Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 217 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Kenneth Leonard Kirk
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I'm amazed by how may people don't get the HUGE geometry fail, especially the writers and production staff of a space show. The reflector is WAY too close to the planet. The crew would NEVER be able to simulate a fake star that way even if the planet's inhabitants has no spectroscopic analyses. I'm amazed by the stupidity needed to both write this crap into the script and not catch on to the colossal fail. It's like the entire production team and most of the audience have no clue at all about perspective and luminosity. My respect for MacFarlane's intellectual capacity fell into the toilet with this, he obviously doesn't even get triangles. Maybe they need someone who didn't fail elementary science and math on staff.

Dumb-asses.
Set Bookmark
Kenton
Wed, May 27, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

I thought it was obvious that Beverly went unpunished because Dr Reyga's family would immediately excuse the autopsy when they learned she proved his shield actually did work. He wasn't interested in the potential profits, but his family surely would have been. If Worf can get away with revenge-killing Duras because the Klingon empire considered the matter closed, letting Beverly get away with the horrible "crime" of doing an autopsy after a suspicious death isn't much of a stretch.

I'm a little baffled at the hate this episode receives. I think this is a thoroughly enjoyable single-character-focus episode. Guinan and Ogawa were both used well. I agree that the performances of T'Pan and Christopher were off. But they were the least important guests, and I truly enjoyed Reyga, Kurak, and Jo'Bril. it's a fun episode. A 2.5 for me -- down from 3 due to the 2 duds in the cast.
Set Bookmark
hseiken
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I watched quite a few episodes of TNG when it was originally aired and wasn't enough of a 'fan' to follow onto the spinoffs (and from what I've heard, Berman is definitely a mismatch for the material). As well, I haven't seen every episode nor care about the lore, only the concepts and how those concepts are handled on an episode by episode basis, with only really being nitpicky about character motivations, performances, etc. You know, 'does it hold up as part of the series and as a standalone?' And the sci-fi stuff...well, yeah, it's sci-fi. Literally every sci-fi movie/series (even the movie Primer which took itself a little too seriously on the sci-side of sci-fi) can be dismantled because really the story and execution of the story is more important in...storytelling.

So I'm just commenting on my perspective as I drop a 9/10 review here. I'm rewatching the entire series front to back and so far, this has been my favorite episode. Most of them, I have playing in the background while I am working on something else, but this one I stopped what I was doing and actively watched it start to finish.

To some of the commenters talking about Picard listening to Guiana, I don't think that was a hangup of writing as many people point out. I think Picard, knowing that the Federation was going to lose the war anyway found hope in 'this timeline isn't right'. However, I think where expanding the episode into more parts might have been interesting would be exploring how he lived a life of war that should have never happened. They do touch on this idea with Yar, but finding out you had an unnecessary existence inside of a 20 year war where you likely had many friends who died in it...I would think Picard would have a little trouble dealing with it. However, given the format of 45-ish minutes that the story must be told in, I don't mind it not being there.

For the other comments that Yar shouldn't go back after Picard fought, well, maybe that's implied in the point I just brought up. Maybe Picard thinks his death would be pointless in this timeline and giving Yar a chance to correct her pointless death is something he thinks he can do given he is about to have a heroic last stand for something he thinks can prevent the war from ever happening.

And finally, I think comments trashing the actress portraying Yar generally have no merit. I won't say she's the best thing to ever grace TNG, but people really overstate the negatives of her performance to the point of unreasonable vitriol. I simply don't get it. No one in the first season was doing all that great. As the series goes on, everyone in the cast begins maturing into their character. That's just how series work. Even in films, as shooting progresses, you can sense whether the movie was shot in sequence or out of sequence because of the longer time spent in character.

At any rate, again, dropping a 9/10 on this episode. Not perfect, but is both energetic and poses interesting concepts in a concrete form that often are just silly discussions one might have while smoking a joint or having a beer with a close friend. Very cool and very Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Thomas Kenny
Wed, Feb 26, 2020, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I disagree with this weeks review. I thought the episode was absolutely superb. 5 stars and trek at its finest.
Set Bookmark
Kentac
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Jammer, thanks as always for remaining reasoned and level-headed. When you (as opposed to some others here, who listen not with their ears but with their mouth) say "It ain't Trek," you make an actual argument for why. You cited the torture and the gore and how it came off as stuff one would find in a snuff film. Your observation that attacking a specific writer is both unfair and a fool's errand has much merit to it - all the more so compared to "arguments" that attack Alex Kurtzmann. Is no one here humble or mere-mortal enough to realize that they do not know what writer, what persom, etc., is responsible for the action, dialogue, and plotting on the show, except you? Also, I have read the dreaded "critics" reviews; they are helpfully aggregated by episode on Rotten Tomatoes. One would think those critics (some of whom make their knowledge of Trek apparent because they can write with clarity) have opinions that are no better and no worse than yours or mine. There are no better or worse opinions - only better-reasoned judgments and less better-reasoned ones. Many people hatw to be reminded of this because they son't like being told dissent from them isn't necessarily "stupidity." Being a fan of Star Trek (however one defines it-either with their "I am right, you are wrong" monopolistic exclusionary definition or otherwise) does not not make one any better a worse a judge of what good drama is. It can serve to verify the "wisdom" of one's beliefs. As Roger Ebert said, "Beliefs, we need to be reminded, are beliefs precisely because they are not facts." And beliefs arent any more "true" because they fall in line with what we think a sacred cow like Godard prophesized. His films can be critcized too and I found the last twenty years' worth to be incomprehensible bores, in significant part. The level of hatred for differing opinions on this site is getting worse. In the past, someone may have made a comment about religion or race that set others off; the comment may ha e been tangentially related to an episode. The hatred now oozes out when someone merely describes an episode. Kurtzman made it, so it must be bad, QED. Once we give own opinions the status of received wisdom, there is no logical limit to how unwelcome and hostile we will be to others who dare to think differently... or to think at all. I would like to think that if people who disagreed with each other on this site, met in real life, that they could at least hold a civil conversation, their having the commonality of being Trek fans, but I'm not so sure.
Set Bookmark
Kendo
Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Return of the Anykey

Happy to say I have been collecting the GW2k keyboards for many years. I have worn through a few, but still have a minimum of six working units.

I have to use the PS2-USB adapters, but so far they have all worked even when changing between keyboards. Some of my laptop docks still have PS2 ports making connections very sweet.
Best of luck to other users, maybe someday a cool replacement will be put on the market. When they do, I will start with a six count order.
Kendo
Set Bookmark
Gen. Kenobi
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 9:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Asher0208 I agree with many of your favorites though I think season two had many classics like “Q Who”, “Contagion”, “Elementary, My Dear Data” and “Peak Performance”. Even clunky episodes like “Samaritan Snare” have their charm.

“It is fairly obvious that a guiding premise of Star Trek is that atheism is true and a humanistic outlook in life is to be desired.”

Are you certain? Putting Gene’s personal beliefs aside, I think Trek leaves it open to the viewer. There is a tendency for religious folks to see episodes like “Who Watch the Watchers” and come to the conclusion that Star Trek is anti-religious, when really the episode was acutely cautioning against false religion creating a Dark Age.

Re: McFadden

I think she’s underrated. Sure, she’s certainly no McCoy, but she did the play the voice of science and reason in a believability humanitarian way.
Set Bookmark
Gen. Kenobi
Tue, Jun 25, 2019, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

"I wish there would be some mechanism here for people to fork off into heir own private nattering back and forth off topic ramblings of brain-vomit and not clutter up these comment sections with irrelevance."

The site owner encourages us to have discussions. Some people are just watching these shows for the first and enjoy discussing new things they see with other fans. If you don't wish to participate, you're totally free to scroll past it - a handy feature used in web browsers since the early 90s.
Set Bookmark
Kensu
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I'm hoping it ends with them stuck in the future, it would solve so many of the show's problems. The only thing stopping this from happening is Spock being onboard, but we saw him piloting a shuttle in the preview, which gives an opportunity for him to be left behind.
Perhaps they could even buy Bryan Singer's pitch for Federation and use some of his ideas: such as the Vulcan and Romulans reuniting into one race, the Ferengei running the entire quadrant, and the the Cardassians adopting a religion of enlightened masochism.
Set Bookmark
Kensu
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Why don't they just use the spore drive to jump to another galaxy, or intergalactic space? How is Control going to follow them?
Set Bookmark
Kensu
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Humans send out a probe, it comes back heavily augmented and tries to destroy them. (Rocky the flying squirrel voice) "Again?"
Set Bookmark
Mackennon King
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

My only problem with Discovery so far is how unlikable Michael Burnham is. Don't get me wrong, I really like Sonequa Martin-Green, but her character bores me to death, and I still don't think she's redeemed herself for what she did in season one. So far, it's the supporting characters that make this show for me. Lorca, Pike, Saru, Tilly, Stamets, and even Georgiou (despite barely being in the show) are so much more likable and memorable. I hope Michael gets better over the course of this season and the seasons yet to come.
Set Bookmark
Kenneth Willis
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Forgive me if this has been said already (I have not read every single post) but the chief objection to Kirk's taking Edith forward to the future is that it would have completely destroyed her mind. Even if Kirk had been able to explain the consequences of her action, she could never fully envision it. She would then be stranded in a totally alien universe, never again to see her parents, siblings, friends, etc. It would have freaked her out, and been unspeakably cruel.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sat, Aug 11, 2018, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

So the Phoenix is 300,000 kilometers from the Cardassian warship.......ummm, thats 186411.358 MILES!!! Nice to know phasers and photons can do that......or did the writers just figure nobody would notice? SMH
Set Bookmark
Ken
Sun, Jul 15, 2018, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

@borusa
You might want tro translate that apparent diatribe....do you get drunk and THEN post?
I agrre with a lot of those who posted earlier that Pert 2 is trash compared to Part 1...a real let down! 2.5 stars at best!
Set Bookmark
Obi-Two Kenobi
Tue, May 15, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"The Empire vs Rebels... then the Empires vs Rebels... then it's (shocker!) once again, the Empire vs..."

Did you miss the prequels they released about 20 years ago? Neither of those factions existed in those movies. If your complaint is about "Light side" versus "Dark side" then Star Wars may not be your thing; the struggle between those two sides is key to the main films. Yet, I think even in the films like "Empire Strikes Back" there's much more going on then just Empire and rebels fighting. There's lots of people from all sides who are mixed up in the main conflict, and there's nuance and intrigue in the stories that lead people to be either light or dark, or somewhere in-between.
Set Bookmark
Kent Clark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ah, the symmetry of the internet timeline! I find it fascinating to read a decade of comments about a show that initially aired more than a score of years earlier. What’s lacking in the episode I think, is a more complete discussion of how Tuvix’s personality was a complementary balance of the stoicism of Tuvoc and the impulsive id od Nelix.
Set Bookmark
Stanley Kenner
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

The obvious has not been mentioned. When Kirk, Spok and Macoy returned to the present, everything was as before. Their uniforms, equipment and memories. They had no recollection of what happened in the past. Spok first looked shocked when he returned to the present. Then he saw Macoy return which caused him to use logic by stating “We were successful”. Had they not been successful the three would not have returned.

All Kirk and Spok remembered was jumping to try and land in the1930’s to stop Macoy and landing back where they started. In this way, in the words of the Guardian, “Time has regained its shape. Everything is as it was before”. This would include the memories held by Kirk, Spok and Macoy.
Set Bookmark
Ken
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

In the scene where Picard is with Beverly after the mind meld with Sarek, on the back of the chair Picard is sitting in......isnt that the sash the Mintakans presented to Picard? Ive watched this episode a dozen times and only noticed it today!
Set Bookmark
Ken
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

TOTALLY agree with Timothy from 10/15/17....1st part was FAR better than the 2nd....it's like the writers got you hooked, then fed you a trivial piece of mostly nonsense.....where did the Duras sisters go? Worf was gone for most of this episode. Guinan is a tad pretentious...even by her worthless character's standards. When and why would any Romulan commander willingly just beam aboard the Enterprise (or ANY Federation ship) for a tete a tete? I give this episode MAYBE 2.5 stars at BEST!
Set Bookmark
Kennedy99
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

Since this is my first comment I will keep it short...More than any Star Trek
show I have watched so far, this one - I mean, this series - encourages me to
focus more on the wonders of space travel, and less on universal morality
themes. Sure, I think humanity needs to be careful of where it is going, but
but sloppy, emotional, impatient humanity is also what got us thinking about
the mysteries of the universe. The wonder of the Enterprise crew as they
encountered the comet was priceless: yes, what is out THERE is truly
amazing. Let's never forget that.

tc
Set Bookmark
Skengly
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

I also thought it was pretty boring. But not terrible.

An extra 1/2 star for Torat.

2 1/2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Obi-Two Kenobi
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"If had seen this movie without any knowledge of the previous films, I certainly wouldn't be able to tell who was bad or good."

Oh really, the black-costumed caped guy wouldn't give it away for you? Seriously, this isn't rocket science, folks.
Set Bookmark
Obi-Two Kenobi
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Carrie Fisher, rest her soul, was 60 and had been fighting opiate addiction for decades. There’s really only so much make-up can do.
Set Bookmark
Obi-Two Kenobi
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

“Abrams is a charlattan, a cinematic huckster“

To be clear, Abrams neither wrote nor directed this movie. Rian Johnson gets those credits.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.