Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 28 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 11:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Too predictable and banal for my liking. No real insight or depth. Dr Phlox's sudden evil reveal was was the only thing that really grabbed my attention. Even the premise of forcing Alara to return home seemed contrived. And there was certainly no humor.

So weird going into each episode not knowing if it's going to be comedy, drama, action or a weird, uneasy mix of the 3. As I've said previously, I'd prefer the series to stay primarily a comedy. It's the only part that makes it unique.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Quibbles

Pretty much agree entirely.

I prefer these episodes that have little scifi in them.

But the fundamental problem in this series for me is that SM writes/directs and has himself as the captain and resident casanova.. The sheer vanity of it is hard for me to put to one side.

Anyway, I tend to enjoy this series in the same way I get a laugh out of things like those bad lip reading videos that were popular a few years ago. Trek took itself so seriously and was so bad at humor (mostly).. This works as a good counterpoint to that.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:27am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I liked this film better than TFA though it was still silly in parts. At least it took risks and wasn't just a trademark Abram's reset and rehash.

If it's true that Rian Johnson deliberately ignored and contradicted Abrams' wishes then I like it even more.

2.5-3 stars.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Nice review Jammer. Though reading it, I'm not sure where the 2 stars come from. You've basically criticised everything about the episode.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

And there it is. Easily the worst episode of the season, eclipsing What’s Past is Prologue. Everyone has pretty much already nailed the negatives. Especially Hank.

I guess the show kept me watching.. Though that’s probably more to do with me wanting to see what they would do with Trek rather than due to any merit contained in the episodes..

Let me see.. I liked Saru and Stammets most of the time. Tilly had her moments. Lorca was pretty cool too until they utterly destroyed his character (maybe not quite literally).

Those are the only positives I can think of off-hand.

The uniforms seem well made.

sigh
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 1:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Up there with some of your more generous reviews Jammer. Maybe all the negative comments here lowered your expectations? Not sure how you could conceivably give this more than 1.5 stars but each to their own I guess.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 7:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Excellently put @plain simple and @djkazaz.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 5:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Woahhhh that just went to s*** in a hurry.

I actually thought this show was sort of, maybe, improving..

So we can time travel with the magic spores now. Great. Just go back to before the war and kill T'Kuvma and Lorca. Easy.

There should be a poll about what the dumbest thing was in this episode.

- Magic spore techno-babble
- Lorca character assassination (literally!)
- Impossibly silly action scenes (more knife fights in space please!)
- Grand canyon sized plot holes
- Michael's unfathomable decision making processes
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Great review Jammer, particularly the last couple of paragraphs.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

This was still a bit clunky for me. Most of the characters/actors/dialogue remain only so-so (with the exception of perhaps Lorca and Stamets) and I'm not overly optimistic about where all this is going. But still, let's join the positive vibe here - I agree that it's the best episode so far.

3/4.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

This one was certainly Trekkier than most previous episodes - high concept Sci Fi, reset buttons and clunky attempts at romance.

Watchable and fun at times, smug and cringe-worthy for the remainder.

The many deaths of Lorca would have to be the highlight.

2.5/4
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Don't know if this has been raised, but why does Starfleet give command of Discovery, and with it the authorization to act with near impunity, to a guy whose last command ended when he destroyed his own ship?

Also how did he learn to become such a cliched 20th century fighter in the 23rd century Federation? "Where do you hail from soldier" - he's even got the lingo.

All to be revealed, or ignored, at a later date.

As for this episode on it's own, I find it hard to score. Probably 2-2.5/4. I have roughly the same opinion as Jammer.

I hope they manage at least one high quality episode this season.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@wolfstar Well said.

Although I don't mind Stamets as a character. He's the geek scientist whose experiment has been commandeered by warmongers - kind of reminds me of Merritt Butrick's character in STII/III.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 8:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Better.

Saru's characterisation seemed off given what we've seen of him but most others were good.

Agree that there's no way a starfleet officer around the time of Kirk etc would leave a federation citizen in an enemy jail.

Anyway lots of little contrivances as usual but definitely better.

3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

And a step backwards with this episode..

Space spores that use space bugs to navigate with spinning saucer sections..

2/4
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 2:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Better. This would have been a more interesting Pilot, as some have mentioned.

3/4.

Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I don't think anyone has pointed out the biggest question of all..

With these Starfleet uniforms, how do we distinguish between ranks for anyone less than Captain?

Also, how would the completely illogical "Vulcan Hello" have prevented the war? The Shenzhou would have fired everything they had at the Klingons and gotten their butts kicked and the war would have started anyway.

Also, thought the opening episodes were not very engaging as set-up, poorly scripted and had very wooden acting -- So only gonna get better from here, right?
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 3:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

Sorry, so explain what would happen if he'd picked Worf as his first officer?
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

So you're saying that if Riker picked Worf as his XO it would be totally fine that he is out-ranked by several other officers on the ship, or otherwise promoted 2 clear ranks to full Commander, simply because he's a Bridge Officer?

Anyway, it's obvious the ranks in Trek don't always make perfect sense, my point was just that it looked like a snub. Just say you considered all of them as potential XOs due to their command experience and then make your justification about maintaining the status quo as a result of the present crisis.

And the fact that it's silly that Riker automatically gets command upon Picard's death ala Mirror, Mirror rules.

Ultimately I don't expect these minor details to stack up perfectly every time. Just enjoy pointing them out :)
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

The first officer of any ship really has a great incentive to wish their Captain dead don't they?
Makes you understand why Riker never wanted his own command - just waiting for Picard to frickin die so he gets the flagship.

I also like how, when Riker is choosing a first officer, he says sorry to Worf (L) and Data (LC) but just ignores Crusher (Com) Geordi (LC) and Troi (LC).

Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 6:41am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I guess you need nostalgia to rate this 3 stars.

Just saw it for the first time - all the plot holes listed above and the tedious inevitability of it all..

I also like how Riker just learns that someone tried to kill him, and only failed out of blind, techno-babbly luck, and doesn't bat an eyelid. Phew, glad they didn't get me on that (dodgy) murder or (univestigated) sexual assault charge.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

I think Worf's stance here is pretty indefensible. Not to mention poorly articulated (but what else is new). And there's gotta be repercussions for his actions.

Ok episode but this felt too fabricated for me, the resolution too easy and consequences-free and the horror acting by the Romulan centurion really puts the cherry on the cake.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Jul 14, 2017, 8:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Good vibe, holds your attention - yes. Solid execution, suspension of disbelief, plausible characterisations, satisfying conclusion - not so much.

In season 1 or 2, I'd say 2.5 stars. Seasons 3-7, more like 1.5.

As an aside: What was with the Riker-makes-"gourmet"-scrambled-frickin-eggs scene? I'm guessing the story ran about 5 mins short...
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jul 11, 2017, 3:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Classic TNG. The circumstances are a little contrived and the resolution a bit easy but a great moral question that allows the series’ two best actors/characters room to show off their skill and affability. (I still have a problem with Riker's argument though, particularly the off-switch bit.)

This episode also reinforces my belief that Data should not have been a commissioned Starfleet officer from the get-go. Let alone a Lieutenant Commander.

I think he needed to be recognized for his development over the series – Perhaps if he had started with some sort of honorary title, giving more ambiguity to his status; having a rank of Acting Lieutenant for example (kind of like how Wes is an Acting Ensign) He could then have been given full status as a sentient being and a commission as a result of this kind of hearing. Then let him nab a promotion along the way as payoff for his growth and importance as a major character.

Instead he gets no promotion though the remainder of the series or films while LaForge, Worf and even Troi get to rise through the ranks.

Anyway..
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Jun 30, 2017, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

@FlyingSquirrel - Yeah who knows; it's all very half-baked. In fact, half-baked is probably generous.

Still, I can't bring myself to hate these episodes. Especially watching it now that Mark Lenard and Leonard Nimoy have both passed away.

Every scene featuring Spock is just pure joy for this old trekkie.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.