Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 158 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Clara
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

The idea of this episode is kind of fun, but from the first time I saw it I noticed glaring mistakes with it.

• Why was the aircraft set down on the planet but the truck left floating in space? For that matter why were the vehicles brought at all?

• This abduction was supposed to have taken place in 1937. The truck is 1936 model. Why would an almost brand new truck have tons of rust on it?

• The truck was owned by a farmer. This was the height of the Great Depression. Farmers were not doing well at that time. Very very few could afford a brand new truck.

• The “37s “ we’re supposed to be the ancestors of the current human population on this planet. How was that possible being they had been in cryo-stasis for 400 years- presumably from the moment of their abduction . How were they able to produce offspring during this period. of cryo-stasis ?
Set Bookmark
Robert Larson
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Zero stars. This gave us no new insight to the Q, and who cares if it did. This was poorly written and acted. Boring beyond description. One of the worst episodes ever. Deep conversations about nothing. Rascals is a much more entertaining episode than this snooze, and you gave it a lower rating.
Set Bookmark
Flarpblarp
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This soft reboot is so bizarre... but honestly, it feels like Discovery was completely misconceived from the beginning, so maybe it's for the best.

I don't think the writers are necessarily to blame. They've demonstrated an ability to do individual episodes quite well. I suspect the development of Discovery was severely hampered by misguided executives. It's surely why it started as a prequel (marketing execs have a fondness for them as they require no pre-knowledge of a franchise, despite creating so many storytelling issues). It's surely also why Discovery has been so needlessly fast-paced and flashy. And why the Enterprise and Spock were awkwardly added in S2. And maybe it's even why it has Iron Man-like flying suits or the battles in this episode seem inspired by BSG and Star Wars (wait there are repair droids now?!).

This whole show just reeks of shitty guidance from executives - clueless and under pressure to make this a bigger mainstream hit that can launch CBS All Access. It just feels like such a weird hodgepodge... even though it sometimes has good elements, it's probably not the show anyone actually wanted to make.

The spore drive was such a conceptual mistake as well - if you can potentially go anywhere and anytime, it removes any sense of danger or progress. It was a WAY overpowered device that has had to be slowly nerfed and then discarded.

Perhaps they can still reset DIS and fix this show in season 3, but S1 and 2 will still feel like such a waste of screen time - despite isolated elements of the show being quite impressive.

The production values on this show are so amazing and some of the writers must be individually very talented, but I also wish this were a whole different show.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Kind of silly to have them pretend to try to kill Michael while having a crew ready to save her if the red angel doesn't show up, defeats the entire point of what they were doing. Liked seeing Georgiou break when they pushed it to the brink though, even in the mirror universe her soft spot for her was her biggest weakness. Good to see character development pay off. Sonja Sohn was a great choice for Michael's mother and very happy it didn't turn out to just be Michael herself. I doubt a lot of this was the plan from the beginning but they are doing a fairly good job weaving threads together from the start of the show to now. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Another great episode for the series. My only negative take away with any substance is that I wish we had seen more of Ariam sooner. The actress playing her really did a great job in this episode under a lot of make up and prosthetics. 4/4 for me. They are on a roll right now.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

One of the best episodes of this series so far. Everything they've developed so far season paid off with great result. 4 Stars for me
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@william d whers dont worry, they promised to be nice to each other from now on...
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Entertaining episode. Ultimately this episode will live or die with how this season plays out. Still feel weird about this Spock plotline but I guess let's see where it goes. I'm confused why Tyler is just a part of the crew again. How is Stamets ok with that after he murdered his man in front of him, even if he is ok now thanks to mushrooms. Other than that, I'm intrigued and enjoyed the entire cast's performances. 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Cougarlarnd
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Chakotay was RIGHT. Another example of Janeway being wrong and not admitting it in the end. It was HER original plan not to give the Borg anything until Voyager was far away. Chakotay was only following through on that plan, but Janeway was totally angry at him for not changing the plan the way the Borg wanted. So Seven of Nine, still being a Borg, forces the situation by putting Voyager into fluidic space and they get chased back out by species 8472. This forces Voyager to use the new weapons and destroy some ships. This scares all of 8472 ships back home (because miraculously all their ships in Borg space instantly became aware of some of their comrades being blown up). And where is Voyager at this point?...far from the Borg because Chakotay didn't turn the ship around. If Janeway had her way, they'd be right up with the Borg and give them the torpedoes and let the Borg do the killing of 8472 to scare them off....and then Voyager would have been assimilated. Months later, Janeway was also wrong in the episode "Prey" with the Hirogen when she got mad at Seven who also saved the ship.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

This isn’t about the prime directive or even good intentions, they almost caused a genocide through their reckless actions and then left.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I still just can't get over how quickly this crew just warped the future of two entire races and left. Saru directly ignored Pike's orders to do this with no consequences at all. They just showed up and showed an entire race that their entire existence was a lie and almost got them all exterminated if that Red Angel didn't save the day. There was good stuff in this episode but that resolution was a mess and Pike just got walked all over.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

ugh. Way to keep your crew in line, Pike.

They just altered the future of 2 entire species without any plan for the future aside from "be nice to each other you guys" and left? I'm not really one to harp on cannon but this felt just totally irresponsible for Star Fleet.

1/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Feel like this show is finally starting to settle into itself. Theres a lot to nit pick and complain about, but it owns its weirdness and leans into it. There are good actors starting to fill out their characters roles. There's a lot to gripe about, don't get me wrong but I'd honestly take this over about half of Voyager and all of Enterprise. Seriously, think about the fact you watched Nelix's love life play out or Scott Bakula deal with his dog getting sick because he brought it to some random planet. At the end of the day I'll just fit this into the star trek history/ time-line as "that time they built a mushroom ship and it all got real weird, real fast.... we don't like to talk about that" and enjoy the ride.
3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

A lot of good in this episode. Good character development, interested to see how Saru changes after this since he was kind of one note by default. Tig makes a good foil for Stammets and her presence helped to balance the absurdity of the mycelial network plot. Could pick nits but not worth it, I liked the episode. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

They sure tried to stuff lot in this episode to mixed results. Agree with @William D Wehrs, wish they would let things let things breathe. The cuts between Tilly's plot to intense klingon politics were especially jarring.
2/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Great episode. This felt like classic Trek to me; the broad story could have been told on any series with any crew. Effects were finally used to just enhance the story rather than tell it. Characters were endearingly developed through conversations and we finally get to actually hear some the bridge crew speak. Was also nice to see them do what was essentially a self contained episode that still advanced the overall arc. My initial wariness of Pike as the captain is wearing off, hes filling the role of boring boyscout version of Kirk well and allowing the others to shine. When the Captain isn't meant to be central character this really makes sense. Hope to see more episodes like this and really hoping this red angel plot-line pays off or it could sully this solid step in the right direction. 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

2/4 for me. Show just doesn’t want to take a second to breathe. Feels more like the recent films and less like the tv shows. Was hoping after the set up last season it would fall into something more familiar but they seem intent on constant escalation. Not good when things are already escalated to where most trek was season 5-7.
Set Bookmark
Polaris
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I too was confused by the details of the reveal. I liked the episode until then, the last few minutes seemed rushed and weak.

Was the village a hologram or were the buildings and/or people there a hallucination? Did Tuvok bring him to a known training area and know or assume the scene would kick in again? Did he see the scene?

Did the Vori really look like humans? I would have liked to see one of them revealed. I also would have liked Chakotay to ask the ambassador a few questions but we were out of time.
Set Bookmark
Lara Spenzak
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

When you think about it Fajo is Trump. The writers of this episode almost certainly knew about Trump T the time were trying to send a warning that people like Fajo/Trump are extremely dangerous and must never be in positions of power.
Set Bookmark
Lara Spenzak
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

@Peter G.

I think it would have been progressive and novel if Beata had the fling with Troi or Tasha instead of Riker. That would have been more natural to me. The society of Angel One established that women can be in power. We don't need men running everything for us. The sexual encounter with Riker makes Beata take a submissive position and veers away from what her society has achieved. The episode ends with the notion that women "need" men and that was disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Lara Spenzak
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

"Angel One" has a bold, interesting premise and a great deal of potential. But its undermined by the sexual relation between Riker and the Beata, the leader of Angel One, a world ruled by women and where men are acknowledged not to be as smart or capable. Since IT IS Troi who is addressing Beata and speaking on behalf of the Enterprise, it would have made more sense for Beata and Troi to have seduced each other. Or perhaps Tasha who Beata would have recognized as a strong, female authority. But no, we get the same old, "boy meets girl" routine.
Set Bookmark
Kent Clark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ah, the symmetry of the internet timeline! I find it fascinating to read a decade of comments about a show that initially aired more than a score of years earlier. What’s lacking in the episode I think, is a more complete discussion of how Tuvix’s personality was a complementary balance of the stoicism of Tuvoc and the impulsive id od Nelix.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim

As for the actual set, TNG and TOS had very bright bridge sets. That's what I always remember as well. But the TOS films it was often dark. Voyager's seemed to vary between light and dark depending on how close to Voyager was to losing shields that week. DS9 was pretty dark outside Quark's and Enterprise had a similar light scenario to Discovery. I thought they were the first to go that dark set wise as well untill going back, maybe HD and wide screen plays in to that.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim

From what the writers are saying, it seems like it was always the plan for this season to be the journey that shapes this crew. As they move away from the mirror universe its going to automatically get less dark. It's up to the writers to make Burnham's speech not wring so hollow in face of the genocide plot you just mentioned by following through on her words next season and forward. If done correctly, this could be viewed as true turning point for humanity to always put diplomacy first and hold actually hold true to that ideal, leading to the uber-diplomatic Picard 100 years later.

I get the criticism and hang ups but really don't get people completely rejecting this show already. Mistakes were made for sure but the bones are there, hopefully they get fleshed out well and the writers follow through on their promises. I just hope they don't blow it and pick a bad captain, there will be a void left by the last two leaving the show.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

People are being too hard on this show. I just recently rewatched TNG, DS9, Voyager, and Enterprise after being drawn back in by this show last fall and I think there is a lot of rose colored glasses going on here as this first season never hit the extreme lows that were present on all those shows, especially early on. I also really didn't find any of the cast to be dead-weight, an issue which really effected past series.

Hopefully they flesh out some of the fringe bridge crew and make a good choice for captain, and this show is well on the right track to holding it's own among previous iterations. I agree with Jammer that the pay off to the long arc felt contrived and too easy, but this is honestly just often the case with Star Trek. Hopefully in future seasons they save the dues ex machina for the one off episodes and think up more meaningful solutions to the major series arcs.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.