Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 65 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, May 20, 2018, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Right down, might I add, to her ability to put up a semi-convincing facade when B’Ellana tries to pull the wool over Janeway and Chuckles’ eyes.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, May 20, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Whatever the (numerous faults) of the episode, Dawson’s portrayal of a depressed character experiencing anhedonia was pretty close to the mark.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I wonder if a few people upthread were talking past each other somewhat.

“Not guilty” is a legal term indicating that a person could not be PROVED beyond a reasonable doubt to have committed a crime.

“Innocent” is not a legal term and in this context applies to a person falsely accused of committing a crime.

By the information provided in this episode, Kovin would not be found guilty of the alleged crime because it essentially boils down to Seven’s (possibly tainted) word against his. There are no witnesses and no forensic evidence supporting the accusation. However it is also not possible to ascertain that Kovin did not commit the crime. It is perfectly possibly for people who are anything but innocent to be found not guilty by courts.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Since it was a few years ago, stargazer is probably not going to see this, but I thought I’d chip in to say that his contention that the Doctor would be prevented by his programming to defy Chuckles’ order to torpedo the bad guys to oblivion because of the Hippocratic oath is incorrect.

Whilst it’s true that the principle of “first do no harm” applies to doctors, it only relates to their treatment of patients. To make a tortured and deliberately ridiculous analogy, imagine a doctor being attacked by an intruder into his home. Do you think he’s going to let himself get clubbed in the face because his medical degree stops him from defending himself from a beating? Of course not. Furthermore, doctors in contemporary military services are both perfectly entitled and trained to use lethal force in times of war.

In this scenario, Voyager’s crew are being attacked by hostile aliens. The Doctor’s responsibility is to his crew, by design. He is on a (mildly) military vessel. The Hippocratic Oath doesn’t apply. It’s conceivable that he might have been programmed not to kill in some sort of Asimov inspired 3-laws kind of way, but any such programming would have nothing to do with his position as a doctor.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

The reset button was abused like a ginger orphan repeatedly during this show’s run and I agree with the broad consensus that it was pushed so often that it badly hobbled the series’ credibility.

That being said it seems rather unfair to mark this one down for it.

Firstly, since this is a review of Part One specifically, the reset button hasn’t been pushed yet. Of course it will be in part two, so any criticism should be aimed at that episode, not this one.

Secondly, I really don’t have an issue with the reset button when it is built into the story as it is here. The whole plot of the episode revolves around a man pushing his giant reset button repeatedly in an ongoing aim to recover what he’s lost. The way the plot resolves is entirely consistent with what goes before and the reset makes perfect sense in-universe.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

“Tom's...snide comment about Seven having "assimilated enough people" seems to conflict with his attitude in "Day of Honor" when he said "everybody has a past." Consistency, anyone?”

The appeal to consistency would only be valid if normal, flawed human beings always acted in a logically consistent manner. Since they don’t, I don’t really see the problem.

Furthermore, Tom’s offer of friendship to Seven in “Day of Honour” and his joke about her assimilating lots of species’ is entirely consistent with his characterisation as basically a nice guy who likes to take the piss a lot. Sure, the joke itself (note that it was referenced by Harry as such, who immediately reprimands Tom for joking too much) was a bit close to the bone and mean, but it doesn’t automatically signify he has no sympathy for Seven. Especially as the point behind the joke was an appropriate observation.
Set Bookmark
Idolwild
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Heh, I left the following feedback on CBS (you can send feedback on any show which I think is kinda neat).
——
Seriously, and I mean this as a friend to Star Trek, fire the entire writing staff and get new people in. Gorgeous show, fine actors, atrocious writing.
Set Bookmark
The Ghost of Jerry Falwell
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

That SJW stuff is awful. You people should be ashamed of yourself for pushing such noxious garbage in the guise of discussing Star Trek -- I especially love when these right-wing idiots pretend, oh no it's not ALL lefties and progressives, it's just pink-haired tumblr girls that go too far!

Lies. Go to any right-wing forum or subreddit. SJW is used as a slur against anything remotely progressive or left-wing. Or caring. Or humane. Or empathetic. Yes, a handful of people use the term ironically to describe themselves. That has NOTHING to do with the 4chan/The_Donald/GamerGate/MRA/Redpill unholy Legion of Doomed jerks chanting it nonsensically at anything that isn't right-wing swill.
Set Bookmark
Idolwild
Wed, Oct 4, 2017, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Someone said this on io9, and I think it rings true. I think Burnham is our moral anchor for normal Star Fleet behavior (despite what she did), and this show is going to explore the dichotomy that has always existed in Star Fleet between its charter of exploration and its duty of defense. The journey the show is going to take us on is getting from where we’re at (losing a war against an overwhelming foe and doing whatever it takes to win) back to a an organization that Does The Right Thing. But, you can DTRT if you don’t exist anymore, hence the central conflict. Things aren’t quite right on Discovery, nor are they intended to be. This is a very common literary motif, and has even been used in ST before in the Dominion War of DS9, but given the context I think it’s still an interesting story to tell on the broader scale of all of Star Fleet. In DS9, we examined personal moral conflict in Sisko and the compromises he had to make in such eps as “In the Pale Moonlight”. Now, scale that up to moral compromise on an organizational scale. How far is too far? What is a species willing to do when their very survival is at stake?

No, it’s not bopping around as the goody two shoes Federation meeting new civilizations and generally being cool to people. But, story needs conflict, and conflict can be seen in most every Trek episode if you look hard enough. I know a lot of people miss the cohesiveness and lack of conflict amongst the Fed crew, and I’m not even saying Roddenberry’s vision is outmoded - it’s just not *this* show. Another one might come some day. Until then, some of you have a choice to make...
Set Bookmark
Idolwild
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Ughhhh. I’ll *gladly* show myself the door after this little rant.

I became a fan in ‘79 on syndicated TOS. 38 years of cred here. Watched every episode since then in broadcast time, every movie on premiere. You guys call yourself fans? Star Trek has been off the air for 12 years and now that it’s back all most of you can do is whine about “canon”. It’s obnoxious. After what is essentially the second episode (post-pilot) and we’re already complaining that the characters aren’t fleshed out, or have chemistry? Really? Does no one remember The Naked Now? Parallax? Past Prologue? Those were hardly gems and all the main characters were stiff as boards in those as well.

Or how about the people that complain about the production quality, the upgraded look and feel and how it doesn’t match TOS that comes after it? Ya? You want the cardboard sets and the paper mache Hortas back?

Or people throwing around “grimdark” or how Star Fleet is too militaristic or its generic sci-fi with a Star Trek veneer. And the people whining about how “we don’t see any mention of this tech in later series!” You do know the writers have the same access to the existing shows as you do, right? They probably thought of that one. Just sayin.

Look, Star Trek has always been a reflection of it’s time. And like it or not, we live in some fairly dark and shitty times. But man, Lorca and his final speech trying to get Burnham to stay - CLASSIC Trek. I’m so excited for this series and where it could go. And even if it goes NO where, it’s still inescapably Trek and I’ll take it over 95% of the garbage on TV and streaming services. To me, and I’m sure to REAL fans like me, even bad Trek is STILL Trek. What you guys need to start to realize is that this is a big, old, sprawling franchise - maybe the most complex and intricate alternate reality ever created by man. It’s going to get rebooted, reinterpreted, mixed up, have different takes and different approaches and they aren’t going to line up anymore - but you know what? That’s OK. Cause I’ll gladly spend as much time in this universe as I can, since I can’t be there in person.

That is all.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Gotto love the Doctor. Programmed with all the knowledge of hundreds of Starfleet doctors, unencumbered by human frailties like fatigue and loss of focus, after working for hours and days trying to come up with a cure for Vorik, his solution?

Holo-wank.

Something every male on every starship is no doubt doing every single minute of free time he has.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Chrome, with respect if you're going to respond to me you should read what I wrote, because if you think any of my post, which included the line "utterly risible, nonsensical and...relentlessly shite" constitutes "praise" then I'm struggling.

It's a very, very poor show. I just don't think it's worth zero stars. I'm not sure that saying something is bad but not the worst ever is terribly controversial, even in the binary world of the Internet.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Aug 13, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

I must echo many of the sentiments above me regarding the character of Suder.

I have read elsewhere that Jeri Taylor vetoed the decision to keep Suder alive because she thought his character was "not redeemable". This seems to me to be an example of how people's thinking can be constrained by the metaphorical bubble that many of us are surrounded by and to which people in showbusiness seem to be particularly prone. Even if you don't believe that an alien murderer in the 24th century can be "redeemed" (whatever that means, we certainly do know that they can, in certain instances be rehabilitated in the 21st century) the question that is begged is "why does he have to be redeemable?" There is no good reason!

The character was compelling, sufficiently different from all the other characters to be able to feature in a multitude of interesting stories and was played by an excellent actor. He had the potential to be Voyager's answer to Garak. But they killed him off because of the small-mindedness of a single person.

Individual error compounded by systemic failure that allowed such an egregious mistake to happen.
Set Bookmark
Eric Stillwell
Tue, Aug 8, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I would like to thank Jamahl Epsicokhan for the lovely review -- not sure exactly when it was written, but I'm assuming maybe a decade ago!?!

As the co-writer of the story for Yesterday's Enterprise, I'd like to thank all of you who enjoyed the episode, whether you consider it a classic or otherwise.

For those of you who enjoy the pastime of nitpicking, let me just say: It's a television show! If science fiction writing was based entirely on the proposition that everything must be logical and scientifically accurate, then Star Trek would not exist -- because traveling faster than the speed of light is not possible.

And trust me, my writing partner and I struggled through several story drafts trying to find a way to logically, factually establish a basis for Picard's decision to send the Enterprise-C back through the rift, but given that the timeline has been altered and no evidence to the contrary exists, it was Michael Piller's idea to give Guinan the extraordinary alien gift of perception through time and space. Ultimately, I think it worked nicely and established the unique relationship that exists between Picard and Guinean, especially in future episodes and even Star Trek Generations.

Peace to all! Thanks for the passion.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Fictional TV is supposed to be entertaining. The worst crime of any such show is to be boring. On that basis I just can't see how this can be considered amongst the very worst of Trek nor can a I see how it deserves a zero rating.

To be clear, this episode is utterly risible, nonsensical and the second half is relentlessly shite. But it isn't boring.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

NoPoet, aside from the fact that the "saddo from the Internet" that you miserably denounce posted 8 years ago and will almost certainly never see your ridiculously po-faced riposte, did it occur to you that he was joking? Now you may not have found it funny, but then again the correct response to not finding something funny on the internet is to ignore it and move on to more important things in your life.

Personally I would like to know who, in the enlightened 24th century - a time when humans want for nothing and don't have to work for a living - has the job of cleaning what must be absolutely vast amounts of jizz off the walls and floor of the holodeck at the end of every day.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Tanner, you ask why Bashir and Ezri are on the Defiant bridge during the decisive battle.

Well, the good Doctor possesses literally superhuman intellect and hand-eye co-ordination, both of which might come in handy on the bridge of a warship.

The therapist might be a bit wet, but she possesses roughly 300 years of knowledge and experience from multiple lifetimes (is it 9 at this point?) including those of starfleet officers (Tories/Jadzia/Ezri) and affiliates (Curzon) as well as an engineer (Tobin).

Both of them have quite a bit more to offer than Mummy Crusher. Not sure about your point regarding Troi mind. Don't let the fact that the Deanna character and the actress playing her are oxygen thieves detract from the notion that, if an option, having a mind-reader on the bridge would be an absolute no-brainer. Also she clearly did have a station on the NCC-1701D bridge - it was right next to the captain.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, May 31, 2017, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

What kind of person whinges about spoilers posted over a decade after a show airs?

What kind of person makes the decision to go online, searches out a review site for said vintage show, digests the review, then reads the comments, then complains about spoilers, as if it's some kind of massive shock that they took all those steps to expose themselves to spoilers AND GOT SPOILED?!?!
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, May 14, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Gooz I love the way you think.

But how do you know there wasn't a massive, steaming turd left behind inside the crumpled heap of his uniform?
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

Small point of order regarding O'Brien and his forfeited match, as implied by Mr Rage above me, winning the match would not have been as straightforward a matter as just flinging an arrow with his good arm.

A game of darts must end on a double or the bullseye - a player has to hit one very specific (and very small) segment of the board - the exact double required depends on the player's score. The size of a double segment is approximately 50mm x 8mm (approximation is because naturally the segment is curved, the bullseye is even smaller) and the player throws from just under 2.5m away. Not even Phil Taylor, the 16-times world champion, could hit a specific double on demand with his non-dominant hand. I wouldn't even hit the board. Miles would have had more chance of accidentally flinging his tungsten shaft into Bashir's eye than winning the game once his shoulder had gone (on which note, nobody ever tore their rotator cuff being handed a cup of coffee, but that's another matter entirely).

Of course, it could be that they were playing space darts, in which case all bets regarding the rules are off...
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Something else has just occurred to me, and I apologise if I'm repeating something said above, I've read many but not all the preceding comments.

Leaving aside the question of whether Sisko's reaction to Picard at their first meeting makes him a douchebag or not, that scene seems to be necessary from the perspective of selling one of the major themes of the episode; namely that Sisko hasn't moved on from the death of his wife. Since we know almost nothing about Sisko as this is the pilot, the revealing of his inability to move on from Jennifer's death during his later interaction with the Prophets has very little to back it up. The scene with Picard strongly hints at it.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Chrome that is an interesting point which I had not considered.

However, you are thinking in a detached and rational fashion. A man meeting the face of the entity that killed his wife for the first time (and your point that it wasn't actually Picard is taken) will most likely not be thinking coolly and logically and, I would say, deserves a bit of slack.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

A man drives his car down the road, begins to feel unwell and suddenly has his first ever epileptic seizure at the wheel. Meanwhile you are crossing the road a little ahead of your spouse, who gets mowed down and killed by the sick driver. A little later you get to meet the driver. You know he was ill and that the accident was a terrible tragedy in which nobody could be blamed but do you really think you are not going to have negative emotions that might slip out during this encounter? And even if you don't, could you honestly blame anybody else in the same situation if they did?

I direct this analogy at the folk who were affronted by Sisko's reaction to Picard, which to my mind was rather restrained. Surely you can see, if you detach yourself from your admiration for the character of the Captain of the Enterprise, that Sisko's reaction was natural and understandable, even if you disagree with it?
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I enjoyed this episodes illustration of the fact that despite all of humanities' advances in the 24th century, medical ethics has regressed back to the Middle Ages.

So Crusher just divulges a woman's medical records to someone else, just because he asked.
Set Bookmark
Zakalwe
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

One of the great things about being a Trek fan is that I enjoy it, even when it's iredeemably tutti.

My favourite nitpick in this one?

There's been a murder on board, suspects - including one who is known to be emotionally volatile - need to be questioned. The head of ship's security would go on to become a legendary hand-to-hand warrior and there is a frigging mind reader on board. So naturally the poxy doctor conducts the enquiry. Alone.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.