Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 253 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 30, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

I actually would have preferred if the writers had figured out a way to keep Seska on board Voyager and a member of the crew. I consider this episode of waste of Martha Hackett’s talents. Once again she was given a character that we were led to believe was going to be a recurring character of a Federation adversary (first it was the Romulan T’Rul on DS9, in charge of the Defiant’s cloaking device, now a Cardassian spy) interacting and working with the crew. Turning her into a mustache twirling villain was a cop out. At least this time she didn’t just disappear. But it would’ve been a far more interesting voyage with a full-time Cardassian on board with all sorts of opportunities for good storytelling. Oh well, such were the pitfalls of Voyager viewing. They often went with safe storytelling instead of taking risks because network TV is what it is.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, May 27, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I, for one, was happy to see Bareil go. The actor sucked. Always the wooden, one dimensional performance. Not particularly well written either. Unfortunately, Shakaar was not that much better.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, May 26, 2020, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

For once they adequately explain away the “single village” thing. Their expedition crashed and the planet was uninhabited. Nuff said there but if they prefer their corporeal existence why don’t they just leave with the Defiant? This episode is a hot mess. The first of an otherwise stellar start to season 3. The Dax romance is Troi romance-level cringeworthy. And it’s almost always the fault of the guest actor and how he’s written - milquetoast boring and unremarkably handsome. Why would Dax fall for someone so ordinary? He’s worthy of a hookup at best. Gawd even Shakaar and Bareil are more interesting than this yawn inducing schmuck. Meanwhile the first major seed of the Odo/Kira romance is subtly planted, proving the writers are more adept at long form romance tales.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, May 26, 2020, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

“Attention Bajoran Workers” has become a meme. Which means this episode has stood up over the years as one of the more entertaining “hokey” efforts. I love how everything they do just trips another, worse, outcome. And I love scenery chewing if it’s done right and Alaimo and Robinson strike all the right comedic beats.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, May 25, 2020, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Of all the characters I want to make an appearance in Picard season 2, Michelle Forbes as Ro Laren would be a real treat. She has fantastic chemistry with Patrick Stewart as evidenced by this episode. It would be nice to hear her story of how she survived the decimation of the Maquis by The Dominion and what she did afterwards. There’s a great story waiting to be told with Ro and her old Captain crossing paths in a mission they need each other to complete.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, May 17, 2020, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Your anti-Troi bias is showing. Not that it doesn’t have merit but this, I believe, is Marina Sirtis’ best TNG performance. Which isn’t really saying much, but hey. Good writing begets good acting. And she has been the victim of bad writing more times than I care to speculate. I’d give this one that extra half star.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 16, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

The dialogue is snappy and engaging in the performances are too good to withhold that extra half star. This is Jennifer Hettrick‘s best turn as Vash and John DeLancie once again has excellent chemistry with just about everyone, he has a knack for elevating the performances of his costars. This episode also continued to unfold the world of DS9, the superb layout of the station, and the general feeling that this was truly a frontier outpost and a hub of activity of all sorts of aliens, both benevolent and shady (or often an intriguing combination of the two). It’s too bad Q never returned to DS9, he was fun with Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, May 9, 2020, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

The answer to your Troi dilemma is bad stories/writing. Because when both actresses are given good material to perform, they come shining through. See “Face of the Enemy” (Deanna) and “Dark Page” (Lwaxana).
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

You’re a bit hard on this film. As you say, even though completely unplanned, it grew organically out of the last film. So much so that the events that took place seemed almost inevitable. Where the film deserves another half star is in its execution. The Enterprise theft caper was glorious as was its destruction. And the running themes run parallel to and flip from Wrath of Khan. Unfairly maligned as one of the “odd numbered” films of the franchise. It stands right up there with but slightly below the great ones.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

Ham-fisted and goofy moralizing to be sure. But as a child this episode said a great deal to me and taught me a lesson about tolerance and the futility of race hatred. To see such a diverse group of people on the bridge of the Enterprise so utterly confused as to why the black & white cookie people hated each other got the message across to me. This episode low key helped to shape my view on tolerance and race relations. It’s still a pretty garbage episode overall though. Frank Gorshin goofily running through the corridors with images of fire and destruction in his head makes me laugh every time.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Wed, Apr 15, 2020, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I really don’t understand why modern age makeup is so laden down with rubber prosthetics. This style of makeup is much more low key and allows the actors to sell it rather than the effects. They should go back to this simple method.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Ellison was a whiny little bitch. The ending was perfect. Kirk always chose duty over love. And besides, it’s Roddenberry’s character.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I’m guessing Bailey ended up on desk duty somewhere after his bridge flip. We never heard from him again lol.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I call dibs on the band name, “Beaker Full of Death” lol
Set Bookmark
Justin
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 9:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I agree, it was a pleasure reading that discussion and debate above. So well-written and civilized!

I'm re-watching on Amazon Prime and the preposterous fanfare and very canned applause are the introduction of each of the sect leaders. It's so out of place, but humorous at the same time. Is this someone's inside joke or what?
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Aug 11, 2019, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

I can understand some nitpicking about the plot, but man, that last scene is just brilliant. For me, it's just as powerful re-watching it the 10th time as it was the first time I saw it. Mulgrew's eyes say it all without verbalizing anything.

Joel Grey and Mulgrew acted their asses off the entire episode.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

@Bobbington Mc Bob -- it seems a bit preposterous to crow about spoilers for an episode that is TWENTY-FIVE freaking years old, no? ;-)

I just have to chime in and say this is such a fantastic episode, and I normally enjoy the mindless episodes like Starship Mine and Genesis. Darren is such a great character, she has more depth in one episode than Yar/Troi/Crusher ever get. I would've like to see more of her, although understand why that didn't happen.

Riker was also good here, and I agree with the other comments about how it's nice to see more of the normal day-to-day startship operations.

4/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Like all good trek before it when you get into serious trouble you call the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Calling it now. Mama Burnham alters history so Michael and spock never become siblings handling the spock never mentioned her plot hole.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Putting on my Karnac hat. Tears open envelope and blows


Georgio keeps mentioning Control and artificial intelligence. In the Section 31 Books Control was an Ultron-Like AI that wormed it's way into Starfleet and essentially became section 31.

Sloane told Julian that 31 has no headquarters, doesn't submit reports and reports to no one

Now all of a sudden 31 is like a third branch of the Federation.

So here's my theory.

Control, like Ultron realized the best way to save lives is to wipe them all out so they aren't a bother. Control modified the Doc Ock probe and has invaded Ariam. It sent all the probes in Spocks vision that wiped out the Alpha Quadrant.

So to stop this, the Red Angel is Georgio. She saved the World War 3 survivors because someone there was the Creator of control. It was probably Joshua. He had to survive Ww3 so he could help undo it later.

She will destroy 31s AI and officially 31 will be disbanded and done away with. But in reality, led by Georgio it will mutate into the small shadow organization we know from Ds9.

Remember, Because of the Defiant, she has knowledge of at least ten more years of Federation future, she can use future events to her benefit, like orchestrating Kirk to steal the Romulan cloaking device or making sure the next Klingon war starts near Organia so the Organians can stop it.

Based just on a small section 31 rather than this mega faction with ships and starbases, the section 31 show could be awesome just watching Georgio pull the strings and shape the Federation future.

I wonder how much I will get right.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

"Course heading, sir?"

God I love the Disco crew.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

MAKE.

SARU.

CAPTAIN.
Set Bookmark
Justin Minor
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

ANNNNND tillys in the Upside down
Set Bookmark
Justin
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 4:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I think you're a little hard on this episode. Sure it has a bunch of Ferengi buffoonery but at least it's a worthy story. And it makes it plausible that Rom would become Grand Nagus by series end. He is, after all, a populist.
Set Bookmark
Justin
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And here I thought it was bad before - then it degenerated into an episode of Naked & Afraid without the naked. Holy shitballs.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.