Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 46 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Ohhh... I forgot to add...

Yet another episode where everyone comes together at the end to get really emotional! Clapping and tears this time because one or the other isn't enough lol
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Tilly being chosen as 1st officer is insane, as many have said. It highlights two problems. First, the lack of any other characters who could possibly be considered for this position shows the weaknesses in the shows cast/characters or writing, whichever you prefer.

Secondly, it could be that the writers are trying to do an arc with Saru making a bad choice and Tilly learning a hard lesson. Unfortunately after 2 years of bad writing, no one is willing to trust the writers can or able to do this. With that trust missing, it becomes so hard to take risks or develop interesting story ideas. Trust is a fundamental must between viewer and writer. You can roll with writing mistakes sometimes because everyone is human, but it's very hard to believe in this show at this point.

Lastly, I enjoyed the courtroom scenes without really understanding them. I liked the genuine intensity rather than faked emotion, i liked that it seemed to be grounded discussion. But I'm not sure I followed how the whole discussion played out and the various elements tied together. I felt like the scenes had more to say and more thematic material to develop but never quite got there. A similar example is the dinner scene in The Undiscovered Country with the Klingons, well acted and intense, but falling short of full impact and meaning.

I can't tell if this is the show or perhaps I wasn't paying enough attention, perhaps because I'm bored by these characters etc...

2.5 stars out of 4 for me
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@booming
My thoughts are that a team of scientists in this century would have to travel to areas soooo far away they'd not be able to get there in 100yrs to investigate before Burnham arrives.

Ie. Today scientists could observe something happen on the moon but theres no method of transport available to get there in a reasonable amount of time to actually investigate....

On the other hand, I agree with you that I can see no good reason why Starfleet hq has to be kept secret.

Perhaps this just reflects the kind of show Discovery is.... the reasons why things are the way they are, are all there. But it's never presented particularly coherently or logical or whatever for the show to actually feel solid and feasible?
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@booming

I feel like Burnham can't keep away from mysteries, that's a personality trait in think I see in the character.

So regardless of how helpful answering what caused The Burn would be, she will always be drawn to figuring out the biggest mystery of the day...

I could be very wrong however!
Set Bookmark
Keiren Simmons
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

Hmm... S3 has been much, much better. I think there's a battle going on between the irretrievably poor character writing and story turns of the first two seasons against the improvement of S3. I am enjoying what I'm seeing but I'm constantly reminded of terrible things the show has done. Eg. the doctor is fine, and I can even forget he died, but when its brought up in dialogue like in this episode I just groan because that was a terrible past plot.

As for this episode, I genuinely enjoyed it, although there were still some mundane elements and parts I didn't like. The prison break was very generic but looked amazing!

Some people saying that Burnham is arrogant by trying to solve the burn is not quite accurate in my opinion. Theres likely many species out there who know what caused the burn but are totally out of contact and range of a Starfleet without warp drive. Burnham simply recognises Discovery has more opportunity to investigate since they can travel around.

I really feel like Burnham should've received more punishment. She shouldn't be allowed to serve on the ship as she cannot be trusted despite her abilities. When I saw the opening couple of episodes, I really thought her and Book would end up on his ship and Discovery would carry on with their ship. It seemed really clear her place was no longer in Starfleet and i thought that was they angle they would pursue. I'm kinda hoping after her insubordination here she ends up with Book off Discovery, as the character has been doing ok there.

I slightly disagree with a poster above who said Saru went to Tilly for advice. I read that scene as Saru knowing Tilly hadn't come forward with information and giving her the opportunity to correct that and offer and details Saru didnt know, although he was aware of the bigger picture of what Burnham had done.

The other thing is I cant believe this is another episode with the characters getting so emotional/crying over what needed to be done. I'm thinking of Burnham and Saru at the end. It waters down emotional moments in general and really is an overreaction. I know people have said this before.

Overall... 3 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I thought the first 4 episodes were interesting but different. After all, everything has to change and try new things and we all have different limits on how much we want or expect things to change

However this week was not a good episode for me. I believe the reason Sevens appearance feels random is because if I remember correctly, she knew nothing of Picards mission. She wasnt there to join a mission she knew about, she just kinda showed up because shes from a previous series.

It also felt like there needed to be clarification if Seven and Picard knew each other. Because we are familiar with both onscreen it was a point that I think needed better clarity as to how the characters related to one another.

I too am against the gore. Whether it is appropriate or not, it's not something I want to see. If I did I would watch a different kind of program. I also feel like the violence and gore is used to prove we are watching a "mature" series, which is nonsense. Looking at other TV shows or other ST like DS9 proves that shows can be mature, complex and engrossing with or without gore.

In the same way, the broken characters we are watching do not inheritly make them more interesting. They can be more interesting, but surely it's just as if not more interesting and compelling to show how characters maintain their standards and moral integrity?

It's so much easier to write broken characters that have given into the pressures of this universe than it is to show the struggle to be better.

That being said, it is interesting to see a different side to this universe. However this dark side is all we see, so there is no point of comparison to the better side, the light side that others live in. From what we know of this show everyone is bitter broken or down because we dont have any positive, happy characters.

I could be very wrong about all of this and I haven't commented in a loooong time so I'm not sure I've been very articulate but everyones comments have been very interesting so far... :-)
Set Bookmark
Keiren Simmons
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I can't disagree with this review more! Jammer clearly put a lot of thought into it however.... ;-)

I got tired of reading the phrase "on its own terms" in the review. Voyager worked "on its own terms" at what It set out to be, a one hour action adventure while being entertaining. However jammer doesn't rate it highly because it doesn't live upto it's potential.

Into Darkness "works on its own terms" as a blockbuster movie while being entertaining but doesn't reach anywhere near its potential unfortunately.

I think the difference we are seeing is the review now of a casual Star Trek fan compared to one who used to be invested in the franchise.

The movie itself? Dull, uninspiring and simply disappointing in my opinion :-(
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

This movie is proof that Into Darkness and future Star Trek films didn't need to trash all over Star Trek to be a good movie!

3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Mar 15, 2016, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Hey guys,

Just thought I'd way in as someone who didnt see or hear almost anything about Star Wars until I was about 16 not quite 10yrs ago.

When I first saw this movie, I really wondered what all the fuss with Star Wars was about. I liked some things, the kid was good, the pod race & Jar Jar wasn't. But it seemed slow & ponderous.

However I then did enjoy AOTC but on repeat viewings that's just got worse.

So going back to the OT as someone who didnt see them originally when they come out, nor had them spoiled, they are far better movies, but to be honest I found them glorified fairytales & that were alright, I could never understand the hype.

Maybe thats because I'd been watching Star Trek since a young age, perhaps I was used to space, the weirdness, wonder & aliens Idk...

But yh... those are just my thoughts in response to @latex_zebra & Jammer about how newcomers view the moveis.... Enjoy! :)
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

This one is funny. A bit sexist too. But seriously take a break & enjoy the lighthearted fun you know... DS9 gives plenty of everything from its stories, & this is a comedy one.

& this episode deserves a star from all the haters who like "arc" & "serialised" shows because it plays into the Ferengis final evolution at the end of the series
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Wow @Robert I appreciate your quick & detailed response. I'll have to watch & listen closer in future!

I always knew there was a reason I identified with Bashir! lol :-P

I still find it a little odd never to hear of Kira's siblings again... but hey :)
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

I dont understand this complaint of "all this never really happened." The writers are showing us how this what if premise would play out, they're the ones telling us this is how the characters would react.

Finally, its not all "undone" by the end because it impacts Bashir, adds Section 31 to the series & we see the regulars debating it.

The idea could've been quite bland but in the end the writing & performances take this familiar idea & make it intriguing & a lot of fun!
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Is this episode bulletproof? No. Is it interesting & engaging? Yes. 3 out of 4 stars.

The ideas & debates put forth are certainly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Aug 11, 2015, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Really? @Robert. That's interesting to know. Is this mentioned in the series? Or in books?
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Aug 10, 2015, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

How about Kira having brothers? Isn't this never seen or mentioned again? :-O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

www.lcarscom.net/rdm1000118.htm
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 7:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Scary!
Ron Moore interview:

www.lcarscom.net/rdm1000118.htm
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, Jan 16, 2013, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

The really insulting thing? It HAD to be framed by a TNG episode, like there weren't enough movie's or references to them enough...
How about some DS9 or Voyager characters showing up? Ohhh...no...cause the creators dont love them, they just glorify the averageness that is TNG...
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, Oct 23, 2012, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

This one was BORING! :O
And awful direction... :(
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Jammer! U need a "like" button on these comment pages... some of the comments are hilarious!! :P
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Thu, Jun 21, 2012, 8:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: 33

i found the Olympic Carrier sequence cliche...seen it before, military types dont wanna fire on civillians, they have to blah, blah blah! see it in every military program :O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Sat, May 12, 2012, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

Hey! Not biased to any of the characters? Really? Whats happened to Dualla then??? :O
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Wed, May 9, 2012, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Third Season Recap

Lol!
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Tue, May 8, 2012, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Hmm...i didnt like this one, but I will say, why cant you just enjoy the hour that is on without over analysing??

Its a decent hour, things will happen off screen, this is the story that has been told competently. Maybe we should look at it this way, instead of the writes not continuing the story in late episodes, we should use our imagination for ourselves?? Rather than being spoon fed everything....

Im not necessarily an advocate of this, im just playing devils advocate and seeing if anyone might agree with that...?
Set Bookmark
Keiren
Mon, May 7, 2012, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Just guessing here...but isnt Starbuck the final cyclon because she is resurrected at the end of this episode??
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.