Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 122 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 2:36am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

This is the second time in a row now, that we get an episode with barely no Seven; but instead it's all about B'Ellana, and thank God for that!

A beautifully paced story with a wonderful theme and a flawless performance by Roxann Dawson. I really like B'Ellana and unfortunately I feel many of the episodes focusing on her lacks in story and execution. Therefore "Muse" is a real delight.

3-3,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Nov 16, 2019, 7:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Really refreshing with an almost complete abscence of Seven.

Otherwise it was a funny plot with some really good scenes, I especially liked the one with Neelix, Paris and the Doc in the mess hall. Janeway meeting her imposter was also good as well as the cave monks scheme.

The overall execution could have been better, it feels a bit unpolished; but other than that there's not much to complain about. It had a classic Trek feel to it, something I always appreciate.

2,5 strong Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Far from perfect, with some really dragged out scenes in the middle to fill it up. But as some have already pointed out, it's strength lies in its goofyness.

The end, especially, had me laughing several times.

Mr. Lindstrom reporting from the surface to Kirk.
"How's it going?"
"Couldn't be better. Already this morning we had half a dozen domestic quarrels and two genuine knockdown drag-outs. It may not be paradise but it's certainly human."
"Sounds most promising."

or when the computer has been destroyed and Marplon and the robed servants looks upon it as Kirk leaves.
"Let's go see how the others are doing. Marplon can finish up here."

Yeah, they can thank them later XD Let me tell you, had it been Janeway instead of Kirk people would absolutely LOSE it.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

@Jo Jo Meastro (Aug, 2013)

Your comment summarize my thoughts exactly.

A nice 3-solid-stars-story.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 5:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Beautifully written and played out from the beginning to the end. If not 4, than definitively 3,5 Stars.

PS. That giant wrench in the end was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 5:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Uncompelling for the most part, but manages to turn up the heat in the last 10 minutes. Though, I have to say that the Borg kids don't do anything for me, and I'm getting really tired of the over exposure 7of9 is getting.

As is the case with most of the episodes in the second half of season 6, they won't be included on my VOY re-watch list.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I understand that when this was filmed the times were different, but I really think the story would've benefited if Seven had finished the Hirogen off at the end. Not only would it be visually cool, but her guilt would be way more convincing and harder hitting (no pun intended) for the audience. Also, too bad we didn't get to see Tuvok fight.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Oh come on everybody! Janeway obviously knew he wouldn't go through it in the end. Her reaction in their last scene clearly shows it.

If one doesn't take this one too seriously it's quite enjoyable - and this is coming from someone who isn't very big on the Doc.

Ryan and McNeill are great, Dawson and Mulgrew magnificent.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

In "Counterpoint" (S5), they pulled off a Janeway romance with flying colors, much thanks to great attraction and a superb main story. In "11:59" (S5) the chemistry was non existent and because the story was otherwise lacking, it kind of bombed.

In "Fair Haven" the affection is at least half way there, but because there's nothing else of substance it still falls flat on an overall scale of things. There's not much of a main plot, no b-plot and it's not even remotely believable that the whole Voyager crew is going gaga over Paris mega lame rendition of early 20th century Ireland.

With that said, it's still a treat to see Kate Mulgrew shining in every scene; among other things showing the audience a girly side of the Captain, not seen often before and done to perfection.

So it's worth 2 stars or maybe 2,5 at most, but I'd probably still include it on my re-watch list - simply due to my Janeway bias.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Nov 9, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Even though I like Troi she didn't really had any purpose in the story, as for Barclay I liked him more in TNG, he just seemed a bit over the top in this one. The touch with Maquis uniforms and Barclays hero fantasy on board Voyager was indeed entertaining. And it felt like the ending managed to give a well needed boost to the over arching Voyager story.

There are many better episodes though.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Seems a lot of people are having trouble accepting that there are things in the universe that can't be scanned with a tricorder.

Supreme episode, 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 4:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

There's always two ways of looking at things; from the light of a star, or from the shadows of a deep valley. Both are equally legit, but for your own sake, why not chose a perspective that lends a joyful nature?

The comments are many here, which have a negative ring, especially regarding Janeway. This quote from James (Oct, 2016) for example:

"But - even with her sonic showers and replicators intact - all it takes is a couple of hours and a flimsy desire for 'revenge' for Janeway to lose the plot?"

A similar comment about Captain Sisko in "From the Uniform" is yet to be found, even though the storys are fundamentally identical. Not in million years would the other captains be described as having a "flimsy desire for 'revenge'". We all know why.

As there are so many comments of similar character, I can only come to the conclusion that most people seem to expect Janeway and VOY to be something that they aren't.

But it is what it is, and when it all comes down to it, the characters are supposed to be human beings. In Equinox Janeway experiences serious exasperation, this is something we all do, especially in tense, demanding situations. And even if one is expected to behave in a certain way, things sometimes fold out in an unpredictable fashion.

Now there lies the strength in Mulgrew's portrayal of Captain Janeway. She is a competent Captain, loyal to Starfleet, beloved by her crew. Certainly very powerful but not without a playful side and a sense of humor.

And at the same time, underneath that duty mask she is a lonely, vulnerable woman; never afraid to sacrifice herself for the greater good just as she isn't afraid to do what she thinks has to be done, be it of a very controversial nature or not.

There is great beauty in the balance of Janeways many nuances; if one would only refrain from readymade expectations, its there for everybody to behold.

Just my 2 cents.
Love & Light
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

The first part was pretty good, the second part, however, is magnificent.

Mostly thanks to Mulgrew, who is absolutely ravishing as dark Janeway. The interplay between her and Chakotay also added an interesting dynamic to the duo (although I can't for the life me understand why anyone would disobey Janeway).

Also, Savage does an excellent job as Equinox's Captain. I thoroughly enjoyed the Doctor without the ethical subroutine as well, reminded me of the great movie "The Dentist".

4 Stars, thanks to the Janeway factor.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I have to admit I'm somewhat perplexed over the negative opinions that many seem to have about "Warhead".

I thought it was an interesting story, beautifully filmed and with strong performances by all - except Picardo. He was too similar to the Doctor, should've switched it up a bit more. I loved the sounds the warhead made to communicate btw.

3 very solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Watched this episode just now.
I'd seen it once before, years ago, but I'd forgot its emotional punch.

Damn it all, if I haven't now found an episode to rival my adoration for "The Inner Light."

Well done, DS9. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

If Henry Janeway would only have been played by a more suitable actor this would've been a total slam dunk. With that said, this is a super cozy VOY episode and a welcome breath of fresh air (just like the previous episode).

After half a dozen more or less forgettable episodes in the middle of season 5, I'm really glad things are shaping up just as we are nearing the end.

Things I liked about 11:59:
-Mulgrew once again giving a grandiose performance. She really is the pillar of Voyager.
-"Ferengi talk about Wall Street as if it were Holy Ground."
-That out of focus "Fish Tales" pinball machine in the background at the pub.
-Harry Kim's family story.
-Neelix theorizing about 7of9.5
-The NYE feeling.

Things I didn't like:
-Neelix and Paris battle of useless earth trivia.
-Paris being a human encyclopedia of Mars projects from the 1970's 'til current Star date. (really? wtf)

3 Solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 10:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I really like B'Elanna. Too bad the story is just an extremely lame version of Alien.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I liked it. So shoot me.

It was quite enjoyable to see Beltran flipping out again and again, a fresh take on the ordinary, often sleepy Chakotay. A big plus for the evil Doctor =]

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
bleepbloop
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

remember fellas. Always get your Significant Others permission before you link with someone on the side. Or at least be smart enough to keep it on the DL
Set Bookmark
bleerg
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

"Enough talk, link with me"

Gonna try that one out on my next date haha
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

The idea of seeing Tuvok dealing with emotions both historically and present is not bad. However, the premise, writing and casting are just way off in this one. Tim Russ excellent performance is the only thing keeping this episode from belonging in the trash.

1 Star, barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Extremely well done episode, which balanced comedy, ingenuity and action drama in a quite remarkable way.

Would've loved to see the Delaney Sisters as well as more of Tuvok and the Doctor. But that's the only things holding it back.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Lee
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I've always loved this episode - apart from the INSANE ending. Why does no one else have a problem with the absurdity of the ending?

As soon as the Romulan captain leaves Voyager, Tuvok reports that this man died before Voyager was launched, so they have no way to know if their messages ever got home. WHAT!?

Here are the three things which make no sense to me...

1. After hearing that the Romulan died before Voyager was launched, everyone just accepts that they have no way to know if their messages got home. WHY LEAVE IT TO CHANCE? Why not just contact the Romulan and urge him to leave a will or give a copy to a trusted friend? Yes, the wormhole was due to collapse - but NOT YET. The man had ONLY JUST BEAMED OFF THE SHIP, without any sense of urgency, so clearly they can still make contact with him.

2. So let's get this straight: Tuvok hands over the data chip containing all the crew's messages to this Romulan man, knowing fully well that the man will die before he can deliver the messages? Knowing this, WHY ON EARTH didn't Tuvok urge the man to make sure he leaves a will, or give a copy to a trusted friend?

3. Besides all this - why tell the Romulan captain to wait 20 years before delivering the message? Get him to send it NOW! He could have transmitted it to Starfleet while they were watching him, then the Voyager crew would know for a FACT that Starfleet had received it. As for not wanting the messages to be seen ahead of time, just encrypt the chip's contents and leave a header note saying: "This message is from the future. The contents of this chip have been encrypted to prevent timeline corruption. In 2371, a federation ship will go missing. Rest assured that its crew are safe and well. This chip contains personal messages from them to the crew's families. The coordinates of the ship's last known location are the password for this file."
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Sep 21, 2019, 9:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I wholly enjoyed the first third of it. It had an aura of thriller to it, which later turns to a character drama with some intriguing philosophical dialogues. It's all very good, but I can't help wishing that the episode would've been of a more sinister kind.

3 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.