Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 265 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Wed, May 15, 2019, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

The only thing understanding the brain may potentially gain us is knowing how small a role it actually plays in our functioning.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I don't have that much of a problem with them not suggesting that they destroy Discovery last week. If you consider the circumstances, the direct threat from Control was absent at the time. There was no immediate danger of Control acquiring the AI so going straight from "I can't delete the archive" to "Blow up the ship" is quite a jump. I'm sure if at the end of last week's episode, had they been unable to stop Leland Pike would've destroyed the ship. Sure, logically and practically making the suggestion makes sense but from a dramatic standpoint, you do what the writers did and save that for a later date.

Which brings me to this week's episode when the danger to Discovery is immediate. They're severely outgunned with little hope of victory. So you bring out the Big Guns and the Measure of Last Resort for the week's Big Shocking Twist which is "Blow up and evacuate Discovery". If you pull out the Blow Up the Ship card one week, it has less impact the following week. Just saying, anyway....that's my two cents.

Oh....and also, someone above (sorry, I don't remember who) said that it should've been someone other than Burnham's idea. I totally agree with you on that. This is the writers constantly turning to Burnham as the one who thinks of all the alternatives. I think it would've been better to go from Burnham saying, "We're outgunned" to Pike giving serious thought to the situation breaking into giving his end of episode orders. That way, your closing line is "Bring up the auto-destruction sequence. We're going to evacuate Discovery." Cut to black.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Anyone else feel like maybe they should do a spin-off series starring Anson Mount and Ethan Peck aboard the Enterprise? One that bridges the gap between The Cage/Discovery and Where No Man Has Gone Before? I’m sad to see Mount go in a couple weeks and want to see more of him on the Enterprise! The series can close with Pike handing off command to Kirk. We can see what leads to Pike moving on with his career.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I thought of the possibility of Discovery ending up near the 25th century and tying into the Picard show. I don't think that would be a good idea. I'm not opposed to Trek shows running parallel to one another just as TNG/DS9/VOY did (it does lead to some opportunities that were squandered in the 90s, IMHO). I think that each Trek show needs to stand on its own at this point in Trek's TV revival. The writers do so much plot-wise in one show that I don't think they're ready to handle coordinating 2 shows right now. Maybe in a few years when they've got more experience under their belts, sure. But right now, each active Trek series should operate on its own two feet.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@wolfstar

I agree with you on Kate Mulgrew as Janeway. I always enjoyed her acting. She commanded that screen just as well as any of her male counterparts who led all the other Star Trek series. But the writing for Janeway was very erratic and seemed to mostly meet the needs of the plot rather than serve who the character was. I don't think the writers had a clear sense of who Janeway was and the character suffered.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I enjoyed the episode and felt that it was tense and well done.

I know that it's easy to say that this is the origin story for the Borg, but I just don't see it that way.

First of all, it's too obvious. Just like the Red Angel being Michael was too obvious, so is this. Last week they played into everyone's expectations only to then spin them around on us. I think they'll do that again.

Second, it means that Discovery is doomed to fail. If Control becomes the Borg Collective, then no matter what they do Control will gain sentience. If Control doesn't gain sentience and doesn't become the Borg, it alters the future and the rest of Star Trek as we know it. So unless they're planning on saying that this is the beginning of a long and tumultuous struggle between the Federation and the Borg, that just because Control gains sentience, the Federation still has a shot at victory in the future, I'm just not buying into it being the Borg. Not yet.

I could be wrong, but that's my opinion.

Does anyone else think that the season ending twist that setups Season 3 will be the Discovery ending up in the future?
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

I do love this episode but one element bugs me whenever I watch it.

It makes no sense for the Dominion to brainwash Bashir into serving as a spy and then allow him to escape. They already had a changeling posing as Bashir, who would not have been caught had it not for the real Bashir's escape.

On top of that, why have humanoids serve as spies at all when the changelings do a better job of it anyway? And they are more versatile because they can assume other forms whenever their current one falls under suspicion.

Yes, I know that Bashir never actually was a spy. I know that Sloan was just BSing that story to mess with Bashir's head. But even for a BS story, the logic makes no sense. Bashir (given his super genetically enhanced brain) should have realized this and brought it up.

But nobody brought it up. So it just lingered in my head while I watch the episode. It's even worse when you don't already know the ending and you think Bashir's life really hinges on this flimsy logic :P
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I really enjoyed this episode and thought that it was really well done. However, I think it epitomizes what's wrong with DISCOVERY; the little development done with all the non-primary characters. It's about more than just giving them some extra lines or getting them involved in aspects beyond their regular ship duties. It's about making them people with depth.

They finally accomplished that with Ariam and I felt that it was really well done. I got a sense of who she is and actually learned some stuff about her. The problem is that it was all done for that emotional death at the end. So while the ending was touching and I found myself moved, I felt that it was earned entirely within the confines of this episode's 53 minutes. It would've meant so much more if some of those character background scenes had been spaced out over the course of the entire season or even the series. And not just with Ariam but also with the other non-primary characters. I feel the ending would've meant so much more if we had that attachment and investment in this character before this one episode.

It was all really well done and shows the potential of DISCOVERY, but it also shows how things have been mishandled in favor of plot over character. Hopefully they can start to invest time in some of these other characters and give them a few minutes here or there so we feel attached to them as well.
Set Bookmark
Sherman Jones
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

3.5 stars.

The things I might add is that this should have been a 2 episode story. The Tholians seemed to want the vessel gone since they left at the end. Not enough exploration of the extra space inside the vessel. No consequences of the Sulliban ships being destroyed. The Vulcan ship was unnecessarily added unless 2 part series. 40 minutes to cram this in.

Good story though with action.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Cathy

You're right that violence is not the answer. I agree with you totally. However, when I say that Culbert's aggression is justified, stop and look at the situation for just a moment. This is very atypical of any situation ANYONE would face. Tyler murdered Culbert, something that Culbert still has a memory of! He remembers what was done to him and now here he is having to deal with this person face-to-face once more. His feelings are quite justified. His actions are wrong, totally, but his feelings are not wrong. How would any of us deal with having someone break our neck only to then have to come back to life and see this person roaming free, absolved of their actions?

Saru allowed the situation to play out because there needed to be some kind of resolution. Them fighting was not the best solution and Pike rightfully slapped Saru on the wrist for allowing it to happen. However, Saru is right in that there is no correct way for dealing with a situation in which there is a conflict between "a Human with a Klingon grafted to his bones and a doctor brought back from the dead". This isn't normal conflict resolution we're talking about because this is an atypical conflict. As Pike said, differences should not be resolved with violence. But this is a situation where no one really knows how to handle it.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I think Saru letting them fight was the only viable solution. Tyler violently murdered Culber who has now been brought back to life. How is Culber supposed to process that? This wasn't a thing of them fighting over a woman (or man) or like Tyler slept with his mom and wouldn't call her back. Culber was murdered and his feelings are going to be very strong and very aggressive. If you break up that fight now, Culber will just find some other time to unleash that justified aggression and there may not be anyone on hand to make sure that it doesn't get out of control.

Saru did the right thing.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Tom R

I have to say I’m pretty disappointed that you feel the need to insult those who have a dissenting opinion from yours. If you didn’t like this episode and don’t like Discovery in general that’s fine. You are entitled to your opinion and have the right to voice it. If you want to debate the merits of the episode/series then by all means do so. Stick to elevating your opinions not denigrating the opinions. Your comments has an air of snobbish, as though you know better then anybody else as to what makes good Trek. It’s all subjective, based upon one’s own tastes and preferences. I’m not going to take away from you not liking the episode, but don’t insult me or my opinions because I enjoyed this episode.

I don’t automatically like anything with Star Trek in the title. I’ve not always been happy with this show but I’ve enjoyed some of the changes I’ve seen lately. That’s my opinion. You have yours. You’re no more an authority on Star Trek then I am. Save the snobbishness for your kitchen table.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 5:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

It's a decent show, but what's noticeable while watching DS9 at the same time is that the actors are much much better in this series. Both DS9 and Voyager had a lot of mediocre actors, whereas e.g. Anson Mount is terrific here.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I enjoyed it but, as some have said, it's a bridge to what comes next. And that's ok. You need that every once in a while. If we constantly had Big Events happen in every episode, the series would have no room to breathe and it would all feel so busy.

Talos IV? Wow! Didn't see that coming and that's something that well-played. This is still a few years after The Cage and well before The Menagerie. I'm sure whatever events take place here will result in Talos IV being forbidden. Am I right in saying that the Enterprise was specifically said to be the only starship to visit Talos IV? If so, then we will likely be seeing The Big E enter the picture shortly.

As for Anson Mount as Pike, man I wish they could keep him on after this season! He's an excellent captain and, IMHO, the best Trek has seen since Sisko! No offense to Janeway (well acted, poorly written) or Archer (so-so acted, poorly written) but Mount as Pike is a perfect captain! Too bad he's not someone else cuz they could just keep him on instead of sending him back to the Enterprise when the season is over.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I am unsure whether the writers on DS9 are unable to think anything through, or just don't care.

Why no medical officer?

Why did Sisko negotiate in such an aggressive manner?

Why didn't he ask for medical aid?

Why didn't they just beam them out of the ship?
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

@SlackerInc In a later episode it IS confirmed that the Hansen's accidentally followed a Borg vessel into one of their transwarp conduits, and came out deep in the Delta Quadrant. They managed to last about six months in Borg Space studying the Borg until they were discovered due to an accidental transmission. They were the first humans to reach the Delta Quadrant, and the first humans assimilated.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

I never liked this two-part episode. I don't mind when the Trek franchise tries to be gritty. Personally, I think it needs to be more gritty than it usually does. The older I get, the more I dislike Roddenberry's idealized portrait of Earth and humanity. Calling Earth "paradise" is just a bit too much.

The problem with this two-parter is that it seemed like a weak-rip off of the Earth Civil War arc from "Babylon 5".
Set Bookmark
Jon
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

The battle made absolutely no sense to me here: does DS9 not have any weapons in the MU? Where are the rest of the defending ships? Why do the Birds of Prey explode so easily? Why are no shield bubbles shown?
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

As usual, there is so much jarring canon fail here, one has to wonder what the script editors were doing. As mentioned above the hundreds of years line makes no sense after watching First Contact.

Also don't understand why they would keep accelerating and be torn to pieces.
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Sat, Nov 17, 2018, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

All three characters - Tuvok, Neelix and Tuvix - are simply identities and are not in any sense "alive". When one says "I am Neelix" or "I am Tuvix" who is the "I" that is doing the identifying? A little investigation shows that it's the same one in both cases, therefore no one during the episode ever died. Tuvix's protests were meaningless and so were Janeway's actions.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

... also, Earth has known for quite some time that the full size weapon would be coming eventually. Did it not occur to anyone at Starfleet command to put together a defense fleet? Sure there weren't any other NX ships yet, but there had to be some non-NX ships they could commission to bulk up Earth's orbital defense. They could take that time to upgrade their weapons. That way even if Enterprise failed, Earth still has a chance to knock out the weapon before it destroys the planet.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I wasn't a fan of the Xindi arc. It felt like a 3 parter stretched over an entire season.

Very little plot progression was accomplished in any given episode.

The Xindi council scenes were always really repetitive and served no other purpose then to remind us that the Xindi were still around.

Lastly, I hated that everyone (such as the Xindi and T'pol) were constantly acting like humanity was the only line of defense for the entire Alpha Quadrant. By the time we reached Zero Hour, they had figured out how to shut down the spheres and stop the sphere builders. Even if humanity failed and Earth was destroyed (obviously not an ideal outcome) there are other races with entire fleets that could launch counter measures against the spheres, such as the Vulcans. All Enterprise needed to do was transmit their plans to Earth, Vulcan, and any friendly neighbor.
Set Bookmark
Jonathon
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Clearly, when Ballard died, Voyager should have paid a visit to Miracle Max.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

This episode was alright. But I have a nitpick about it. It's a particular nitpick that comes up a lot on various Star Trek episodes.

When they show the actual storm, it's shown as a long horizontal string. If it was energy or radiation being expelled from some central source, shouldn't it expand in all directions?

Also, it makes it seem like the crew is just too stupid to avoid it by going above it or under it.

This happens a lot in Star Trek. Pretty much any episode involving any sort of spacial anomaly or wavefront.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

It drives me crazy when some crappy little ship from some crappy little planet fires on Voyager, with full shields, and conveniently disables the transporters in the first shot.

They then do this AGAIN with the Delta Flyer.

ARGHHH
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.