Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 5:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I thought this was the definition of "pretty good".

After some interesting twists and turns in part one, pretty much everything that happened was exactly what you'd expect to happen. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special.

The show's good enough that I'll keep watching new episodes week to week, but I doubt I'll ever come back and rewatch any of them like I do with a lot of Trek.

I have hope that'll change though. After all, there aren't many classics in the first season and a half of non-TOS Trek shows.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I really hope they make Issac a recurring villain and go all the way with this, potentially with a longer term redemption arc, but I can't see that happening.

I've only had one foot in on the Orville so far, but if they stick the landing with part two in one way or another, I'm going to be 100% bought in on the show.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

To me, the reason this episode doesn't quite hit is that it seems to end up saying "Issac isn't really that different from the rest of us" when what makes him interesting is that he's fundamentally different from the rest of the crew.

Imagine if "The Offspring" on TNG had ended with Data having an emotional breakdown. What made it so interesting was that he couldn't, even though the audience might have wanted him to because of what he was.

Not that Issac should be a clone of Data or anything. Just that this development of making him seem more human makes him less interesting for me. But then again, I don't think that's really what the show's going for, so I can't really fault it.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

I quite enjoyed this episode, the execution with the ambience and the mistery was top notch, some of the effects were clearly dated and silly looking, but I think the story with it's top notch execution made up for that. I don't understand all the hate, while I can see why the story is a little bit shaky, specially the whole "we're being experimented on" part. I tend to value stories on the way they are handled and I'm not bound to nitpick every little choice as if I were a star-ship captain myself, this is a solid 3 star episode. All these users looking down on this episode as if it's no better than anything on Season 1 gotta mellow out and enjoy the great execution of this episode. Also, Picard's explanation of death was fine to me, Death is hard to explain, and being questioned about death out of the blue of course is going to get you a rather wonky explanation, we have to understand these are people, and not paragons of humanity, jeez.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I actually was okay with this one at least in the second half.

Threshold just made me laugh: Paris and Janeway have lizard babies will forever be a bad joke in my house.

This one at least attempted some meaning and made some sense. I appreciated the ending and the moment Archer finds the ruins was played well.

Not the best episode but certainly not the worst
Set Bookmark
kyle
Sat, Jul 14, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

The problem that makes this episode well intentioned but lame in execution is that the writers have confused sex with gender. Sex/sex organs are biological. Presumably the Jnaii are hemaphrodites and have none? Or do they have both male and female sex organs? The writers don't explain that. Gender is the cultural roles, behaviors, social norms and expectations that are attached to biological, sexual differences that make us male or female. You can be biologically male but choose the female gender. You can then change your biology to match your chosen gender. Another problem is that the episode doesn;t acknowlege any of that in our history. Like this is the first time this type of species or problem has ever been encountered. Last problem: Riker would risk his carreer and fall madly in love with a person he only met three days ago? Yeah right.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, May 26, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I liked it. Not a deep/thinker movie but a fun action/hiest film.

Liked the casting and several subtle moments made me think of other moments in the original trilogy, down to the body lanaguage of Lando.

Loved the score. It never took away from the story but frequently added to it.

It was exactly what I expected and well done.

Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Could starfleet open up the fold and send voyager supplies and technologies? Or once the gold is gone it's done idk.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jan 12, 2017, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

So if humanity was dying of a plague and a technologically superior race had a cure, then they should withhold it from us because it looks like chimpanzees may become the dominant species in a few thousand years? Are chimps about to experience an "evolutionary awakening"? How can you determine that? And what the hell does "Evolutionary awakening" even mean? Bullshit pseudo science used to justify genocide.

Now this episode would have had real legs and lived up to the praise Jammer and others have heaped on it if The writers understood the prime directive. The PD says you can't interfere in the cultural development of a planet. So if Archer decided Starfleet couldn't interfere by taking sides in a war where the valskians were killing off the menk that would have been a real honest moral dilemma, with good reasons for and against, and perfect for the prime directive. Can we give weapons to the Menk or warp drive to the valakians? Could have been a thought provoking episode. Instead the writers use bullshit science and totally misinterpret the PD to make Amber and Phlox look like idiots at best, mass murderers at worst.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Aug 3, 2016, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Seems to me that O'Brien cured aging as an incidental benefit.
Set Bookmark
kyle
Thu, Jul 9, 2015, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

i really like STar Trek The Motion Picture. I think it's very underrated. It looks awesome, the whole feel of the film is kind of spaced out and creepy, it has a sexy bald woman.
Set Bookmark
kyle
Wed, Mar 18, 2015, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

To be honest I think the modern equivalent to all of this is a person I am attracted to opening up my search history and finding that I have looked them up on facebook prior to having conversations with them. Sure, Geordi could have told Brahms about the holodeck, just like I could mention that I had previously browsed an picture album on a facebook profile, but is that information that absolutely needs to be admitted? Sometimes things are better left unsaid because they can come across as really creepy, and as it is Geordi is a professional at that with his godawful attempts at flirtation. Furthermore, the costume designers deserve some recognition for the pink shirt that Geordi was wearing, no question.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Fri, Sep 26, 2014, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Didn't care for this much the one time I saw it, but there are so many positive responses above I may have to give it another shot (been several years since I last saw it).

One thing that I do remember about this episode was that one of Harry Kim's fears was never being able to hit the high G-sharp in the Mozart concerto. Funny thing is, the Mozart clarinet concerto has no high G sharp - it maxes out at a high G, which Juilliard trained Harry should be able to hit easily. Harry Kim-as-great clarinetist is always an amusing thing for me when watching Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Mar 9, 2014, 1:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

Really enjoy the perspectives in these reviews, but I find it a little odd that one would be looking for social commentary with such determination. If there is no discernible commentary, episode fail. I don't think that's what the series was attempting at all.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Feb 6, 2014, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

I'm surprised the runabout was still there waiting to beam them up. Doesn't seem to make a lot of sense.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Feb 5, 2014, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

@Jons, spot on. World Net Daily.

It is insanely baffling that anyone would be offended by "anti-war" sentiment.

DS9 is by far the most coherent and nuanced Trek. I love TNG, and like the others, but none are remotely as ambitious in its risk taking. As far as the soldier not being Starfleet material, what you see on those ships are likely the best of the best. Here we are shown that the dirty work still has to be done in times of war by somebody. Is a front line soldier that is dying after fighting a vicious enemy supposed to be altruistic and philosophical in his last minutes. Give me a break. Just silly.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jun 2, 2013, 2:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I don't think this episode was boring, but I don't think it was a masterpiece either. More like three star episode to me.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, May 29, 2013, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Is this a bad episode? Yes. Is it worse than Threshold or Spocks Brain? I think thats debatable. I did at least laugh once or twice when Quark was trying to avoid having sex with the other Ferengi near the end of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, May 15, 2013, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

I really didn't think this episode was that terrible. I'd have given it a 3, but no higher than that.
Set Bookmark
Kyle M.
Tue, May 7, 2013, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

My first post on this site! Anyway, It looks like I'm in the minority here. Overall I enjoyed the episode and though the two scenes mentioned above were cringe worthy, they were classic TNG cringe worthy in the best TNG way. I'm often distracted by the inappropriate to the situation looks on Rikers face but those eyes wide open in the hostage scene were at least comically entertaining.
Beyond all of that I really enjoyed the Picard/Crusher moral duel and the ultimate resolution that Picard decided on.

For me this wasn't a great episode but enjoyable for its attributes. 2.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Kyle4
Mon, Jan 30, 2012, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

I thoroughly enjoyed the Law & Order parts of this episode, especially Lee's speech which managed to convince me that Gaius deserved to be found not-guilty. However, I absolutely hated the ending and it culminated in me saying "jumped the shark" aloud. I bought the Blu-ray set for season four before finishing three so I'll be sticking with it, but it was bad for several reasons.

The characters singing "Along the Watchtower" and the actual song playing over the zoom out of the cosmos was cringeworthy and didn't fit in within the context of the show.

Similarly to Lost, it seems the writers wrote themselves into a hole (or got crushed by their own mythology) and just started throwing anything at the wall and making it up as they went along. Hence, Tyrol and Chief being one the final five cylons which doesn't make sense. I expected Kara to come back somehow but the reveal of who all of them are, people we are familiar with instead of new entities reeks of throwing in shock value.

I absolutely despised what Lost became and am getting the same vibe from the final season of this series. Hopefully it turns out better but that finale didn't provide much hope.

Set Bookmark
Kyle4
Wed, Jan 25, 2012, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

The Baltar plot was all I cared about in this episode, much like Jamahl said in his review. Even though this episode came out years before Inception did, his underwater interrogation reminded me of that.

Kara went from being my favourite character on the show to the one I now can't stand whenever she's on the screen. It was bad enough that she slept with the brother of her dead fiancee (vice versa for Apollo) the fact that she doesn't care about screwing over 3 different people with her flip flopping feelings makes her detestable. Maybe the audience is supposed to dislike her, but the bit about being chosen and now Sackhoff's flaws as an actress stand out for me. The less screen time she gets, the better.
Set Bookmark
Kyle4
Tue, Jan 24, 2012, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Rapture

After taking a break from watching BSG on Blu-ray I finally got around to watching this two parter and am not entirely liking the direction the show is taking. I really wasn't a fan of how Lost turned out and all of this religious mumbo jumbo is a constant reminder of what that series turned into. Too many new unexplained mysteries, too many serendipitous moments and too many "This is God's plan" remarks from characters.

I simply don't understand why D'Anna kept going on about God when the humans were the ones who created the cylons. There's still eight episodes to go but with the way the mythology is heading I'm feeling the urge to watch it less.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Jan 16, 2012, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Passage

This episode continued my dislike of Starbuck who up to this season was my favourite character. I found her annoying in every scene she was in which wasn't helped by the close-ups of Sackhoff constantly licking her upper lip.

The parts on the Cyclon ship made me completely reexamine how I saw the show up to this point, especially the line D'Anna speaks about "maybe they believe in the same Gods."

I always thought the show had similarities with the Terminator in that humans created the centurions as work robots, who then became self aware and smart enough to create a human like form. But with the Minority Report cog and the constant talk about believing in different Gods (how can they, humans made them) I seemed to be way off base in how I was looking at it. I'm starting to get a little nervous about the show's direction, especially after being exposed to some of the negative criticism of the later episodes.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jan 15, 2012, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Helo's actions in this episode should have gotten him thrown in the brig and his status as Exo stripped. At the very least, he should've been confronted. I've read some negative things about BSG's later episodes going into season four and continuing throughout, but I'm enjoying it a lot right now so it's hard to accept that it [may] go downhill.

I tried to rationalize in this episode that the virus wouldn't have downloaded at all and that the cylons were simply paranoid and for the first time afraid of truly dying.

As for the point of the cyclons coming up with a cure for the virus, maybe they could have eventually. Up until now they were biologically immune to nearly everything so this fast plague must've come as a shock. In the moment, it's possible they were incapable of rationalizing properly.

I know this post seems apologetic for the episode's flaws, but up until this point the show's been consistent with its viewpoints. That still doesn't excuse not wanting to wipe out an entire race of machines that killed 20 billion humans.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.