Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 363 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 15
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The other reason I don't cancel CBSAA is that I have started watching the original Hawaii 5o. Surprisingly intelligent cop show, has aged well in my opinion. Not a lot of shoot outs and car chases. I have seen the modern reboot and thought it was ridiculous action adventure and violent. And look! Kurtzman i part of the team on the new 50!
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The only reason I don't cancel my CBS all Access subscription is that i actually liked Lower Decks to my surprise. Why? It is not run by Michelle Paradise and Alex Kurtzman. The Nu trek team have no idea what Star Trek means to it's core fans or the 50 years of world building that have gone into it. They quote Roddenberry but they don;t understand him. Or care. Now LD by contrast is made by the Rick and Morty guy, who I don't know much about and I have never seen Rick and Morty. But you can tell that he has grown up watching TNG and DS9 and TOS and loves and respects the trek canon. Now you can argue he has his own vision and does his own thing with the franchise, which is to make a snarky spoof, and you may not like it, but at least this guy knows and respects Trek. Hence, LD feels like Star Trek, where as there is nothing Star Trek about DISCO. If it didn't have Star Trek in the title it would be a dumb action adventure show set in space and I wouldn't be watching it. I am willing to give SNW and PIC and 31 a chance, but they are done by the same Paradise/Kurtzman team so I am expecting more of the same. And PIC season 1 really let me down.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I can't even be bothered to write a mini review.

This whole series was a waste of potential. I'm not even sure what you could salvage from this mess if you were to do a soft reboot in s4.

None of this season tied together to form anything remotely coherent.

I defended DSC for quite a while from the moaners and the "this isn't Star Trek" people through possibly rose tinted glasses. I wanted this to be good Star Trek. It's not good Star Trek. It's not even good TV. It's shit - to quote Admiral Vance (one of the rare good things about s3).

I'll give PIC s2 a go since I mostly enjoyed s1 and the cast can at least act but my journey with DSC has sadly come to an end.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

One more thing: If Kurtzman had any talent or respect for continuity he could have mined Voyager's Omega Directive for source material and made Omega the source of the Burn. But no, let's have a mystery box that we drag out the whole season and make the focus of the show, when Trek veterans are sitting there since October saying "It's Omega!" Kurtzman could have made it easier on himself and not reinvented the wheel. Omega would have still been new to our heroes, and the DISCO crew could have spent the season trying to repair the damage and put the Federation back together again. We could have also seen more of the Federation and the political and social ramifications of an event equal to the Fall of the Roman or Han or Byzantine Empire. We saw a bit of it with Reunification part 3 which was a great idea and had it's moments. But we didn't need to see the DISCO crew, or rather Burnham, playing detective all season.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Awful. Abysmal episode. So the poor child raised by a malfunctioning holodeck caused the Burn with his nightmares and loneliness? What? Makes no sense at all. And Osyrra and Tilly's snarky exchange over the view screen reminded me of two high school mean girls getting catty with each other in homeroom. This is who Saru picked as his first officer? And speaking of Saru, what are they doing with him? Such a character assassination. I was so happy when he became captain, but now it appears Burnham is getting ready to lead another mutiny against her captain. Would TNG have portrayed Picard or TOS have portrayed Kirk as emotionally compromised or not able to be objective? Would Beverly have told Riker basically "I have no confidence in our captain, he can't make the hard calls, I'll have to keep an eye on him,"? Or would McCoy have told Spock that about Kirk? Travesty.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

If Kurtzman and company had any writing talent or respect for 50+ years of established Star Trek Universe continuity and world building, then they would make Omega the source of The Burn in DIS season 3 and use this episode as source material. It would be more effective and make more sense and build more continuity than just showing Voyager-K or L or whatever it was in the episode when DISCO first arrives in the 31st century.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Btw I'd love Trek to return to the quality of the DS9 era btw. I don't hate watch - I'm just a loyalist. I will probably skip s4 of DSC though.

PIC was enjoyable enough for me to give season 2 a look at least.

Maybe since The Expanse's team will be done soonish with season 6 (the final season) maybe some of them to come in and "save" Star trek.

On the whole woke/box checking subject: Many shows do the whole box checking/unrealistically diverse cast thing but still manage to maintain a decent quality of acting and story telling. The two don't have to be mutually exclusive. If people want to see themselves represented on screen then fine and good. It's not what I watch movies and TV for but to each their own. I don't any characters on DSC that would be inspiring anyone of any race.

Uhura and Sulu had way more to do than the bridge crew of DSC. They're just for reaction shots and generic lines that literally anyone could say.

Why wasn't there a scene when Lt Nielsen (blonde girl) sat down in the chair and got smiles of approval from the other female cast? Poor girl.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

My god. How did this even make it to air? Truly horrible.

The good:

- Seeing Saru's real face although IMDB could have done that.
- limited crying. Tilly may have snuck a tear out when I got bored and checked my phone.

The idiotic

- Michael constantly questioning Saru. She's not 1st Officer anymore. STFU. Thanks. Tilly was finally allowed in a meeting with the Admiral. He seemed suitably impressed.
- No security on DSC at all. No even one of the many bridge officers had a phaser. You'd the 3100 tech would having anti boarding party AI andriods or phaser canons or something.
- The race/clothes change when they beamed down. Why?
- The reason for the burn.
- Anti stress "button" on the captains chair. If it really becomes too stressful stab yourself. Don't do anything sensible like deep breaths etc.
- Why are they letting the only spore drive go anywhere until they've made at least another one of them.

The Bad

- The pre-landing party conversations were badly acted, badly scripted and completely pointless.
- Grey manages to stand out as a particularly bad actor in a show of bad acting. Probably transphobic to comment on their acting though.
- Tilly's conversations with green alien. All of them were embarrassing.
- Michael questioning Saru's judgement on anything. At all. She committed mutiny and recently been demoted from first officer. Not the ideal person to take advice on such matters from.

The Really Really Bad

- Michael will clearly be captain by the end of this season.

I can barely drag myself to the end off this awfulness. 2 to go.

This one was an out and out zero star stinker.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 2:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@John I first watched The Expanse after some friend were raving about. I was tired and really busy and thought.. this is nothing special, so what? And gave up on it after 1 episode (the was before the horror of DSC has begun).

Luckily I went back to it and it just becomes more and more incredible.

As Booming commented on, we don't really know anything about any of the characters after 3 seasons. Except Michael and Saru and I guess Adira (a purely token amount). I think the lady of-color had some backstory mentioned in 1 episode in s2. That's pretty pathetic really.

Where is Tilly from? What does Stamets like to eat? Or his hobbies? What does Mushroom Doctor like to do besides brush his teeth? Bryce (is he Asian Face Reaction Shot or other guy Face Reaction shot)?
Lt L-something (Blonde girl)? Detmer? Linus? Snark engineer?

We know something about Book and his motivations and he seems more like a real person (helps that he's a good actor).

I'm expecting 3 episodes of mostly large space battles with Michael saving the day. Not much time for any character development now anyway.

These characters are so 2D they're almost non-existant.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I finally made myself watch this. I WILL get to the end of this season but man I hated this episode.

I like Michelle Yeoh and she showed what a fine actress she is here. That was about the only good thing I can come up with to say about it. Well the GoF portal looked kinda cool.

It was a complete insult to the TOS episode and what was worse I found it utterly boring from start to finish.

The points that weren't boring were too ridiculous.

Particular the mess that is now engineering. You have token trans/non-binary Adira (I'd feel insult not represent by that character so far) with the Chief Engineer who seems to now be an apprentice. Reno (Snark only) shows up from having vanished to give some pointless snark while eating candy and Book tells them that they're complete out of date since they kinda engineers from 900 years ago (well Adira isn't but whatever).

The toasts at the end were utterly bonkers. Strangely not a single male gave a toast at all. Are there any that speak on DSC (besides Saru of course).

SMG cried 3 times and her acting was all over the place. I dread to think where this show is going. Nowhere good I fear.

1 star from me.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 12:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

So prime universe character tries to talk sense into MU character to bring about a reformed more humane Mirror universe and fails. Haven’t we already seen this episode? Lame. And the Guardian of Forever? Why? Just to throw a bone to the trekkers who love the original series. I can hear Kurtzman in the writers’ room:
“Let’s throw a bone to the TOS fanboys and put in the Guardien of Forever so they get all excited and forget for a moment how we are playing fast and loose with canon and don’t really understand or care about it anyway.” No other reason to put the Guardian in here. And where was the howling wind and broken down columns and buildings showing the ruins of a vanished civilization. They can’t even get the pandering right.

Sorry to say, but Kurtzman and company don’t know how to do a serialized show. Look at how great Madalrian breaking bad, stranger things, game of thrones are done and compare it to how these guys run DISCO and PIC. It pains me to say that since I love ST and I wanted these shows to be good and bring Trek into the 21st century.

Now a good episode would have incorporated the temporal wars so the temporal Cold War fron ENT now makes sense and becomes relevant, kind of like how Clone Wars made the lousy prequels sensible and relevant for Star Wars. Which the writers did. But then they could have investigated how the Guardian was an Iconian gateway, an inter3sting concept from TNG that was dropped.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 12:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Yeah, I agree with Cody B who said he doesn’t know why he continues watching the show. The MU has been done to death I think. I thought DS9 botched it 25 years ago, I have no interest in a universe where Spocks reforms meant weakening the Terran empire. So peace and reform equal weakness and humans becoming slaves? I’m sure Vladimir Putin would agree with that in trying to revive an authoritarian soviet style Russia because democracy is for weaklings.

I thought ENT did a good job with the MU in showing evil earth empire because that was the original point. And damn but Evil Hoshi looked great. Then DICSO season 1 takes us back to the MU with evil earth and I thought it was a pretty good take on it. But now we are back? Why? And all the hugging and goodbyes were totally unearned and out of character. There has been no arc of ghiorgiu learning to live in a new universe and learning to change her ways. Seven on nines arc on VOY going from Borg drone to human was well done but none of that character development here. Because Kurtzman and company don’t know how to write character development.

And if we are going back to the MU I want to see the sexy belly baring uniforms from TOS, which ENT didn’t shy away from.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Wow,

These guys really know what they are doing. And if this is a sign of how Disney now understands what the fandom wants, then we are in for the golden age of Star Wars.

And I also agree with the others, too bad the modern Star Treks can't follow these footsteps.

And when the X-wing arrived, I felt like a little kid again.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 4:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Finally got around to watching this and I clearly losing interest in the show since it was after Jammer's review for the first time.

What stuck out for me mostly was how Michelle Y is so wasted. She finally got to do something and she was great. If you go back and watch the first episode she was a superb captain until Burnham got her killed.

A couple of other things..

- The recently demoted commander is still in the meetings with the admiral but not the First Officer.

- Are they trying to assassinate Saru's character? The admiral rightly pointed out that he was a poor captain and being a bit of a dick. Act like a dick and your crew will think you're a dick. Maybe it was slightly justified since she ate his people though tbh..

- The admiral is concerned about Burnham going on the mission so errr send someone else? Any reason the Science Officer keeps going down on missions alone? What happened to landing parties? Even ToS had 3-5 people? (ok 2 usually died within 10 minutes).

- If you're dying transport yourself a bit closer to the destination rather than walk a few miles in the snowy mountains.

At least it wasn't boring like the last 3 episodes I guess.

2 stars from me. Man Jammer is generous with DSC - getting softer age I guess.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 10:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Why can't the new Star Wars movies and new Star Trek be like this? I blame JJ Abrams for the decline of both franchises.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Man, how does a show keep delivering week after week, another winner. And when a certain weapon we’ve seen in the movies was used towards the end of the episode, I couldn’t help but laugh and say “YES!”
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Another great episode. Though I am starting to get a little weary from seeing legions of stormtroopers get demolished. It was already getting bad enough in episode where they raided the Imperial base.
Set Bookmark
Kyle A
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

@Jon1701

Those Imperial cruisers are called Arquitens-class? They are more like Imperial frigates. They've only been newly added into Star Wars lore in the past couple of years. But they have been active from the Clone Wars into the Empire era.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Dave in MN

Never dis the Cage.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Shame the episode itself wasn't remotely deep or meaningful enough to warrant this level of discussion (relevant or otherwise)
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 7:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I'm struggling to understand anyone's first sentences.

Was this the worst episode yet? Why am I still still watching?

Maybe and because there isn't much good sci-fi on tv and I'm a massive Star Trek fan.

So much stupid. Why don't they hire a fan as an advisor? Seems like it's really not written by anyone who knows Star Trek or who can write vaguely good sci-fi.

Largely really dull. I was interested in the Georgiou plot but that's been semi spoiled already and I was hoping it was going somewhere more interesting.

Some random thoughts:
- Less SMG didn't really improve the episode that much weirdly. It was too dull to matter I guess.
- Still no new security chief?
- Tilly is so far a better first officer than Burnham. Not munitied or caused a war. Ridiculous as it is.
- However why was Saru talking to the admiral with Michael and not Tilly? She's first officer, acting or otherwise.
- Those photon torpedos really sucked. TNG had quantum torpedos.. no new torpedoes in 900 years? 3100 weaponry continues to be terrible.
- The doctor sure caught up on 900 years of missed medical advances fast. Scotty didn't fancy catching up on 80 years of engineering. I guess Kulber and Stamet are young and fast learners. Can you imagine going to a doctor who is using 900 year old techniques? What even is that? Pre-leeches and bleeds? I dunno.
- Execute sounds familiar. Did some other captain use that already? Sounds good. Especially if you want someone killed too.
- If people in 3100 are still bothered by pronouns I'll be amazed. I'll be dead, but amazed.

Sigh.. 1 star.. I guess.. no idea what for really. Ok 1 star for developing Detmer a little even if it was by putting her in Star Wars.

Why can't the blonde girl be first officer? She takes the captains chair a lot. She even had a line. What was her name again? Oh yeah, that's probably why.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Chris
agreed. I'm not even a massive VOY fan (love DS9) but I watch a 2 star VOY over any 2.5+ DSC. I'm not sure it really applies though since DSC has almost no rewatch value. It's easy to say yeah yeah it just action and effects but Marvel films are very rewatchable and are mostly action and effects. No need to say it's all subjective since this whole site is about opinions.

I haven't personally give any DSC over a 3 and only 2 episodes have a 3 for me, both season 2. This season hasn't done it for me at all and it's now become boring too.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 12:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

My problem with michael burnham is as Tomalak said earlier, she is a marvel superhero dropped into the ST universe. That is not the fault of the actor but rather the writers who don't know or appreciate 50+ years of ST universe building and characterization. Michael Burnham could be an ok character if she was written as a ST character, not a marvel character.

Now having said all that, I can accept the marvelization of ST; I ike Mavel, I could get into another approac/take on the franchise. I even like the light comedy of ST Lower Decks. I can jsut like it for different reasons than I like TNG or DS9. BTW, a lot of people 25 years ago criticized DS9 and Avery Brooks' acting and how DS9 wasn't ST because it wasn't on a ship.

No, my biggest problem is that they gave Spock a sister. In 50 years, why add a sister now? Why couldn't she be the adopted daughter of some other Vulcan? Kind of ripping off Worf's story; massive attack, orphaned raised by humans always the outsider, blah blah blah. Been there, done that. But if you ewant to do that, why does she have to be Sarek's daughter? 50 years of word building and characterization out the window. I just can't accept DIS as canon. if she was someone else's adopted daughter I would be more tolerant of MB and DIS.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 9:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@trent

That was a good read. Agree entirely.

How many stars? Out of curiosity. People often rip DSC a new one then end with 2 out of 4 stars. Rather odd.
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Whatever PIC or did not do it assembled a far superior collection of actors for the crew. Kind or unknowns can work of course but it isn't for DSC. I've only seen SMG in The Walking Dead as a semi main character (she was ok).

And, as characters, even though they weren't even all Star Fleet I'd personally far rather join them than the DSC crew.

Most of the bridge crew are lucky to get a line person episode ("Ay!" "Say yes!") so maybe its a little unfair to rate their acting. Stamets is dreadful, SMG is beyond unbearable now. Saru is a shining beacon. Culber is doing soapy acting. Tilly flits between acting like a child but is ok when not. Georgiou is a wasted actress playing a cartoon character.

It's not like VOY, TNG, DS9 and ENT had a full roster of stellar actors but they were a cut above DSCs cast. But who knows.. maybe its the scripts or the 37 producers.
Next ►Page 1 of 15
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.