Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sun, Jul 10, 2011, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Oh man did I laugh at the Doctor's Matrix wall climb when I saw that. It was ridiculous, and even funnier in slow motion. I suspected it might be mentioned in this review. It was just so weird.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sun, Apr 17, 2011, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Hahaha 24th century drug dealers. It may not be the idealistic Roddenbury flavored future we wish for, but I have no doubt that there will still be people selling illicit substances in that time and who would get violent to protect that interest if need be. It's easy to get caught up in a web of trouble like this and the episode does a good job of depicting that. And finally they do something interesting with the Neelix character here.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sat, Apr 16, 2011, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

I couldn't help but be entertained by this episode. That said, from the standpoint of character interaction and plot development it accomplished practically nothing. It was cheap thrills all the way, and I don't blame Jammer for slamming it with this review. I did expect a low rating. You can get away with this kind of show every now and then, but I do expect more from Star Trek typically. It reminded me quite a bit of TNG's Genesis, also fun in a guilty way.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

The viewer can understand B'Elanna's position, but I'll bet it didn't win her points in popularity with the crew. She had no proof, and because of her outburst in the mess hall, they lost out on an alliance, a trade agreement, AND shore leave. Or at least that's how it would seem to the rest of them. I'll bet they weren't too happy with her.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Thu, Mar 31, 2011, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

The ending just has to be seen to be believed. The utterly bizarre and random nature of it is at least good for a laugh, although "good" is not really a word that could be used to describe this episode in any way.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sun, Jul 11, 2010, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

The Omega Glory wasn't that bad of an episode. It was a decent one that was just tragically overshadowed by an awful ending. I'm an American and I love my country, but when I saw them bring out the flag I couldn't help but roll my eyes and say, "This has no place on Trek".
Looking past that though, the character interaction and dialogue was alright. It had the token redshirt death, good fight scenes with accompanying soundtrack, and an interesting nemesis for Kirk in Captain Tracey, who manages to best him in a fight (initially). Definitely one of the better guest appearances. The plot did hold together well enough until the aformentioned lame ending; I wasn't bored watching this one like I have been with some episodes. I also thought it was kind of funny how after Kirk and Spock escape and subdue the guard, meeting up with McCoy, he just says "Good morning, Jim" as he was expecting them all along. Any episode that makes good use of that trio has at least something going for it.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sat, May 29, 2010, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

Jammer is spot on with this review. There is not a a whole lot of substance here, but it had good lighting, action, pace and atmosphere. I felt Impulse was entertaining enough to hold water. It was roughly the equivalent of a monster-of-the-week type episode, and such shows usually provide a good diversion from an ongoing story arc, in this case the Xindi.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Sat, May 22, 2010, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Star Trek has always been about the (nearly) naked women. Didn't you watch The Original Series? They're just keeping with tradition.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Wed, May 12, 2010, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Right on, David. That was a memorable scene for me as well. I thought the idea of "movie night on the Enterprise" seemed a bit silly, but that conversation made it worthwhile.
Set Bookmark
LWG
Wed, May 5, 2010, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

If no one else is going to stand up for this episode, I will. I just saw it for the first time with a friend and neither of us thought it was so bad. I went in expecting legendary badness. If this is supposed to be the worst of Enterprise, it's still better than the bottom of the barrel episodes of other Trek series, such as Spock's Brain, Shades of Gray, Profit and Lace, or Threshold. It was better than the TOS episode Elaan of Troyius which it was loosely based on. The woman in this one was actually less rude than her if you can believe that and unlike that episode, Trip doesn't have to put up with her crap. It has a decent enough pacing to keep it from being painful to watch. Was this a good episode? No. Did it deserve better than zero stars? Yes.
You're spot on with most of your reviews Jammer, but I think this one was a bit harsh.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.