Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi had it right:

"I do not find this kind of cr*p to be either entertaining nor insightful. It may be "Star Trek", but it most certainly does not have the same qualities that made me fall in love with the franchise in the first place: The optimism, the intelligence, the open-mindedness, the inspiration to become a better person."

That's the point. Or, at least to me that was the point of Star Trek: it was aspirational in nature - the notion that we could all be better and, just as important, that we should all at least TRY to be better. That was the entertainment factor. The premise didn't always succeed (because naturally the characters were all flawed in one respect or another) and not infrequently got it wrong, but the premise was sound.

What we have in Picard is feather light content wrapped in camera angles and quick cuts designed for some aesthetic sense of "modern" production technique over entertainment - that's why you get no end of quick camera cuts, the gratuitous swearing, torture porn, music that drowns out dialogue and many, many flashing lights). The characters themselves are a sorry group that didn't need to be that way - Picard is a non-entity so far. Villains rise and fall in one episode (but without a story being told) and characters we might at some point come to care about are also dismissed quickly - the housekeepers, Dahj and even Number One for heaven's sake! (Remember Porthos, anyone? A nice subtle character that added to the show.) They raise what could have been an important issue with Raffi and her son out of the blue and drop it without any development. Agnes Jurati you saw coming a mile away (no one is genuinely that clueless). I could go on....

The problem is just that they don't have enough content to fill the allotted time so we are stuck with this long drawn out nothingness that creeps towards something happening hopefully soon- where were the writers? Had this been a movie, we'd be at about the 30 minute mark at this point - not 5 hours down the road. I think the issue here is that they didn't want to start up another Trek series in the episodic format - which, by the way, kept people interested, watching and talking. So, they planned this 10 hour "movie" without enough to fill it.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Brutal show. Worst one yet. Where to begin?

I have commented before that this show features style over content - same again this week and now let's add gratuitous gore to the mix. The filming was choppy as before and the tech isn't good enough to compensate for the lack of genuine plot. Shifting camera angles until I'm slightly nauseous.

Just a few howlers:

- Agnes standing with her back turned whilst Maddox choked out some key facts to Picard in Sick Bah about Dahj/Soji just screamed "I'M GOING TO DO SOMETHING BAD TO MADDOX ONCE PICARD LEAVES" and shur 'nuf...

- Picard and Seven have a discussion about humanity - just before Seven vaporizes the bad lady who hurt Icheb

- The whole "cortical node must be there somewhere" - you're telling me that NONE of those machines could scan and detect that there wasn't one???

- One of the worst: Raffi and her abandonment of her child? One attempt to correct that past, she gives up and she's out of there and back on the ship? Substance abuse and recovery raised and rejected in 5 minutes. Appallingly poor writing there to address a serious issue.

- One of the reasons (I think) why Star Trek had such sticking power is because it was aspirational in nature. 5 shows in, and this is as far from aspirational as you get.

- Anyone else notice how Picard really is a minor character so far in the series? In TNG he was clearly in command - here he is just a movable chess piece. That might change going forward, but for now it's a serious disservice to both the character and the actor.

- The scene where they all dress up and go to Free Cloud had all the sophistication and engagement of an impromptu after-dinner skit at a family dinner that no one prepared for or wants to participate in - "I'll be in the skit but ONLY if I get to be the pirate..." Not even the actors believed what they were doing there.

The one bright note I heard this week was that Whoopi Goldberg would be reprising her role as Guinan in PIC series 2.

Jammer's 1.5 stars was generous. I'd give this one a .5. Sigh.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sun, Feb 16, 2020, 11:51am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Dougie:

Shut down the site? LOL - I doubt that is going to happen. The first episode of TOS aired 9/8/1966. The most recent comment in the chain on that episode? November 6, 2019. This site is a fantastic resource and discussion page. Hopefully it is not going anywhere.

You can't blame people for not liking/being critical of the new series. So far it is setting itself up to be a 10 hour movie based on 3 hours of substantive content/story telling, filled with irrelevant details featuring style over content and filmed in a style that makes it uncomfortable to view on a television. So, yeah, if an exec were to review all of the comments, it might make them think. Which would be a good thing.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I think @Brian said it best - about a million comments above this one so I'm going to repeat one of his paragraphs in whole: "People who watch Picard expecting TNG with its "alien of the week" format are naturally going to be disappointed. It's been done already, and to a certain extent, the mantle has been taken up by the Orville. Picard is supposed to be a human drama set in the Star Trek universe, and is about the optimism and heroism of a man who knows he's not long for the world, and is trying to right the wrongs and fulfill the promises he made, in a mission with such unfavorable odds, he won the sword of a Qowat Milat. Maybe he gets to save the universe and the soul of Starfleet as well."

I was one of "those" people who were hoping for the episodic approach to continue. I know Stewart said this show would be different, but I hadn't expected 4 loooonnggg hours of build up the pretty much is going no where. It's like the writers didn't have enough actual content for the amount of time they wanted to fill. And so we ended up with flashback after flashback and "filler scenes" (can you say "Borg ritual"? that go nowhere. That being said, if the story had a bit more cohesion, I'd be happier playing along and biding my time until the writers felt it was time to get on with it. At this point, but for the fact that it is called Star Trek and Patrick Stewart/JL is in it, I doubt I'd still be watching. (Although, must say, I loved the Chilean/Spanish emergency gunner hologram (EGH?))

I am finding the Soji story arc just plodding at this point and that "Borg ritual" slide/dancing scene irritating and juvenile. It doesn't seem to have been written with any sense of what the Borg were or what they represented. It's like the writers felt they had to put in a "love" scene and this is what they feel passes for eroticism/love/romance/whatever in whatever century we are currently in. And, the whole incestual relationship between [whatever their names are] is bizarre and I am getting tired of the "KILL HER OR ELSE" lines that occur in ever menacing tones. Let the guy do his job or take over yourself - just decide already.

Someone has already mentioned this, but Picard in the panama hat/all white/"I am here to deliver you" suit is just weird. It's a throwback to colonial expansion but in what the Trek universe has called the "ancient" past. If they were going to do that, at the very least put a modern spin on the suit. Picard never dressed traditionally - in TNG or in his current time so it's illogical they would do that in a flashback. If they were going for a salvationary figure they should have updated the look to something that didn't remind me of an old ginger ale commercial.

I'd give this one 2 stars. One star for Patrick Stewart and his brave effort to make something of this mess and one star for the kickass warrior nuns who go after the hopeless causes. (I fear the two are linked.) The show was better than last week and more engaging (I wasn't watching the clock as much) but it's a far cry from good.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Wed, Feb 12, 2020, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Liked this episode mostly. Fun on its own but seems a bit out of place as a penultimate show to the series.

And- personal beef - why does the VOY crew never act like they have seen the potato people race before? With races like the Borg, Devore, Malon, etc., the crew actually remembers who they are (and even references them from time to time). Never any continuity references with the PPs.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 6:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Loved both Jammer's review AND this episode - and, no, that's not contradictory. The reviews make me question my take on any episode and I love thinking about the episodes from different perspectives.

I'd give it a 3/4 but mostly for parts other commentators haven't mentioned yet - I find I relish the "quiet moments" between some of the key characters that often occur outside the DRAMA OF THE DAY. One of my favourite moments of the series was in this episodes when Tuvok sits beside Janeway (who was just about at the end of her rope and was thinking of a reprieve in Sienna) and he says "And I will join you for a glass of wine." My heart melts each time I watch it. That one sentence shows such empathy and caring - and from a Vulcan no less.

The one negative for me were the Paris/B'Ellanna scenes. I just don't find them believable. Never liked those two as a couple. B'Ellanna had more chemistry with Harry Kim than with Paris.

Like many others I cheered when the bad scientist ship exploded. I was just unreasonably angry that BOTH ships didn't explode. I have now convinced myself that the second ship was also destroyed. Off screen.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@patrick

Great point! I hope you are right - that the explanation is actually rooted in the story as opposed to the writing!
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Sorry - typo - "ascerbic" not "ascorbic". Spell check needs a better dictionary.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

Sigh. Just call this the show of anticipatory opposites - Agnes says she is good; isn't a good liar. That's likely untrue - she seemed pretty comfortable with the disruptor. The Vulcan Commodore with the shades likely isn't Vulcan. Narek will likely turn out to be good (or "love makes him a changed man"). Is Raffi a Synth? The fight scene at PIcard's chateau - yikes... They have him "fighting" here and on the rooftop when Dahj was killed he just stood still. He's 80 FFS - let's be reasonable. And, to be honest, the fight scene was ridiculous - highly predictable and a poor copy of the fight in Dahj's apartment from Ep 1.

We are only at episode 3 but already there are so many bad cliches that I feel I've seen pretty much all of this before. Not sure how much longer I'll stick with it - it's just not that interesting. Even Rios - the "renegade pilot" - yaaawwwwnnnnn. Give me the ascorbic Doctor from VOY over the cardigan-wearing EMH any day.

Also, I'm having trouble with the editing and scoring - too dark and too loud. Doesn't anyone actually want to hear some/most of the dialogue?

Picard is losing stars episode by episode. Down to 1.5 for me.
Set Bookmark
Late To The Party Girl
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

I'll keep watching, but this episode dragged for me. I continue to rewatch various episodes of TNG, VOY and even ENT because those episodes were able to stand on their own as well as an ensemble element of a larger plot line. (I watched TOS when it aired initially and that was enough for me!) But these two episodes of PIC just ask you to wait and see - something good is coming (hopefully). A 10 hour movie is fine, but you'll likely only have the patience to watch it once.

The back and forth in Dajh's apartment with the technological whizbangery just seemed plodding to me and completely contrived - first, the Tal Shiar wiped the room clean oh, wait, no they didn't. And LOOK, they left the very pieces that the ex-Tal Shiar needed to piece it all together again. Too contrived. She's not on earth? Not exactly shocking.

The most unbelievable element in all of this for me was the whole concept of the Zhat Vash - I'm good with having an Super Evil Villain, but the deepest, darkest, most protected secret safeguarded over thousands of years was that they don't like synths? I'm not buying it. It didn't seem like much of a secret and I doubt that would be something they would have been harbouring over that period of time. The fact that the Romulans don't have AIs is an observable fact. So, the fact that they don't support that form of life isn't exactly a mystery.

The gratuitous f-bombs didn't really bother me. But they were unnecessary. And, I think the Admiral's "HUBRIS" line would have been far stronger without it. We'd be debating the deep loss of trust/faith between Star Fleet and Picard, wondering about how the relationship went SO WRONG, surmising about whether Picard's legacy has been nullified (such that he now has to spell his name at the front desk - P-I-C-A-R-D) and not focussing on the potty mouth of the Admiral.

And, finally, Star Fleet having been infiltrated at the highest levels? Pfft. It's been done - and far better - remember TNG "Conspiracy"? Now THAT was infiltration.

Two stars.
Set Bookmark
Late to the Party Girl
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 5:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

New poster here - I have never posted before but was happy to see a Jammer review and comments for Picard. Call me crazy, but to help manage stress I watch the old Star Trek series (except DS9 - never could get in to that one). Love to read Jammer's reviews and all the comments - how phenomenal are these reviews! Some of the comments go back almost 20 years! Thanks so much, Jammer - I hope you get all the credit and thanks you clearly deserve!

I enjoyed Picard but, like many others here, found the music far too intrusive. It got to the point that I turned on closed captioning - just to make sure I got all the dialogue. Patrick Stewart is as impressive as ever. I got a bit choked up when I saw the "Picard Day" banner from Pegasus. I'll have to watch again, but the opening scene did not seem like 10 Forward to me - way too stylized. Was one area where I felt the production hand was too heavy on style over content.

Also, I have not seen "Nemesis" - clearly that has to be corrected - I don't think I grasped some of the nuances because I was lacking some of the back story.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.