Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 219 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Jen Lee
Sun, Apr 4, 2021, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

Why couldn’t they just take half the Gideons to populate another planet?
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That wink:
Now why would Pike wink back in answer to Empress Georgiou's confession?
Does he know she's Terran all along? (how, since when?)
Is HE Terran?! after all he did beam aboard out of nowhere.....

Perhaps another Short Trek to please explain.
Or maybe cleanshaven Spock, gorgeous (non-hirsute) Number One & Pike all bump into mirror Georgiou again in Section 31 spinoff?
Make it so!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Having heard about the negative reputation of this movie, I admittedly was hesitant to even give it a go. Even though I loved the first one and didn't really care much for the second, the fans opinions of The Final Frontier somehow got to me. Boy was that a mistake.

Storywise, the film falls short. It doesn't really have a villain and the plot kind of gets lost mid way. The evil entity at the end was just as much a dissapointment to me as it was for anybody else. But be that as it may, this movie has a helluva lot going for it.

Because it isn't about the story. It's about the characters we have all come to know and love for so long now. They have aged, they have become dependent of each other, not as mere working colleagues, but as family.

So when the big Three sits down at a camp fire on a purely recreational weekend in the wilderness it feels not only legit but even most appropriate that they sing a song or two. Preferably an easy one, so that Spock can adapt. Yes, it feels a bit cheap when Scotty walks into a beam and passes out, but why focus on that particular moment when the rest is at least satisfactory?

The relationship between him and Uhura might not be the most believable, but it isn't out of the question, and besides it serves as the perfect excuse to show the viewers that they too, have a human side. It was a bit of shock to see Uhura's seductive dance, but it was just as much fun as Nichols probably had doing it.

I have three more points which I can't tie up in an eloquent way, so let me just list them:

The scene where McCoy and Spock encounters their most traumatic moments is nothing but Trek gold.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this the first time we saw Klingos speaking only klingon in their own company?

And honestly, who didn't enjoy Chekov in the captain seat?

3 Solid Stars.
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 6:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

This time travel episode is pure fun, to be enjoyed.
Critiques should note when this was produced: in the last century.
We did get to see Mr Spock applying his unique neck pinch.
And his dry humour about "little green men" ( he is green-blooded, but taller than "little" green men.)
This is a rewatch, first seen in 1970's on tv, but still thoroughly enjoyed it.
Big fan of Nimoy's Spock
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Great episode featuring Guinan the alien mystic working in Ten Forward.
More please!
Big fan of Whoopi
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Great to see your fans coming back already to post in 2021! Presumably like me, having watched Star Trek:Picard series 1 (Remembrance episode).
Re-watched this TNG finale episode more than once on dvd past decades - always enjoyed All Good Things.
Highlights: Picard in his vineyard, Data the Cambridge professor and card playing scene.
Why wasn't Guinan in those Ten Forward scenes? must be a backstory to it (like why Kirsten Alley was replaced in ST movies).
Big fan of Whoopi G.
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

hi Jamahl, been re-watching newly acquired dvds for ST:Picard.
Regarding your critique of Agnes - poor woman didnt have the wisdom of Picard to help her unpack her Maddox dilemma. I say she maybe wouldnt have been so hasty with Maddox's murder if Picard had been able to question her judgment, step by step, like he did with Raffi's erroneous accusations against Agnes & Soji.
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Only just got to watch ST:Picard series 1 on dvd past week. Loved Remembrance, Nepenthe, and Picard's last goodbye to Data (season 1 finale). All in all, a great intro to Picard's new motley crew; but here's hoping to see all the other ST characters & much loved veteran actors in the next 12 seasons (and why not, Midsomer Murders still going strong, decades old, like you).
Engage!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I re-watched this yesterday. Sorry to say, but I have to lower my previous 2,5 Stars to a meager 1,5.

Here's why: I've mentioned many times before that I have a problem with time-travel episodes, because they are cheap storytelling tricks to concoct whatever plots you like without any regard to what has already been established. They never make any sense and work differently in every episode.

So, they all become convinced that if the stranded crew doesn't re-do the accident, the colony will cease to exist; why? They did exist simultaneously for 200 years without any problem, why can't they continue to do so? And with the same logic, if they didn't manage to escape wouldn't they just reboot the whole time sequence, still causing everybody to disappear, effectively creating a time loop? Or are they supposed to build a parallel, duplicate colony to the one that already exists?

The story is extremely poorly thought out if you scrutinize it even the slightest. Which is almost always the case with these type of scenarios. Of course there is something called suspend of disbelief, but that only works if the rest of the story contains elements of very high quality. In Star Trek IV they get a free pass, in Voyagers finale as well, in the Visitor etc,. But here ... The characters you love and respect only come off as stupid.

The main thing they manage to do is to deepen the relationship between Odo and Kira; however I fail to see how they couldn't have done it any other way. The only thing this episode has going for it is Bashirs banter with O'Brien, which is stellar enough to put it just above the 1 Star mark.
Set Bookmark
Leen
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Empire Economy/Planning makes no sense to me. What kind of an operation does the Empire run where they routinely lose 100% of their important shipments to pirated so that any one that makes it is treated like a hero?

This whole show is written like a video game scenario.
Set Bookmark
Lee Broxson
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Oh goodie. Transphobic comments here from the "englightened" Trek fans who, of course, are frothingly angry about all new Trek. Surprise surprise.

Gender =/= sex. It's not that hard. You don't determine how others choose to identify, and it ultimately has 0 effect on you and infringes upon your rights exactly not at all.

Eat shit, Chris Lopes.

Re: Tomalak and others--The Outcast was an allegory for homosexuality more than gender identity (at the time), even though the character was androgynous. The character in that ep identified as a woman, but was biologically neither, so it isn't quite the right fit for the real-world example for Adira.

I think part of the gender identification here, while hamfisted, was a way for them to speak to it, though I am surprised that Disco introduced a non-binary actor as a character who identified as female, only to then have them self-identify in the ep as non-binary. The more evolved way to do this would have been to have them just be non-binary from the beginning and have everyone just naturally refer to them with they/them pronouns, as if it isn't anything to make a deal of at all.

And no, as someone mentions above, it isn't about them being a Trill and having many hosts. No Trill we have ever known has been this way. When Kurzon Dax was Kurzon, he was a male. When Jadzia Dax was Jadzia, or when Ezri Dax was Ezri, they identified as female. This was specifically speaking to Adira's character's self-identification as non-binary.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

You have your order wrong. This comes before little green men. I'm watching the entire series on Netflix and just having it play each episode one after another and your site here made me think I missed one. Just checked and little green men is up next. So your episode order is wrong just an FYI.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Was it so important for Trek fans to view the Federation as being always in the right that they could not even concede that it had been wrong about the Maquis-Cardassian conflict? Or that with this story line, "Star Trek: Deep Space Nine" had adopted a conservative viewpoint by maintaining the status quo?
Set Bookmark
Lee
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Oh god because we haven't had enough Dax episodes. Skipping this one, can't stand this character.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 11:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I found this episode pretty boring and couldn't get into it. I hate any episode where everything just resets at the end. Tony Todd was good I thought, but I just find it hard getting into episodes like these where you know everything will be put back to normal at the end.

Like anyone would answer the door late at night and just let some total stranger in. Loved when she said "I have time" to hear his story. Like ummm you are the one that just showed up unannounced, how about respecting Jake's time??
Set Bookmark
Lee
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Third Season Recap

This is my first time watching so I've now officially watched up to the end of season 3. It has been my favorite season so far especially compared to season 1. My only gripe is the Dominion honestly doesn't seem like that big of a threat period we started the season and even ended last season sounding like war was coming and that they would be flying through the wormhole at any moment. I was expecting the whole series to turn into more of a war drama, but the Dominion has barely made an appearance and really doesn't seem that threatening so I found that part pretty disappointing. There were times when I actually forgot all about them and would think oh yeah weren't they supposed to be some kind of big threat?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Gotta hand it to part 2 of this double feature. I definitively enjoyed the 1st part, which was essential as a build up. But except for a couple of great scenes which hadn't much with the main plot to do, namely the one with Sisko's father refusing a blood test (amazing and highly relevant scene), there were very little fireworks. In part 2 it kinda continues for a while, throwing the watcher in a couple of directions before finally rolling it all out in a very satisfying, quite spectacular way.

Through the use of the Defiant it even managed to feature the whole DS9 cast, albeit in a somewhat limited manner. It wasn't real clear why the Defiant had to get to Earth, but it didn't really bother me. The showdown against USS Lakota was tense and engaging, serving as an effective story element.

It definitively is a challenge to sell the Federation as the bad guys without having them infiltrated (thus them not being the actual Federation). In this case they do a great job in convincing us that paranoia and fear has gotten to the better of at least some of them - as it surely has happened in Earth's history a number of times already.

The Changelings are there. 27 people are dead. And through clever writing you keep on waiting for them to show up; but they don't, or they almost do - as when Sisko was set up - until one of them finally manifests and tells us that they don't have to do anything, that he (Colm Meany was brilliant as fake O'Brien btw) and three colleagues are basically standing by, watching, as we slowly smoke ourselves. I for one found it quite cogent. Cogent and entertaining.

All in all I give 'Homestead' 3 Stars and 'Paradise Lost' 4 Stars. I feel somewhat generous but I just like the slow burn theme of this double whammy.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

I have to agree with the review above me. This is my first time watching DS9 (and any Star Trek series from the start). When Season 2 ended I was SO into it as FINALLY the Dominion was here! We kept hearing about them, and I was so careful not to google them to see what they looked like (thinking they are some alien race). When Season 2 ended it was so thrilling and seemed like Season 3 would be all Dominion. They literally told them to stay out of the wormhole, so it seemed like stuff was getting good! But now here we are at the end of Season 3 and I practically have forgotten they even exist! How can we go an entire season and we've seen them basically once, and it was when the Romulans and Cardassians went to attack them?

Anyway, that aside in terms of this episode I have mixed feelings. I really, really dislike Dax, like a lot. When I first started Season 1 she was actually my favourite character, as she pretty much seemed like any normal professional woman in Starfleet. I think it was that episode where she was the mentor for that guy wanting to be joined where I lost interest in her. She went from being almost a shy type girl, to wrestling naked and gambling with the Ferengi? That just seemed SO out there and unexpected, like I thought she was possessed or something. Ever since then it seems like every episode she's featured in there's some other big revelation about her. I just feel like she has way too much drama, like we get it, you have a worm inside of you, we've seen that tons of times now, another Dax episode really wasn't needed.

Who are the people going into the others bodies anyway? Like Curzon was all stoked to see Sisko, but isn't he just a living memory of the guy? Like Curzon is dead, and this is effectively the same as a clone. Why would any of them WANT to go back into Jadzia? Why is that not a thing for Trill to live forever, by just moving into someone else's body after you pass? That whole part was stupid, especially the willingness of the others to go for it. The whole time she's explaining it I'm thinking to myself if I was there "count me out!" That sounds terrifying having someone control your body, like hell no.

I also feel like we go through this SO many times, like oh wow Odo is in another body or somewhere else and wants to stay there. Previously it was him wanting to stay with his people. Then a few episodes ago we had Garak deciding to stay with his people. Like every other episode someone seems like they are leaving the show or whatever only to be talked out of it. Like Odo has gone through so much including recent life threatening experiences, but now is totally content to just share his body with someone else as 1 being? He was just melting away recently telling Garak while being tortured that he wants to be home with his people. Like make up your mind!

However, this is now one of my favourite episodes just because of the Quark part when he had the woman in him. Might have helped that I was into the good stuff while watching it, but when he started on about his greatest achievement was when he gave birth, and how nothing beats breastfeeding I was fricken DYING laughing. Like tears crying laughing so hard!
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Oct 11, 2020, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

I enjoyed this episode but my biggest issue is how unrealistic it is. I'm sorry but if I watched my wife die and then she comes walking in the room I would be losing it. Sisko acts like she's a total stranger which I find extremely unbelievable that he has absolutely zero emotion or wouldn't be wanting to bring her back with him.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I posted my last comment without reading the other reviews but after reading them now I really am done with this series if people are saying this is as good as it gets. It's 2020, so this supposedly takes place 4 years from now, yet their computers are the size of a desk and require a pen for input and their ration cards are pieces of cardboard printed out and laminated like you got in school in the 80s. Maybe back in the '90s this episode was better but seeing that the future isn't even remotely close to this and that they got it so completely wrong is what makes it hard for me to even try to enjoy it. It's just soooooo cliche even including the black social worker. And don't even get me started on Jadzia all dressed up for the party but still wearing the stupid communicator instead of putting it in her pocket. This just reminded me so much of an 80s movies vision of the future that I just couldn't get into it as it's just too far from the actual world to be believable. I get it's fiction but at least try to make an effort, as they couldn't have been any more wrong about what the 2020s would be like.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

This is my first time watching DS9 and so far after every episode I come on here and read all the reviews however, this is the last time I will be coming on here. The fact you gave this garbage episode a perfect score with the last one only one star is mind-blowing. This has to be hands down one of the worst episodes there has been so far. It's so completely unpausable and unrealistic that I can't even watch it. I'm sorry but you throw all those people in that place and tell them to live on their own then it's going to look like escape from New York. These "bad ass gang members" guarding all the buildings are like children. Beshir arguing with them that they just want a place to sleep? If this was reality both of them would have taken a shotgun to the head within 5 minutes.

This episode is so bad that I think I need a break from DS9 as it's actually offensive how terrible this was.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

My god Keiko has to be hands down the most annoying character on this entire series. Are they're actually any episodes she's in where she's not pissed off the entire time? Like my god, I hate negative people and watching her drives me crazy. Miles could tell her he won the lottery and she'd still be pissed off. It also pissed me off how selfish she is, making him out to be the bad guy for not being able to see his daughter for an entire year. I was hoping he would have told her go ahead and go back spend as much time there as you want but Molly is staying with me this time.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I liked this episode and found it entertaining, but my biggest issue was that it's just so insanely unrealistic. Having a pre-recorded message for every single variable just seems very unlikely, but even so having it automatically destroy the entire station without someone needing to authorize that is just impossible to believe.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Wed, Aug 12, 2020, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

This is my first time watching DS9 so I am doing every episode and just got to this one. The biggest issue I had is I thought it was going to turn out that Jadzia had something wrong with her because she was acting so out of place. We have seen her in other situations before but I dunno the way she acts at the start with the gambling then the naked guy at her place and then taking him to eat worms. It all just seemed so over the top. Maybe that's just how Jadzia is and will continue to be now, but that wasn't the impression I had of her up until now. She was one of my favorite characters so far but after this one I actually don't like her at all anymore and find her annoying.

It's too confusing trying to figure out how all the personalities work and which are just memories etc. I don't understand why anyone would want to be joined when all you're really doing is just giving the symbiont your body to basically live it's life in and take over most of your personality. She said it herself that she used to be super shy and timid but obviously now is the opposite. I just can't grasp why anyone would want to be joined. It's not like you are getting to live forever now, only your memories are. It's Dax that lives forever just via your body.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Okay what the hell? There was no ending? Why did that psycho chick and her son beam up and leave when they were the only ones that wanted to stay there? This was by far the worst episode out of all of them I've seen since episode 1. That was such a waste of time watching that to have no ending.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.