Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 66 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Harry Kim
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This might already have been pointed out. But the Enterprise sneaking away under cloak. Wouldn't change the fact, the Romulans know that the Federation developed cloaking technology illegally. Due to the simple fact, the Enterprise got out of that cavern! Using a phasing cloak no less!
Set Bookmark
Kim
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

There is no such thing as a bad Star Trek episode, just some better than others.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

You guys. Honestly. If a hologram of Josef Mengele appeared and tried to operate on you, and it turned out he picked up his technique by operating on a bunch of Jews, AND a person you worked with' s entire family was one of his victims during the holocaust, which happened 5 years ago, you wouldn't let him touch you either!

Honestly, I'm getting annoyed with all of you shortsighted nerds. I can't believe you don't understand this. Hologram or not, the image of this guy must send shivers down their spine. Get some fucking perspective
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Apr 11, 2018, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I was super creeped put that Harry had a baby with Tom's daughter. I don't know why, but like... ick.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

"Maybe I could stand with an apple on my head and you could phaser it off."
"Sounds great. If I miss I get to be captain."

This may be the best line in the entire series
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

I actually really really enjoyed this episode. My only problem was that Janeway didn't even ask to be sent home. She really doesn't want to go home, does she?
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE. GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD FORGET ABOUT THE FERENGI SHIP AND GO THROUGH THE FUCKING WORMHOLE
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Wait, why only 3 stars??? This was easily the best episode so far. I loved the clown. I loved the makeup and the setting. The demented carnival vibe. I loved all the acting. Even Kim's wasn't so bad. It was creepy and freaky and a little bit scary. Dammit it was a perfect episode.

My only criticism is that more episodes of voyager aren't this well directed and thought out.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

I liked this episode. I liked the "twist" about the robots killing the builders. I just felt like it ended very boringly. Like, oh yeah the other ships just ignored them. When the robots said they killed their enemies and then said B'Ellana was an enemy but yeah let's just let them go...
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

Dammit. I loved this episode. It was suspenseful, it was scary. It had internal logic for God's sake. How often does that happen on Voyager?

I think people are focusing too much on the awkwardness of Janeways lusting to the weird holodeck character. I mean, it's nowhere near as bad as that time Geordi Leforge actually fell in love with a woman in the holodeck.

This episode easily gets 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Sheldonari They are facing a 70 year journey home, they can't stay somewhere nice for a month.

I think this episode has limitations. The car, yes, makes no sense. And I would think that this society can't be so perfect that NO ONE wants to leave and go on Viyager. However, i agree that the moment where Janeway discovers there's no one in the cargo bay is amaxing and classic. As one reviewer said, the characters and the emotionality are great. The plot is once again not well thought out.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Wed, Mar 28, 2018, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

I think the best thing about the episode is the Vidiian with the dude's face. Super creepy. I loved it. More disturbingly creepy moments in star trek, please!
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

I also found this episode overwhelming. I'm not sure why it got 2 stars. It was infuriatingly boring. As one commenter said, death is a really good place to boldly go. And because I'm coming off of DS9, interacting with an alien culture using space anomolies as part of their religious ritual should have been written much more nuanced. DS9 didn't cover The subject of death very much either. Maybe we will never get a good episode... The character plots (the aliens') didn't make sense the way they were written off. I'm very disappointed in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Harry Kim
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 5:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Yanks
"MU Stamets did say this though... 'The ion storm must have - swapped your transporter signatures.'

This might indicate PU Lorca is in the MU somewhere."

The MU Buran, was destroyed by Emperor's ppl as MU Lorca was beaming back from the planet, Lorca said so. So either PU Lorca died on the MU Buran or he had already gone down with his ship by the time MU Lorca beamed in to PU? In which case he would have been beamed into empty space, and should have died?
Set Bookmark
Harry Kim
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

"but her feelings for MU Gergiou are completely misplaced, and someone presented to us as highly logical for a human should know better than this, which is another example of little characterization we got gone out the window for plot's convenience. "

This didn't feel out of character to me -Burnham grew up believing in logic. When Burnham followed logic and Vulcan principles to try and stop a war and save her Captain's life in the process, it didn't work out. Since then she has discovered that she was actually good enough for the Vulcan science grp and that Sarek let her down. She also acquired a roommate/friend and bf. I'm thinking that all these events served to lessen her devotion to logic and she has started following her heart more; and in that moment she just couldn't let the women with her Captain's face die.. it's not like they didn't share some nice moments together ... besides it makes for another new twist! !fun!fun!fun
Set Bookmark
Skimms
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Access to the captain's logs is restriced. Unless you walk over to the wall of a cargo bay and pull out one 'chip'. Then you can see whatever you want apparently.

I can pretty much buy that the monster can affect peoples minds, but how does it alter sensor readings? How could it possibly do that? Especially considering all the hundreds or thousands of different ships it encounters.

It's all cliches and gimmicks.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Skimmles
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

@randomthoughts - That was one of my major problems with the episode as well. No one would even know about the aliens if they hadn't invaded their dreams to begin with.

And I hate episodes where I'm just supposed to 'turn my brain off and go with the flow'. I don't watch Star Trek to turn my brain off. Quite the opposite. I don't want to have to accept the fact that the aliens basically couldn't exist as they are made out to be, and they are doing this for some vague reason, etc. etc. Either have an explanation of how and why things are happening, even if it turns out to be a not very good one, or don't put it in the show.

And if the aliens control this dream world, and control what everyone dreams, why would they let them dream they are escaping? If they only want to keep them there until their real bodies die, maybe have them dream they are locked in cages they can't get out of. Or just dream they are on vacation. IDK. Something, anything but the one thing they don't want them to dream about, which is about how to escape. And why would the aliens even reveal themselves to them in the dream and give themselves away in the first place? It all makes little sense.

Whatever. Bad episode.

1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Skimmy
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Better than the first two episodes.

2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Skimbles
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

As far as other people saying that the dream sequence where Kes and Tieran fight, that they are in the throneroom at the beginning and that it switches to Voyager to indicate that Kes is winning the psychic battle; that isn't true at all. In the whole sequence, Kes' side shows a bed and things, her room on Voyager, and Tieran's side shows the throneroom. It never switches from solely one to solely the other. It always shows both. It would have been good if they actually did what the other posters thought, because that would have been good direction, but unfortunately it's all in your imagination. I watched it three times to make sure. :)

And there is a massive plothole in this episode, namely the transporter.

They could have, and would have, beamed Kes back to Voyager immediately. They knew where she was, and they could have just done that, and figured out how to fix her and then stuck the synaptic stimulator in her neck and show over. But, you know, plot.

Tuvok beams down with the synaptic stimulator and gets into what must be the highest security place on the planet, somehow, by pretending to be a waiter with a curtain over his face. Whatever.

And then Tuvok is in trouble. They could have beamed him and Kes out then, but no they didn't. Why? Because plot. Tuvok had beamed down with the synaptic stimulator. It takes physical contact to use it. Tuvok is within a few inches of Kes for a long time, so why not stick it on her?

I think Kes is the best character on the show. And she is a powerful being to boot. But they never really explored that in any detail, and that's a shame.

2 stars. Mostly for Kes.
Set Bookmark
Skimpy
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Terrible episode. I'll skip over most of the terrible things in it that others brought up already and mention some of the other terrible things in it.

Chakotay takes the dead guys suit and says he'll make solar stills from it to collect water. How would that work exactly? How does a starfleet uniform convert into a solar still? And how would that give enough water for 150 people?

So the kid isn't Chakotay's. Seska had taken a DNA sample from Chakotay's spine in the earlier episode. Seska I guess accidentally used Cullah's DNA instead of the DNA she collected from Chakotay when she made the baby, so how did that happen? She can genetically engineer a baby from spinal fluid but, oops! she got the spinal fluid mixed up with Cullah's sperm! Or something. And she didn't ever do any sort of test to make sure who's baby it was? And a Cardassian/Kazon hybrid baby looks totally human except for one small bump on it's forehead. All that is stupid.

EMH: 'Computer, emergency medical priority one one four. Delete the signature of Mister Suder's comm. badge from the system. There is to be no record of his being on board.'

Because that is a medical emerency for sure. And why would he have the ability to do that at all?

Paris convinces the Talaxians to help him by saying he has a 'plan'. And they say 'OK we'll meet you there!'. Because they wouldn't ask what the actual plan was or anything.

TUVOK: '...I taught archery science for several years at the Vulcan Institute of Defensive Arts.'

LOL. Whatever you say Voyager.

The best way to rescue people held hostage by a band of aggresive armed cavemen is to walk right up to them and explain to them gently in an alien gobbledygook language that they are all going to leave, and then walk away. Yep. That would work.

Then after the dude gets eaten by the monster, they poke two sticks at the ceiling and cause the entire tunnel to collapse in a massive cave-in. Yep. That would work.

TUVOK: You may find nobility in the savage, Commander, but he is only interested in killing you.
CHAKOTAY: I don't believe that.

Because so far all they have done is kidnap two people and chase after you with spears and axes trying to kill you and then try to smoke you out of a cave so they can capture you and/or kill you, then chase after some more people with spears and axes. But no, Chakotay thinks they are nice. :) And of course he's right in the end, because, you know, Star Trek.

Chakotay rescues that cavewoman from the lava, by walking down a slope, and jumping onto a large rock and then onto her rock. Because there is no way she could have just done that herself, or anyone else could have, like maybe her caveman friends. Not to mention forgetting that it would be about 1000 degrees celsius where she is, but lots of shows/movies ignore the temperature thing (Revenge of the Sith and Return of the King spring to mind), so I won't blame Voyager too much for that bit.

The Kazon also used escape pods to leave Voyager, so they lost probably half of those this episode, but I guess they just made some new ones the same way they remake all of their shuttles and photon torpedoes.

The caveman puts a leaf with a rock in it(?) or something on Wildman's baby's chest and it's cured. Because of course primitive alien caveman medicine from the other side of the galaxy would treat a Human/Ktarian hybrid baby's fever and respiratory problems.

Part 1 wasn't very good, but it wasn't terrible. I gave it 2 stars. Part 2 is completely awful.

Zero stars for the planet nonsense, and 1 star for the space nonsense.

So 1/2 star overall.
Set Bookmark
Skimpy
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

Oh the plot holes. So many.

They discover a federation signal from a probe.

TUVOK: According to the encryption key, this particular code was not scheduled for implementation until stardate 48423.
KIM: That's a month after we left Deep Space Nine.

Seska got that code signal how exactly?

Then the Kazon attack and beat the crap out of Voyager. They can't go to warp, they can't transport, and their shields are able to be penetrated easily. Why not just keep the attack going and take the whole ship then? Or better yet why didn't they form a small alliance like they do later and bring more than one ship and take Voyager even more easily.

And when they bust through the shields there is this.

JANEWAY: How the hell can they do that?
CHAKOTAY: I don't know.
...
CHAKOTAY: It's as if they know our access codes.

So if Seska knows the access codes, why do they try and get them from Chakotay later?

And this.

CHAKOTAY: I'm betting Seska's figured out a way to shield the module from our transporters. We might have to destroy it instead.
TORRES: How do we do that?
CHAKOTAY: We borrow a trick from Seska's book. Remember how we disabled the computer core on the Cardassian frigate orbiting Bajor?
TORRES: Seska modified an anti-proton beam to penetrate its shields and hull.

So why didn't she do her trick again and disable Voyager's computer core?

And Seska can build a complete transporter system, from memory apparently, except for this one tiny module, which I guess she forgot how to build? Really. Ok then.

Chakotay takes a shuttlecraft. And that's a security breach?

JANEWAY: What I want to know, Mister Tuvok, is how he was able to get a shuttlecraft off this ship without either of us knowing about it.
TUVOK: Apparently he was able to override the lockout command.

You mean the first officer on the ship doesn't have the security clearance to know the lockout commands for a shuttle? I would think the XO would be able to take a shuttle whenever he felt like it. He should have asked for permission first, but that doesn't mean he wouldn't be able to take one. And what good are lockout commands if they can be overridden in so easily anyway?

Janeway calls for a meeting and they discover Chakotay missing within a few minutes of him leaving.

JANEWAY: Where's Chakotay?
TORRES: He was in Engineering helping me modify the coil scanner. He said he'd be right up.
JANEWAY: Janeway to Chakotay. Computer, locate Commander Chakotay.
COMPUTER: Commander Chakotay is not aboard the ship.

But somehow he has a gotten a three hour lead on them? I guess they sat around for three hours contemplating what to do before finally deciding to go after him.

Then they chase after Chakotay at maximum impulse. He has a three hour lead in a pitiful little shuttle. Why not just go to warp 9 and they would catch him in about 2 seconds?

So they are beating Chakotay for the codes (which they already had?). Because they need them to defeat Voyager I guess. But they didn't know Chakotay would come and be captured. They were expecting Voyager to show up and wouldn't have had the codes needed to defeat them that they were beating out of Chakotay. But with 7 ships they could defeat Voyager anyway, so why do they need the codes? They beat Voyager with codes and one ship earlier, but now they can't, because they have more ships and no codes. Or something.

And then they want to transport Chakotay when as Kim says, they are going 2 billion miles a second. So they are at least 30 seconds or more away when Torres tries to get a lock on Chakotay, but can't because of a dampening field. That means they are at least 60 billion miles away if not more. So the range of a transporter is now at least 60 billion miles instead of the normal 24,000 miles. Of course it is. For them to even attempt a lock from 24,000 miles away they would be about .000012 seconds from the target when going 2 billion miles a second.

Plus the many plot holes I didn't mention that other people brought up above.

One plot hole I can overlook. Maybe two. Or even three. But about fifteen? No.

1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Skimmy
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

The stars they show in the background in exterior shots and through windows are all twinkling. I just noticed that on Voyager the other day. Now they are doing it here too. Bad science.

So far this show is ok. We'll see how it goes.
Set Bookmark
Skimmer
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 4:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

Sorry, made a mistake. That humanoid Vidiian's brain was put into a holographic body. Not Neelix's.

Neelix was just given holographic lungs. :sigh:
Set Bookmark
Skimmer
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

My 2 cents on the whole sentience thing, is that in Star Trek, anything can become sentient pretty much. Actual philosophy or science be damned. Holograms, nanites, V'ger, androids, crystals, the enterpise itself, photonic energy, a freaking missile warhead ffs, etc. etc. So why bother debating it at all? The debate is meaningless. Especially since neither Data or the Doc actually exist, and not enough is known about the way either one actually works in the fictional universe anyway.

Also at various times the hologram Doc's program is put into the computer/human Seven's body and the humanoid Neelix's brain is put into a holographic body, and the human Graves put his brain into the positronic Data, etc. etc.

Not to mention that a transporter stores not only sentient humanoid brains, and Data's positronic one, and the Doc's computer program, in it's own computer all the time.

So forget debating sentience and brains and programs and stuff. Star Trek has it's own rule for sentience, and that is: Anything goes and it doesn't matter so why worry about it?

As for this particular episode. It was awful.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Skimbles
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

So apparently 7 can just upload the doc anytime she wants to now? So why at the end didn't she do that and let him eat the food instead of describing it and letting him enjoy it 'vicariously'? Was she taunting him?

The episode was sort of funny. Sort of stupid. Mostly pointless.

2 1/2 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.