Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 34 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 2:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

"The bar in terms of drama and writing should be Battlestar Galactica if that's the sort of television Discovery is trying to be."

So if the bar is 2/4 (a just 50% ratio) and at the same time it is considered to be at the level of Battlestar Galactica it is a fairly great rating. Just try to apply this rule to any other show, not just sci-fi, and you will rarely do better than 50%. Personally if I had to rate any series according to BSG I would just it give 0 stars for every episode straightaway.

@karatasiospa

There are places closer to wherever you live that have people that are in trouble and places that are grim and miserable and so on. Some people also try to help their local communities as much as they can, so you are welcome to do something for them. Also think that "struggle for progress' was always one of the main messages of ST and struggle is neither easy nor happy.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 1:36am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

The show needs clearly to find a pace and start moving towards a longer scope. The writing during the last week is beginning to feel like it is all over the place with family members appearing out of the blue just to be used as cheap plot devices. The situation is slipping out of control fast.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 5:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Man, Bannon Braga is possibly my favorite 'Voyager" writer (along with Joe Menosky who didi a good job on DISCO). Wish they had let him loose without any reset buttons, especially on big episodes like "year of Hell". I do think that even stupid "Threshold" could have been decent if they had taken out the quick ending and given it more time to develop its own weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 4:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

I have made my assessment of the show many times and I fear I will become annoying. I also know I will never convince you to watch the show. Still here are some completely random thoughts.

In a nutshell I what enjoy most is how the characters interact, learning from each other. This is especially true concerning Tilly and Burnham. They start from different paths and life and duty bring them closer to each other especially on episode 6. I also hugely appreciate the effort Burnham does to surpass her Vulcan upbringing and slowly unlock her human instincts. She is a person that has never even fallen in love and tries to "discover" what it means to care for another person besides herself even if that makes her feel shame or awkwardness (admittedly she was close to Gheorgiou but that was a relationship based on hierarchy rather than equality). I also enjoyed Saru making a harsh decision on saving the captain while punishing the Tradigrave. Again his upbringing as a Kelpian came in full contrast with engaging in a dangerous mission but he made a choice because of what happened to Gheorgiou. It is called progress through struggle and even failure, the basic human motivation through the ages ( I think Tuvok said something similar on Voyager).

I also enjoy the fact that Lorca had to choose between losing his status and caring for a fellow officer while in danger. He is a man with a mission he is sure he can deliver and he will even betray his beloved one to do so. It speaks volumes about him. Again ''The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the one or the few". Classic Trek stuff.

Same goes for Stamets who sacrifices his sanity to save an alien life form from a dangerous situation. Sometimes there are no easy solutions and getaways. As the doctor in "The Cage" once told "A man either lives life as it happens to him, meets it head-on and licks it, or he... turns his back on it and starts to wither away".


This is also why I think that this weeks episode was a winner. All the characters had to interact with each other under a tight time frame in order to solve a very hard equation. They also had to break Mudd's plan without being trapped in a universe where their losses would be permanent. This was again as ST as it gets and with a very good execution to boot.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Since you watched (and enjoyed) the latest ''Orville'' episode, just sit and think what you did here. The same thing that the people of earth 2 did, quickly condemn something with just a limited knowledge about the actual facts and based on a prefabricated set of opinions.

The irony is strong with this one.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 2:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I watched this episode last night and really enjoyed the premise. I even enjoyed the fact that the Aliens depicted here are the same as that old avengers villain called 'Space Phantom" that exists in a different time dimension and visits ours by hijacking other people's bodies (In later stories they also depict him as a member of a scientific community). One of my favorite old comics overall.


One of the funniest moments was also B'Elanna seeing ponder whether her love affair with Tom was real or a product of alien manipulation. Made me want to go back to previous episodes and check them out (I know this notion has no weight still it sounded really interesting).

3.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 8:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Captain Kirk is laughing at his magical vortex thing where he accidentaly fell through intead of dying. along with Janeway and Paris's lizard babies and energy morphed Kess .

Keep on tilting at windmills.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

As for the music, I know many people on their 20s and 30s that are obsessed with swing, rockabilly, Elvis and stuff made many decades before they were even born. It is practically the same thing ,people will always listen to classical music or the beatles or even disco and so on.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 5:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@MadManMUC

So Klingons, Vulcans, the Borg assimilation techniques, warpdrive technology, numerous planets that happen to be exact replicas of events that happened during War of Korea and WWII and the Eugenic wars are all part of reality? There have been numerous space living creatures on scifi from Mogo the Green Lantern planet to the spores Voyager found (said spores were even sexually attracted to the ship).

The mushroom tech is as much plausible as magic teleportation devise contrived to shorten expedition procedures and special effects. The space whale is more plausible than freaking space dinosaurs reaching the delta quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

My apologies to the moderator for being part of the dispute.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 9:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

You are doing the same thing Dougie does here in the commentary of discovery . The exact same thing. So if he should stop posting here I guess you should stop posting there. Check your own posts before calling out others.

Btw I think that both shows are 5/5 for me with the occasional blunder like this week. I am happy to have two quality tv hours every week.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Ι generally like the Orville a lot but this episode was really dissapointing. They basically rehashed a dark mirror episode and added a couple of jokes. The plot is all over the place. They enter a planet they know that has money but they do not know that it has the button system? And they have even spies over there and they can watch what is going on from afar. And what is the use of spies when you can basically monitor everything that is going on from space.

The button system also makes no sense because there is no way of stopping somebody from upvoting himself a million times. Or secretly downvoting somebody else. I know I would steal my ex's button and downvote her like crazy.

There are many other problems that pile on top of each other making the episode nearly unwatchable. But for me if the jokes worked it would be ok. Sadly they don't except 2-3 times.

A big misstep. The show needs to do getter than this 1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 7:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Well Saru is not an amoral ahole. On the contrary he is extremely ethical and dedicated considering that he acts against his Kelpien nature. After all he is part of a species whose one and only priority is survival at all costs. Even the decision to energize the Tardigrave in retrospect can be seen as an act of redemption over losing Georgiou and not as an act of punishing the animal. He had a hard choice and acted on behalf of his fellow Captain.

I will also say that Tilly is also evolving into a likable character.

Neelix was supposed to be likeable and cheerful. I am not saying he succeeded though.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 5:34am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Caz

"they're just action movies with a touch of moral messaging and some parody callbacks."

Like I don't know 90% of all the Trek stories out there? In fact I am now watching Voyager (finishing its third season) and I believe that this description sums it up quite nicely.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 3:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I just saw Kess on Voyager giving birth from her back (how the hell did she had sex with Tom I wonder). Go on and say anything you want about Discovery science.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Peter G.

Thanxs for the sincere reply and your kind words. I do think that all things must come to an end though. I had been a long time fan of marvel comics since I remember myself reading the awfully translated greek and french editions and then the original stuff. Then at a period after civil war I just lost their narrative. It is not that I say that it went bad or anything just that I felt that it was time to go because I could not adapt at the pace and story mood (the ending of Grant Morrisson's excellent X-Men run cemented my decision). I saw that I would not be happy from the future and decided it was better to leave with a good impression that be miserable.

Star Trek after the 2000's is and eventually will continue to be a different thing. I find it relieving to be honest. Like it or not I don't see that changing in the near future.

As for the subject of likeable characters, I am currently reading Jammer's Voyager reviews that, along 90% of the people, bash Neelix, a character whose main trait is being "likeable"( I like Neelix a lot but I get why people hate him) and nothing more . In fact I think that making characters softer or likeable is one of the worst thing in many 90s shows and films eventually boiling down to pure audience manipulation (here is Jar Jar, like him! look baby Anakin is even more likeable!). I prefer to see characters developing their relationships in a more organic and complex way. The Tilly/Burnham scenes last time put a smile to my face but at the same time made me ponder on the impact they have one each other, with Burnham turning a little bit more human and Tilly potentially ending up more focused and ambitious. Also wait to see more of the Doctor and Stamets potentially good drama there that should not be put aside.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Somebody on this site already characterised the people that like the show as "the lowest common denominator". I will not point fingers. I have been called names lets say "swj" on other sites because I like a tv show.

The one question I really fail to understand and nobody explains to me is why people do pay for and closely follow a show they hate so much in any aspect (and on a broken service as Jammer says) . There are plenty of shows to watch (plus maybe other more interesting things to do). I do not say it is good or bad it just seems strange.

You said it yourself, somebody can watch some episodes of TOS or TNG and get its meaning. That is what mass market is all about. These stories and characters have been done to death and sold as tv repeats, dvds, blu rays, t-shirts, records, comics, novels and whatever else. They are a global franchise for a mass audience. Star Trek is not a niche in scifi in some aspects scifi itself has become a niche of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Chrome

One of the last lines of defense of people ready to thrash something like a tv show or a book is attack it indirectly through its fanbase. The other one is pretending that a common massive franchise like Star Trek is something niche that only the elite can properly comprehend. People that judge and condemn others for liking a piece of commercial entertainment . How deep.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 6:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

I like the fact that people are still happy about GoT though I am not. I also find Discovery to be closer to Enterprise and DS9 than the GoT tv series is to its own books especially concerning characters like Stannis. Just read the first unpublished chapter of "Winds of Winter" and compare it to what happens to the series. It is close to making Kirk torture Uhura for fun.

The Disc novel "desperate hours" explains a lot about the changes between Pike's enterprise and the Shenjou, there is even a chapter where the pinpoint the differences between the ships one by one. It features some plots that are currently part of the series like Burnham's relationship with Saru and Spock and gives a nice background to where Shenjou stands. I would recommend it for anybody that does not hate these characters with a passion.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 6:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Not liking something after a while makes sense. I stopped watching Game of Thrones last year and I have been a huge fan of the books since 2007 before the tv series. I have the Dark Horse statues, the Atlas,the pop toys, the short stories from various anthologies and so on. Season seven got royally on my nerves and I simply parted ways with it. I grumble about it more than I should but I respect the people who still like it for the romance or the action or whatever they keep doing.

Going back to (a broken as Jammer constantly complains) streaming service every week to watch something you do not enjoy baffles me. It looks like a waste of time when you can do something you actually enjoy to spend your free time.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 5:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

"As for the professional TV reviewers, they don't know sh*t when it comes to sci fi. They are so out of touch with the audience that it isn't even funny. And again, this is hardly surprising, given that professional TV reviewers usually aren't sci fi fans let alone Trekkies. You should never rely on mainstream reviewers to properly review a niche product."

Star Trek a niche product, really? With so many toys, comics, novels and tv shows/movies it seems to me as mainstream as it can get.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 3:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Overall I found this a very good episode. Kess had always a special relationship with the Doctor so it is interesting to see what happens when he injects some human vices into his personality. It changes the balances between them and also gives Picardo the chance to have some fun (That elevator scene was funny as well)

I like the way that this episodes tries to define humanity as a source of both good and malice. All these historical figures clearly had a dark side we sometimes pretend to ignore. Still their contribution to society transcends their personal limitations. So it leads to the point of people being essentially good despite their shortcomings. Which is something to appreciate on any ST show

Also after 60 or something episodes it is obvious that they will resolve everything in 40 minutes especially concerning a basic episode. Which makes everything funny because the reviewer is currently against keeping things "muddled" in discovery, while is also against "keeping everything tidy" here.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 3:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Seriously name me one likable character from GoT. I guess Tyrion but he just stands there muttering philosophical quotes since season 3 or whatever without doing anything.

In all fairness if Discovery had the level of dialogue and direction of the last couple of GoT seasons (where they cannot lift up text straight out of the books), there would have been tons of zero stars and hysteria all around the place. They took Euron without adding Victarion to the show and turned a very nuanced and complex character into what? Jack Sparrow on lsd? That pop singer or whatever cameo on season 7 killed so much momentum for ridiculousness. I stopped watching on s07e03 and not coming back for the finale. Hopefully the books will do better.

@Jammer

Thanxs God Europe has netflix, though the quality is all over the place. Very hard to get a good HD quality. Hope they fix it by the time the second part starts airing.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 5:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Dobber

Honestly I find it very difficult to think that anybody can really root for any of the characters of GoT. Even the ones that are superficially likable like Daenerys have the taint of madness and have commited acts of heinous violence.

So far I have seen positive elements in Captain Georgiou, Tilly, Stamets, Saru and Burnham that I cannot find in any GoT character and I have read the books as well. Hell, even the Albino Klingon is better and more honorable than any of these people.
Set Bookmark
Konstantinos
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 6:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

By reading most reviews here not only on Discovery but on Voyager and Enterprise as well I tend to think that there is a level of satisfaction to be gained by bashing every single star trek episode of every single series. "Oh look the Klingons are different, why can't they keep the cannon intact for once", 'Oh again with the mind melt, why don't they try something different for once". It is always easy to swindle between expressing rage for not seeing something different and for changing anything.

Guess what, the show just got renewed for a second season :) and a second novel on the Shenjou is on the works as well featuring Captain Lorca as a guest star . So you can grumble as much as you like it looks like we will have a star trek show on our screens for a while.

This episode was again almost excellent. Burnham starts to feel like a proper member of the crew. It is interesting to see characters making an evaluation of their upbringing and cultural beliefs in order to progress with their lives and to see how this process changes everything around them. Burnham changed something in Tilly maybe unintentionally and in the end they are both on different terms on who they are and what they are trying to become. The scene where Burnham reintroduced herself to the new crew member had more or less the same scope. It was one of the quiet moments of the show that really worked because It fitted very organically within the scope of the evolution of the character and at the same time felt very sincere and not melodramatic or cheesy because of its simplicity. It really reminded me of other classic trek moments where a simple gesture can be more powerful than anything, forging a strong bond between the characters. Brilliant stuff there. Lorca also continues to be very intriguing ans a character and Isaaks has become one of the most versatile actors of the series while at first he looked like a one-trick pony. I wanted to see more Vulcan politics and intrigue and I found the Sarek plot started a bit too quickly but I guess it will be the scope of future episodes.

Overall I give it an easy 4.5/5 . Definitely very well done.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.