Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 276 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

I'm not a huge fan of this episode. I generally find a lot of the episodes about Bajor really boring. I can't quite put my finger on why.

But even putting that aside, there's one element to this episode that always bugs me, and that's it's messed up sense of scope that always lingers in the back of my mind while watching.

Why are there so few reclamators in the first place? They made it seem like the government loans these things out to small territories each year to help restore the soil. But the situation makes it seem like they only have enough to give to one territory at a time (thus why Wynn needs these specific ones back from Shakarr and why Shakarr waited 3 years to get them in the first place). Keep in mind this is an entire planet they are trying to restore, not just a few small provinces or a single country. At the rate some of the Farmers will likely be sitting around for decades before they get access to these things. I don't know if these things are provided by the Federation or not, but whoever is providing them needs to seriously consider making/getting more. THIS IS AN ENTIRE PLANET WE'RE TALKING ABOUT.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Utterly appalling in every way.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Watched this episode just now.
I'd seen it once before, years ago, but I'd forgot its emotional punch.

Damn it all, if I haven't now found an episode to rival my adoration for "The Inner Light."

Well done, DS9. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

I appreciate this episode because it walks the walk on cultural relativism. So often we hear that Starfleet is bound to respect the customs of others but we constantly see them try to change others, the episode where Riker corrupted the alien from a genderless society against it's culture or made a fuss about Worf wanting to die comes to mind, or when Spock tried to get a gang pf collaborators to turn Romulus into a democracy. Even if Endar was being abusive by western human standards, either by giving beatings or working him very hard, which I believe he was, that is an internal issue for their society, I am of the firm belief that there is no objective right or wrong, only rights and wrongs for oneself, one's culture and one's morals, if the Talarians or the Chinese for that matter want to eat their sons alive for back sassing them or something like that, it might seem crazy to me and wrong according to my culture but that's not my business and all that matters is that it's right to and for them
Set Bookmark
Jon Koo
Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Marcus the Doctor? Getting consequences? Never. "He got away on time served". Ha! He was trying to avoid everyone anyway.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I really hated the first half of this one... the inciting incident was Kira stepping on a crystal...really?! I couldn't help laughing at her entire performance this episode, and the ridiculous crystal design.

I was kind of won over though by the great performances from Odo and Nog. Also, Kira being a shapeshifter explains how bizarrely stupid her performance and the entire plot was. Still overall, felt this was a pretty weak episode though from the comments here, sounds like it's the beginning of a new arc for Nog, which I look forward to. Generally like all the Ferengi stuff, even though they aren't always served well by the scripts.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"Anyhow, the weakness of the episode is the lack of credibility of the 8472's plan to impersonate Star Fleet to such a degree from like 60,000 light years away."

The Dominion Changelings wave hello.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I loved this episode because of Ray Walston. Oh, and because of Ray Walston. Could have used more Ray Walston.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

"Does it? To whom? What's to say the "how we lived" bears any consequence on the "grand scheme of things"? Who says there IS a "grand scheme of things"?!? "

But they did affect the lives of others. They helped other people in need that the real Voyager didn't. Regardless of their fate, their help and charity lived beyond them.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Byrd
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I'd give star trek voyager a 4 star review; if it wasn't for the fact that every time I bring up the fact the Newton's "What goes up, must come down" Law of Nature was never a applicable law of physics, and ask some lefty, "Really MoFo', it was never a law; if so, when in the hell is the Voyager 1 probe going to fall back down?!" and they answer, "25 years at maximum warp." ....other than that, I give it full stars
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I have found many of the criticisms of this series bizarre, but especially this episode being faulted for not developing the bridge crew. All of the Treks have focused on a core set of characters with nameless bridge crew members, most of whom never see action or get any back story.

The main cast is clear: Burnham, Saru, Tilly, Stamets, Pike, with Georgiou, Tyler and now Spock occupying major screen time. Plus, we had Lorca and Culber developed and killed off, Culber in the supporting category. That's quite a large cast to develop in 13-14 episodes per 2 seasons when the other Treks had 22 and some did less over 7.

Claiming the show could have thrown in bits of back story for all of the crew is not realistic and doing it only to kill off a character is dismissed as manipulative. I think the show has hit the right balance. Ariam could well come back (as this show has done before) and if so, then the opportunity has been taken to fill out her back story in an exciting way.

I've enjoyed this season immensely. It's TV and better than most and the episodes I've re-watched after I know the back story are a richer experience on reflection.

And all of the moaning about no sympathy for what seemed to be dying Nhan - with all of the "redshirts" or equivalents bumped off and no one cared over the years? Come on. The twist worked for me.
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Wed, May 15, 2019, 8:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

The only thing understanding the brain may potentially gain us is knowing how small a role it actually plays in our functioning.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I don't have that much of a problem with them not suggesting that they destroy Discovery last week. If you consider the circumstances, the direct threat from Control was absent at the time. There was no immediate danger of Control acquiring the AI so going straight from "I can't delete the archive" to "Blow up the ship" is quite a jump. I'm sure if at the end of last week's episode, had they been unable to stop Leland Pike would've destroyed the ship. Sure, logically and practically making the suggestion makes sense but from a dramatic standpoint, you do what the writers did and save that for a later date.

Which brings me to this week's episode when the danger to Discovery is immediate. They're severely outgunned with little hope of victory. So you bring out the Big Guns and the Measure of Last Resort for the week's Big Shocking Twist which is "Blow up and evacuate Discovery". If you pull out the Blow Up the Ship card one week, it has less impact the following week. Just saying, anyway....that's my two cents.

Oh....and also, someone above (sorry, I don't remember who) said that it should've been someone other than Burnham's idea. I totally agree with you on that. This is the writers constantly turning to Burnham as the one who thinks of all the alternatives. I think it would've been better to go from Burnham saying, "We're outgunned" to Pike giving serious thought to the situation breaking into giving his end of episode orders. That way, your closing line is "Bring up the auto-destruction sequence. We're going to evacuate Discovery." Cut to black.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Anyone else feel like maybe they should do a spin-off series starring Anson Mount and Ethan Peck aboard the Enterprise? One that bridges the gap between The Cage/Discovery and Where No Man Has Gone Before? I’m sad to see Mount go in a couple weeks and want to see more of him on the Enterprise! The series can close with Pike handing off command to Kirk. We can see what leads to Pike moving on with his career.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I thought of the possibility of Discovery ending up near the 25th century and tying into the Picard show. I don't think that would be a good idea. I'm not opposed to Trek shows running parallel to one another just as TNG/DS9/VOY did (it does lead to some opportunities that were squandered in the 90s, IMHO). I think that each Trek show needs to stand on its own at this point in Trek's TV revival. The writers do so much plot-wise in one show that I don't think they're ready to handle coordinating 2 shows right now. Maybe in a few years when they've got more experience under their belts, sure. But right now, each active Trek series should operate on its own two feet.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@wolfstar

I agree with you on Kate Mulgrew as Janeway. I always enjoyed her acting. She commanded that screen just as well as any of her male counterparts who led all the other Star Trek series. But the writing for Janeway was very erratic and seemed to mostly meet the needs of the plot rather than serve who the character was. I don't think the writers had a clear sense of who Janeway was and the character suffered.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I enjoyed the episode and felt that it was tense and well done.

I know that it's easy to say that this is the origin story for the Borg, but I just don't see it that way.

First of all, it's too obvious. Just like the Red Angel being Michael was too obvious, so is this. Last week they played into everyone's expectations only to then spin them around on us. I think they'll do that again.

Second, it means that Discovery is doomed to fail. If Control becomes the Borg Collective, then no matter what they do Control will gain sentience. If Control doesn't gain sentience and doesn't become the Borg, it alters the future and the rest of Star Trek as we know it. So unless they're planning on saying that this is the beginning of a long and tumultuous struggle between the Federation and the Borg, that just because Control gains sentience, the Federation still has a shot at victory in the future, I'm just not buying into it being the Borg. Not yet.

I could be wrong, but that's my opinion.

Does anyone else think that the season ending twist that setups Season 3 will be the Discovery ending up in the future?
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

I do love this episode but one element bugs me whenever I watch it.

It makes no sense for the Dominion to brainwash Bashir into serving as a spy and then allow him to escape. They already had a changeling posing as Bashir, who would not have been caught had it not for the real Bashir's escape.

On top of that, why have humanoids serve as spies at all when the changelings do a better job of it anyway? And they are more versatile because they can assume other forms whenever their current one falls under suspicion.

Yes, I know that Bashir never actually was a spy. I know that Sloan was just BSing that story to mess with Bashir's head. But even for a BS story, the logic makes no sense. Bashir (given his super genetically enhanced brain) should have realized this and brought it up.

But nobody brought it up. So it just lingered in my head while I watch the episode. It's even worse when you don't already know the ending and you think Bashir's life really hinges on this flimsy logic :P
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I really enjoyed this episode and thought that it was really well done. However, I think it epitomizes what's wrong with DISCOVERY; the little development done with all the non-primary characters. It's about more than just giving them some extra lines or getting them involved in aspects beyond their regular ship duties. It's about making them people with depth.

They finally accomplished that with Ariam and I felt that it was really well done. I got a sense of who she is and actually learned some stuff about her. The problem is that it was all done for that emotional death at the end. So while the ending was touching and I found myself moved, I felt that it was earned entirely within the confines of this episode's 53 minutes. It would've meant so much more if some of those character background scenes had been spaced out over the course of the entire season or even the series. And not just with Ariam but also with the other non-primary characters. I feel the ending would've meant so much more if we had that attachment and investment in this character before this one episode.

It was all really well done and shows the potential of DISCOVERY, but it also shows how things have been mishandled in favor of plot over character. Hopefully they can start to invest time in some of these other characters and give them a few minutes here or there so we feel attached to them as well.
Set Bookmark
Sherman Jones
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

3.5 stars.

The things I might add is that this should have been a 2 episode story. The Tholians seemed to want the vessel gone since they left at the end. Not enough exploration of the extra space inside the vessel. No consequences of the Sulliban ships being destroyed. The Vulcan ship was unnecessarily added unless 2 part series. 40 minutes to cram this in.

Good story though with action.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Cathy

You're right that violence is not the answer. I agree with you totally. However, when I say that Culbert's aggression is justified, stop and look at the situation for just a moment. This is very atypical of any situation ANYONE would face. Tyler murdered Culbert, something that Culbert still has a memory of! He remembers what was done to him and now here he is having to deal with this person face-to-face once more. His feelings are quite justified. His actions are wrong, totally, but his feelings are not wrong. How would any of us deal with having someone break our neck only to then have to come back to life and see this person roaming free, absolved of their actions?

Saru allowed the situation to play out because there needed to be some kind of resolution. Them fighting was not the best solution and Pike rightfully slapped Saru on the wrist for allowing it to happen. However, Saru is right in that there is no correct way for dealing with a situation in which there is a conflict between "a Human with a Klingon grafted to his bones and a doctor brought back from the dead". This isn't normal conflict resolution we're talking about because this is an atypical conflict. As Pike said, differences should not be resolved with violence. But this is a situation where no one really knows how to handle it.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I think Saru letting them fight was the only viable solution. Tyler violently murdered Culber who has now been brought back to life. How is Culber supposed to process that? This wasn't a thing of them fighting over a woman (or man) or like Tyler slept with his mom and wouldn't call her back. Culber was murdered and his feelings are going to be very strong and very aggressive. If you break up that fight now, Culber will just find some other time to unleash that justified aggression and there may not be anyone on hand to make sure that it doesn't get out of control.

Saru did the right thing.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 6:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Tom R

I have to say I’m pretty disappointed that you feel the need to insult those who have a dissenting opinion from yours. If you didn’t like this episode and don’t like Discovery in general that’s fine. You are entitled to your opinion and have the right to voice it. If you want to debate the merits of the episode/series then by all means do so. Stick to elevating your opinions not denigrating the opinions. Your comments has an air of snobbish, as though you know better then anybody else as to what makes good Trek. It’s all subjective, based upon one’s own tastes and preferences. I’m not going to take away from you not liking the episode, but don’t insult me or my opinions because I enjoyed this episode.

I don’t automatically like anything with Star Trek in the title. I’ve not always been happy with this show but I’ve enjoyed some of the changes I’ve seen lately. That’s my opinion. You have yours. You’re no more an authority on Star Trek then I am. Save the snobbishness for your kitchen table.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

It's a decent show, but what's noticeable while watching DS9 at the same time is that the actors are much much better in this series. Both DS9 and Voyager had a lot of mediocre actors, whereas e.g. Anson Mount is terrific here.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 11:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I enjoyed it but, as some have said, it's a bridge to what comes next. And that's ok. You need that every once in a while. If we constantly had Big Events happen in every episode, the series would have no room to breathe and it would all feel so busy.

Talos IV? Wow! Didn't see that coming and that's something that well-played. This is still a few years after The Cage and well before The Menagerie. I'm sure whatever events take place here will result in Talos IV being forbidden. Am I right in saying that the Enterprise was specifically said to be the only starship to visit Talos IV? If so, then we will likely be seeing The Big E enter the picture shortly.

As for Anson Mount as Pike, man I wish they could keep him on after this season! He's an excellent captain and, IMHO, the best Trek has seen since Sisko! No offense to Janeway (well acted, poorly written) or Archer (so-so acted, poorly written) but Mount as Pike is a perfect captain! Too bad he's not someone else cuz they could just keep him on instead of sending him back to the Enterprise when the season is over.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.