Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 83 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
KiminAsia
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

A few amusing bits. I'm done with LD.
Set Bookmark
Kim in Asia
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 7:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

Enjoyed this more than the premiere, especially the opening showercscene. But Mariner is getting on my nerves, and the incessant callbacks eventually grow tiresome. Let the show grow on its own.
Set Bookmark
Kim in Asia
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 8:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

Tedious, apart from the opening surprise holodeck sequence. I'm tired of the rebellious daughter- type A mother captain fixation already.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 10:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Malcom shooting T'Pol is honestly the first time I've ever liked Malcom....
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, May 13, 2021, 9:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I CANNOT BELIEVE this is rated so high. So so so wrong. This was absolutely terrible. So bad I was offended at the end that they would seem this showable.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 11:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

I actually ADORED this episode. I found it especially amusing that future red alert system and the tactical chair came from like 12 hours of paranoia. Wonderful.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 1:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

I'm not even 20 minutes in and can I just say HOW SICK I AM of these generic story lines where a guy who thinks he's hot shit and knows everything is questioning them and thinks they're spies. Strong man, military leader unknowingly put of his depth. Snore. I'm over this trope.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 22, 2021, 9:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Price

(Does anyone even read this far down??)

Something I wish was played up a little more, but I've watched this episode before and it was on a rewatch that I caught this...

At the end Ral asked Troi to come with him. She said "I already have a job as a counselor." And OH MY GOD as a counselor myself that hit me. Deanna was overworked and undersatisfied in so many ways so to watch her romance fizzle from an indulgent excursion to another thankless taxing job was kind of heartbreaking.

It also makes me wish episodes had more continuity, where characters actually changed episode to episode.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I can't tell if someone mentioned this already. But I don't think the Ferengi ever called themselves Ferengi. Thus, it could not have been in the log and Picard would still not know what they look like.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 9:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I didn't hate this episode as much as I thought I would.

Though it is curious that the woman didn't survive her injuries whole Kirk was completely conscious and not injured. I'm developing a theory that Bones faked her injuries so that Kirk wouldn't want to stay and be with his child. ALSO that Bones has been doing this across the galaxy and Kirk has like 50 children. By the events of DS9 you have a 1/10 chance of being related to someone related to Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 6:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This episode is stupid. It's also hella racist.

I was so excited to see an entire race of people that weren't white (something that I griped on and on about for a long time, even in other Treks I get sick of planets full of while people and ONLY white peoplevand The Orville managed to do this in their 3rd episode). So here's a bunch of asians and I'm like wow, great. But then the other captain's like "The savages are clearly more like us!" Because they're the white ones. 🙄 This episode is disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Kim in Asia
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 7:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Much appreciate the reviews over the years Jammer, and the lively comments and debate section, which can get heated but is a forum in which I've never heard the "hater" dismissive ever used (unlike some Discovery boards, where any criticism...).

Happy holidays, all. Stay safe.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 11:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Boring. Badly written. Disgusting. Rapey. Offensive. Stereotypical. Basic. Stupid.

And most importantly, pointless.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 10:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Something I suspected, and I wish was suggested in the episode, is that this kid captain was not actually given a field promotion and told to continue, but that he was likely told by Captain Ramirez that he should act as captain JUST to take everyone home. My guess is kid was given orders to go home and he ignored them and didn't tell anyone, and kept on going. I think that fits the character, the fanaticism, the drug use.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Another pointless trip to the hypersexual manic universe with characters I don't care about and plot lines that make no difference to the overall story. I despise the mirror universe stories and all the bad wigs and overacting
Set Bookmark
KimD
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 1:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

The only downside of this episode is that I can never see it again for the first time. As great as it is, it will never again punch me in the gut with the revelation of Locutus, or delight me with the surprise characterization of Shelby.

I’ll weigh in on Shelby since opinions seem split. I thought she was a great character who added an important layer to the episode and ratcheted up the pressure on Riker. As much as I loved the show, the smooth interactions between all crew members and their cheery averageness became stultifying at times. Shelby joined Jellico, Barclay, and Ro In adding some refreshing variety to the personalities found at Starfleet.

She also did something that I wish the show had done more of: she threw light on a (debatable) flaw in one of the main characters. We are used to believing Riker is a perfect officer and Picard is a perfect captain and so forth. But through Shelby’s eyes, we can question this for the first time. Is Shelby right that he prefers sheltering in Picard’s shadow? Is he angry with her mostly because she was actually wrong to beam down to the planet early - or because her brashness threatens him and reminds him of what he’s lost with age? Is it because he isn’t used to sharing the bridge with an equal?

I would have preferred for the show to continue showing Riker’s internal struggles and flaws in later episodes, or - just as good - that he take a captaincy position so Shelby could replace him as first officer. But the show, like Riker, gravitated toward keeping the status quo.
Set Bookmark
KimD
Mon, Sep 9, 2019, 11:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

Good episode.

Baffled by a couple commenters saying the locals practiced polygamy. What Troi said was that women and men formed couples, and that if another woman were interested in a mated man (presumably interested in him for sex, though this wasn’t spelled out), she could discuss it with the man’s mate.

A lot of things were left unclear here: Did the male get a say in things? Did the couple stay coupled after the new woman made advances, or did the original
mate hand over her man and then find a new man of her own?

Riker leered happily at the thought of sexually aggressive women in a promiscuous society - but the idea of two women negotiating over a man’s sexual services without ever speaking to him is distasteful. It’s only acceptable because in our own twentieth-century world, women lack the physical strength or cultural power to make sex slaves of men. On Mintaka, gender roles could well be different.

The Troi-Riker exchange struck me as a clumsy stab at human-centered bro-humor circa 1990, ridiculously out of place among galaxy-travelers of the twenty-fourth century.
Set Bookmark
Harry Kim
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 10:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This might already have been pointed out. But the Enterprise sneaking away under cloak. Wouldn't change the fact, the Romulans know that the Federation developed cloaking technology illegally. Due to the simple fact, the Enterprise got out of that cavern! Using a phasing cloak no less!
Set Bookmark
Kim
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 8:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

There is no such thing as a bad Star Trek episode, just some better than others.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

You guys. Honestly. If a hologram of Josef Mengele appeared and tried to operate on you, and it turned out he picked up his technique by operating on a bunch of Jews, AND a person you worked with' s entire family was one of his victims during the holocaust, which happened 5 years ago, you wouldn't let him touch you either!

Honestly, I'm getting annoyed with all of you shortsighted nerds. I can't believe you don't understand this. Hologram or not, the image of this guy must send shivers down their spine. Get some fucking perspective
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Apr 11, 2018, 6:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I was super creeped put that Harry had a baby with Tom's daughter. I don't know why, but like... ick.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 6:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Coda

"Maybe I could stand with an apple on my head and you could phaser it off."
"Sounds great. If I miss I get to be captain."

This may be the best line in the entire series
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 6:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

I actually really really enjoyed this episode. My only problem was that Janeway didn't even ask to be sent home. She really doesn't want to go home, does she?
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 7:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE. GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD FORGET ABOUT THE FERENGI SHIP AND GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 11:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Wait, why only 3 stars??? This was easily the best episode so far. I loved the clown. I loved the makeup and the setting. The demented carnival vibe. I loved all the acting. Even Kim's wasn't so bad. It was creepy and freaky and a little bit scary. Dammit it was a perfect episode.

My only criticism is that more episodes of voyager aren't this well directed and thought out.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.