Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Thu, Sep 29, 2016, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

This is so inaccurate technology-wise that it's hard to watch and not believable in 2016. I couldn't sit through it. As Yogi Berra said, "The future isn't what it used to be".
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Say what you will about this one, it's all worth it for Sisko's reaction to Bashir admitting he obtained Romulan mind probes. That little interaction is worth a star or two by itself.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I can't believe I would give a holodeck-centric episode about a Ferengi 4 stars, but this is so psychologically authentic, profound and well-acted that I'd have to. It's one of the most relevant-to-real-life episodes in Star Trek, and its relevancy is NOT limited to war veterans, but includes also anyone who's ever tried to escape from life out of fear. Those conversations near the end with Vic are gold: Eisenberg and Darren are simply brilliant. I felt uplifted after watching this. "Who could ask for anything more?"
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

1) Did not appreciate the Gowron send-off. He deserved better.

2) Come on, we all knew who Damar was going to shoot, so painfully obvious.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Rene Auberjonois, the actor who plays Odo, is in my opinion one of the best Star Trek has ever had, and a real unsung hero of the franchise. His portrayal of Odo is something special: he breathes so much life and nuance into the character. Even though his facial expressions are limited, with every little turn of his head or twinkle of his eye he manages to convey so much. And his sense of humor is great to boot. It's interesting that in real life his voice sounds quite different - that low gruff voice is part of his act. He really shines in that last scene with the other changeling.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

1) They made it way too obvious that Ross was working for Sloan.
2) Bashir would make a terrible spy.
3) Liked the Romulan council scene, and Sloan's 'death' was shocking.
4) Romulans need more makeup where the foreheads meet their real faces. Or just don't have such a low camera angle, if that's easier.
5) Solid episode, but not 4 stars. 3.5 at best.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

It felt like an episode of something else that happened to occur in the Star Trek universe. So even though it was well-executed, it felt off as a Star Trek episode. During the battle in particular I noted that the orchestral, epic music was really grand and profound, but it was SO not Star Trek. I would probably deduct a star for that.

Am I the only one who noticed that the engineer who dies is Will Robinson from Lost in Space (which was TOS rival back in the day)?
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Sat, Sep 24, 2016, 11:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I haven't seen anyone make the following point yet so I will:

I've always noticed that some Star Trek alien characters seem 'authentic', and some come across as human actors wearing makeup. I don't know if it's the actor's fault or the director's, but there's nothing Romulan about Nero and I found it hard to convince myself he was really Romulan while watching the movie. He came across as a very angry human with pointy ears.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El H
Thu, Sep 22, 2016, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

If this isn't a 4 star episode, I don't know what is. And you don't have to be a DS9 fan to love this episode: I'm not and I do. Like many other comments here, I found the ending to be far from 'unproductive' - it adds a level of nuance that puts this episode over the top. It shows how deep Picard's calculations were, how sometimes even if you're right you need to look at the bigger picture before you act. And it prevents this episode from being a predictable, black-and-white affair. I think it's actually one of the best and most powerful endings ever to an episode of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Tue, Sep 20, 2016, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

Mixed feelings - it's well directed in a psychologically creepy way, and it kept me interested throughout. But that kind of ending is always a letdown, so I couldn't give it more than 2.5 stars. Then again, if it hadn't been a dream there were a lot of things that just wouldn't make sense, so I wasn't sure what to hope for.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Sun, Sep 18, 2016, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

This can't be less than 3 stars. The fact that it engendered such passionate debate in the comments here is a testament to what a thought-provoking episode this was. It's a great example of philosophical Sci-Fi. And that actress is impressive - I really felt like she had lost her son, the emotion in her voice was perfect, and that last scene was just so depressing and tragic.

I want to echo what was already pointed out - Picard was never going to allow the CE to roam freely if an alternative couldn't be found, he was clearly going to destroy it immediately in such a case.

Is it just me or is this the most depressing episode of TNG?
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Wed, Sep 14, 2016, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

I actually appreciated the ending, because it was a new creative sci-fi idea: same goal as the Federation, but opposite way of going about it. And because it was such an unexpected twist: the viewer was led to believe that Barclay was acting independently and that the episode would end when he was stopped, then suddenly there's a giant friendly Santa ghost head floating on the bridge! Great twist ending to an already good episode.

If they could have in later episodes had them using some of their newfound knowledge that they learned from the Santa ghost that would have been great for continuity.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Mon, Sep 12, 2016, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

It was good, but you guys are overrating it a little. The first brainwashing scene had so much obvious exposition, I thought the Romulan was going to turn to the camera and say "All you viewers got that? You understand what we're trying to do, right?" And what a fortunate coincidence for the viewer that Geordi's double happens to be in the room! Beyond that, I can't find anything specific to point to that was wrong, and there were many scenes that were effective in their own eerie, dark way, but I just can't see this making anyone's list of best all-time episodes.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El H
Fri, Sep 9, 2016, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Jammer I'm so glad and relieved that you didn't jump onto the hate bandwagon. I think 3 stars is exactly right. It feels like many of us have come to see movies as black-and-white: either it's great or it's terrible. Any movie that has many flaws, like this one, must therefore be terrible. But OVERALL I found this to be a very enjoyable movie. After watching it I thought to myself "That was fun. There are several things that didn't make sense to me, and that whole Kirk dying for five minutes and Spock shouting 'Khan' was really,really dumb, but overall I had a great time."

I disagree about Peter Weller. I think he did a fantastic job, and that his tense confrontation with Kirk was great.

I attribute the over-homage to WOK to Abrams overcompensating for (by his own admission) not originally being a Trek fan; his insecurity leading him to try to prove his loyalty to the franchise by referencing earlier well-loved Star Trek moments. Just a theory.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El H.
Fri, Sep 9, 2016, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

It felt like the confrontation scene with Sarek ended rather abruptly, like it was cut off before the originally intended end of the scene.

I remember an interview in which P. Stewart evaded a question about which role he liked better, Picard or Prof. Xavier. Episodes like this (and there are so many) make it very hard to believe he really doesn't know the answer - Picard is clearly THE role he was born to play, and he invested so much more of himself in this role, so much more emotional depth, charisma, and brilliant acting than any other role I've seen him in (I haven't seen his theatre work). One could argue that he revitalized Star Trek almost by himself. I can only assume he didn't answer because he didn't want to alienate his x-men fans.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

One last thing: That other customer in the barber's room needs a lot more than a haircut. I hope that's what her species is supposed to look like, if not she's really let herself go!
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

@Greg
I noticed it too, but I'm still not sure it was on purpose.

My favorite part of this episode (besides Data's creepy smile) is when Data says there's only a 17% chance Picard will follow protocol and not pursue the Romulan ship, and a moment later he's proven right. There's something thrilling about that moment, and it makes you just love the captain.
Set Bookmark
Jor-El
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Picard's akward "Broccoli" mistake was just fantastic - so unexpected and so brilliantly acted by P. Stewart. It's a shame such a great moment was wasted on a forgettable episode like this. Like one of the previous commenters, I found Guinan's flopping hat to be a distraction.

And did it bother anyone else that with minutes to go before the ship explodes, Geordi and Barclay are casually walking instead of running?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.