Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 44 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, May 11, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor

Am I tagged in your comment as a dissenter? Coz I agree with you.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Jammer

So the first line reads "The star rating represents a general summary of my thoughts and feelings overall."

My main comment was simply that your written reviews seem, to me, quite at odds with your star ratings for this series (by and large). Maybe there's a reason for that, maybe it's an overstatement on my part.

That's my opinion. Just like reviews are an opinion..

If you like the show more than I do that's fine but if one reads the text alone I believe you'd probably assume a lower average score.

But let me be clear. I respect your insights, thoughtfulness and integrity. Your reviews are always expertly written and this is hardly a damning indictment of your work!

And yes, admittedly, I'd probably be less inclined to notice (let alone point out) any such discrepancies if my scores on this series more closely followed yours. I mean, you have an average of about 2.75/4 where I'd be closer to 1.5/4. In your words: "Poor" :)
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Nah, I'll back @Bryan and @Mitch.

The reviews of Discovery seem at odds with the star ratings, by and large, and the bar set for other shows reviewed in the past.

But that's Jammer's prerogative.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Dom

Yeah good choice and good willpower. If you didn't like season 1 (like me) you won't get much from season 2.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Yair

One person's integrity is another's inflexibility.

At any rate, I appreciate jammer's reviews and the general quality of their content and composition (far better than anything I could ever do). I just didn't think it was worth pointing out everything I hated about this episode, as others have already said it.

And, if I'm honest, I feel strangely sad at how much my views on this season differ with jammer's. Pretty pathetic.

I really just need to stop watching this show. The fact that I effectively get it for free is a complete curse.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Jammer

FYI someone just hacked your site and gave the Star Trek Discovery episode "If Memory Serves" a 4 star rating. They even tried to ape your style and wrote a full review.

Changing your password more often might prevent this happening again? Not sure, I'm not an IT expert.

Cheers
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So what do the Talosians actually do for Spock and why do they need to see an old memory as payment?

The Culber stuff was mostly good. The rest felt like an over engineered waste of time (at best).
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Cue headache
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@Max Yes
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Last week's episode was 3 stars so this one should be what, 5? :P

If so, I would sort of agree, just my scores would be out of 10..
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@dobber

Agree completely.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 7:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Jammer said "People seem to be up in arms that Section 31 is — gasp! — not the same secret organization it was when we encountered it on DS9. Is it so hard to imagine a significant change in the organization's profile in the course of a whole century? (And Section 31 was not as underground as you may remember, as seen by the end of "Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges.")"

The point is not just the continuity issues. For Starfleet to openly condone Section 31 in this time period (or the 24th century) is completely counter to what the Federation is supposed to be about.

It also takes a great idea about the core of the Federation's ideals vs cold reality and turns it into a big, dumb, blunt instrument.

Can't say I've disagreed with one of your reviews more for some time.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@wolfstar brilliant.

Seriously, is this show written by people who can't get a job writing video game cut scenes?
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I'll give it this: finding new stupid things on this show is kinda fun.

- (Just last week?) Sarek says he hoped Bernham would teach Spock empathy. Now Amanda says Sarek wanted Spock raised in the traditional Vulcan way..

- I'd forgotten how the ultra secretive Section 31 have their own insignia. And are therefore known to seemingly all starfleet officers. Makes you wonder how they stayed under the radar until the 24th century.

- "oh yeah I hear the klingons are growing their hair again". Continuity issues. SOLVED.

- Georghiou's weapons.

- Georghiou.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Good review Jammer, you just forgot to mention how boring the whole thing was.

I'd go 1 star.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Wtf.. Since when did the Prime Directive apply to abducted humans??

This season is off to a better start than the last one but the acting, dialogue and plot deficiencies remain. Plus boredom. Nothing has hooked me at all.

Oh and the Spock element is getting on my nerves and we haven't even seen him as an adult yet.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Too predictable and banal for my liking. No real insight or depth. Dr Phlox's sudden evil reveal was was the only thing that really grabbed my attention. Even the premise of forcing Alara to return home seemed contrived. And there was certainly no humor.

So weird going into each episode not knowing if it's going to be comedy, drama, action or a weird, uneasy mix of the 3. As I've said previously, I'd prefer the series to stay primarily a comedy. It's the only part that makes it unique.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Quibbles

Pretty much agree entirely.

I prefer these episodes that have little scifi in them.

But the fundamental problem in this series for me is that SM writes/directs and has himself as the captain and resident casanova.. The sheer vanity of it is hard for me to put to one side.

Anyway, I tend to enjoy this series in the same way I get a laugh out of things like those bad lip reading videos that were popular a few years ago. Trek took itself so seriously and was so bad at humor (mostly).. This works as a good counterpoint to that.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I liked this film better than TFA though it was still silly in parts. At least it took risks and wasn't just a trademark Abram's reset and rehash.

If it's true that Rian Johnson deliberately ignored and contradicted Abrams' wishes then I like it even more.

2.5-3 stars.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Nice review Jammer. Though reading it, I'm not sure where the 2 stars come from. You've basically criticised everything about the episode.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

And there it is. Easily the worst episode of the season, eclipsing What’s Past is Prologue. Everyone has pretty much already nailed the negatives. Especially Hank.

I guess the show kept me watching.. Though that’s probably more to do with me wanting to see what they would do with Trek rather than due to any merit contained in the episodes..

Let me see.. I liked Saru and Stammets most of the time. Tilly had her moments. Lorca was pretty cool too until they utterly destroyed his character (maybe not quite literally).

Those are the only positives I can think of off-hand.

The uniforms seem well made.

sigh
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Up there with some of your more generous reviews Jammer. Maybe all the negative comments here lowered your expectations? Not sure how you could conceivably give this more than 1.5 stars but each to their own I guess.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Excellently put @plain simple and @djkazaz.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Woahhhh that just went to s*** in a hurry.

I actually thought this show was sort of, maybe, improving..

So we can time travel with the magic spores now. Great. Just go back to before the war and kill T'Kuvma and Lorca. Easy.

There should be a poll about what the dumbest thing was in this episode.

- Magic spore techno-babble
- Lorca character assassination (literally!)
- Impossibly silly action scenes (more knife fights in space please!)
- Grand canyon sized plot holes
- Michael's unfathomable decision making processes
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Great review Jammer, particularly the last couple of paragraphs.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.