Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Hi Jammer,

I know I'm very late to the party here and you probably won't see this, but I'm rewatching the series on Amazon and had to comment. I'm old enough to have been a fan of the original series, and I think Kara is a Seraph. If you've never seen the original series, the Seraphs are wingless angels who travel around in a spaceship called The Ship of Light in which Apollo (Richard Hatch) is resurrected (War of the Gods). This is the ship that Kara paints throughout the series, and is IMO also the basis for the Resurrection Ship. The Seraph are also the basis for the Final Five. The giving up technology at the very end of the new series also has its basis in the original. In fact, if you watch the original series, there are many, many inferences to the original.

Just my two cents. I'm about 10 years late, but that's okay!
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Jan 11, 2015, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I just think this episode has so many good scenes, and it was extremely well-written. Lal was acted extremely well.

This episode just got me so emotional while watching it, moving laughter to sadness.

The only blemish on the episode was the admiral, but even still, this episode is easily one of the best of the season. Despite the rushed ending, you have to be heartless to not feel anything when Lal tells Data she loves him and says, "Father, thank you for my life."
Set Bookmark
Katie
Wed, Nov 5, 2014, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I've probably seen this episode at least five or six times and it always makes me cry. Every. Single. Time. The scene where Picard announces Sito's fate and her friends all over the ship look up from what they're doing in shock? Sucker punch.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I've been re-watching ENT for the first time after watching the whole series 4 years ago. This is the first episode that was remotely familiar to me. Every other episode so far, I didn't remember anything. That goes for the series as a whole--I have some vague memories of the Xindi and I think something about Nazis? Oh, and the Borg episode, mostly because it pissed me off so much. But other than that, nothing. On the other hand, when I re-watched VOY and DS9 on Netflix over a decade after watching them on TV as a child, there were dozens of episodes that I remembered and was delighted to see again.

This really encapsulates the problem with Enterprise. It was just totally underwhelming and unmemorable. The one really familiar element emerging so far is how deeply annoying Archer is as a captain. I think it's partially the writing, but mostly Bakula's acting. He completely lacks the gravitas of Stewart, Brooks, and Mulgrew. He just comes off as an idiot.

Seriously wondering if I want to devote any time to re-watching this series.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Sep 5, 2014, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

The Quark/Dax/Worf stuff is fun, but for me by far the best part of this ep was the O'Brien storyline. The tension and discomfort between Kira and Miles struck me as very realistic under the circumstances. How could you not look at a woman differently when she's carrying your child, living in your home, you're massaging her on a daily basis, helping her in and out of the bath? I think it's great that the writers addressed this awkward situation rather than ignoring it.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I have to say, I think it's kind of uncool to hijack Jammer's review pages to publish your own, lengthy, and unsolicited reviews. If you feel so strongly about these episodes and have long-winded opinions about them that you wish to share, why don't you start your own Trek reviews site?
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@DPLB: Chris' analogy between the Sandiford case and this episode, which you dismissed so aggressively above, is actually pretty apt. If you watch the ep again, you'll see that Miles is caught with the warheads in his runabout's cargo hold. Of course, as we discover, they were planted there by a Cardassian agent--but you might well say he was caught red-handed smuggling weapons that could endanger thousands of lives.

In other words, context matters.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@DPLB: um...wow.

You don't think execution by firing squad is a bit excessive for a drug offense? The international community certainly thought so. Lindsey Sandiford is a middle-aged mother of two who claimed--and the evidence supports her claim--that she was coerced into helping a drug smuggling ring by threats to her family. She gave evidence that helped convict members of that ring, all of whom received lesser sentences (time in prison). The prosecution team themselves recommended 15 years in prison as her sentence. But she received the death penalty from a judge who believed her trial had threatened Bali's tourism industry (!). She has received no help from the UK government, whose representatives say things like "how very unfortunate!" about her situation. She is now on death row in Indonesia.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

@Elliot:
WOW. This is what you call a "little review"? Please stop.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Elliott, this is not true. Capitalism is free markets, and even the currencies themselves are also subject to whatever happens in the marketplace. In a real capitalistic society, there would be multiple currencies, and the best of them would be rise to the top. It could be gold or something else - let the market decide.

When I refer to capitalism, and I am referring to Laissez-faire capitalism where the markets are not controlled by governments and there is a respect for property rights.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Wed, Aug 6, 2014, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Oh WOW. Did I know there were BSG reviews here? Bye for five hours.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

What is so fictional about capitalism? It is people consensually trading with one another. People give up things of what they perceive are lesser values for things they perceive are greater values. Is this really so strong? That is exactly what it is.

As for Corey and Elliot, capitalism isn't what we have right now. It's hardly unregulated and is nothing even close to what capitalism is. There is so much regulation, from both right and the left (even more from the right under Bush) that one could hardly call it capitalism. Every year, the state gets bigger and bigger. There's nothing capitalistic about what we have right now, so if you think capitalism is at fault, you're criticizing the wrong thing. This is not capitalism.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Apr 20, 2010, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

It's interesting to me that your main objection to this episode was the bizarre "sci-fi machinations," considering that your nutshell review of Tuvix--in which two characters are merged WITH A FLOWER via a bizarre transporter accident--said something like "a bizarre premise that nonetheless works."

My main problem with this isn't the bizarre science, although there are probably cleverer ways to clone someone than using magic slugs. I had trouble connecting emotionally with the episode because so few of the characters seemed to give a crap. No one--not even Phlox!--debates or questions the situation. It seems to be taken as a given by everyone except Sim that he deserves to live less than Trip. I would have appreciated some hints that other members of the crew--Hoshi? Reed?--were uncomfortable with the situation.

Equally problematic was Archer's single-minded and pointless aggression. The overly friendly, slightly dumb, slightly goofy Archer of seasons 1-2 got pretty annoying, but the hyper-aggressive Archer of this season is no more appealing. The scene in Trip's quarters where he essentially berates Sim for wanting to live disgusted me.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Mon, Apr 19, 2010, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Wow. Berman and Braga reach into their "Voyager" bag of tricks and pull out...Threshold? The show that was so unbelievably bad it's not considered canon by Trek fans? The show that can be summed up "they go so fast they turn into lizards"?

I was about to say that Enterprise had hit a new low, but then I remembered that the first season included a Ferengi episode. Oh, well.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Mon, Apr 19, 2010, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

"Harder...harder...[sigh]...just like that."

Bah, indeed.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Apr 18, 2010, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I really liked this episode, but was very put off by Archer's high-handed dressing down of Trip at the end. In terms of first contact screw-ups with potentially severe repercussions, Trip's actions seemed a lot more understandable and a lot less stupid than Archer's decision to escalate a war rather than admit that he and Reed were aliens in "The Communicator." Leaving one side of a conflict with the impression that its opponents are in the midst of developing vastly superior technology seems like it could cause a lot of deaths. But, of course, neither Archer nor the audience was ever given a look at the outcome of that situation.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sat, Apr 17, 2010, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

I have to agree with most of the previous comments. Star Trek VI was one of the franchise's best films, if not the best--which is exactly what makes it so irritating to see it dumbed down into something much less impressive. If you've done something well on film, what's the point of ripping it off poorly ten years later for TV?
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Apr 16, 2010, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

This episode didn't remind me so much of "Inner Light" as of Voyager's "Projections," with elements of TNG's "Eye of the Beholder" and, of course, "The Next Phase" thrown in for good measure. The trouble with Enterprise's unoriginality (so many shows can be easily pegged as riffs off of previous Trek episodes) is that it leaves the "mystery" completely unmysterious, and, hence, not very compelling. I became convinced very early on that Hoshi was still in the transporter buffer, and that left a lot of the story completely underwhelming.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Apr 11, 2010, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

While I also found the episode unsatisfying and the bizarre Archer vs. Tolaris scene was, well, bizarre, I really liked the idea that T'Pol was moved or inspired by human music. The kind of music we've heard from the Vulcans has really been sonorous chanting--with only bare-bones rhythm and no harmony--about as far from New Orleans jazz as you can get. Music often has the ability to provoke strong emotions in humans, so why not Vulcans? Perhaps what T'Pol experienced was that exhilarating, foot-tapping urge to sing and dance along, an urge that seems thoroughly foreign to Vulcan ideas of control.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sat, Jun 27, 2009, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

The "explanation" of Bones' nickname actually turned out to be one of the most annoying aspects of the film for me. "Sawbones" is an old slang term for a surgeon or physician and Kirk's adaption of it in TOS did not require a kitschy, cutesy explanation. I was disappointed that Abrams and the writers descended, in this instance and others, to the old prequel standby of inventing overly complicated "explanations" for the details that often made the original interesting.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Wed, Apr 30, 2008, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Although I'm not a big fan of the Borg queen, this episode did raise an interesting question about her, and about the nature of the Borg as a whole when she tells the child in Unimatrix Zero that she was assimilated at about his age.

So the Borg existed before the queen--does that mean that she somehow emerged as an individual but remained linked to the hive, thus changing the nature of the Borg? Or have there been a succession of queens (or kings)? If that's the case, how do they come to exist? Are they created by their predecessors, as the queen attempted to create Locutus? Or are they originally drones? Was this perhaps the role that the queen had for Seven of Nine when she brought her back to the Collective in Dark Frontier?

Interesting questions--but unfortunately this episode will forever be hampered (for me anyway) by a glaring problem in the story--how do Axom and the others in Unimatrix Zero know that Seven has escaped the Collective? If they can't carry memories between Unimatrix Zero and the real world it seems there's no possible way they could know what's happened to her. She would have stopped appearing in Unimatrix Zero, but she could simply have died or been "deactivated" or whatever.

Maybe this isn't a major problem in terms of willful suspension of disbelief, but it messes up the story for me.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Apr 29, 2008, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

Voyager continues to chip away at the Borg concept. In this episode's teaser we see 1) the Borg queen talking to a drone as if he's an individual, 2) the drone responding with "I" and 3) the drone exhibiting fear of death. What is going on? Whatever happened to the Borg of TNG?
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Apr 29, 2008, 9:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

The saddest thing about this episode was the "romance" between Seven of Nine and Chakotay. It was clearly invented to pander to the fans and came off completely unnatural and even bizarre. Whatever happened to all that stuff happening off in the wings with Janeway and Chakotay?
Set Bookmark
Katie
Wed, Feb 27, 2008, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This was my first experience with Enterprise, and I'm sorry to say I was disappointed. I love self-referential Trek as much as the next person, but I prefer homage (a la "Trials and Tribble-ations" to blatant rip-off. Not only does the suggestion that 22nd-century humans could fend off 24th-century Borg strain my credulity, but the parting revelation (the Borg are coming!) was a pretty cheap shot--the subtext here is that Enterprise is trying to fit itself into a canon in which it clearly does not belong.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Feb 26, 2008, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

This is actually my favorite of all the Trek films--although the parallels are obvious, it makes for an engaging story independent of the allegory. Many of the Shakespeare references are quite subtle--my favorite is the Chameloid's remark "I thought I would assume a pleasing shape"--reference Hamelet II.ii.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.