Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 52 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Billig
Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 9:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

I think the Vulcan doctor was used on the away team instead of Pulaski so that Graves would have another young female to hit on.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Billig
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Me, 10 minutes in - "Oh, I see - they're doing an update of Laura!"

Me, 20 minutes in :"The dog's name is Maura? The dog's the killer!"
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I too found this episode disappointing.

1. I feel that Archer jumped way too quickly to hostility. He has shown more patience with Klingons and Andorians that actually wanted humans dead. Than he did with these beings that just wanted to survive. He made no effort to communicate diplomatically with these beings. They seemed to just be enemies to Archer right from the get go.

2. Even though the beings did have an ulterior motive, the fact that no philosophical thought was given to how the Wisp's "possession" of the crew could have just been how they engage in "cultural exchange". One again, the trap of only thinking in human terms, kind of fails in any star trek setting when it comes to new experiences.

3. The end. The fact that the episode ends in genocide of these beings with no reflection, no consequences, and no future ramifications is inexcusable. I understand this is very early in Starfleet history, before the Prime Directive, but they claimed to be beyond things like genocide.

I would actually debate this being self defense. Because Archer offered no diplomacy. The idea of trying to help them fix their ship wasn't even explored. They just jumped right to "kill them all".

TBH that alone should have justified Vulcan's concerns and ended the Enterprise's mission. But nope. They just end hundreds of lives and go on as they do. Inexcusable and a disgrace.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Swift
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 12:54pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

James said: "Regarding BLM I remember a few years back the police used to march in the Toronto Pride parade. Then the local BLM chapter blockaded it and refused to allow it to proceed until it agreed to a list of demands, including expelling the police and a bunch of other nutty stuff. The craven heads of local Pride surrendered, kissed BLM's boots and still ended up resigning in shame as I recall."

Amen brother. Black Lives Matter Toronto unleashed a horrendously unacceptable 25 minute sit-in (almost a full, arduous 30 minutes!), which thankfully the reputable news networks covered fairly and were careful not to sensationalize.

Those monstrous BLMers felt that People of Color within the gay community were not being represented. They felt that that police officers joining the parades in plainclothes, costumes or policing from the sidelines was absolutely okay, but not big police floats, police cruisers and not uniformed officers in the marches themselves. They felt this, they said, because Pride is about inclusivity and community, yet many older LGBT members, because of violent attacks in the past by more homophobic police forces, continue to feel actively threatened / worried when they see an officer. On behalf of those people, BLM unfairly wished that on this one special day a year, a safe, welcoming environment could be created.

BLM Toronto also issued 8 other outrageous, monomaniacal demands. These asked for more inclusive hiring of black transgender people, indigenous Native Indian folks and other vulnerable communities, as well as community support, increased space and more funding for Pride events run by LGBT communities. These are devilish, civilization-toppling demands that should rightfully be shot down by any sensible-thinking person.

Unfortunately Toronto Pride caved in to these satanic demands, and the following year held a democratic vote on these demands and agreed to uphold them! Ghastly! What a perversion of the electoral system!

The Toronto Police - unsurprisingly headed by a black chief - even agreed to these demands himself. Making a choice evocative of that tyrant Jean Luc Picard, he kowtowed to these terrorist demands, explicitly citing his belief that withdrawing from the Parade and giving things a year or two to breathe, would help faster foster better relations between the police and minorities, would demonstrate a more positive relationship between the gay and black community and the police, and would bring the groups together in the near future. Like that idiot Picard, this chief believed he was taking a humble, long view, when in actuality he was demonstrating weakness and softness before the petulant horde.

I know some say the founder of Pride, Gary Kinsman, famously said that in this incident, “The Black Lives Matter contingent carried with it the spirit of Stonewall and the activist roots of Pride,” but he is clearly an idiot.

Others will claim that black protest has historically always been unfairly viewed as antagonistic, angry, hostile and anti-institutional. That when black people assert either rights or wishes, these simple requests quickly become deemed an inconvenient and militant attack by "uppity", "whiny", "complainers". But these are different times. People of all races and backgrounds will surely, rightfully, come to the conclusion that only a mentally deranged black homosexual would feel ill at ease when in a Pride March alongside rolling police cars and loomed over by big police floats. And why would should we take policy demands from the mentally deranged?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Swift
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Amen, brothers.

An episode named after one of the British Empire's practices, and about old Federation establishment figures falling prey to bigotry and suspecting a Klington and a quarter-blood Romulan of terrorism, in a franchise started by a guy whose wife literally said he was a communist and partial to Chinese-style Maoism (https://mix979fm.com/ten-things-you-didnt-know-star-trek-creator-gene-roddenberry/), is totally about our current historical moment, where innocent whites are persecuted by the powerful Black Lives Matters Hegemon, which uses its tremendous military might and political strength to destroy the lives of innocent whites who are accused of no crime greater than wrong-thought.

Judging from the reliable sources where I get my news (objective news, free from data mining, and the social media brainwashing algorithms employed by radical left corporations), it is clear to me that we are on a slippery slope toward the criminalization of free thinkers - perhaps even the white race itself - if we don't trod too carefully.

Indeed, though many today are preoccupied with issues like coronavirus (which statistically primarily affects white workers), it is clear that 2020's key issue is cancel culture, and how it is employed - genocidally employed, some might say - by powerful black leaders to silence innocent whites. And so we must be vigilant. We must be vigilant and keep our eyes peeled for the blacks, commies and powerful radicals. For as Martin Niemöller said decades ago: "first they came for the whites, and I did not speak. And then they came for more whites, and again I didn't speak. Because they didn't let me speak...because of cancel culture."

Make no mistake. We have given these devilish BLM-types all they have asked for. Despite their inherent racism (only a fool would read "Black Lives Matter" as anything but a racist slogan), and despite the fact that society is fairer now than its ever been, we have bent to their will and en-acted countless political policies and structural changes which have dramatically changed society. And yet they continue to persecute the innocent white man, who wants nothing more than to live in peace without fear of slander or violence.

And it is not a rational violence, of the type we see and celebrate when practiced by our protesting white brothers in the streets today in France, or Lebanon or Beijing, or Belarus. No, it is an irrational, disorganized violence. The unthinking violence of the jungle. Of the animal.

I know MLK sympathized with rioters and called violence the language of the unheard, and said “Let us say boldly that if the violations of law by the white man over the years were calculated and compared with the law-breaking of a few days of riots, the hardened criminal would be the white man.”

But were he alive today, MLK would be aghast at what civil rights discourse has become. Roddenberry himself would no doubt insert a BLM alien into Trek, for he would recognize that there is no greater threat to the Federation than a black man taking the knee.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Hardy
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 2:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

I am doing my own rewatch of TNG, having not seen it since I was a young child, and I think BoBW stands as the episode in which TNG replaces TOS as the bedrock of Star Trek. Before this, there may never have been any other Star Trek shows or movies, and if there were, they could have been set at any time period, but after this, it nailed the 24th century as the true home of Star Trek.

With that said, I would have written part II and resolved the problem differently. When the Enterprise fires its secret weapon, it would have worked, or at least started to. It would have began ripping slowly through the cube. The Borg's response would have been retreat. Instead of using Picard's knowledge of the plan to completely defend against it, we say they were unable to, but knowing it would destroy them they were prepared to run away. The Enterprise would still be unable to give chase, but it resolves the problem of why not just destroy/assimilate the Enterprise?

Next, the battle of Wolf 359 would still be a crushing Borg victory; however, the cube wouldn't be seemingly impervious, rather it would take yet more damage, and when we see it approaching Earth it would be very clearly damaged. I think this would lessen the bump between this battle and First Contact. I much prefer the idea that the Borg are merely incredibly strong, than entirely invulnerable here.

So then, when the Enterprise goes to rescue Picard, it makes sense they are more vulnerable and less able to manhandle the Enterprise and the shuttle could fly in through a damaged section. Then later, the "sleep" command doesn't put the cube into autodestruct; rather, it allows an away team to beam aboard. Guided by Picard's knowledge they could plant explosives on a key system, like a warp core or something and get away while Picard and Data keep them asleep and prevent them from deactivating the bombs.

There's probably some other plot hole this would create, or I didn't think of, and it's only small minutia that keeps this from being perfect, and even still, in its current state, it's the peak of Star Trek so far. I'd say it's also peak Borg. Later Borg are ruined by the humanity of the Queen.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Lane
Tue, Dec 24, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The first Star Trek feature film elicited mixed reviews from fans (and from the general public). Some Trekkers consider it a masterful exploration of the iconic characters of the Enterprise crew with breathtaking production values and a sweeping musical score that updates the 1960’s television series and prepares it for a bright future on the big screen. Other fans see it as a plodding snooze-fest of slow, indulgent editing—an opinion often sarcastically supported by pointing out that the Enterprise crew are all wearing pajamas, as if to say this movie will put us all to sleep.

But the one thing that nearly every fan and viewer agrees on is that the visual effects sequences are stunning and some of the grandest, most beautiful, and unforgettable in Star Trek‘s 50-plus year history. Among the most iconic and well-remembered of the segments were the introduction of the refit USS Enterprise with Kirk and Scotty flying around it for nearly five minutes (too long?—poppycock!), the opening sequence of the the three Klingon battlecruisers confronting and then being destroyed by V’ger, and the refit Enterprise leaving dry dock.

Those VFX sequences, overseen by the legendary DOUG TRUMBULL (who did the Enterprise shots) and JOHN DYKSTRA (who handled the Klingons, the Epsilon XI space station, and other segments) were rushed together in less than six months using models and blue screens and contraptions like periscopes to get cameras within inches of the amazingly detailed models. To see the finished breathtaking scenes, one would hardly think any of them were created with anything other than the most painstaking attention to detail over years…not simply months.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Byrd
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I'd give star trek voyager a 4 star review; if it wasn't for the fact that every time I bring up the fact the Newton's "What goes up, must come down" Law of Nature was never a applicable law of physics, and ask some lefty, "Really MoFo', it was never a law; if so, when in the hell is the Voyager 1 probe going to fall back down?!" and they answer, "25 years at maximum warp." ....other than that, I give it full stars
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 9:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@navamske. On your third point, they showed Malloy piloting the shuttle back to the Orville, he dropped off Isaac.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Also quite late to the discussion, watching through Enterprise for the first time (have seen all of the other Star Treks). I also really enjoyed this episode despite some flaws (certainly the way evolution is understood by the characters is lacking).

One thing I haven't seen mentioned (it's possible it was, as I haven't read every comment) is how Phlox's decision was influenced by human perspectives. He originally sees nothing wrong with the Menks' condition, as they seem quite content with the way things are. It's only after human crew members argue that they have their potential limited by the Valakarians that Phlox eventually come around to that position. In fact, I don't think he would even consider withholding the cure if not for how humans have influenced his view on the Menks.

So, paradoxically, it's human ideals, mediated through Phlox's alien perspective, that lead to a decision Archer makes against his instincts. It raises some profound questions of how human morality can be differently interpreted by other species--and lead to unforeseen outcomes. That's my perception of the episode, anyway.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Archer
Wed, Mar 8, 2017, 7:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

Did anyone notice that except for the Horta, there are no female cast members in this episode... anywhere.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Archer
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 7:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Glad I got another chance to see this episode again on Netflix because I didn't remember any of it.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 8:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

The storytelling, acting, pacing, and especially, the music here are absolutely incredible. This is the apex of science fiction television.

For those quibbling about time travel or Guinan's so-called "mysticism", well, respectfully, it's science fiction! Of course there are some logical flaws. Mysticism and the supernatural are inherent to the genre. This is a story with heart. One of the best ever for the series.

"Geordi, tell me about...Tasha Yar."
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jan 11, 2015, 5:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Am I the only one who thought it was silly that Sisko ordered O'Brien to Sickbay when he had a completely non-life threatening injury, despite the fact that the Defiant is in a huge combat situation? Don't you want your best personnel on duty in such a situation?!?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 9:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Am I the only one who has a problem with the operation to capture the Breen weapon? It's absolutely ridiculous that Damar would not have been recognized. He was the head of the Cardassian military dictatorship and his face was in the public domain. That's like not recognizing George W. Bush or Bill Clinton if they came into the room. It's conceivable that Garak or Kira wouldn't be widely known outside of their circles, but Damar would be known throughout the Quadrant.

It would have been interesting to have seen a scene where Sisko wonders why Gowron is late for a meeting, only to have Worf tell him that he killed him :-)
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Mon, Nov 17, 2014, 3:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

@Weyoun: I also have fond feelings for the earlier-season uniforms. I think the later gray and black uniforms look better and more professional, but they would never happen in real life - they look so incredibly uncomfortable. First of all, your neck is being half-choked, and second of all, there is so much material that is part of the uniform that you'd be sweating constantly if you were wearing it in a normal outdoor environment. I feel uncomfortable just seeing the later uniforms. The TNG uniforms (seasons 3-7, of course) were the best - they looked great and looked just as comfortable.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 2:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

The most unbelievable part of the episode is when Kira failed to shoot Dukat. How could she not want to kill him? Plus he killed her friend Jadzia - and gave a worthless excuse when confronted about it. "Oh yeah, she got in the way."
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Wed, Nov 5, 2014, 12:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I actually liked "Soldiers of the Empire" a lot better, but this wasn't a bad episode. And normally I'm not too big on Klingon-centric episodes.

A Jake-Ezri romance would have been an outstanding idea, now that you mention it, and it brings Sisko into the mix. I'm in the process of rewatching all of DS9 for the second time. During the original run, I didn't like Ezri at all. But this time I'm a lot more fond of her. Jake kind of fizzled out as the series came to a close. The secondary characters on DS9 are absolutely outstanding, and are perhaps even better than the main title characters!
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Nov 2, 2014, 2:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Am I the only one who found Sisko's stabbing to be excessive? It would have been more effective for the Bajoran guy to have simply stayed with ominous threats. The stabbing added nothing to the story, and in the next scene it's as though it never happened (or that stabbings are routine in 24th century New Orleans). The stabbing scene was also weird. Sisko's on this quest to reconnect to the Prophets. A Bajoran guy shows up, and Sisko's body language indicates that he couldn't care less. Or is Earth filled with Bajorans?
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Wed, Oct 29, 2014, 4:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

One very interesting thing is that the censorship shown in this episode - forced or highly suggested - was instrumental in the creation of the Star Trek franchise. Many stories in Star Trek - especially on the Original Series - came into being because the only acceptable way they could be told or explored was in the guise of a science fiction show. Censorship still exists, but it is just a faint shadow of what is was in the '50s and '60s. Besides, we have the Internet today - where if you live in the western world, there is absolutely no censorship.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Oct 26, 2014, 2:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I can't believe no one else has mentioned the label on the compartment that Rom got caught breaking into during the episode's final act!

A51. As in, Area 51.

Surely, that is not a coincidence.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 5:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Also, scenes like that provide character development that just isn't found in as much depth in TNG (outside of Picard).
Set Bookmark
Jonathan
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 5:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

"How hollow is the sound of victory, without someone to share it with? Honor gives little comfort to a man alone in his home, and in his heart."

The two scenes with Martok and Sisko are wonderfully acted, and for me, brings this episode up to 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
jonathan
Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 5:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ANDR S2: Tunnel at the End of the Light

you are all mad!!!! Andromeda was a really good show action action not much on stoy but it was not a space opera its a action show.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Baron
Sun, Jun 16, 2013, 1:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

My sincere thanks, Jammer, for providing these reviews. I grew to trust them and thus managed to skip most of the worst of the Star Trek spinoff series episodes. Once they appeared on streaming Netflix and I could finally summon the will to watch them. The only Star Trek I'd known was the series I saw on television when I was a teenager in the late '60s.

Although I was not impressed by these latter day takes on an interesting television series I found myself with a lot of unwanted time on my hands. There was no Theodore Sturgeon, Harlan Ellison, or Jerome Bixby - actual science fiction writers - writing for these.

Perhaps it's a reflection of my age but television or film science fiction could never approach its written form where it has the freedom to fully engage your imagination unlimited by video technology, production budgets, the FCC, focus groups or entertainment executives.

That said, I believe that writers of any era would have appreciated the pure space opera of the Borg, the notion of a lifetime lived in minutes (Inner Light?), the able retelling of Phillip K. Dick's The Imposter (Whispers), along with meditations on life and sentience created by Data and the Doctor.

Plus we had some wonderful actors along the way. Kate Mulgrew with the captivating voice of '40s film star Patricia Neil - if not Neil's sheer seductive beauty - the smoldering power of Avery Brooks and the pitch perfect Dwight Shultz and Colm Meaney, the vivid and dependable Robert Picardo. The franchise also kept a host of able character actors, such as Vaughn Armstrong, employed.

In the end, though, this series, more than even Enterprise, proved that the franchise is spent. Time for something new to serve the need for hope and awe among people who fail to find it in conventional tales and tired spiritual institutions.

Again, Jammer, my heartfelt thanks.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.