Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 239 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I agree, it was a pleasure reading that discussion and debate above. So well-written and civilized!

I'm re-watching on Amazon Prime and the preposterous fanfare and very canned applause are the introduction of each of the sect leaders. It's so out of place, but humorous at the same time. Is this someone's inside joke or what?
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I can understand some nitpicking about the plot, but man, that last scene is just brilliant. For me, it's just as powerful re-watching it the 10th time as it was the first time I saw it. Mulgrew's eyes say it all without verbalizing anything.

Joel Grey and Mulgrew acted their asses off the entire episode.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

@Bobbington Mc Bob -- it seems a bit preposterous to crow about spoilers for an episode that is TWENTY-FIVE freaking years old, no? ;-)

I just have to chime in and say this is such a fantastic episode, and I normally enjoy the mindless episodes like Starship Mine and Genesis. Darren is such a great character, she has more depth in one episode than Yar/Troi/Crusher ever get. I would've like to see more of her, although understand why that didn't happen.

Riker was also good here, and I agree with the other comments about how it's nice to see more of the normal day-to-day startship operations.

4/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Like all good trek before it when you get into serious trouble you call the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Calling it now. Mama Burnham alters history so Michael and spock never become siblings handling the spock never mentioned her plot hole.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Putting on my Karnac hat. Tears open envelope and blows


Georgio keeps mentioning Control and artificial intelligence. In the Section 31 Books Control was an Ultron-Like AI that wormed it's way into Starfleet and essentially became section 31.

Sloane told Julian that 31 has no headquarters, doesn't submit reports and reports to no one

Now all of a sudden 31 is like a third branch of the Federation.

So here's my theory.

Control, like Ultron realized the best way to save lives is to wipe them all out so they aren't a bother. Control modified the Doc Ock probe and has invaded Ariam. It sent all the probes in Spocks vision that wiped out the Alpha Quadrant.

So to stop this, the Red Angel is Georgio. She saved the World War 3 survivors because someone there was the Creator of control. It was probably Joshua. He had to survive Ww3 so he could help undo it later.

She will destroy 31s AI and officially 31 will be disbanded and done away with. But in reality, led by Georgio it will mutate into the small shadow organization we know from Ds9.

Remember, Because of the Defiant, she has knowledge of at least ten more years of Federation future, she can use future events to her benefit, like orchestrating Kirk to steal the Romulan cloaking device or making sure the next Klingon war starts near Organia so the Organians can stop it.

Based just on a small section 31 rather than this mega faction with ships and starbases, the section 31 show could be awesome just watching Georgio pull the strings and shape the Federation future.

I wonder how much I will get right.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

"Course heading, sir?"

God I love the Disco crew.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

MAKE.

SARU.

CAPTAIN.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

ANNNNND tillys in the Upside down
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 4:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I think you're a little hard on this episode. Sure it has a bunch of Ferengi buffoonery but at least it's a worthy story. And it makes it plausible that Rom would become Grand Nagus by series end. He is, after all, a populist.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And here I thought it was bad before - then it degenerated into an episode of Naked & Afraid without the naked. Holy shitballs.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Jul 3, 2017, 12:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

There's a scene at the end of the episode where Weyoun and Dukat are talking in the prefect's office about the impending battle and there on the desk in the foreground, almost tauntingly as if it's listening, is Sisko's baseball. Great shot, great scene, great episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 11:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

If this were a 2017 show this episode would have been one of many comprising a solid story arc. But alas, this was 1995. The Seska arc was mediocre at best.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

A good fan service episode that is made better by the presence of Keith Carridine.

On the supposedly "warp capable" escape pod: it wasn't, nor did the dialogue result in a a plot hole. On the contrary, it's well dramatized exposition. A.G. abandoned his test ship while traveling at warp 2.2 and therefore he had to pass through the warp barrier in the pod just after ejecting which was disorienting. The pod itself probably only had 2 thrusters.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I forgot that Caylem shanked the nazi with the knife Janeway gave him before he died. 10 out of 10.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

Outstanding episode, one of Voyager's best. Certain scenes in this remind me of both Schindler's List and The Pianist. I'm not saying it's on par with those stories but it did evoke some of the same feelings of pathos I have watching those films. 9 out of 10 stars.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 11:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Fodder for Right Wing snowflake Trek fans, of which there are many. Makes them feel like the "cucks" they think they're not while they watch the rapey hill people molest the hot girl they imagine as their wife. I agree with Paul on this one. It's patently ridiculous that Starfleet would arm a bunch of villagers in a proxy war with the Klingons. The logistics alone don't make sense. Not even Section 31 would be that daft. This is the single worst episode of the original 79. Give me Spock's Brain or the stupid hippie episode all day everyday instead of this steaming turd.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

It's a good thing we still have 50 years to stop the New Soviet Union Premier Eric Trump and the Bigly Politburo from launching that probe...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I find the Sisko hot box scenes disturbing. That used to be a way slaves were punished and he's the only person with dark skin in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

An awkward and hamfisted attempt at demonstrating American exceptionalism.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Only slightly more plausible than an episode of Naked and Afraid. Should have brought Moogie along...
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, May 8, 2017, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

This is one of those episodes I remember seeing as a kid and capturing my imagination. Lame looking aliens or not I give it a 9 out of 10 based on nostalgia alone. Even without the nostalgia it's still pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 6, 2017, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

The answer to your question, in a word, is no. In fact I found the "twist" to be tedious and insulting to my intelligence. "Oh gee, I'd really love to help you with the warp engine, Phlox, but I forgot how!"

(simulates masturbation to bi-labial fricative accompaniment)

Worst episode of the season.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Apr 17, 2017, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

They went eyeball to eyeball and the Romulans fellow just blinked.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Dec 14, 2016, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

These comments are unbelievable. Anyone who doesn't understand why the colonists acted the way they did has never seen a cult at work. These people have been brainwashed by their leader for 10 years, and brutally punished for crimes of individuality or opposition (see the scene after Sisko's first stay in the box). When the truth is revealed to them, of course they choose to ignore what it means. It breaks the worldview that's been hammered into them every day for a decade. The only ones capable of rational, objective thought are the ones who have yet to be fully indoctrinated: the two children we see solemnly staring at the cage at the end of the final scene.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.