Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 82 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The other reason I don't cancel CBSAA is that I have started watching the original Hawaii 5o. Surprisingly intelligent cop show, has aged well in my opinion. Not a lot of shoot outs and car chases. I have seen the modern reboot and thought it was ridiculous action adventure and violent. And look! Kurtzman i part of the team on the new 50!
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The only reason I don't cancel my CBS all Access subscription is that i actually liked Lower Decks to my surprise. Why? It is not run by Michelle Paradise and Alex Kurtzman. The Nu trek team have no idea what Star Trek means to it's core fans or the 50 years of world building that have gone into it. They quote Roddenberry but they don;t understand him. Or care. Now LD by contrast is made by the Rick and Morty guy, who I don't know much about and I have never seen Rick and Morty. But you can tell that he has grown up watching TNG and DS9 and TOS and loves and respects the trek canon. Now you can argue he has his own vision and does his own thing with the franchise, which is to make a snarky spoof, and you may not like it, but at least this guy knows and respects Trek. Hence, LD feels like Star Trek, where as there is nothing Star Trek about DISCO. If it didn't have Star Trek in the title it would be a dumb action adventure show set in space and I wouldn't be watching it. I am willing to give SNW and PIC and 31 a chance, but they are done by the same Paradise/Kurtzman team so I am expecting more of the same. And PIC season 1 really let me down.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

One more thing: If Kurtzman had any talent or respect for continuity he could have mined Voyager's Omega Directive for source material and made Omega the source of the Burn. But no, let's have a mystery box that we drag out the whole season and make the focus of the show, when Trek veterans are sitting there since October saying "It's Omega!" Kurtzman could have made it easier on himself and not reinvented the wheel. Omega would have still been new to our heroes, and the DISCO crew could have spent the season trying to repair the damage and put the Federation back together again. We could have also seen more of the Federation and the political and social ramifications of an event equal to the Fall of the Roman or Han or Byzantine Empire. We saw a bit of it with Reunification part 3 which was a great idea and had it's moments. But we didn't need to see the DISCO crew, or rather Burnham, playing detective all season.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Awful. Abysmal episode. So the poor child raised by a malfunctioning holodeck caused the Burn with his nightmares and loneliness? What? Makes no sense at all. And Osyrra and Tilly's snarky exchange over the view screen reminded me of two high school mean girls getting catty with each other in homeroom. This is who Saru picked as his first officer? And speaking of Saru, what are they doing with him? Such a character assassination. I was so happy when he became captain, but now it appears Burnham is getting ready to lead another mutiny against her captain. Would TNG have portrayed Picard or TOS have portrayed Kirk as emotionally compromised or not able to be objective? Would Beverly have told Riker basically "I have no confidence in our captain, he can't make the hard calls, I'll have to keep an eye on him,"? Or would McCoy have told Spock that about Kirk? Travesty.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

If Kurtzman and company had any writing talent or respect for 50+ years of established Star Trek Universe continuity and world building, then they would make Omega the source of The Burn in DIS season 3 and use this episode as source material. It would be more effective and make more sense and build more continuity than just showing Voyager-K or L or whatever it was in the episode when DISCO first arrives in the 31st century.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 12:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

So prime universe character tries to talk sense into MU character to bring about a reformed more humane Mirror universe and fails. Haven’t we already seen this episode? Lame. And the Guardian of Forever? Why? Just to throw a bone to the trekkers who love the original series. I can hear Kurtzman in the writers’ room:
“Let’s throw a bone to the TOS fanboys and put in the Guardien of Forever so they get all excited and forget for a moment how we are playing fast and loose with canon and don’t really understand or care about it anyway.” No other reason to put the Guardian in here. And where was the howling wind and broken down columns and buildings showing the ruins of a vanished civilization. They can’t even get the pandering right.

Sorry to say, but Kurtzman and company don’t know how to do a serialized show. Look at how great Madalrian breaking bad, stranger things, game of thrones are done and compare it to how these guys run DISCO and PIC. It pains me to say that since I love ST and I wanted these shows to be good and bring Trek into the 21st century.

Now a good episode would have incorporated the temporal wars so the temporal Cold War fron ENT now makes sense and becomes relevant, kind of like how Clone Wars made the lousy prequels sensible and relevant for Star Wars. Which the writers did. But then they could have investigated how the Guardian was an Iconian gateway, an inter3sting concept from TNG that was dropped.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Yeah, I agree with Cody B who said he doesn’t know why he continues watching the show. The MU has been done to death I think. I thought DS9 botched it 25 years ago, I have no interest in a universe where Spocks reforms meant weakening the Terran empire. So peace and reform equal weakness and humans becoming slaves? I’m sure Vladimir Putin would agree with that in trying to revive an authoritarian soviet style Russia because democracy is for weaklings.

I thought ENT did a good job with the MU in showing evil earth empire because that was the original point. And damn but Evil Hoshi looked great. Then DICSO season 1 takes us back to the MU with evil earth and I thought it was a pretty good take on it. But now we are back? Why? And all the hugging and goodbyes were totally unearned and out of character. There has been no arc of ghiorgiu learning to live in a new universe and learning to change her ways. Seven on nines arc on VOY going from Borg drone to human was well done but none of that character development here. Because Kurtzman and company don’t know how to write character development.

And if we are going back to the MU I want to see the sexy belly baring uniforms from TOS, which ENT didn’t shy away from.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Wow,

These guys really know what they are doing. And if this is a sign of how Disney now understands what the fandom wants, then we are in for the golden age of Star Wars.

And I also agree with the others, too bad the modern Star Treks can't follow these footsteps.

And when the X-wing arrived, I felt like a little kid again.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 10:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Why can't the new Star Wars movies and new Star Trek be like this? I blame JJ Abrams for the decline of both franchises.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Man, how does a show keep delivering week after week, another winner. And when a certain weapon we’ve seen in the movies was used towards the end of the episode, I couldn’t help but laugh and say “YES!”
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Another great episode. Though I am starting to get a little weary from seeing legions of stormtroopers get demolished. It was already getting bad enough in episode where they raided the Imperial base.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

@Jon1701

Those Imperial cruisers are called Arquitens-class? They are more like Imperial frigates. They've only been newly added into Star Wars lore in the past couple of years. But they have been active from the Clone Wars into the Empire era.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 12:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

My problem with michael burnham is as Tomalak said earlier, she is a marvel superhero dropped into the ST universe. That is not the fault of the actor but rather the writers who don't know or appreciate 50+ years of ST universe building and characterization. Michael Burnham could be an ok character if she was written as a ST character, not a marvel character.

Now having said all that, I can accept the marvelization of ST; I ike Mavel, I could get into another approac/take on the franchise. I even like the light comedy of ST Lower Decks. I can jsut like it for different reasons than I like TNG or DS9. BTW, a lot of people 25 years ago criticized DS9 and Avery Brooks' acting and how DS9 wasn't ST because it wasn't on a ship.

No, my biggest problem is that they gave Spock a sister. In 50 years, why add a sister now? Why couldn't she be the adopted daughter of some other Vulcan? Kind of ripping off Worf's story; massive attack, orphaned raised by humans always the outsider, blah blah blah. Been there, done that. But if you ewant to do that, why does she have to be Sarek's daughter? 50 years of word building and characterization out the window. I just can't accept DIS as canon. if she was someone else's adopted daughter I would be more tolerant of MB and DIS.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Are going to see Dax?
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Fri, Oct 9, 2020, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

How many of you are here after the season finale of Lower Decks?
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

And Samuel, I did watch Disco and Picard and did not like them. But I did like this.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Roga Danar? Sent me to Memory Alpha and then to rewatch The Hunted. Roga Danar did kick some ass.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:57am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

And Arix from TAS! Or at least same species. Although Tendi and her dog were super annoying. If they could jettison some inane stuff like that it would be a better show.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Lower Decks isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I don’t like the juvenile snarky vibe but as a comes it can work, and there are some really trek worthy stories in there . If they can slow down the dialogue and get a more mature tone I could get into it. It feels more like real Star Trek and less like kurtzman/grim dark/nutrek than all the other Star Trek shows on right now. And what was that creature? I have to rewatch now but I think that was the jellyfish creature from Encounter at Farpoint? And definitely felt the Chain or Command vibe, right before Mariner makes a reference to Jelico.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm conflicted about Lower Decks. Like many of you, I am not a fan of Mariner, and if the recurring jokes are all Mariner saving or being smarter than Boimler, I'm not going to be able to tolerate it long.

I do like Boimler on his own, and I do like Tendi and Rutherford, and that I already know Tendi's name means that the writers are doing something better than say ENT's writers did for Travis Mayweather.

I also like some of the gags, etc. And I think it does feel Trekky.

But it is missing something. Maybe it is just too fast paced for me, or perhaps I'm still getting used to Federation Officers who aren't quite acting like Federation officers. We've always had Barclay's though.

To compare my opinions: I don't mind Discovery, it just doesn't feel like Star Trek to me. Picard I feel started out well and ended poorly, but I did have a few moments of joy, especially in Nepenthe and with the arrival of the Zheng He (though I knew it was coming; not that specific ship but you know - sorry I don't know the spoiler rule on here). They just don't feel Trekky. Too movie like and cinematic, and not enough character study, or philosophy/ethics like the others had? I like that Star Trek made me think.

I don't mind a non-thinking Star Trek animated comedy. And this show does have its redeeming qualities, but it is missing that special something.

I'll see where it goes.
Set Bookmark
KookyKyle
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Do this to Kyle Rittenhouse
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Anyone see any tie ins to Picard, the new show? Downloading consciousness, continued existence after the natural body dies? The groundwork laid here.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

So now the Vorlons from Bab 5 are on the synth planet. Didn’t see that coming.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 2:44am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I don't know if someone already mentioned this but you are wrong Jammer; Hugh is named in the show. If he wasn't I never would have known that was Hugh from I Borg, since I didn't stick around to read the credits.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammer as well as the rest of you have hit the nail on the head with all of DIS flaws: plot holes, silly over the top Armageddon plots, transformer animation, special effects style over substance, continuity issues, glorifying violence, etc. I’m really disappointed with the series as a whole because I really liked it at first, it had a lot of promise and it has had moments of brilliance. And special effects and action and battles are cool. And stammets and his love of science is very trekkian.

So everything is classified? That’s how they fix the continuity issues? What a cop out.

Was the spore drive experimental? Discovery was the only ship with it? Then maybs the classified solution isn’t so lame.

Ways to fix it would be to tell coherent credible stories by hiring done writers that don’t think dark serialization automatically equals quality tv storytelling. For serisluzation in Trek done we’ll look at DS9. And make it an ensemble show with each character getting a couple of good episodes each season don’t just focus on Burnham.

I don’t hate the show and I’ll probably watch season 3
But I hope the quality gets better and it feels more like Trek.

And Karl Zimmerman above a year ago: If season three turns out to be a Pike/Spock show I would be totally down with that.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.