Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Skang
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

I should say that they do mention the Borg corpse again next season, so that's one thing they actually remembered from an earlier episode, surprisingly.
Set Bookmark
Skang
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Once again, how convenient that Voyager happens across a whole group of people from the alpha quadrant.

Chakotay goes on a scouting mission to find a faster way through the Nekrit Expanse. In a shuttle. I would assume Voyager is going far faster than any shuttle could already. And what could he possibly find that would be faster than just flying straight through it anyway? But then he couldn't get stranded on the planet by himself, so whatever.

There are 80,000 drones on the planet. A few hundred of them are getting along in their little colony. How do they manage to survive with 79,700 savages surrounding them?

Voyager now has a Borg on the ship, that is never seen or studied or even mentioned again as far as I can remember. They could have probably learned something from it, but it's completely ignored after this. I guess they tossed it out an airlock.

2 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Skango
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Not that anyone cares, but here are my ratings for the first season. Listed from highest to lowest rating.

3.0 Caretaker
2.5 Eye of the Needle
2.5 Prime Factors
2.5 State of Flux
2.0 Phage
2.0 The Cloud
1.5 Parallax
1.5 Faces
1.5 Learning Curve
1.0 Emanations
1.0 Heroes and Demons
1.0 Jetrel
0.5 Time and Again
0.5 Ex Post Facto
0.0 Cathexis

My average rating: 1.53 stars for the season.

The first episode was good, then the show was pretty average, with a few semi high points in the middle of the season, with the end of the season being quite bad I thought.
Set Bookmark
Skango
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

A few things that bothered me a bit.

Starfleet says you can't wear a headband? I can think of 4 off the top of my head that did. Troi and Ro in TNG and Valeris in ST VI and Nog from DS9 (if you want to count his headress thingy as a headband, that is). I'm sure there were probably more. Same goes for jewelry. Uhura from TOS and the new movies wears earrings. Ro wore hers in TNG. Again, I'm sure there are more, but I never really payed much attention to jewelry.

Cheese infects the ship? I don't mind that it's cheese, just that you would think they would have some sort of protocols involved for bringing alien plants and bacteria etc. onto the ship. Apparently not. They just let Neelix bring on whatever he wants.

Janeway's holodeck program. Just awful and pointless. Again.

Chakotay, the first officer, punches someone to get them to follow orders? wtf? Imagine if Riker started beating up people on the Enterprise. He'd be relieved of command in about 2 seconds.

And the way they 'cure' the ship. The Doc, a supposed medical expert, says that a fever kills viruses. That's nonsense. Antibodies and T cells kill viruses. A fever may help them along a little, but a fever won't do it by itself. They should have just said they discovered that the virus was sensitive to heat if that's what they wanted to do. Not say they are going to give the gel packs a fever. Not a big deal, but it annoyed me anyway. :P

1 1/2 stars from me.

Set Bookmark
Skangles
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

One other thing. I don't understand holonovels at all.

I mean someone writes a script? Or a situation? Or what? What if you go into the Doc's holonovel, and just wander off down to the mess hall when you are supposed to be in sickbay treating people? Does the novel just adapt? Does it not let you? Does it zap you back to sickbay? Do you need to learn some lines before you go in? It all doesn't really make sense to me. That's why I never enjoyed any of this holonovel stuff from Trek.

How would anyone be able to play a doctor in a holonovel if they aren't a doctor? If someone asked me which of 2 patients to treat in the doc's holonovel, and handed me some super advanced medical gizmo, I wouldn't have the slightest idea what to do. Or say it was a novel by Torres about being an engineer. Oh no! The warp core is going to breach! What do you do?! I have no clue.

Holonovels as they are portrayed make no sense.

A holonovel to me would be for it to put you into a story where you just observe through someone elses eyes, a predetermined story. Like a super sophisticated 3D movie. Not where you actually have to act out something you most likely haven't the faintest idea how to do. You just watch and enjoy the novel.
Set Bookmark
Skangles
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

For me this episode is pretty average.

The major stumbling block I had was that the Doc's novel was so popular. Why? It was terrible.

Why would anyone want to be a part of a holonovel where you, as the main character, are surrounded by brutish jerks who ridicule you, treat you like crap, trick you, and threaten you constantly, while you carry around a 100 pound backpack all day long? What fun.

Maybe if it had been about him becoming the Emergengy Command Hologram and defeating the Borg or something entertaining and fun, that would have made more sense. And still would have allowed for the ripoff of Measure of a Man at then end. They could have still dealt with whether he had rights to his artistic work and all that.

As it is, the novel in the episode is just an excuse to let the other characters act as if they are in the 'mirror' universe of the other Treks without actually doing another stupid 'mirror' episode.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Kang
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

I've been reading through your reviews, Jammer, and once again you've got this one pretty spot on. Personally, I'd probably add half a star as it kept me consistently entertained. There's no real depth or substance here aside from the basic theme that intelligence and power without discipline is destructive, which is applied pretty obviously. It's obvious that Gene Roddenberry drew Q from the character from Trelane, but I actually prefer The Squire of Gothos to Encounter at Farpoint, due to EaT being "a little all over the place". My major criticism of this episode would be the ending. I thought it was just a little overdone, with Trelane literally acting like a spoiled little brat. It kind of reminds me of the ending of Day of the Dove, where the crew members and Klingon's break in to bouts of laughter to rid the ship of a disruptive entity; not an episode breaker, but it did leave me with a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.
Set Bookmark
Kang
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 10:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

While I might not see it in as favorable a light as I did in my childhood, I still believe Arena is worthy of three stars. Sure, the fight with the Gorn is cheesy when viewed in a modern light and is plagued by some bad pacing, but it remains an iconic cultural image. I actually found the rest of the episode to be quite entertaining; the battle with the unknown and unseen enemy on the deserted outpost and the subsequent chasing of the Gorn ship being prime examples. Overall, for me a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Kang
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

In my view, one of the most underrated episodes in the Trek pantheon. Provides the perfect balance between drama and humour. My favourite moment is when Christopher walks on to the bridge and says "I don't believe in little green men", and then Spock replies "I don't either". The delivery of Nimoy is priceless!
Set Bookmark
Kang
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Just saw this episode for the first time in almost a decade due to recently purchasing the first season on blu ray. Unfortunately, it has become shockingly apparent as to why I have stayed away from it for all these years. This is not TNG. It is a crummy rip off of TOS, executed without any of the charm or humour of its predecessor. It is littered with stereotypes (verging on racism), and features one of my least favourite characters in the Star Trek universe, Lt. Tasha Yar. (I was so glad when they finally killed her off in Skin of Evil). Your review basically hit the nail on the head, Jammer, except that I would not give it the reward of even half a star. Finally, I wish to give my accolades to the blu ray which manages to make even a terrible episode like this look great.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.