Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

That senior staff debate made them all look like spoony morons swayed by the worst excuses for poetic one-liners. Not a moment of clarity or logical thinking from any of them.

The Wesley subplot on the other hand was very well done and showed a side of the Enterprise we rarely see.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

The garbage scow thing was too ridiculous for me to enjoy. For heaven's sake, just tractor the thing some distance away from the planet, bring it to A STOP so it doesn't crash into the asteroids, and come back for it later. Or put it on a trajectory away from the planet where it won't crash into anything - that has to be possible because it made it to the planet to begin with. It doesn't have to go into the sun RIGHT NOW.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Thu, Mar 26, 2015, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

I'm pretty sure Lore would have had that display room in smoking ruins inside about 10 seconds.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, Mar 11, 2015, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Dear God. Starfleet Officers - Picard's people - work 24/7 and DIE frequently to protect these Indian bozos from Space Fascists and all kinds of other external threats that would instantly annihilate them, all so they can have a carefree life sitting around thinking about How Spritual That Mountain Is while being stoned out of their minds. And Starfleet asks nothing, NOTHING in return. And these d-bags have the gall to guilt trip Picard and compare him to a Spanish conqueror because he asks them to please-move-to-another-paradise so that THOUSANDS don't die?

I like Wesley finally bucking the expectation for him to be the perfect wonderboy pet, but these Indians made me too angry to enjoy the episode.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Mar 10, 2015, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I like this episode a lot (yes, even the bed jumping!) and want to give it 3 stars. With the exception of Picard all the child actors were perfect. My two issues with it are:

1) Ridiculously implausible. Not just the Ferengi takeover, but how the accident happened. The transporter "noticed" DNA sequences are missing and "decided" to reconstruct its targets completely differently, what??

2) Little Picard's inflections were all wrong. Picard generally speaks in an intense monotone (even when he's asking a question), little Picard put emphasis all over the place that Picard wouldn't. I just couldn't "feel" the character.

I'd give it 2.5
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Fri, Sep 12, 2014, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"The Bajorans are disengaging." - one of the funniest lines in TNG
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Mon, Sep 8, 2014, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

The chess scene makes sense to me. It would be simple for Data to restrict his processors to x calculations per second. Playing chess at his full power against anyone would be completely pointless.

He was no doubt playing at "super easy" setting with Troi.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"The episode is NOT saying that an entire species ought to die, it's saying that one human captain and one Denobulan doctor don't have the right to make that determination for an entire species."

Actually, it is saying that. They could have - and should have - taken this issue to Starfleet or the Vulcan Council of Ethics or whatever, but no. The two of them decided, nope, we'll just let all the millions of you die.

If the Cardassians had withheld vital medicine and technology because of their parinoia and competitiveness, that would be a brutal, but understandable decision. It would at least be honestly selfish.

But the SMUGNESS of Phlox and Archer is what makes this so reprehensible, no, evil. They're ALLOWING these poor inferior life forms to die, for the GOOD of their world. And oh, Enterprise will just have to bear the PAIN that comes with adherance to such a noble, noble code. They're doing them a favor that they can't understand yet, but one day, they'll be wise enough to.

Dispicable. Pathetic. Evil.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Aug 26, 2014, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Wow. What a horrible disappointment.

Bad writing is one thing. "Let's all give up technology" is bad writing, makes me cringe or chuckle, but you know what? At least BSG didn't waste my time hitting me over the head for hours and hours in previous episodes with:

"Ohhhh there is a prophecy and so sayeth it: they are going to make a transcendent decision about techology, aren't you curious what it is? Aren't you really really really curious aren't you just BURNING to know? Here we're going to have Roslin, Athena, Six writhe around with nightmares about it and wring their hands with confusion about WHAT this decision shall be for episode after episode."

That's what they did with the opera house. Over and over again. And wow, the transcendent meaning of it is.. Baltar and Six take a little girl to CIC and use her as a bargaining chip. That is no more profound than ANYTHING ELSE Our Heroes did in the series, and the precognitive visions Our Heroes had about it could not possibly have helped them. Apparently God likes to send us spam mail.

BSG didn't just sell me a crappy toaster. I had to listen them babble on for hours how GREAT the toaster is going to be. Just give me the fraking toaster! Let me take it home and have it succeed or fail on its own merits, Jesus!

I'm okay with loose ends. Real Life has loose ends. They never learned why it took 33 minutes for the Cylons to follow them in the first episode. And you know why it's okay that they didn't learn that? BECAUSE THEY DID NOT SPEND EVERY EPISODE AGONIZING ABOUT IT AND HAVING VISIONS THAT IT WOULD BE ONE DAY REVEALED AND HAVE PROFOUND CONSEQUENCES.

I am okay with writers having a plan and bragging about it. I am okay with writers not having a plan and winging it. But to PRETEND you have a plan amounts to fraud.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, Aug 13, 2014, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

Watching this whole series for the first time right now (and just got to this episode). Amazing show, I wish I had gotten to it earlier.

I've more or less liked Starbuck up till now. She's never been good at dealing with her problems, but until now she's at least restricted it to self-destructive behavior.

But here she tries to get Gaeta killed. Just because she's frustrated. That is unforgiveable. She is scum.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Sun, Aug 10, 2014, 11:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

If ever there was an anti-Voyager, this show is it.

Wonderful, bold twist. Four stars.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, Jul 30, 2014, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Survivors

WHY did Picard not get this guy's phone number??
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

How did the aliens get the antimatter to run their silver-Voyager??
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Jul 29, 2014, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I don't understand this ending. It's presented as the end to the Dominion threat - but the only thing the Alpha powers did was recapture the Alpha quadrent. In the process almost every Alpha power has been devestated, while the Dominion territory is *completely* untouched. Sure, it'll be tricky to get a foothold again with the wormhole as a bottleneck, but they did it the first time.. and now the Alpha quadrent is exhausted.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Tue, Jul 22, 2014, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

No, Petrus, you DON'T know exactly what will happen if you don't do anything. In fact that result is just as unpredictable as one in which you interfere. Deciding not to act, is in itself a decision and an action with distinct results.

Also, the idea that the best decision is the one with the most "predictable outcome" is ridiculous. How about destroying the aliena' atmosphere and killing them all - you know EXACTLY what the result of that will be!
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, May 21, 2014, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

No clip show deserves more than zero stars. It is straight-up fraudulent because the hour "episode" doesn't actually have an hour of material.

Needing to save money is no excuse. You don't need a big budget to film 45 minutes. My favorite Star Trek episode of all time is "Remember Me", and the majority of that was Beverly Crusher wandering around an empty ship ranting at the computer.

Need to save even more money? How about that episode (don't know the name) where 3 members of the crew were stuck in a single room on the holodeck with one dying of a gunshot room? That episode sucked. But at least they put in an effort and gave us new material. And it probably cost them almost nothing.
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, May 21, 2014, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

This movie gets two stars from me because it isn't Star Trek. It's Star Wars with a Star Trek reskin. What is the point of making a movie that ignores the unique strengths of the franchise it's set in?
Set Bookmark
Kahryl
Wed, May 14, 2014, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Decades late but I just saw this episode for the first time.

I feel physically sick.

Phlox: "We didn't come out here to play God", what a ridiculous thing to say. One society helping another in a matter of compassion and suffering is not playing God. WITHHOLDING help because of your ultimate high-minded designs for the millennial descendants of the ant-like creatures on the surface below IS PLAYING GOD.

Phlox: "I'm saying we let nature decide." this from a Denobulan? The same Denobulans who gleefully indulge in all kinds of genetic engineering and who have prospered as a result? The same Denobulans who found the wisdom to say "to hell with nature" because they realized that nature doesn't give a damn about your welfare so long as you manage to have kids? What a complete subversion of Phlox's character. As well as a totally regressive attitude in general.

One race needs to die, to get out of the way of the stronger, smarter, more worthy race. Where have I heard that before?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.