Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Wed, Dec 18, 2013, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

Paul, SOA has been downhill since the third season and hasn't peaked since. TNG had several solid seasons and even its weaker seasons had a few triumphs. I'm shuddering a little at your comparison, not because of the genre difference (which makes them tough to compare), but the idea that a misogynistic BOOM! BOOM! fest has anything over TNG, which has never relied on musical montages and adolescent narration to build character.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Wed, Dec 18, 2013, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I found the character of Farallon strange/perhaps badly written. She is disappointed that the exocomps do not perform their intended function (at least not always), but shouldn't she be -thrilled- that she just invented a highly intelligent form of AI? Isn't that a much bigger accomplishment than some technological model that will be outdated in a few years?
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

To V: I think you are the one who has the Prime Directive wrong. Though it is most often invoked (on the various Trek shows) in cases of less-developed societies, that's not the entirety of the directive. The idea is much larger than that. They're not supposed to "interfere" with non-Federation societies' "natural" progression/behavior/way of being. It goes far beyond technological concerns.

For example, when Wesley Crusher inadvertently breaks the law on that seemingly-idyllic world where everyone jogs a lot, it is a violation of the Prime Directive to beam the kid out of their jail and leave. The Directive requires that members of Starfleet adhere to local law. And since the locals want Wesley to stand trial, the Enterprise has to let him. (Instead, Picard violates the Prime Directive. Cause the Edo's God tells him it's ok to. Huh?)

Picard won't even help the Square Pegs actor who played Kirk's son and the reject from Dexys Midnight Runners get off drugs safely, because even REVEALING to them that they're on drugs is a violation of the Prime Directive. In that case, it was interfering in the "natural" interrelationship that had developed between the drug dealing culture and the addict culture.

On Voyager, the Prime Directive doesn't really last past the first season or two. And even then, it seems to only come up when it's convenient. For example, on the planet with the smarmy, slicked hair dude who only loves new, exciting things and doesn't want to blip Voyager home, Janeway specifically says that they can't just steal the technology and use it without the smarmy guy's consent. That would be a violation of the Prime Directive; in that case, using technology that hasn't been freely shared with them. And that's VOYAGER gaining SUPERIOR technology, not the other way around.

As for Justin's comments about the Borg not having a government or social order...I might agree with you on the first point. But not on the second. The Borg have a hyper-organized social order. Just because it's not centered on individuation and self-determination doesn't mean it's not a society. And Species OU812 (I'm bad with names) certainly has a society. An organized enough one that they're winning a war with the Borg, for goodness sakes. For Voyager to intervene on either side's behalf, when they are not already intrinsically involved and are not being asked for help*, is to attempt to insert themselves into the "natural" progression of these two species.

(*"Asking for help" seems slippery in Prime Directive terms. Data, it seems, can apparently help Sarjenka once she explicitly asks for help. But Picard can't step in and help the druggies even though they're asking for help. Maybe cause they're not asking for the right help? Or maybe you can only help someone if there is only one player involved, and you're not inherently choosing sides?)

As for the Borg and Species 8675309 being hell bent on destruction: even if that is true, it's moot. Voyager is in no direct danger. They can choose to avoid the conflict. And at this point, we know nothing about Species 25 Or 6 To 4. They might be really nice, and just defending themselves against a Borg attack.

But anyway, Prime Directive aside, Janeway knows enough about the nano-probe thing that the Borg could just assimilate her and not have to bargain at all. Or they could, you know, read the mind of the telepathic medical assistant. Oh wait-- they already did. What, Kes knew NOTHING about the nano-probes? Lazy writing.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Sun, Feb 3, 2013, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Another wonderfully smarmy a**hole seduces a woman in the Trek universe. Seriously, how is it that so many Trek writers can think that these characters aren't just disgustingly gross?

Let's review. There's the smarmy administrator dude that Deanna Troi falls for in the genetically engineered society. And the massively smarmy secretly telepathic negotiator who rubs her feet. Ewww.

Then there's the smarmy Trill body-jumper that Doctor Crusher--or should I say Doctor Beverly--falls for. So reliant on smarminess is she, in fact, that she can't stay in love with him when he's in the body of a decent-seeming lady.

There's the super-smarmy Vedic dude, who Kira falls in love with. And a second, slightly less smarmy resistance fighter dude she falls in love with after the smarmy Vedic dies. (Who, remarkably, is the same actor who played ANOTHER smarmy dude that Doctor Crusher fell for. But she was under a sort of cosmic spell, so we won't count that one.)

On Voyager, we see Captain Janeway fall for that smarmy holodeck dude whose children she's governess to. And she even seems to almost fall for the smarmy slicked-back hair dude that won't help Voyager blip themselves home on the we're-just-after-a-good-time planet.

Then there's Riker...who's just smarmy every time he's around a woman. I love the man, I do. But introduce him to a female character, and he's like a walking ad for Drakkar Noir.

Can the writers not imagine that a woman can fall head over heels in love with emotionally normal men? Do they all have to seem like bad romance novel heroes?!
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 27, 2012, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I actually like Ezri, but a THIRD Ezri episode in a row? Seriously?!

This episode creates so many new Star Trek truths and forgets so many more that it might as well be a Voyager episode.

Most of all being...um...why is Joran nothing like Joran?! We saw him in Equilibrium, when Jadzia hugged him. He had black hair and a round baby face. Then we heard him speak in Facets, when Sisko allows him to take over his body. He's got a distinct inflection; a high-pitched, lilting, musical, crazy-person way of talking. And that was a ridiculously chilling scene Avery Brooks treated us to! With Joran banging his head against the force field, all while smiling that wack-job smile. So, how in the world is this nearly-blond, angular, even-keeled, deep-and-mellow-voiced dude supposed to be Joran?!

If that were the worst thing about the episode, I wouldn't be complaining so much. But it's just the kind of lazy writing/casting that pisses me off so much I can't shut up about it. If there's any group in the world that you can't pull crap like that on, it's Star Trek fans.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 27, 2012, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Thank you, Ian. I was starting to think I was the only person who heard Misha-gagh that way!
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I'm surprised to see a whole part of the plot missing from the recap, the reviewer commentary, and the comments. It was the part that made me REALLY appreciate the story, rather than just appreciate it.

This is an episode about friendship! Vic needs Nog just as much as Nog needs Vic. When Ezri pulls her patented reverse psychology move on Vic, it's because she knows that he's come to count on Nog. And he's no longer just thinking of what's best for Nog. He's thinking that he's gonna miss being a person and having a friend. That's why he isn't pushing Nog to leave.

Once Ezri subtly makes some noise about this, Vic realizes that it's more important that Nog leave the holodeck. Even if it means that he goes back to being a part-time, unimportant, not-really-real person.

And that's why the very end is so poignant. Nog returns the favor -- getting Quark to leave Vic's program running 26 hours a day -- and shows that he's just as good a friend to Vic as Vic was to him.

So it's not just about Nog getting himself over his trauma. It's about how friendship plays a role in that healing. And how being a good friend to someone in need can change your life for the better, too.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Mon, Aug 6, 2012, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

I found this episode really unappealing. The tiny ship storyline was essentially stolen from Innerspace, a late-80s movie. (Which, incidentally, features music from Jerry Goldsmith and shows Robert Picardo in a supporting role.) That was a cute and silly little movie, where one could suspend their disbelief. This is Star Trek. There are just WAY too many physics and biology issues here for a hardcore sci-fi audience to ignore. It's insulting.

And the Alpha vs. Gamma conflict just pops up suddenly, seems to be based on absolutely nothing (unless the Alphas were bred to specifically be superior assholes) and is just unnecessary. I mean, are the Vortas and Founders really just trying to sabotage their own fighting force? Are they that stupid?

This episode just pisses me off. Jammer's suggestion that it belongs in Voyager's 4th season is right on the money. And that's no compliment.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Tue, Jan 3, 2012, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Insert picture of a ham with a pen stuck in it.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Sat, Dec 31, 2011, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

First words out of my mouth as soon as the episode started: :) "Hey, it's that red headed engineering guy we never see!" :( "Oh, I guess he dies this episode."

It went downhill from there.

So, let me just get this straight:
To give these folks technology they weren't ready for 50 years ago was bad. But to give them Borg nanotechnology now is good?

Or did I miss the part where they extract the nanoprobes and explain why to the guy?


Also, anyone else see a problem with this exchange:
Injured Alien Guy: "Nanoprobes, cybernetic
implants. Are others on your crew like you?"
Seven of Nine: "No. I'm unique."

Or did I miss the part where Icheb doesn't have nanoprobes and cybernetic implants?

And how about this one:
Friendship 1 was launched in 2067, says Janeway. Just 4 years after Zephram Cochrane made his warp flight, says Paris. Before Starfleet even existed, says Tuvok. So, um, why does it have the Starfleet insignia and the United Federation of Planets logo on it?

Or did I miss the part where the Federation and Starfleet made logos for themselves 100 years before they existed?


And finally:
Seven gives her nanoprobes to cure the alien guy's advanced radiation exposure. Which is ok by me, since in "Mortal Coil" Neelix was dead for a full 18 hours and was brought back to life with Seven's nanoprobes. Lieutenant Carey has been dead for ten seconds, of an apparent gunshot wound, and there's nothing at all we can do for him?

Or did I miss the part where Seven was all out of nanoprobes after giving a few to the alien who we shouldn't be sharing technology with?


Crap like this just pisses me off. It's one thing to hit the reset button at the end of an episode. But to be inconsistent within the same episode is the worst kind of laziness. And I take it as an insult to the fans. As if we won't notice. We're STAR TREK FANS FOR GOODNESS SAKE! If anyone is gonna notice, it's us.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Sat, Dec 31, 2011, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I'm pretty much with Ian. When Zimmerman said that the Mark 1s had been reprogrammed to scrub plasma conduits (and that's what he said, folks) I assumed that he was being somewhat facetious. Instead, we see fully sentient versions of the Doctor mining dilithium with pick axes, carts, and shovels! This is pure comedy! I mean, were they also transported back in time to an 1850s anthracite mine?!

Please. Starfleet wouldn't allow the reprogramming of exocomps, or for Data to be unwillingly subjected to a procedure that might wipe his memory. So why would they have subjected holograms to Rura Penthe-type forced labor? Just for the hell of it?! No, they wouldn't have. Or, at the very least, they would have had a court hearing and decided the status of holograms right there and then. Instead of the farce of a hearing we see in this episode. (Which only took 33 minutes to complete. Uncontested divorces take longer than that!)

As for the B-story about talking to folks at home, which should have been the A-story, I think it fell so very far short of what it could have been. The moment where Barclay gives the Voyager crew the gift of a view of Earth was a stunner. I choked up.

But none of the other moments came close.

Harry's talk with his parents was a nearly racist sitcom sketch. I'm surprised they weren't eating noodles with chopsticks during the whole thing.

And frankly, though I understand the underlying "a-ha" moment we were supposed to have, Seven's aunt just seemed like a bitch telling her how willful and obnoxious she was as a child. She can't just be happy her niece is alive?! (Also, Annika was 6 years old when she was on Earth with her Aunt? Didn't her parents-- oh hell, why am I bothering with continuity. No one on the production staff cares.)

B'Elanna's talk with dad was decent enough. But really, who cares? The compelling storyline is with B'Elanna and her mother. Don't we still need to find out if her mother is actually still alive?! Shouldn't she have been asking about that?!

What could have been amazing would have been seeing little snippets of all of the OTHER crew talking to their family. Naomi Wildman (remember her?) could have met her father for the first time. We might have gotten to see a short but meaningful conversation between Janeway and Mark, to remind us of what she's lost during this voyage. And to show us how far she's come since then.

Tom Paris may have given up his sixth-place chip, but why wasn't he there in the room the TWO TIMES his dad talked with five other crew members? I have to assume they're saving some big emotional something-or-other for Tom and the Admiral in the finale. But still...it was too obvious of an omission here.

We could even have seen snippets of other unnamed crew breaking down in tears of joy at seeing their loved ones. Or even learning upsetting news that family didn't want to break in a letter. And how about some of the Maquis crew? it's possible they haven't spoken to their families in much, much longer. These are the kinds of things that would remind us of just how hard this has been for the people on Voyager. It would have tied us on an emotional level to the characters. It would have reminded us that we're supposed to be rooting for them to get home!

Instead, we get these pat little emotionless conversations. The Voyager crew just seems so...so...well-adjusted! They're still decades from home, speaking to their families in real time for the FIRST TIME IN OVER SIX YEARS! Where are the tears? Where's the jockeying to get a better spot? Where's the beef?! If they don't care, why should I?

I should really have written this episode. I would have done so much of a better job.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 20, 2011, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I also noticed the Avery Brooks-alike voice. But then I recognized the actor for who he was: the shuttle pilot that announces he's "got a passenger, a V. I. P. passenger" to bring aboard the Enterprise, just before Lwaxanna Troi cuts him off to coo at Picard herself.

If he'd been a few episodes earlier, he could have met up with Simon Tarses. Really, at this point, I'm watching the episodes partly just to see who they recycle. Voyager casts are like a Trek reunion!
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 20, 2011, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Kristen's brain in first five minutes:
"Simon Tarses is in the Delta Quadrant?!?!"

Kristen's brain about ten minutes later:
"The Hirogen based a hologram on Simon Tarses?"

Kristen's brain ten minutes after that:
"Why, he isn't acting like Simon Tarses at all!"

Kristen's brain now:
"I miss Simon Tarses. I'm gonna go watch 'The Drumhead'."
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 20, 2011, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Oh-- how could I forget?!?! What's with the Captain and Chakotay having died 17 years ago, according to future Naomi and Icheb?!?!

Ok...so I concede that neither Naomi nor Icheb are going to age the same way "normal" human beings age. Naomi's got her weird growing-up-too-fast-cause-she's-half-Ktarian, and who knows what happens once she's grown up. And Icheb was grown in a Borg maturation cell, and released too early, so he'll all sorts of not-the-right-age-for-his-looks. So, I can't just go by how they look to decide how old they are.

But...it can't be that they're supposed to be more than, what, 35 or 40 years old. So if Icheb is around 16 in our present time, and 40 in the future scene, then 24 years have elapsed. And so the present day Captain and Chakotay die in 7 years?! WTF?! That seems too important to just toss out there like it's incidental! Why isn't Chakotay worried about THAT?!
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 20, 2011, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

After only the first five minutes of this ep I was already heaving a sigh of frustration. But I pressed pause, got a Diet Coke, and tried to watch without assumptions. Once I got the idea of what this episode was going to be-- a new take on a clip show-- I actually started to enjoy it.

It's certainly not great. But knowing that there are only so many episodes left, it was kind of sweet getting a mini-review of where we've been before. I think that aspect, though, was less the point than just a general reminder that Janeway makes tough decisions that always ultimately serve her ship and crew. Kind of like a Janeway apology story.

Interesting note there-- this apology was helpful for me because of late I've really been disliking Janeway. The first few seasons, I was almost always in her corner. Making the tough calls, shouldering the burden, sacrificing for the higher morality, etc. But in seasons 5 and 6 she seemed more bitter, less flexible, and like she lost a bit of her moral center. I'm hoping this episode signals a return to her earlier attitude/behavior.

(Also, incidentally, I might have actually liked more of a revisiting-the-past-type clip episode. Not just revisiting Janeway's awesomeness, but everyone's. They could have picked moments that really made our characters who they were. And reminded us of how the characters have changed over time. Maybe someone's got some good fan fic out there for that one.)

There were still, of course, a few annoying things that I couldn't overlook. For one, how come no one ran into themselves in any of the other time periods? That's usually one of the best aspects of time travel eps. Seeing the inherent awkwardness of having to deal with a former version of oneself is excruciatingly fun.

For another, as others have pointed out, the Temporal Prime Directive is applied in the most bass-ackward way possible here. Chakotay tells past folks all sorts of things about the future one second, then claims TPD the next second. But still clams up about things even when he's pretty sure his plan will work and none of this will have happened (ie, it won't matter what they know). And then finally he won't tell Janeway about how he traveled back in time to a shared past that she knows all about?! Has Chakotay not actually read the Temporal Prime Directive? Do we have a secret illiteracy episode coming up next?

Overall, though, I found myself sympathetic to what this episode was trying to achieve. I hope it continues through the end of the series. (I've actually already seen the next ep, and I really liked it when I first saw it, so I have hope!)
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Again, ditto to all the criticisms made above.

Also...if the Borg Queen's nanoprobe disease could be administered in Unimatrix Zero, why did Janeway, Torres, and Tuvok have to go to the Borg ship in person to administer theirs?

Did I miss a line of technobabble that explains this INSANE GAPING PLOT HOLE?!
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

Ditto 90% of the issues raised above.

"It's one of few times all season we've seen Chakotay exhibit any sort of opinion."

Holy cow, no joke. Throughout seasons 5 and 6, I've been thinking they've been setting us up for Chakotay leaving Voyager. Janeway consistently turns to Tuvok for trusted counsel and to make secret plans, leaves Harry in charge of the bridge, engages 7/9 in personal activities -- it's like Chakotay is just some enlisted nobody instead of her first officer and second in command.

Seeing that over and over, I expected that it was a conscientious plan by the writing/creative staff to distance Chakotay and Janeway. I fully, fully expected something big to come of it.

It seems, instead, to just be more crappy writing. Chakotay is suddenly just the lapdog, happy to get whatever scraps of attention Janeway has to give.

Oh well...maybe it'll come to a head in Season 7. Hope springs eternal with this Trek fan. It has to, or I would have stopped watching when Kes left. (The first time, that is. We don't acknowledge "Fury" in my household.)
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 29, 2011, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I'm amazed at the number of people saying they didn't like this episode!

Then again, I tend to only bother to post comments on Jammer's review when I hate an episode. The need to vent is stronger than the need to share warm happy feelings. So maybe I should assume that happens for other folks, too.

I adore this episode. I find it moving in the kind of way that I not just WANT Trek to be, but that I EXPECT Trek to be. Episodes that fall short of this level of philosophical debate-generating are unsatisfying to me. (Unless Q is in them, in which case they're perfectly awesome.)

But then, maybe I should be happy that people are saying they didn't like it. Because most folks are saying that they thought it was stupid/bad/wrong for the memorial to be left intact. And that discussion is really what the episode is all about for me.

Yes, it's horrible. It's horrible that the crew underwent this experience. It's horrible that they have to live with these memories. With the guilt. With the confusion and fear and repercussions.

But how else does one avoid repeating the mistake? Do you learn not to touch a hot stove because someone told you it was hot? Or because you read a compelling story about how hot it was? Or do you learn when you put your own darn hand on that stove?

Is it necessary to learn this lesson about these settlers being killed? Is this the only way to learn it? Is this the best way? These are great questions! Voyager is asking them! And we can keep thinking about that, and having strong emotional responses, 11 years after the episode aired. And that's great sci-fi.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 29, 2011, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Ooh ooh--- one more one-last-note!

Why didn't ANYONE suggest that a copy of the Doctor remain on board? Not with his personality, of course. But the basic program, as it was when Voyager was first commissioned. "Living Witness" already let us know they can copy him. Did they forget?

I mean, Tom Paris makes a nice medic, but it's not like he's been to medical school. Beverly Crusher seemed to run into problems she could barely address herself-- and she was the freaking head of Starfleet Medical for a while! Now all you need to be a doctor is a hypospray and a keen interest in the 20th century?

It was unreasonable enough to believe that Janeway would allow the Doctor to leave the ship and leave them doctorless. That no one-- not Janeway, the Doctor himself, B'Elanna, Tom, 7/9, NO ONE!-- would then suggest that the Doctor's program be copied is just redonkulous.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 29, 2011, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

This is a dreadful episode.

Picardo's acting alone should have sent the writers back to their desks on this one. To see the Doctor have this much emotional depth, and then think that he'd turn his back on the Voyager crew for fanatical attention from some one-dimensional annoying fans? It makes no sense. Like, blinking-neon-sign lack of sense.

And how ridiculous is the timing on this ep? In the episode before this one, the Doctor lived for three years on an alien planet and had a wife and child! And now he's this swayed by an emotionless robot of a woman* who wonders how many digits of pi he can calculate? How in the world can this episode happen a week after that experience? Insane. And insulting to the fans and the Voyager characters' storylines.

Lastly, I don't get why we get Picardo's singing voice for half the ep, and obvious professional recordings for the rest. We've heard the Doctor sing arias before in his normal voice on the show. He's got a decent voice. Picardo's no pro, certainly, but it's kind of sweet that the Doctor is so dedicated and earnest even though his singing is flawed. Why, then, is he suddenly a multi-octave Pavarotti on stage in these episodes?

Yes, certainly, as a computer program, he CAN use anyone's voice while singing. But the point is that he never HAS before. And the annoying one-dimensional aliens fell in love with HIS voice. Why change that? And so obviously?

So, yeah, I really detest this ep. Luckily, I love next week's ep. It's one of only a handful that I've seen before, and I remember it vividly. So...on to that one!

(* Jammer, I've seen her in other stuff. She's kinda robotic. I don't get it. I grok that these aliens were supposed to be kinda weird. But she was downright distracting. In a bad way.)

(Ooh-- one last note. A happy one, too! I LOVED seeing Beata's perfume-pilfering manservant from TNG's "Angel One" in the audience at the Doctor's recital. AWESOME TREK ACTOR CALLBACK!!!!)
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Thu, Sep 29, 2011, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

I'm so glad someone else was thrown out of their disbelief-suspension when the medieval-type guy was writing in English. And with crappy handwriting, too!

I found the guest star acting a little wooden, too. It was almost like they were purposely going for 1950s/60s sci-fi acting. Think Twilight Zone or Forbidden Planet. Lots of too-much-dialogue and too-simple-mindedness.

I also got frustrated in the two-astronomers-and-an-earthquake scene. Why would they develop architecture so similar to humans if they developed over hundreds of years on a planet with radically more geologic instability? Wouldn't they have figured out all the best ways to avoid shaken building syndrome?!

Overall, even with those niggling issues, I liked the idea of this episode very much. I do wish it'd had just a bit more emotion, though. The Doctor effected his return to the ship with almost no regret. (Yeah, yeah, he's a hologram. But if he was really that emotionless he wouldn't have bothered with whatever insane steps he must have taken to allow a hologram to have a son.) The astronaut got over his "everyone I've ever known is dead" before he'd even finished saying the sentence. Even Voyager's crew was more like "oh rats, we might be stuck" rather than "HOLY SCHNIKES WE GOTTA GET OUTTA HERE BEFORE WE BECOME AS GODS TO THESE PEOPLE AND THEN GET SUCKED INTO THEIR TIMELINE!"

Just a little tweaking and polishing could have made this very interesting episode of sci-fi into an emotional whale of a sci-fi tale.
Set Bookmark
Kristen
Fri, Aug 26, 2011, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I'm so glad I found this review. Having only caught around three dozen episodes of Voyager while it was on, I'm watching the entire series from beginning to end now. And the past four episodes have made me want to stop bothering.

I won't reiterate what others have written here. We already know what the problems are. But I have to comment on the aspect that kept me from being able to even mildly appreciate this episode: their uniforms and hair didn't degrade.

The writers want us to accept that Voyager was COMPLETELY copied. Every molecule. And that's why EVERYTHING on the ship is falling apart. Except their uniforms and hair.

It's a little thing compared to the other glaring flaws in the story. But maybe because it's such a little thing, it infuriated me to no end. The writers want us to buy in emotionally to a storyline that ultimately won't matter to our story. But they don't make that same commitment themselves. It's lazy writing.

(Even Odo's uniform and hair fall apart in "The Die Is Cast". It's not like we haven't gone here before! Then again, it's a little like Geordi and Ro being able to run through walls as "ghosts" but not falling through decks as they walked. Which also still annoys me.)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.