Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 114 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 10:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

Very good episode, and so great to see Majel Barrett in a role that is not annoying. Laid the foundation for androids in TNG and beyond. Bonus for having Lurch in there (I also thought it was Mr. Homm at first).

My only gripe is how repetitive the ideas are in the TOS. The episode before this is about yet another duplicate of Kirk...I mean you literally have back-to-back episodes about Kirk playing an alternative Kirk and himself. Before that, there were back-to-back episodes about humans who had secrets/abilities that no one knew about.

Looking at TOS as someone who grew up in the 90s, the effects look cheap and the technology is laughable. However, it was the strength of the characters and the acting that really carried the show. You could never have a Harry Kim or Neelix on TOS because their crappy characters would have sunk the show.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 8:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I loved Voyager and this episode was great, but not as a series finale.

First, a huge missed opportunity again to not have Kim still be an ensign 30 years in the future, blaming Starfleet being a small organization that has too many lieutenants.

But in all seriousness, the writers really flunked here by failing to have any aftermath of the arrival home. The entire "tension" of the show is being far from home, and you can't just wrap 7 years of that in 2 minutes. Season 7 had so many "throwaway" episodes that no one wanted, so it is tragic that they wasted screen time on those instead of a proper send off. All they needed is 15-30 minutes to wrap up character loose ends. What will become of the Maquis? Will we see Barclay hang out with the crew? Will Tom reconcile with his father? What will Starfleet Command have to say? Will there be a tribute to the red shirts who died? What will become of Seven? Will Torres meet up with her parents? Will Tuvok see his wife and "cure" his "ailment"? What will the Doctor do? And the most important question: will Harry finally get laid?

One could argue that TNG didn't have an extended ending, but it didn't need one. TNG tied up loose ends along the whole series, and Picard at the poker game was the final loose end. He finally removed the stick from his ass and became as much a friend as he was a leader. But Voyager needed an extended ending and didn't get one.

All in all, I really did enjoy the series. Some great episodes and characters that I will never forget.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 3:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

A fitting tribute to a terrible character. I'll put aside the glaring gaps in logic about how the Talaxians got there or why they would stay on an asteroid instead of moving to an M class planet. Ethan Phillips was at his best here.

Neelix was an absolute waste of a character. The comic relief was unwanted and annoying, and Trek cannot devote an entire character to that purpose. Trek humor is best when stiff characters like Picard lighten up such as his scene on Risa where he buys the sex statue, or when he tells Data jokingly to put Riker in the brig and he takes it seriously. Beyond the court jester role and cook, the writers tried to shoehorn Neelix into random roles like holding a tricorder on an away mission or giving unwanted advice. Trying to turn him into Guinan was a failure, as he lacked the wisdom and credibility to do so.

Neelix would have been much better as a Garak-like character. He could have been crafty, clever, and shady with a questionable past and tons of connections. He could have outsmarted Voyager's foes with his guile. It would have made better entertainment than 7 years of Bozo the Clown.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, Sep 6, 2021, 1:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Q2

What a throwaway of an episode so close to the end of the series. I am not a fan of Q in general (although DeLancie has been very funny over the years), so I admit my bias.

This episode was a complete mess from start to finish. The kid goes from complete brat to great kid in about 2 minutes without any transformative incident. He then builds a great friendship with Icheb, and I actually feel sorry for the kid when Q dissed his essay. We start to see that Q may be part of the problem.

And then it implodes. Instead of the kid bonding more with Janeway and Icheb after being letdown by his dad, and instead of Janeway schooling Q on being a crappy father, he goes right back to his old ways and steals a shuttle. He basically wiped everything he accomplished. His redemption is unsatisfying and the ending just horrible. Icheb is his only friend, but he is out of the picture after the sick bay scene. No final moment between the two of them where Q Jr. apologized and thanked Icheb for being a friend. It was a loose end that needed to be tied and the writers failed big time.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 10:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Great episode with a terrible ending. It was wonderful to see Seven explore her humanity, and her relationship with Chakotay seemed more genuine than Tom and B'Elanna.

It is disappointing that the writers just let it die in the end with such a lame excuse. It would have been Great to see her take that next step in her personal relationships, even if it's just lunch with Chakotay in the mess hall.

And why the hell does Seven not have a uniform? The Maquis got uniforms and they don't hold a candle to her. Other than TOS, Star Trek in general lacks main "blue shirt" characters (other than doctors) and Voyager is no different. Seven in a blue uniform would have been a great addition to the show, and she truly deserves to wear it. It kills me that Seven must wear the catsuit while Troi not only put the uniform back on, but got promoted and got "command" scenes.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 11:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

1 star. Is the Delta Quadrant out of interesting species to write about? There was no need for a klingon episode, especially this late in the show.

What irks me the most though is how time and time again non-Starfleet personnel have 100% computer access just by using a panel. The Klingons push Harry to the side and can transport the entire crew? No fingerprint ID? No access code? And they can also lock out Tom from shutting down power? The bridge has no administrative control?
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 11:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Long overdue character episode. The flashbacks should have been in a Season 1 episode. Why the writers waited so long to do a backstory on Torres is sad. Dawson's acting was superb.

I agree with other commenters that this plot wasn't enough by itself. A story about pregnancy, childhood trauma, and marital issues is a B story. I care about character development, but I want to see sci-fi on a sci-fi show.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 8:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I liked this one. It was fun to bring back past characters and have the cast revert back to their former selves. Glad too see Chakotay get some screen time and spend some time with Janeway.

A huge missed opportunity would be to run into 15 years-into-the-future Harry Kim, who is still an ensign.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 11:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

This was an overdue episode for Kim. While some moments were cringeworthy such as Harry with his feet on the captain's desk, it is not implausible to see him as a captain of a small vessel. He has 7 years of experience on a large starship and a technical background, so he is capable of the job. He makes some missteps as captain, but that is the point of the episode.

The Icheb story was interesting but took a weird twist with his misinterpretation of Torres' interest in him. But in general, he is the first successful Star Trek kid with a recurring role. Wesley Crusher was annoying but did improve, and Jake Sisko was awful. Icheb is intelligent, humble, and generally likeable.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 1:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I was bored by this episode. While I'm glad Dawson got some screen time, what did this episode accomplish? All it did for me is to emphasize that the writers have done nothing with her chief engineer character for 6 seasons.

Scotty was iconic and Geordi had some great episodes focused on his engineering prowess. I can't think of a single episode focused on a complex engineering issue where Torres plays a central role. What exactly is her value on Voyager? Regrettably, the only airtime Torres gets is as Tom's arm candy and on boring Klingon religious episodes.

Frankly, the Torres character is a huge mistake. While I have no issue with a female engineer (Seven is brilliant), the idea of an angry, rebellious Klingon doesn't work. Torres doesn't walk, talk, or act like an engineer. Engineers need to have some measure of geekiness, quirkiness, insane emotional attachment to the ship, and genius, and Torres has none of those. Leah Brahms would have been perfect for the role.

The Torres character would have been much better as first officer. TNG did it with Worf's brother, and it was interesting to see the captain and crew react to a stern Klingon. Torres has the edge to pull this off. Chakotay...bless his soul...is too much of a mush.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 11:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Mildly entertaining hour that revisits Star Trek's bizzare love affair with early 20th century Irish culture. I'm not sure how it fits into a science fiction show and neither do many commenters here.

As Jammer said, this show checked all the boxes for a holodeck episode, and I won't repeat them. Watching this made me long for a DS9 Ferengi show or a Mrs. Troi-the-cougar TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 12:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Good to see Beltran get screen time, and great to see him in a first contact situation. Chakotay does well as a diplomat, perhaps even better than Janeway.

The boxing scenes were bizarre, although I was fine with Boothby as his trainer.

I'm bothered that the writers keep defaulting back to Chakotay's native american background for almost every episode he is in. It makes him so one dimensional. Then again, with rare exception, the writers failed to develop most characters. Garak and Dukat were better characters than nearly all Voyager characters, and they were just recurring guests.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jul 21, 2021, 10:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Recycled plot of the shuttle crash coupled with a horrible B plot featuring the worst characters (Neelix, idiotic holodeck characters, and any kid).

Shuttles are the Voyager equivalent of red shirts. The minute you see anyone in one, there's a 75% chance the shuttle is going down. I have avoided getting emotionally attached to any of them for this reason.

Ethan Phillips did a great job here in a dramatic role instead of his court jester role. I don't fault him because the writers turned him into an annoying buffoon. Tuvok showed minor character development when comforting his injured crewmates. Paris also showed a more humble, human side.

It pains me to think how much was spent on costumes and effects for those holodeck characters.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jul 21, 2021, 10:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I agree with Jammer.

It's good to see Chakotay as the focus, and that they gave him a real issue to solve instead of the one dimensional Native American theme he gets shoehorned into all too often. He reminded me of Kirk or Riker with his romantic diplomacy skills.

I understand the criticism that a great enemy was neutralized and agree that it needed to be done more gradually. Other enemies in the Trek universe took great efforts to find peace with the Federation over many years, as opposed to Chakotay breaking down barriers on a single date.

It begs the question: does Star Trek need to have black and white "bad guys"? Was this species pure evil? After all, it attacked the Borg, which was a terrible threat to many species. I liked that we got to hear their side of the story, and that common ground was found with a seemingly irrational enemy. I love battles just as much as anyone else (I loved DS9), but battles can also be fought at the negotiation table.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Sat, Jun 19, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Two fun episodes and cool that they chose the 90s, which is when I grew up. It's good to have episodes like this once in a while.

I know it's science fiction, but I find it incomprehensible that even a very smart guy from the 20th century would be able to reverse engineer 29th century technology. Ed Begley being able to hack into Voyager? Come on.

And apparently even in the 29th century the security of starship consoles is just as strong as it was on Enterprise D, DS9, and every other Federation vessel in history. Begley is able to simply sit in the chair and talk, and he has complete access to the ship. If I leave my work computer for 10 minutes, the screen locks and my password must be entered.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

While DS9 mastered the art of developing guest stars into great secondary characters, Voyager excelled at killing them. It seems like Voyager loves to kill off its crewmen like the good old redshirts of TOS. Brad Dourif did a wonderful job as Suder, and to see his character arc continue as he redeemed himself and perhaps even rejoined the crew one day would have been rewarding. Hogan was a likeable character...similar to O'Brien...and killing him off was just dumb.

Also, does any Federation ship ever win a battle? It seems that they let other ships pound the living shit out of them, consoles blow up (fuses weren't invented until the 27th century), engines are always disabled, and their weapons have no effect.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I liked this episode, and it is good for Star Trek to have an imperfect ending. We expected to see Tuvix be noble and willingly sacrifice himself, but instead Janeway had to do what leaders do...make a difficult decision. Kate Mulgrew really nailed it.

Now if only they had lost Neelix's pattern during the separation process...that would have been a perfect ending. I despise how annoying they made his character...even the cast was annoyed! It's too bad because there are episodes when he is cunning and brave. He should have been written more like a Quark or Garak, as a sharp, somewhat shady character who knows the ins and outs of the Delta Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 10:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Fluff episode, but lots of fun. Not every Trek episode has to be serious. Vic grew on me in this episode and I loved the finale with Sisko singing.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 9:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Good character episode that was sorely needed after some filler episodes. I like how the DS9 characters really are gray and break the rules as needed.

The best part is that we didn't have to see idiotic Rom, Jake, or Ezri.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 8:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

An OK episode for an earlier season. But wasted in Season 7. Nicole DeBoer played her best Ezri so far, but it is waste to give a new character so much screentime that doesnt advance the series plot.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Thu, May 27, 2021, 7:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

I hate Ferengi episodes but this wasn't as bad as others. I'll take this over a Lwaxana Troi episode any day.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, May 26, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I hate the Dukat character arc in this series. His character was gray with flashes of good, but then they turned him into a cult leader. They replaced Dukat with Damar, and while Casey Biggs did a wonderful job, Dukat should have followed that character arc.

The whole religious aspect of DS9 was annoying, especially knowing that the "gods" were merely different life forms like Q. And these "gods" have evil counterparts? Ugh.

DS9 was good enough not to need the prophets and paghwraiths. The Dominion wars, Maquis, and other storylines were plenty.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Tue, May 25, 2021, 7:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

2/4 stars.

The storyline that Kor was an entitled, snobby rich kid does not fit with the way his character has been portrayed to date, so I found it hard to believe that he would have blocked Martok because he came from humble roots. The fact that Martok--who has been portrayed as honorable--would ridicule an old man is also not believeable. He acted like Geordi did towards Scotty, although to be fair, Geordi always acted like a jerk.
Set Bookmark
skater777
Tue, May 25, 2021, 7:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Jeffrey Combs is truly magnificent, and is such a perfect example of how the "guest" actors really made DS9 such a great show. His soft-spoken portrayal of Weyoun is so effective, and he only needs to make a slight adjustment to contrast between good Weyoun and evil Weyoun. His interactions with Casey Biggs as the always excellent Damar were wonderful. Biggs is quietly hilarious in his comments about Weyoun 5, whom we know he basically had killed.

I found it striking that I was able to sympathize with the good Weyoun in a matter of minutes (who is a "new" character for all intents and purposes), but still cannot make a connection with Ezri, Rom, and Leeta after seeing them countless times. It pains me to see how the DS9 writers wasted so much airtime on Ferengi episodes, Lwaxani Troi, and ineffective main cast members when they could have devoted more time to Weyoun, Damar, Garak, Dukat, etc.
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, May 24, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Nothing against Nicole DeBoer (who is very cute!), but Ezri Dax was a huge mistake. You don't introduce a new character in the last season, let alone an uninteresting one. It was a huge distraction from the main plot of the series and took screen time away from the main cast and the talented recurring cast.

Jadzia Dax never found a place on the series. She was the science officer who never made a single discovery, and paled in comparison to Data and Spock. An unconvincing ship's counselor is even worse. She added nothing to the show.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.