Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 95 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Anyone else have a suspicion that this episode was a way for Brannon Braga, after just seeing his ex-partner's new Battlestar Galactica miniseries, to say, "Hey asshole, I can do that too, you're not so special"?
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 2:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

The long, drawn out fight scene between Reed and the Major was almost a pitch perfect clone of the one with Roddy Piper and Keith David in "They Live." Intentional? If not, still absolutely ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Unsolicited pitch - There should now be a spinoff show starring Seven of Nine. In the least contrived way possible, she recruits to the Fenris Rangers some of the most maligned and outcast characters in all of Trekdom - Wesley Crusher, Alexander Rozhenko, Molly O'Brien, Jake Sisko, and Naomi Wildman. Together, they brutally and savagely take out all of the baddies that have sprouted up since the Romulan supernova. THIS is the story Quentin Tarantino needs to tell.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

Does nobody remember when Riker fucked Frasier's ex-wife just so he could escape from a hospital? Star Trek has dealt with sex, it's just more often than not really goofy and very unsexy.

I also completely reject Ron Moore's argument re Seven of Nine. Jeri Ryan can't help what her body looks like, and the human body in and of itself is not purely a sex object. You can apply this same logic to Jolene Blalock (although her fake boobs somewhat dull this argument).
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

So much for "to seek out new life and new civilizations."

I agree with just about everyone here. This episode seems like a perfect encapsulation of the first two seasons of the show in general - a good premise with a lot of promise that is squandered and then turned absolute garbage.

Blowing up the aliens' ship at the end is so antithetical to the Trek ethos. Really embarrassing stuff. I really hate when in more recent interviews Berman & Braga blame Trek fatigue over 17 years for the cancellation of Enterprise. No, I'm sorry. It's episodes like this that turned off and soured the fanbase, who never wanted to bother tuning back in when this was the schlock they were getting.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Nov 25, 2019, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

The dialogue between Archer and Hoshi's father was atrocious. It reminded me of mid-90s video game dialogue. Why did Berman and Braga think they could write like 80% of a 26 episode season?

I have to buck the trend and say that I find Linda Park a really good actress and Hoshi a good, realistic character that we haven't seen in Trek before. But with boring, recycled plots like these, they really do a disservice to the character.

As to the transporter element, I think Berman and Braga made a mistake by even having that technology available to them at the very start of the show. It actually would have been an interesting development if somewhere around this point in the show, Starfleet develops the technology and forces the installation of it on Enterprise, much to the reluctance of the crew. Because T'Pol is Vulcan and they have utilized transporters for some time, even she is reluctant to use the transporter because it was engineered by humans. We could have then further explored the issue of bigoted beliefs from the lens Vulcans against the "primitive" humans.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 4:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Braga: What if we did "The Naked Now" but instead of the crew acting drunk, instead they're acting jacked up from 5 lines of coke?

Berman: Perfect!
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Although this show preceded the smartphone to be fair, in just a few years from 2002 we gained the ability to effectively brick our phones remotely, rendering them useless. So this episode really loses a 2019 audience. Definitely a boring, skippable episode.

How many episodes can we go until we next see Archer again shackled to a chair with a gun at his head? I'm hoping at least 5 or we really need to get him some hostage insurance.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Sat, Nov 16, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

I wished when Archer confidently said, "We have a saying on Earth, Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day; teach him to fish, and he eats for a lifetime", the deuterium guy just looks at him and responds flatly, "What's a fish?"
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Am I the only one with the takeaway when she takes out the purse at the end that T'Mir WAS T'Pol? I actually think that's a great twist, if so. Perhaps it's too far back to fit in with Vulcan lifespans, but the setup of the episode seems to be hinting that T'Pol is much older than anyone on board Enterprise realizes.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Wed, Oct 23, 2019, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi,

Thanks for compliment! In an alternate universe, I hope my counterpart was able to write some Star Trek episodes.

And I agree with you re my analogy being not quite accurate - it was only meant as a direct rebuttal to Brian Lear's analogy, not one I would have brought up as an exemplar.

I agree that the issue of a total world-wide intervention is much more complex than a heart transplant. But my argument to that is that even if Archer and Phlox believed they didn't have enough information, they erred on the side of natural selection and non-interference, which they knew very well would cause the extinction of millions (if not billions) of a sentient life form. Why not err on the side of life, especially if they can do something about it? Isn't that what practicing medicine is all about? Not making moral decisions based on who deserves to live and die but just saving any life at all costs? We subvert natural selection every day by taking all kinds of medications. Medicine itself is a form of species interference, rendering natural selection amongst humans almost moot.

I think this episode made a mistake using medicine and disease as a vehicle to explore non-interference, if that's the route they wanted to go. A more nuanced discussion would have been political, as we can apply that to our current world's situation, especially at the time this aired circa 9/11/01. At what point should a society interfere in another's development or internal politics? Do we have a moral duty? Or do some well intentioned decisions in the moment sometimes backfire?

What if the Valakians were actively committing genocide against the Menk? Does Archer have the right to intervene on moral grounds? Is it worth starting a war with the Valakians to save the Menks? Even if Archer intervenes and overpowers the Valakians with his superior technology, then what? Does Archer have to stay there permanently to keep the peace? I find that much more interesting than a doctor withholding necessary medical care.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Brian Lear,

I don't think that's an accurate analogy at all. The Menk have no need for a "new heart." Their health is perfectly fine, so it's not like a hard moral or medical choice needs to be made here. Only the Valakians have need for medical intervention. And if cured, there is no evidence that it will only prolong another inevitable extinction. A cure is a cure.

The failure of this episode is the junk science that if 2 sentient species co-exist and one goes extinct, the other will flourish and "evolve" into a more intelligent species. So Phlox and Archer did not provide necessary medical services as a result.

The more accurate analogy would be: "Patient 1" is dying and in need of a heart transplant. "Patient 2" is his brother and is perfectly fine and healthy. The doctor has a perfectly good new heart waiting to be transplanted into Patient 1, but the dumb amoral doctor, with absolutely no evidence, believes that Patient 2 will flourish into a better individual without his brother around anymore, so condemns Patient 1 to die. What a load of bollocks.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

"I cannot believe a race as obstinate, belligerent and primitive as the Klingons would ever have invented the wheel, never mind done anything useful with it. For them to be a warp-capable civilization is incredible. But anyway..."

Michael,

I forget where this came from precisely, but wasn't it established in canon in an earlier show that the Klingons stole all their advanced technology (including warp) from the Romulans? Of course the Romulans wouldn't have any kind of Prime Directive, and the Klingons becoming warp capable centuries before they naturally would explains a lot.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Jason R.,

I think Dr. Phlox's use of the word "evolved" is totally and dangerously incorrect. When he says a species is "more evolved" than another, it propagates the unscientific belief that evolution has an ultimate destiny, when in scientific reality, it does not. Evolution is based ONLY on genetic mutations that benefit survivability in a particular environment over those without the mutation. We're not all destined to become pure beings of light.

The words he could have used that would have been scientifically correct would have been "developed" or "complex." It's possible the Valakians may have had a more complex neurological system than the Menk. But it is IMPOSSIBLE for Phlox to know if a species' brain would become more complex generations down the line without the use of a time machine. The only argument I could see is by wiping out the Valakians, the Menk's prime benefactors who they relied on for survivability, would create a new environment where the Menk must adapt or die, possibly favoring resourceful Menk over the long run.

This episode gets 0 Stars purely for the garbage science alone. This episode may have even informed some people's personal understanding of evolution, which is almost unforgivable.

But this episode is not about evolution really. The story they wanted to tell (but also failed here as well) was about the origins of the Prime Directive and non-interference in other planetary races' development. Many people have stated here in the comments in respects to the appalling interpretation of the Prime Directive in this episode, so I don't need to go into it too.

But there was something here that could have worked and made sense as a morality tale for the need of non-interference, and they totally missed the opportunity. Everything in the episode is the same leading up to that conservation between Phlox and Archer. My change would have been Phlox couldn't find a cure. He's a doctor, not a cultural anthropologist, so of course he then pleads with Archer to still try to help them live (Hippocratic Oath and all). The Valakians had earlier asked Archer for their warp drive technology so they could go out on their own to see if another species can help them find a cure. Because of Phlox's urging and his own pain at seeing suffering, Archer reluctantly gives the Valakians the specs for warp drive to help them save themselves. But the Valakians prove incapable of handling this new technology in their current state of scientific development, where they unintentionally cause an anti-matter chain reaction, destroying the entire planet. Both Menk and Valakians are now wiped out. The Prime Directive is about culture, technology, and engineering and the need for a race to develop social ideas and these advanced machines on their own. It is NOT about watching people die until they magically figure out warp drive technology.

Yes, my proposed story change is a lot darker, but it actually is a story about the need for the Prime Directive that MAKES SENSE, both scientifically and culturally.
Set Bookmark
Prospekt
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Here's my hot take: people are bashing this episode because there's a lot of indulgent goodbye scenes in it, but compare that to The Orville's "Identity, Part I" which was similarly packed with indulgent goodbye scenes - to a single character who was explicitly demonstrated to be unable to even comprehend the gravity of any of them. Complete with a party scene, heartbroken children, and sappy 20th century music. If we want to talk about cliche melodrama look no further. And yet a lot of people here had no problems and even praised it.

I'm reserving judgement on this episode, like others, as this is basically careful setup for whatever the finale brings. Given all of the press about it completely shaking up the universe and whatnot, I am quite optimistic.
Set Bookmark
Prospekt
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

also y'all Talos IV holy crap I'm so excited
Set Bookmark
Prospekt
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

IMO, this was a solid episode and probably my personal favorite of the series so far, because it just felt right. It didn't try to be more than it was and it achieved exactly what it set out to do - move us into the next half of the season.

The dialogue was surprisingly snappy and natural; it didn't feel stilted like it commonly does. The Spock-Amanda-Michael interactions were smoothly done. The A plot was pretty riveting and I enjoyed the drama, and the B plot may have been superfluous but there wasn't anything glaringly bad about it. Also I'm a sucker for time wackiness.

Overall, the most well-composed episode of the season so far. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Ein starkes Kapitel, das mich unbehaglich gemacht hat, die Gymnastik-Szene ist wirklich witzig
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Ich fange an, die Serie erneut zu sehen, da mir diese Folge nicht gefällt, zu altmodisch für meinen Geschmack, nicht für die Kostüme und Effekte dieser interrassischen Charaktere
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Fri, Jun 1, 2018, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

I wanna watch all of Star Trek, I love ds9 this was my show, so I want to give the rest of the franchise a try, this episode was goofy but I still liked it, the music at the opening, the visiual effects , 2.5 for Sentiment reason
Set Bookmark
KT
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@BZ @Jimmy

Explained also the discrepancies between early TOS Klingons and later, more warrior like Klingons, and possibly why women can't serve on the council; House Mokai turned the Klingon Empire into dishonourable spies!
Set Bookmark
KT
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@BZ who said "BSG was consistently good"

Really?! Even that s1 episode where the centuri ambassador had a love affair? And then about 5 eps later he chastises his nephew for having one, before proudly saying he's had 3 wives and couldn't stand any of them. A further few episodes later he tells Garibaldi that he married a dancing girl he fell for on the spot. There's nothing consistent or good about s1 B5 imo ...
Set Bookmark
KT
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Ed
"Exactly. While the story might have been more interesting with an added subplot about contested territory, nothing the characters said or did gives that impression."

Yeah, the writers seemed to have dropped any potential of the Klingon territorial claim in favour of making it seem like TKuvma was a warmongerer for unification purposes. Maybe they were attempting a commentary on Margret Thatcher and the Falklands war, or Bush and the Iraq war.
Set Bookmark
KT
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Jammer
"there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1. "

While I totally agree DIS1 doesn't deserve 4stars and would question the 3 stars it has been given, ENT4 "observer effect" deserves 4, or 3 and a half at least. I don't know why jammer would only give it a 3.
Set Bookmark
KT
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G "If there's any possibility of doubt that the borders are well-understood by both parties then the onus is on the Federation (the diplomats) to make sure everything is clear."

If that's the case why did Georgiou say with certainty, "This is Federation space, retreat is not an option. We have to flush the Klingons out".
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.