Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 51 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Kat
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I thought of TNG’s The Inner Light, where Picard lives the life of Kamin so his doomed civilization would not be forgotten.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Hi Jammer,

I know I'm very late to the party here and you probably won't see this, but I'm rewatching the series on Amazon and had to comment. I'm old enough to have been a fan of the original series, and I think Kara is a Seraph. If you've never seen the original series, the Seraphs are wingless angels who travel around in a spaceship called The Ship of Light in which Apollo (Richard Hatch) is resurrected (War of the Gods). This is the ship that Kara paints throughout the series, and is IMO also the basis for the Resurrection Ship. The Seraph are also the basis for the Final Five. The giving up technology at the very end of the new series also has its basis in the original. In fact, if you watch the original series, there are many, many inferences to the original.

Just my two cents. I'm about 10 years late, but that's okay!
Set Bookmark
koskatta
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

@Ferdinand Cesarano: I think it's established in the series that by Voyager's time, combadges also serve double-duty as universal translators. So the shuttle's computer being off-line would not have been a problem. That said, I particularly dislike how often the universal translator is misused throughout most of Star Trek. Quite often it's portrayed encountering a totally foreign language, from a newly discovered species, and making perfect translations on the fly.

Not to mention the fact that it most also be somehow using holographic projection to make sure that the alien's lips match perfect English. And it ensures that facial expressions and body language never TOO foreign to the bearer of the UT. It's lazy writing, and only a few episodes actually deal with the concept of first contact, without over reliance on the UT.

It feels like a lazy hand-waving way to get around the actual formidable challenges Voyager or the Enterprise should encounter every time they meet a new species. I get that the writers can't get too bogged down in this kind of detail, but it's never really paid more than just lip service (if you'll forgive the pun).
Set Bookmark
skattle
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

So many things wrong with this episode, as usual, but a couple things not mentioned yet that bothered me.

They can't make a cortical implant themselves, because it's too complicated, but they can create a holodeck program that perfectly replicates 7 and all of her other implants to test out the one they found? If they don't know how it works or how her other implants work, how can they expect to test it properly on a holodeck, that can somehow recreate all of her other implants perfectly?

The other thing, that bothers me, though it's not really that important, is when they go onto the chunk of borg ship. Before they go, they say 'it still has a breatheable atmosphere' or some such. On a blasted hunk of metal floating around in space. An atmosphere, and power, and gravity. Unless they have an atmosphere generator, power generator, and gravity generator every 100 feet or so on a borg ship, that's just silly.

And a couple things just in general about Star Trek, not Voyager in particular, that have always bothered me. I was reminded of the first when they mentioned Torres enhancing the doc's emotions. That is, it was so difficult to give emotions to Data and other androids, yet the computer can give actual emotions to holodeck characters, like when fairhaven became 'real' or moriarty became 'real' and of course the doc himself has emotions. So what makes it so hard for androids?

The second is space battles. Particularly phasers. About half the time, they can pinpoint a tiny part of a ship; 'target their weapons!' 'target their warp core!' 'target that arbitrarily weak point!' etc. Yet half the time, they can't even hit the ship at all. You'd think by then, they would have targeting systems that could shoot a fly off of someones nose every time, either that or they would just aim it like a pistol and hope they hit something. But it's always one or the other. Torpedoes the same, but that's a little more forgivable since they are much slower.
Set Bookmark
skattles
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 4:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

This episode was so full of itself and the ego of the writer, that everything 'realistic' was lost in the shuffle (or as 'real' as star trek can be anyway). A shuttle crashing yet again? no problem. 8 day coma? no problem. Harry crossing 120 miles of wilderness on an L class planet in 8 days with just a tricorder pointing in the right direction? no problem. A planet on the other side of the galaxy that is exactly like medievel England, complete with Shakespeare? no problem. And on and on.

The thing that pulled me right out of the episode completely was when Torres asks Shakespeare to get her a thin sheet of tin and bronze alloy plated with gold, as if she would even ask him in the first place, and then he comes back the next day with one. lol. I couldn't get one of those made nowadays in less than a week probably. But apparently they just have them lying around on his primitive planet.

Just like the dilithium, which of course he recognized immediately from a crystal looking thing on a computer screen as 'winter's tears'. The screen alone would have made him shit himself just seeing it. And I know that when I see a picture of a crystal I can identify the specific one it is and exactly where to find them, especially if it is located in only one spot that I would never know about because I wasn't allowed to go there ever in the first place or risk being killed.

And why was the flyer out of dilithium anyway? It hadn't been running for over a week. What, they only carry the exact amount of dilithium to last exactly the length of their original mission, and if you go past that by a few hours you're screwed I guess? And apparently they have no food on the flyer either, since Torres had to bargain for some with Shakespeare. Maybe they use a replicator, but the escape pods have at least a weeks worth, and there should be 2 escape pods left on the flyer. So the whole situation there makes no sense.

And Shakespeare listened to some log entries and knew every detail about everyone on the ship? Would the logs even mention that seven says 'you will be assimilated' and 'I will comply' etc. and that Tuvok is a vulcan with no emotions, and that there is a subtext of a love between Chakotay and Janeway, and that Harry was interested in kissing the twins, and that Paris and Torres are in love? etc. etc. Even if they did, he discovered all of that in the thousands and thousands of log entries, that he somehow knew how to listen to, and somehow could understand, despite 90% of it being technobabble that he wouldn't comprehend in the slightest about warp signatures and transporters and away missions and tritanium and holodecks and EMP's and alien monsters that eat starships and on and on, and wrote it into a play and rehearsed it and performed it, all in a week. oh yes.

Another absurd episode from this absurd show where the writers just don't care about what they are actually writing about, just as long as they can force a 'moral' down our throats. And oh my. What an original 'moral' it was too. Violence is bad. Oh really.

1 star. Mostly for the Tuvok scenes.
Set Bookmark
skattles
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

This episode isn't so bad. 2 1/2 stars from me.

It was meant to be silly and cliched and corny. And it was.

And maybe it's because everyone knows it already, but I'm surprised that noone mentioned that Ethan Phillips (Ulis) was also Neelix on Voyager. Just thought I'd add that in case others didn't know :D
Set Bookmark
kittykat
Mon, May 22, 2017, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

"Riker has never turned down the opportunity to bang an alien babe."

Well, except this very episode where he turns her down but she insists that it's the only way she'll help him. Were you paying attention?

Whether we call it rape or not it was clearly coercive in a pretty awful way, like an ICE agent who will look the other way in exchange for sex. Actually worse, since Riker was in captivity already. It's a little weird that calling this rape would bother you so much, SteveRage.
Set Bookmark
Katisaurus
Sun, May 14, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

I like this episode. Voyager doesn't do many things better than TNG, but one of them is pulling off simple space adventure stories like this. In TNG Phage would've most likely been a bad episode but here it's pretty fun.

I do think it was a missed opportunity to not have Janeway bargain with the Vidiians. She knows they have more advanced medical technology and were capable of using Neelix's lungs for themselves, so she could've guessed they'd be able to save him. It'd show Janeway as a shrewd captain playing under a new rulebook. Naturally there's then a scene with Tuvok where she admits she'd have let them go regardless. We'd get the same Janeway idealism, just less frustrating.
Set Bookmark
Katisaurus
Fri, May 12, 2017, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

I'm not a fan of this one. It's a super-serious message episode that isn't really saying anything worth its seriousness, like a bad Battlestar Galactica episode. Context matters, but this episode seems to suppose that it's not worth the time. Instead, Finn is given lines like he's supposed to represent all terrorists everywhere, and so the arguments are similarly vague. It's the sort of political discussion that happens between people who never read the news.

When The High Ground 'is' actually saying something rather than merely shrugging into the void, it's horribly trite. "History has shown us that strength may be useless when faced with terrorism." Eesh.
Set Bookmark
Katherine
Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

I guess I'm one of the few who though the Picard poetry bit was hilarious, heh. Yes it's a ridiculous scene, but then again so is the whole plotline, and Ferengi stories are almost always resolved in equally ridiculous ways (see also: Riker's treknobabble scene and "Number One dad" in "Rascals"). Aside from that, I always enjoy scenes where the acting is hammy. What can I say, it's a guilty pleasure. I much prefer over-the-top acting to boring non-acting.
Set Bookmark
Kate
Wed, Feb 15, 2017, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

This is kind of a mixed bag and I'm trying to look upon it as objectively as I possibly can.

This was really a rather unnecessary episode, especially in a season that had so much going on, didn't have many more hours in which to resolve everything, and had already had taken a time-out for another rather pointless holosuite episode.

I don't care about any of that.

This cast of characters needed every break they could get, considering the circumstances under which they were living.

For me, that last scene with Sisko and Vic Fontaine made it worthwhile, because I can see the purpose as being twofold. First off, it was a true Valentine to the fans (those who didn't hate Vic Fontaine, anyway). And it was a mission statement for the rest of the series.

The best was truly yet to come, with the riveting political thriller Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges coming up, all leading to the Final Chapter.

Yes, this was an unnecessary episode. But the fact didn't make it any less fun, or any less meaningful with that last scene.
Set Bookmark
Kate
Sat, May 14, 2016, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Damar is absolutely the HEADLINER here, and in an episode in which our precious Defiant (took so long to get so other bitchy Trekkies would look at this series as a "real Trek" series... seriously, you guy are all LIBERALS, looking for shit to be offended by) was taken out, that was DIFFICULT.

I give the writers credit for putting these two game-changing events in the same episode. I certainly know my head was spinning back in '99 when we got this one-two punch.

"NOOOO!!!! Not the DEFIANT... OH SHIT IT'S ALL STARFLEET.. no way... how long can our buddies hang here..."

"WT Hell is that bitch who murdered my dear Ziyal doing... Yeah, okay, he saved Worf and Dax, but I REALLY LOVED ZIYAL, I don't forgive hi-- Is HE INCITING A REVOLUTION... DAMMIT, YOU'RE MAKING ME ROOT FOR HIM... GOOOOO DAMAR, YOU PATRIOTIC BASTARD!! FOR CARDASSISA!"

*The Emissary Me simply stares*

"Okay, a lot of crap went down in these past seven years!"
Set Bookmark
Kate
Sun, Aug 16, 2015, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

For me, this episode, while rather a bit whimsical and kind of superfluous at this point in this series, provides a bit of a breather in this particular season. Maybe there wasn't a need for two holodeck episodes, but it does kind of hit me right in my heart that mostly everyone jumped immediately on board to help Vic despite the fact that Vic was a hologram. Yet at the same time I understood Worf's reaction ("Uh... he's a HOLOGRAM.") and Sisko's reaction.

But in reviewing the series, I do remember enjoying this episode, feeling it was a kind of ending for Vic (despite his later appearances) and even feeling glad for the crew that most of them felt that they could take some time out from the war to deal with something completely trivial like this.

Add in James Darren's portrayal of Vic Fontaine and the backstory there (Odo/Kira, Bashir, Nog, etc.) and it FEELS somewhat real that many of these people would drop everything for an evening in the absence of a clear and present threat for this hologram.

I'd give this three and a half stars, honestly, over a decade later. It was FUN.
Set Bookmark
Dukat
Thu, Jun 11, 2015, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Who is in charge of the space station while the main characters are playing Next Generation on the Defiant?
Set Bookmark
KittyKatt
Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I have a question about a actual human relationship. I herd (insiade), a term used in this episode referring to rikker when (troi) as under the images. Please I want to know ur explanation of (insadi)!
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Jan 11, 2015, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I just think this episode has so many good scenes, and it was extremely well-written. Lal was acted extremely well.

This episode just got me so emotional while watching it, moving laughter to sadness.

The only blemish on the episode was the admiral, but even still, this episode is easily one of the best of the season. Despite the rushed ending, you have to be heartless to not feel anything when Lal tells Data she loves him and says, "Father, thank you for my life."
Set Bookmark
Katie
Wed, Nov 5, 2014, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I've probably seen this episode at least five or six times and it always makes me cry. Every. Single. Time. The scene where Picard announces Sito's fate and her friends all over the ship look up from what they're doing in shock? Sucker punch.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I've been re-watching ENT for the first time after watching the whole series 4 years ago. This is the first episode that was remotely familiar to me. Every other episode so far, I didn't remember anything. That goes for the series as a whole--I have some vague memories of the Xindi and I think something about Nazis? Oh, and the Borg episode, mostly because it pissed me off so much. But other than that, nothing. On the other hand, when I re-watched VOY and DS9 on Netflix over a decade after watching them on TV as a child, there were dozens of episodes that I remembered and was delighted to see again.

This really encapsulates the problem with Enterprise. It was just totally underwhelming and unmemorable. The one really familiar element emerging so far is how deeply annoying Archer is as a captain. I think it's partially the writing, but mostly Bakula's acting. He completely lacks the gravitas of Stewart, Brooks, and Mulgrew. He just comes off as an idiot.

Seriously wondering if I want to devote any time to re-watching this series.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Sep 5, 2014, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

The Quark/Dax/Worf stuff is fun, but for me by far the best part of this ep was the O'Brien storyline. The tension and discomfort between Kira and Miles struck me as very realistic under the circumstances. How could you not look at a woman differently when she's carrying your child, living in your home, you're massaging her on a daily basis, helping her in and out of the bath? I think it's great that the writers addressed this awkward situation rather than ignoring it.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I have to say, I think it's kind of uncool to hijack Jammer's review pages to publish your own, lengthy, and unsolicited reviews. If you feel so strongly about these episodes and have long-winded opinions about them that you wish to share, why don't you start your own Trek reviews site?
Set Bookmark
Dukat
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I can't stand bajorans or bajoran episodes. Their superstitions and their treachery and their lies, their smug superiority and their stiff necked obstinacy, their earrings and their broken wrinkled noses.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@DPLB: Chris' analogy between the Sandiford case and this episode, which you dismissed so aggressively above, is actually pretty apt. If you watch the ep again, you'll see that Miles is caught with the warheads in his runabout's cargo hold. Of course, as we discover, they were planted there by a Cardassian agent--but you might well say he was caught red-handed smuggling weapons that could endanger thousands of lives.

In other words, context matters.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@DPLB: um...wow.

You don't think execution by firing squad is a bit excessive for a drug offense? The international community certainly thought so. Lindsey Sandiford is a middle-aged mother of two who claimed--and the evidence supports her claim--that she was coerced into helping a drug smuggling ring by threats to her family. She gave evidence that helped convict members of that ring, all of whom received lesser sentences (time in prison). The prosecution team themselves recommended 15 years in prison as her sentence. But she received the death penalty from a judge who believed her trial had threatened Bali's tourism industry (!). She has received no help from the UK government, whose representatives say things like "how very unfortunate!" about her situation. She is now on death row in Indonesia.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 11:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

@Elliot:
WOW. This is what you call a "little review"? Please stop.
Set Bookmark
Katie
Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Elliott, this is not true. Capitalism is free markets, and even the currencies themselves are also subject to whatever happens in the marketplace. In a real capitalistic society, there would be multiple currencies, and the best of them would be rise to the top. It could be gold or something else - let the market decide.

When I refer to capitalism, and I am referring to Laissez-faire capitalism where the markets are not controlled by governments and there is a respect for property rights.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.