Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 98 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Beltran as Evil Chakotay is worth the watch alone.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Jeri Ryan did a wonderful job with all the fragmentary characters; the Ferengi impersonation was my favorite. The alien of the week a.k.a species 6339 was a bit of fresh air as well. Their suites were very cool - I hope we get to see them again.

The rest was moderately entertaining. OK episode, but would probably skip during a re-watch.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

What the f*ck were you smoking Jammer?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Criminally overrated episode. Couldn't wait for it to be over.

0,5 Star. Would never re-watch.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Sure, there were some good moments and beautiful shots, but in the end it felt like two B/C plots stitched together. Janeway was seen from one of her best sides all while Neelix got some further depth. Most felt like filler though.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Very strong episode with a top notch performance by Roxann Dawson. When I started watching VOY I would never have guessed that B'Elanna would become one of my favorite characters, but just as Kira grew on me in DS9, the chief engineer is impressing me more and more for every season.

People have been on and on in the comments about the lack of follow up in VOY. Janeway's irrational sides, the failed response from B'Elanna and Chakotay about the maquis extinction etc.. In the last three episodes we get excellent angles dealing with those issues. To some, however, it's not enough...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Sep 7, 2019, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Great episode! Although I like the precious "Night" better, this one certainly had a lot of entertaining elements including a great guest star, amazing make up and effects, and a thrilling story which had you (kind of) guessing 'til the end.

What I find curious is the sudden appearance of a Borg SPHERE. Did I miss something or have the collective suddenly developed a new model of ships? As the crew seem astonishingly blasé about it when it appears, I am leaning to the former.

On another note, I've noticed that the better VOY gets, the more bitter the comments. H8rs gonna h8, I guess....
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: One

Just like "Demon", it is, in its entirety, wholly uninteresting.

Half a star for both.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Oh, and when Tom asked Harry "If Betty Grable came around that corner, what part of her would you be staring at?"

It would have been absolutely brilliant if he would've answered "I'm gay."
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

@Trek fan: Thank you, you nailed it.

It's funny how some call this 'too unrealistic' when an episode where Kes aged backwards in random short leaps in an alternative time line gets high praise.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

"But when did the Doctor have sex?"

Well he did have a romantic relationship in an earlier season. Plus, he has access to the holodeck just like every body else. But I would imagine that he mostly tried it out to see what it was like, in general he seems very asexual.

Regarding the episode: it was entertaining and had a fair share of interesting ingredients, but in the end left me somewhat underwhelmed. Kudos to Andy Dick though, I was afraid it was going to get cringe-y, but he pulled it off satisfactory. I look forward to more Hirogen action; from the little we saw they look like a very promising villain.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

This one combines elements from two classic TNG episodes: "Schisms" and "Frame of Mind", and to that adds it's own spice in form of a Peak Performance Voyager crew. Needless to say it's a slam dunk.

There's not much to complain about really, the story is super solid and keeps on unfolding most elegantly 'til the very end. Mixing in comic relief and action perfectly in what otherwise is a dark and sinister plot. I for one don't think it's very important to have the aliens motive spelled out for the audience - in "Schisms" nobody cared, albeit it was a more mysterious tone to those aliens, but still.

David Bell's music does sound extremely alike his DS9 arrangements, but if it works, it works. I would also like to point out one of the main highlights of this episode, namely the absolutely BEAUTIFUL photography. There were so many gorgeous frames in "Waking Moments" that I lost count half-way in. Even if you don't like this episode it is certainly worth a re-watch just for the shots.

When I watch this I fall in love with Voyager. No way this gets less than 4 shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Silly, but all things considered not too bad. Two things stood out enough to make it a bearable one:

i. Tuvok claiming to be from Scandinavia.

ii. Janeways parable of a small bird and its relation to human intellect.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

The story is pure BS. The rest is smashing. Kurtwood Smith is a treat, Tuvok too and Mulgrew ... WOW!!!

3,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

I've said it before and I'll say it again: time distortion/alternative timeline-stories annoys the cr*p out of me. In this episode we get a shining example of how messed up it easily gets.

On the positive side everything else is really good in "A Year of Hell Part 1". Mulgrew is on such a level that she alone makes it worth the watch. Bravo!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

The premise has plenty of potential, but unfortunately we end up with a result that could've been more.

As some have already pointed out, the story and the distressed hologram should've been written/played with more subtleness - I believe it could've been up there with the best, was it more a psychological thriller instead of a classic slasher.

I also agree that the over-eager Doctor in the beginning didn't fit well with the no-f^cks-given Doc in the second half.

A part from that it's a very solid episode with no real weak spots. The B'Elanna/Tom relationship is being handled very satisfactory, both actors with terrific performances that add nuance to respective character.

3 Stars, so far season 4 is killing it.
Set Bookmark
Lee Stone
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Stop comparing ANYTHING in DS9 to Empire Strikes Back. You just sound retarded. Thank you.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Those comments... When Voyager finally manages to manifest another Star Trek Hall of Fame episode, people have to ruin it by unnecessary nitpicking. We are now close to the end of Season 3 and I can't even count the extremely memorable ones on one hand. We should be celebrating!

This episode really stands out. As mentioned by previous comments the perspective from which it was told was most refreshing and a great deal of fun. The guest appearances were at the very least solid when not brilliant and the story in itself was daring and absolutely riveting in it's way to sculpt something unique out of the ancient aliens/lost civilizations lore.

But instead (1) the age of the Voth civilization is being questioned, (1) religious symbolism is being hastily projected, (3) and mentions of a lacking fossil record are being used as reasons to dismiss the fantastic story that it is.

(For the record: 1. We never get to see all of Voths advancements, so we don't know how developed they truly are. 2. The court is an analogy to the establishment - be it a religious, political or economic one. Science is heavily intertwined with all three btw, especially the last one. 3. Extraordinary circumstances have to happen for a biological organism to be fossilized. Add to that millions of years of environmental changes and anyone will understand why only an estimated 2% of all living creatures that have lived on earth are in our records.)

All in all it is from beginning to end pure, stellar Trek. (And anyone who disagrees can consider themselves an analogy to the female Voth.)

4 Shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I'm with Ben E on this one.

Time jump stories seldom impresses me more than they plain annoy me. This one is no exception. There's no satisfying explanation as to why Kes experience her whole life backwards and there's really nothing in the story that is interesting except for the Krenim race. And to top it all off it ends with an excruciatingly crinchy "Carpe Diem!" message, which misses the point of the expression completely - I mean did she really abruptly ditch a party in her honor just to write a report? How lame, not to mention rude.

Usually I agree or at least understand why some episodes are popular, but regarding 'Before and After' I'm left clueless. Trek junk.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

@Wouter Verhelst

Right on.

Anyway, pretty solid episode; almost worthy of a re-watch sometime down the line. No guarantees though =]
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I found this episode to be quite entertaining actually. No barn burner by any means, but definitively not the worst.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jun 18, 2019, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

@Silenus: Right on!

My thoughts:

I'm a huge fan of 90's b-action movies, especially if it takes place in a sci-fi setting. Some of them I actually consider to be personal film favorites of all time (Project Shadowchaser, Trancers, Dark Side of the Moon to name a couple).

Naturally, there also exist a bunch of them which quite frankly stink, and when I watch "Macrocosm" I see the exact same elements which cause those movies to suck: repetitive environments, boring enemies, lame action scenes ... all this in a cliché deluxe package, including techno-babble and Neelix.

I'm tempted to bust out the zero, but alas, how could I give anything, which features Janeway in a tank top blasting alien scum, anything less than 1 star?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This does what many VOY episodes have done so far: it forces you to watch a painfully mediocre story, with scenes bordering on snoozefest, for the first 2/3 or 3/4 of the episode.

Then it surprises you with a top notch if not brilliant last 10-15 minutes, often thanks to a clever twist and/or intriguing element in combination with Janeway kickin' ass.

Still, there are many episodes better than this one, which I would probably skip if I would ever do a rewatch (God forbid!).

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

The 0,5 star is for:

"Expand or die." (Rule 95)

"When the messenger comes to appropriate your profits, kill the messenger." (Rule 257)

Plus the unofficial stuff which, if nothing else, were wholly entertaining.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.