Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 56 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I thought this was a very satisfying conclusion to the two parter.

To those complaining about the Orville surving multiple hits from the Kaylon ships, look no further than the Moclan upgrade featured three episodes ago!

The major plot point issue was the Kaylon’s reasoning that the crew of the Orville would be willing to help them obliterate the entire human race which would, presumably, include them once the deed was done. Members of the Orville crew, Isaac, and even Ty all thought that this was flawed logic. And you know what? That’s because it *was* flawed logic! The Kaylon profess to being superior logical machines with no emotions but they definitely are not! They’re emotional to the extreme about the “slavery” imposed on them by their former “masters” — so much so that they forced Isaac to read “Roots” — a novel published hundreds of years ago. Isaac immediately tried to explain that he had not witnessed any such behavior from the current generation of humans he had interacted with and this was totally dismissed. (I think it was at this point that Isaac realized that emotion had overtaken logic among the earlier constructed Kaylons.) The whole point was that the Kaylon are so obsessed with their past that they are now emotionally driven by it and are no longer the logical entities they profess to be. They are flawed! And Isaac now knows that!!

Oh, yeah: Loved the Space Battle!!

This was a Four Star Plus ep for me!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Just finished viewing the ep ...

Here is my two word Review:

HOLY SHIT!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

This episode felt closer to “Star Trek” than anything I’ve seen on TV since the Vulcan arc in the last season of “Enterprise”. I’m giving it 3.5 stars.

Here’s an interview with Frakes where he provides a possible explanation for Tilley’s imaginary friend:

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/star-trek-discovery-new-eden-explained-jonathan-frakes-interview-1178654

He also reveals in the interview that he will have a role in the upcoming “Picard” series but is not allowed to reveal what it will entail.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Jammer, thanks for the review!

Three stars is just about right for the second season premiere. Anson Mount as Captain Pike made this show feel like Star Trek for the first time since last season’s premier episode; and the production values — as you stated — were incredible!

As far as streaming issues: I’m using an inexpensive ($60) Roku box attached to my projector and everything looks and sounds great! Now, my ISP is Spectrum and they are delivering an almost constant 100 Mb/second so that may have something to do with it. I also recently upgraded to a modern dual band router. I know last year I did experience buffering issues during the first half of the season. I’ve had no issues since.
Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 8:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

This was the very definition of a “Bottle Show” .... and it was good!

With allusions of “Amok Time” — the Star Trek:TOS season two opener — we got a character-driven show encompassing the entire main crew. And it was actually funny!

I was laughing out loud at the
* Flyby
* The entire senior staff meeting regarding Bortis’ “request”.
* “The poem”
* ... and, of course, the running “As Time Goes By” references.

I wouldn’t want to see another show like this in the same season, but for what it was it was well done.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jul 7, 2018, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Wow! I just looked at the Fox schedule for Season 2 and it suddenly hit me that there will be only one new episode released for the entire calendar year of 2018! How messed up is that?!!

BTW, that one new episode is scheduled for 12/30/2018 so they just barely squeaked it in!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, May 25, 2018, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I saw the movie last night in a sold out theater and thought it was a lot of fun!

I liked the slow build up to the introductions of the iconic characters; and the way they held back the Star Wars music themes until the Millennium Falcon was on the screen.

The first half hour reminded me a lot of “Firefly” — not a bad place to go when you want a Sci-Fi/Western/Comedy mix. (But the comedy part was dialed way back ; this probably happened when Ron Howard was brought on board to direct. It’s hard to say if the movie could have been better with an even more comedic tone.)

The movie definitely succeeds in one regard: By the time we get to the last half hour I actually felt like I was viewing a young version of Han Solo.

Anyway, the crowd I viewed the movie with was into the movie big time: Cheering at the first sight of Chewbacca, Lando, the Millennium Falcon; and, yes, the mention of making the Kessell run in 12 parsecs! (They also gasped with surprise when the direct link to the “Star Wars: Clone Wars” and “Star Wars: Rebels” series was revealed.)

All in all, a fun romp in the Star Wars universe. ***
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, May 4, 2018, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Great Review ... And Great Timing (Star Wars Day)!

I have viewed the movie three times now (once in the Theater, once on Digital, and once on Blu-ray) and have enjoyed the movie more each time.

Initially I gave this movie only two-and-a-half stars. On my first viewing I was upset with the whole “Vegas” plotline and the way Luke went out at the end. After having experienced the movie multiple times I now understand what the Director was going for and now place this movie easily into my Top 4 favorite Star Wars movies.

Your review has validated my (newfound) opinion of the movie.

Thanks ... And May the Fourth be With You!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 7:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Jammer:
Nice review!

I enjoyed this episode much more than you did, but I can certainly appreciate the concerns you outlined. (And I was also hoping that they had overshot by 150 years!)

From my perspective, this was a 4 Star (OMG!) episode based on the fact that
* I was highly entertained, and
* It felt like “Star Trek” to me (albeit with tproduction values not seen in any prior Trek TV series.)

I was very skeptical that CBS could pull off a modern serialized Star Trek series, but I’m fully on board now. I’ve even gotten use to the viewing it on CBS All-Access — which has provided a consistently quality viewing experience since the series came back from hiatus.

Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

This was a Four Stars “OMG!” ep!!

I was riveted for the entire run time and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the production: The acting; the exciting movie-quality special effects; the “moralistic”, but action-packed plot; and the very nicely done score which augmented and enhanced the suspense and excitement.

In fact, this was “too good for television”!

Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Is Snoke still alive?

There are rumors out there that a deleted scene which may be included on the Blu-ray indicates that Snoke not only knew how to “Force project” his image, but that he was also concealing his true form! Rey and Ren may have seen what only what he wanted them to see.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I didn’t love this movie, but I did enjoy it.

The main problem for me — as others have already stated here — was the whole “casino” sublot which ultimately only truly connected with the last scene in the movie. Was it important? Yes — As an indication that the Jedi will continue as evidenced by the last scene. Could it have been done more expeditiously? Most defenitely!

I did enjoy just about averything involving Luke (well, perhaps not the “milk” scene); and the Rey/Kylo/Snoak stuff was all awesome. The movie had humor/pathos/action *and* surprises; and served to expand the Star Wars mythos.

It gets three-and-a-half stars from me, and slots in equal with TFA, but still well below ANH and ESB.

Can’t wait to see it again, though!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I gave this episode 3 1/2 Stars!
Had it not been for the presentation of the Klingon scenes, I’d give it 4 Stars!!

The plot was pure Trek, with the “monster” ultimately revealed to be the crux of the entire Spore Drive. And I *really loved* the execution of this scenario.

I have to admit that I was very skeptical that this series could even approach something that even felt like Trek. But I’m ALL IN now!!

LLAP!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

All I can say right now is that I’m having *fun* with this show.

Yes, this plot was terribly derivative of several Star Trek:TOS eps, but there was some originality with the execution. As mentioned by Jammer, the first part recaptured the “sense of wonder” we all crave from Star Trek. And the last part was enhanced by a surprise guest star along with the title revelation. In the middle we got a “mini” space fight.

I think the bottom line here is that a lot of us are starved for a new “Star Trek” type show back on TV. And “Discovery” is now stuck behind a pay wall. I’m going to pay for a month of CBS-AA to give the “official” show a real chance, but I’m not happy about it. And right now The Orville seems more familiar. And it’s certainly more accessible.
It *does* need to get a little better, but I’m willing to give it plenty of time to get there.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer, Thanks for the Review!!!

I was wondering --- all this time --- how this movie would be rated from a reviewer totally steeped in the Star Trek mythos.

I, myself, had given it an 8 out of 10 for the first two thirds of the movie, but thought it stumbled badly to a 2 out of 10 for the last third. Average it all together and it ekes out to two-and-a-half stars for me. I just couldn't get past the movie ripping whole scenes and dialogue from TWoK for the "clever" role reversal.

But I will say this: I have lots of friends and co-workers in their 20's --- many of which had never considered viewing Star Trek prior to 2009 --- and they were unanimous in their praise of the movie. One of them even told me he was *shocked* at my negative attitude. So, bottom line: Abrams mostly reached the audience he was going for. And you have vindicated that perspective with your insightful review.

Thanks again for following through with this. It's always a pleasure to read Star Trek reviews from a Star Trek expert!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Thu, Jul 21, 2016, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@ James:

I think, technically, Jammer has until 7:00 pm EDT today to get the review of STID up before "Beyond" is out ...
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jun 25, 2016, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This movie was just released in the new 4K UHD Blu-ray format!!
According to reviewers they used the IMAX format (1.78:1) aspect ratio for many of the scenes and they say it looks phenomenal! The package also includes the regular 2K Blu-ray releases for both Star Trek (2009) and "Into Darkness" as well as $8.00 off on a movie ticket to see "Beyond".

So if Jammer was waiting on the 4K iteration of the movie before writing his review, he has now run out of excuses!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Wed, Jan 27, 2016, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

@Eric:

Well we all know that the "Nooo" inserted into the Blu-ray iteration of "Jedi" was meant as a "close-the-arc" moment for Vader echoing back to the "Nooo" in "Sith" which was a "close-the-arc" moment for Anakin.

In "Revenge of the Sith" the last vestige of Anakin was shed by the "Nooo" in response to the revelation of Padme's death (and --as far as he knew at the time -- his son as well). Saving Padme was, after all, the main reason he had chosen this path. Following the "Nooo" he was 100% a slave to both Palpatine and the suit. (Ironic that he started as a slave in TPM and ended as a slave in ROTS.)

The "Nooo" in "Jedi" was meant to signal the end of Vader and the reemergence of Anakin as the son that he had not known about until the events in "Empire" was about to be killed.

The problem that we all have with it, of course, is that from 1983 until the Blu-ray release in 2011 this "Nooo" was not in this movie and it therefore seems awkward for it to be there now.

"Star Wars virgins" -- viewing these movies for the first time -- have no problem with it and recognize it as the callback to "Sith" that it's meant to be.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Jan 22, 2016, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I see a lot of comments here regarding the "inane" death of Padme.

There is actually almost overwhelming evidence that Palpatine killed Padme.

Check out this YouTube video for the presentation of the evidence:
https://youtu.be/XiftMcW2rWM

Alternatively, there is also a theory that her death and funeral were faked, and that she actually lived long enough to help organize the Rebel Alliance. There are rumors that this latter theory could be cannon by, say, December 16th of 2016!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Wed, Jan 20, 2016, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

@Dom (and others),

I don't think that anything can be assumed regarding what Rey can or cannot do until we see the additional episodes in the Sequel Trilogy.

It's quite possible that she may have been in Luke's Jedi Training Class which is why she seems to "know" some of the things she does with the Force. Luke may have placed a Jedi Block on her memories to hide her from Kylo Ren since he was seeking out and killing all the trainees in the class. My impression upon viewing the movie was that her latent Jedi training started to come to the fore due to the combination of being exposed to Luke's lightsabre and the Kylo Ren mind-probing. She didn't show any Jedi abilities until those incidents and then all of a sudden she could perform Jedi mind tricks and fight off an injured Kylo Ren in the snow confrontation. (Please don't forget that Ren had just taken a phaser blast to the chest from Chewbacca that had to slow him down at least a little in the two mini-lightsabre duels which followed.)

In short, I feel we'll know more regarding Rey's abilities when Episode VIII hits!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Wed, Apr 1, 2015, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

After viewing this episode for only the second time in 20 years, I can only assume that Kirk's judgement was impaired by early symptoms of the onslaught of Rigelian fever. That's the only way to explain his totally out of character actions in this episode, since it had already been well established on multiple occasions that his first love is his ship. Perhaps Flint was even aware of this early symptom of the disease and decided to exploit it in his effort to unlock his android's emotions.

If that was, indeed, the rationale driving this story, I sure would have appreciated a few lines of exposition by McCoy or Spock confirming it.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Tue, Dec 30, 2014, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Wow! Jammer's coming right down to the wire on this one!!
I'm still hoping for a 2014 review ...

"Live Long and Prosper" everybody!!!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Dec 20, 2014, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I think Jammer stated that he was going to try to get this review out before the end of 2014, so we're apparently just *days* away now!! I certainly hope so, since I've been waiting on the review so I could watch the IMAX version of the movie on the recently released Star Trek: Compendium Blu-ray release from Jammer's perspective.

In the meantime, IGN just posted this little blurb on how Star Wars may have ruined Star Trek:

www.ign.com/articles/2014/12/20/how-star-wars-ruined-star-trek
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Mon, Oct 13, 2014, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I would definitely go with Option 2 since that was what I hoping for for the second movie as well.

It's been several months since I checked this site (haven't had time to view any classic Trek TV lately) but was really hoping that Jammer had posted his review of the movie by now. I just picked up the Star Trek Compendium Blu-Ray package which includes the IMAX version of STID (although in 2D only) and was hoping to view the disc after reading Jammer's insights. I guess the good news here is that we're into the final three months of 2014, so the review should be up in the next 60 days or so ...
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sat, Jul 26, 2014, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Just finished viewing the first season of "Arrow" which is a new super hero series based on the "Green Arrow" comics series. The show utilizes the tone of "The Dark Knight" movie to good effect and is reasonably entertaining as a result.

While viewing the eps it seemed to me that there was something hauntingly familiar about the actress playing Oliver Green's mother. Sure enough, it’s the same actress that played Lenara Kahn in this groundbreaking (at the time) DS9 ep. It seems incredible that this episode aired almost twenty years ago. And Susanna Thompson is still a very capable and attractive actress even after all this time.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.