Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

"Especially the lies"

I used to love that line, but now I think it might be a bit of a cop-out in that it doesn't really say anything. It's just double-speak. Maybe that's the point?
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

One of Trek's finest moments. Though I think it would have been better to have Marritza live and then recur in the series and check in on his struggle to cope. Don't let good characters (and good actors) get away so easily. That said, I get why they did what they did in killing him to drive home the point about hatred dying hard. Episodes like this are why Trek endures.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH8xbDGv7oY

I'm still making my way through season one, but it's all been spoiled for me so I'm not afraid of reading these reviews. The show seems like it has a lot of potential, but never quite gets all the way there. That's been a problem with most of the Trek series though. Maddeningly inconsistent. I wonder if shorter seasons ala Game of Thrones would make the show tighter and stronger?
Set Bookmark
jrpl
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This episode worked much better for me than the pilot did. Lots of intrigue. Though I'm not buying that they'd let the prisoners eat with the crew without restraints, much less pair them up with the crew as roommates or give them jobs on the ship. But that's a minor nitpick. The look of this episode was great from a production standpoint.

Lorca is the most interesting Trek captain in quite some time.
Set Bookmark
jrpl
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Anyone calling Rey a Mary Sue is forgetting that Luke Skywalker was the Mary Sue'ist of Mary Sue characters. As was Anakin.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sun, May 13, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

As with much of Voyager, not everything here works, but I had a lot of fun rewatching this last night. Also, there's a great bit of business with Tuvok and Janeway during the pulsar sequence:

"I hope you were exaggerating!" - Janeway
"I was NOT!" - Tuvok

Well delivered. Fun ep.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Ed: That's good :)

Best sci fi score in recent memory for me was the sparse soundtrack to Duncan Jones' Moon. Real moody and put you in that space (no pun intended) with Sam Rockwell's character(s).
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

One thing that I appreciate watching old eps of TNG is how it's not covered in wall to wall music. You get to hear a lot of ambient sounds and the constant hum of the ship. I love a good orchestral score, but the times when the score would drop out made the Enterprise feel more real to me. Gave the show a neat atmosphere that I appreciate more with age.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Given how first seasons are generally shakedowns, it's best to leave them out of discussions about lack of 4 star episodes. Usually any that do appear are flukes or one offs like Duet or Dear Doctor that rise above the rest of their first season cousins due to having something singular about them that rises them above the rest.

I'd suggest a better conversation would be to look at seasons that have more than one 4 star episode and investigate what makes those seasons tick.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1.

What grand and esoteric piece of wisdom can be gleaned from this?"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That Jammer is part of the big anti Voyager season 1 lobby? Or is it the Enterprise season 4 lobby? Actually, it's because when those seasons were airing, Venus was aligned with the Moon.

Anyways, to actually answer that question, I've always found ENT S4 to be highly overrated by the fanbase. The notion that Manny Coto came and saved the show ignores just how boring and predictable the episodes that season really were. TO me it was the least interesting season of the show.

VOY S1 was a shakedown cruise. Some good stuff, but they were still figuring it out. I do really love the Beowulf episode though.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

If I have one small nitpick about nuTrek it's how the ships fire dozens of shots at a time. It makes them feel like fighter jets. I realize the Defiant started us down this road, but it was the one thing during the 09 Trek movie where I was like, "hmmm". I realize it's done to keep up with modern sensibilities, but it was kind of awful looking. On the other end of the spectrum, I really liked the physicality of the new hand phasers.

But that's all window dressing at the end of the day. As for the rest, as long as it's consistent with its own internal logic, I'm willing to follow down whatever path it leads. As long as magic blood isn't involved ;)

I'm not keen on the redisgn of the klingon look. Though I'm fine with them tweaking the personality of them. Klingons in Berman Trek became more and more cartoonish and buffonish outside of Worf and B'Elanna as the seasons and shows and movies wore on. I'm happy to see anything that makes them feel like a real threat again. As I stated earlier, I haven't seen any eps of Discovery yet, so I've no idea if the new show accomplishes this. Yet...
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Paulus Marius: I didn't know that. Thanks for the heads up. I just assumed that service would require a traditional cable subscription in addition to signing up for Crave. It appears that isn't the case. I'll check it out.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Mertov: It could be a long wait. I'm holding out hope it'll show up on itunes or netflix here at some point. I'd even consider picking up the blu ray if they go that route.

I am currently doing a rewatch of Voyager and oh boy do parts of that show not hold up at all. Though I still love the look of it. It's still my favorite looking ship interior.
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I haven't seen a single episode of Discovery yet. In Canada it's showing on the Space network and not available on Netflix or any other streaming platform, and CBS's platform is not available here. I haven't had cable since 2003, and never will again. So with no way to watch the show, I've been happy to spoil it by reading reviews and fan chatter.

I want to be open -minded. I loved the first JJ film. The other two not so much. Discovery seems interesting, but from what I can tell from what you guys have said, it sounds just as inconsistent as Voyager and Enterprise were.

On a side note, the whole idea of a spore drive really turns me off. It just sounds really, really silly. I also saw a clip of the show on youtube in which the Enterprise goes to warp and seems to be moving downwards instead of straight ahead as though it were being propelled by thrusters on the top of the ship. Makes me feel like the JJ movies did in that there's a blatant disregard for basic physics. I realize warp drive is simply a made up concept, but at least keep the same internal consistency.

At least Discovery doesn't have Khan's magic blood. So it at least has that going for it...

Speaking of, what the hell were the writers of Into Darkness thinking? If you introduce a magical way to bring your characters back to life you destroy all sense of drama and tension going forward. It's rule one of writing drama.

That said, they brought back Spock in TSFS so...
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.