Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 95 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Sep 17, 2021, 1:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

I actually laughed several times during this ep. The Pakleds always crack me up; and Boimler‘s antics with the BEM near the end were easy triggers. Bonus laughs every time “Captain Janeway” was mentioned.

But the highlight of the ep for me was seeing the good ole’ bridge of the Enterprise D again! It looked fantastic! I don’t suppose we could have a show centered on that? Nah …
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 5:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Oh, well: I blew that prediction!

Maybe by the end of the Year?
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 8:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Well, Labor Day is traditionally thought of as the Last Day of Summer.

So, I’m calling it:
We get the Review tomorrow, September 6, 2021!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Tue, May 4, 2021, 12:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

I was hoping for Jammers review of this movie to finally drop today (May 4th 2021).

Oh, well: The day’s still not quite over. (Fingers Crossed!) 🤞

In the meantime, “May the Fourth be With You”!!
Set Bookmark
joseph lindsey
Fri, Apr 30, 2021, 6:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I am here for one reason. I loved this episode....and the reason I loved this episode is the performance by France Nuyen. I thought she was riveting.
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Bucktown:

You wrote:
“Ultimately, Star Trek is at its simplest core a workplace drama of elite professionals putting aside differences to solve science-based mysteries or social/cultural/ethical problems that pop up each week. That's it.”

Minus “The Burn”/Universal Music Theme/Emperor references, YOU JUST DESCRIBED THIS WEEK’s EPISODE!! I think that’s why it 100% felt like “Star Trek” to me! Good Job!!
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I’ll make this short and sweet:

THAT WAS STAR TREK!!!!!

*****/*****
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 8:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

OK you “Negative Nellies” , I just wanted to chime in here to state that this life-long Star Trek fan really enjoyed this episode. One thing that has been missing from Discovery’s first two seasons was true human pathos — something TOS had in spades. It’s hard to do without edging over into “schmalz” territory; and this ep, unfortunately, started out with the schmalz. But as the story progressed I saw some true human pathos along with some decent humor. Combine that with a real “Star Trek” plot; fantastic, movie-quality SFX; and a decent twist ending and I was a happy camper.
Gimme’ more like this, please! ***1/2
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

One actor in this episode will go on to have a prolific and successful Hollywood career. (Hint: It's not a regular cast member.)
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Fair enough, I liked Star Trek 2009 better than The Big Lebowski too.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Kurtzman only has writing credit for one episode of Discovery, so this argument is pretttttty dumb. But okay, “Star Trek” (2009) was written by Kurtzman and was critically acclaimed with an aggregate 94% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Take a look at the critical ratings of other Trek movies:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 41% approval.
Star Trek: Generations - 50% approval.

Few Trek movies have aggregate approval close to Kurtzman’s - “The Wrath of Khan” with an 88% and “Star Trek: First Contact” with a 92%.

TLDR: Yeah, well, that’s just, like your opinion, man.
Set Bookmark
Louis-Joseph Tremblay
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

@Chris Arturo, I had no idea that he was from Montréal, to me everything about him just shouts “Toronto” and that’s only because I knew that he’s Canadian.

Anyhow, on it’s own this is an alright episode but I really enjoy it in context, particularly in light of Data and the Doctor. For me, as a biology graduate and someone interested in philosophy, the idea that a robot of any sort is life, let alone a sentient person is profoundly unsatisfactory, they are well designed copies — my sister in law is allergic is shellfish and so when I had them over for dinner the other day used surimi, imitation crab. I think that if I hadn’t prepared it and didn’t t know the truth I would think that it was real, does that mean that surimi *is* crab?
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 1:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Cupid's Errant Arrow

@ Bobba Fett — I’m sure Jammer will have his review of “Rise of Skywalker” up prior to the next Star Wars movie. 🤨
Set Bookmark
joseph woodworth
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 6:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I rewatched this, and Wynn’s decision makes a little more sense to me now, there’s a small detail - She says , if the prophet wins there will be a thousand years of peace, and we won’t need vedecs or kais or even the emissary. It’s almost as if She thinks a prophet victory will remove the need for her office, and her power would disappear...
Set Bookmark
Joseph C
Fri, May 1, 2020, 8:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Dead to me was right. Not reading your reviews anymore.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 3:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Well just for “kicks and giggles”, here’s my Star Wars movie rankings:

* Empire Strikes Back — Still the best sequel ever made. Only “Terminator 2” can even come close toit.

* Star Wars (er, I mean, “The New Hope”) — Still remember when I saw it the first time. We had to bus over to Atlanta (from Birmingham). Stood in line in the rain for 90 minutes. Jaw hit the floor just after the opening crawl. When the movie was over we just nodded to each other and got back in line.

* Return of the Jedi
* Rogue One
* Revenge of the Sith
* The Force Awakens — Had a lot of fun in the theater with this one. In retrospect, it might have been the “Harrison Ford” factor.
* The Phantom Menace
* The Rise of Skywalker
* Attack of the Clones — This movie could have been great if Spielberg had directed it. He approached Lucas to do just that and was turned down. The pivotal love story just didn’t work under Lucas’ direction.
* The Last Jedi — I didn’t hate it until the end when Luke “force projected” himself into the showdown and then just faded away. WTF(?). Good acting from Hamill for the first 2/3rds of the movie, but I couldn’t buy that ending ... 😡
* Solo — They should have just used Harrison and Williams with the CGI de-aging ...
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thought it was a great episode to end the Season with!
There were lots of callbacks to previous eps and was very exciting to boot!
The VFX and the music were all sensational.

I know the whole “time travel” thing inevitably ends with a “reset” but it was fun seeing it play out!

This is an easy 3.5/4 for me!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 8:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

OMG!!!

I had some misgivings coming in, but this was *FANTASTIC* in every sense of the word.

Four Stars!
.... And the entire Season — and Series — has been redeemed!!

Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@Yair

"Art is about introspection of nature (especially human nature). Good introspection does not have to critical of 'us' (whatever that is), or even to deal with us. Fiction about some 12th century BC people could very well be worthwhile art if it examines human nature honestly and incisively."

Does Orville do that? Does it have any valuable insights on, say, astrology or Islam (Krill). Or are its insights there to validate our own beliefs and make us feel more comfortable with what we believe?

"Also, the nature of this particular subgenre is to indirectly critique current human politics by showing a supposedly more enlightened one, rather than critiquing it directly (I haven't seen this episode, so I can't comment on whether it does this). "

I do not find Orville's politics any more enlightened than our own. They seem to have the same self-absorbed beliefs (both the main command officers are concerned with furthering their personal careers and developing special relationships for themselves) and the Union seems to be obsessed with protecting itself.
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Sci-fi and all other fiction is actually useless unless it points out where we (yes, WE) are going wrong and need to do better. If it just points to others (Islam, anti-vaxxers and so on) and condemns them, then what is the point? It is nothing but a smug and self-satisfying comfort blanket while projecting all the world's problems on the other, ensuring nothing will change.
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 12:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@Charles J
"This all feels very much like two superpowers who still need to find something deeper and humanitarian that can connect them than mutual survival and existential fear. "

Yes, and it's a bit depressing that fear is seen as the only viable bridge between ideological differences. The Krill's portrayal has now become extremely uneven. I mean, given their reverence for Avis, how likely is it that the destruction of a ship or two by one Kaylon ship would be enough to launch a huge attack to protect a former enemy? There would certainly be some Catholic-like intermediary deciding whether that's the best move, and it would be based on religious and not practical grounds. They've gone from a species whose faith made them interesting and different to just another humanoid race with the same policies and worldview of any 21st century Earth nation.

It seems like the overall picture of the Krill swings between "warmongering" and "zealous", but perhaps the two are identical in Seth's mind. It's the same shallow and unthinkingly biased treatment that we got of astrology in "Birthday Cake". If Seth were so confident in his mind about themes and concepts he disagreed with, there would be no need to constantly portray these cultures as so mean and nasty. There must be at least one writer on the show who understands (as TNG did) that sci-fi doesn't have to be a cheersquad proclaiming the virtues of science and human progress.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I thought this was a very satisfying conclusion to the two parter.

To those complaining about the Orville surving multiple hits from the Kaylon ships, look no further than the Moclan upgrade featured three episodes ago!

The major plot point issue was the Kaylon’s reasoning that the crew of the Orville would be willing to help them obliterate the entire human race which would, presumably, include them once the deed was done. Members of the Orville crew, Isaac, and even Ty all thought that this was flawed logic. And you know what? That’s because it *was* flawed logic! The Kaylon profess to being superior logical machines with no emotions but they definitely are not! They’re emotional to the extreme about the “slavery” imposed on them by their former “masters” — so much so that they forced Isaac to read “Roots” — a novel published hundreds of years ago. Isaac immediately tried to explain that he had not witnessed any such behavior from the current generation of humans he had interacted with and this was totally dismissed. (I think it was at this point that Isaac realized that emotion had overtaken logic among the earlier constructed Kaylons.) The whole point was that the Kaylon are so obsessed with their past that they are now emotionally driven by it and are no longer the logical entities they profess to be. They are flawed! And Isaac now knows that!!

Oh, yeah: Loved the Space Battle!!

This was a Four Star Plus ep for me!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Just finished viewing the ep ...

Here is my two word Review:

HOLY SHIT!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 1:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

This episode felt closer to “Star Trek” than anything I’ve seen on TV since the Vulcan arc in the last season of “Enterprise”. I’m giving it 3.5 stars.

Here’s an interview with Frakes where he provides a possible explanation for Tilley’s imaginary friend:

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/star-trek-discovery-new-eden-explained-jonathan-frakes-interview-1178654

He also reveals in the interview that he will have a role in the upcoming “Picard” series but is not allowed to reveal what it will entail.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 3:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Jammer, thanks for the review!

Three stars is just about right for the second season premiere. Anson Mount as Captain Pike made this show feel like Star Trek for the first time since last season’s premier episode; and the production values — as you stated — were incredible!

As far as streaming issues: I’m using an inexpensive ($60) Roku box attached to my projector and everything looks and sounds great! Now, my ISP is Spectrum and they are delivering an almost constant 100 Mb/second so that may have something to do with it. I also recently upgraded to a modern dual band router. I know last year I did experience buffering issues during the first half of the season. I’ve had no issues since.
Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.