viewer hooked.

The guest star wasn't particularly gripping (she did indeed resemble Kes) and the overall tone seemed very laid-back.

Given the clear advantage conferred by cloaking technology time after time, one wonders why the Federation always refuses to have anything to do with it (use or countermeasures) given their access to it from TOS onwards.

The concept of a 'secretive' race was later explored a little further in 'Riddles' with the Ba'neth going to similar lengths (though in this episode' how a pheromone or computer virus could be relied upon to target ALL biological and technological systems of ALL races with any reliability to 'hide' the aliens is asking a real suspension of disbelief.)

The concept of a 'chaser' targeting runners was more interestingly dealt with in Logans Run, with Michael York similarly playing a gamekeeper-turned-poacher.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Chrome

Very well put, Sir!
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

@SlackerInc In a later episode it IS confirmed that the Hansen's accidentally followed a Borg vessel into one of their transwarp conduits, and came out deep in the Delta Quadrant. They managed to last about six months in Borg Space studying the Borg until they were discovered due to an accidental transmission. They were the first humans to reach the Delta Quadrant, and the first humans assimilated.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I never liked this two-part episode. I don't mind when the Trek franchise tries to be gritty. Personally, I think it needs to be more gritty than it usually does. The older I get, the more I dislike Roddenberry's idealized portrait of Earth and humanity. Calling Earth "paradise" is just a bit too much.

The problem with this two-parter is that it seemed like a weak-rip off of the Earth Civil War arc from "Babylon 5".
Set Bookmark
D'anna, Klingon Starfleet's Counselor
Fri, Nov 23, 2018, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Lt. Comdr. D'anna, daughter of L-Waqxan'ha, Klingon Starfleet's Counselor...
Personal diary, note:

RAAAAAWR!!! You Chris Hobson dishonored mak'dar will drown in your blood!!! I'll drink bloodwine from your emptied skull and throw your corpse to the targs you filthy petaQ!!! And... Comdr. Hobson, do not forget your appointment on Tuesday, at 11:30 am, thaaaaaanks xxxxxs :-)
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.