Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 842 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 34
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

“If you don't like this more action oriented Trek, you're asking CBS to ignore the international audience for this show. If you want more stories in the vein of TNG or TOS, you're asking CBS to discount how much of the show's potential audience has never seen an episode of Star Trek (nor cares to ever). And, you're asking CBS to ignore the wider trends (binging, delayed viewing, and social media). ”

This makes no sens to me. Are you saying people outside of the US wouldn’t be able to grasp a tv show that wasn’t total action schlock? That sounds cynical at the very least. Not even the binging part makes sense because they don’t release all episodes at once.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I had to pause the show from laughing so hard when Pike said “It’s best to keep your expectations low. That way you’ll never be disappointed.” The Discovery writers totally just dissed their own show and slipped a suggestion to the viewing audience in the script as dialogue.

Jammer did you catch that?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I feel like all that needs to be said about this episode is that Burnham had to remind Saru that his eyesight is better than everyone else's.

Burnham is so good at everything she's even better at remembering how other people's bodies work than they are.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 11:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Too predictable and banal for my liking. No real insight or depth. Dr Phlox's sudden evil reveal was was the only thing that really grabbed my attention. Even the premise of forcing Alara to return home seemed contrived. And there was certainly no humor.

So weird going into each episode not knowing if it's going to be comedy, drama, action or a weird, uneasy mix of the 3. As I've said previously, I'd prefer the series to stay primarily a comedy. It's the only part that makes it unique.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Quibbles they also had the line of officers seeing off Worf in TNG. Voyager ripped it off. Though it’s a military tradition in Star Trek it seems.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Karl - Not to be judgmental in the slightest (honestly) that's really no different from pirating. Either way Fox doesn't get your money, which is what they're after. Well, I suppose the other difference is you haven't broken the law, but is there really a law enforcement presence online trying to catch people anymore? Maybe there is, I don't know.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

“Judging from Peter Macon's comments, you might be right.“

@Dave In MN, what comments did he make?
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Quibbles

Pretty much agree entirely.

I prefer these episodes that have little scifi in them.

But the fundamental problem in this series for me is that SM writes/directs and has himself as the captain and resident casanova.. The sheer vanity of it is hard for me to put to one side.

Anyway, I tend to enjoy this series in the same way I get a laugh out of things like those bad lip reading videos that were popular a few years ago. Trek took itself so seriously and was so bad at humor (mostly).. This works as a good counterpoint to that.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Great review as always. I don’t think it will ever aspire to be a truly great sci-fi series unfortunately.

Wasn’t the “urinating once per year” thing referenced in season 1?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I liked it. Character driven and funny. My wife watched with me and laughed out loud in several parts, most notably the drive by scene.

You just have to accept this show for what it is. It's not trying to be groundbreaking sci-fi. The sci-fi Trek inspired elements are just the window dressing for the characters and buffoonery.
Set Bookmark
JohnG
Wed, Dec 26, 2018, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

To those who say there was an underlying, normal Tamarian,language that the metaphors were based upon, if there was, why would they use metaphors that they know the aliens they never met before would not understand, instead of speaking in plain Tamarian?

If I was trying to communicate with some who only speaks Japanese, and I had a translator app, like Google translate, I would speak or type in as directly in plain English as possible, instead of using American specific metaphors or references that the Japanese speaker would not understand.

The idea of 2 strangers learning to communicate and cooperate had great potential, but it was totally spoiled by the absurd Tamarian, metaphor only language.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Saw the new trailer for season 2. Spock says:

“Something is going to kill all sentient life in the galaxy”

Cool, so glad they’re doing another season long plot about a hilariously, impossibly huge catastrophe. It can’t be something small. It always has to THE END OF EVERYTHING every time. That’s Alex Kurtzman for you.

Also glad to see everyone knows what Section 31 is and that they have their own Starfleet shaped badges, despite not being affiliated with Starfleet in any way and not actually being an organization so much as a handful of lone operating domestic terrorists.

These writers/producers/show runners have no clue. Expect nothing new in season 2. Star Trek is no more and will never be again
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 3:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

After that short, I’m utterly convinced that they have the worst writers in Hollywood working on Discovery. They just do not know how to write Trek.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Nov 11, 2018, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@methane from what I’ve read CBS tried to sell the shorts to Netflix for $40,000,000 so they could get more money and they would be available in foreign markets but they wouldn’t bite
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Nov 9, 2018, 8:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I was really looking forward to Calypso. Even in a short, the idea that it's 1,000 years in the future and is a guy stuck with an AI has the potential for some good sci-fi.

Instead it was crap. They did nothing with it. Guy shows up to ship, wants to get to home planet, AI says it can't leave, they spend some time together, then AI gives guy a shuttle. That's it.

It shouldn't even count as a story. Stories usually have plots and turns, even short ones. Calypso was literally just a guy hanging out on the ship for a bit with no troubles and then leaving.

I have to ask, where did that AI come from? It wasn't in season 1 and the ship still looks brand new. Are they saying the Discovery always had this canon breaking AI? Why did the ship still look the same after 1,000 years? Actually I can answer that. Because these shorts were filmed desperately and quickly during season 2 as a way for CBS to try and gouge foreign markets for money (that almost nobody took them up on) so they didn't have time to redress the set.

Dude didn't even bother to ask what happened to the crew? Also it's 1,000 years in the future and humans are basically the same as we are now? Social structure and everything? No hint as to what the Federation might look like that far in the future?

It pains me that Calypso was so nothing. Absolutely nothing happened. It was a waste of 20 minutes.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Patrick D well said
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Yeah this doesn’t seem like a good idea. Oversaturation and watered down Trek is what killed it in the first place.

Jammer, I wouldn’t blame you one bit if you skipped reviewing this new animated series
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Oct 25, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

And now they've announced that a Star Trek Animated series similar in tone to Rick and Morty from one of its writers is coming out.

What the hell is going on over there???
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

So how about that first short? It sure was terrible.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

I find myself wondering what color blood Human-Vulcan hybrids have.

I'm guessing it's the color of chocolate syrup.

Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I don't think the Degra-Trip scene worked as well here as the similar Kira-Damar scene from "Tacking Into The Wind", and I think it's mostly Trip's fault. Trip has been rather petulant about it for some time, and unlike the Cardassians, the Xindi were reacting to an existential threat, or so they were made to believe.

Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Trellium-D is established to have a profound mental effect on Vulcans, but was it ever explained why it also alters their physical appearance, making them look straight out of a zombie movie?
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 4:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Yes it was dumb for Archer to want to keep the virus around, but why did Phlox even give him the choice?

Why did Phlox say "Hey captain, I saved some of the virus in this test tube here in this little cubby.. Of course it should be destroyed like yesterday, but I didn't yet so you could tell me not to for a dumb reason.

Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 1:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Sato and Mayweather were still ensigns after ten years....and Reed still a Lieutenant.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 6:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

I agree with the criticism of the out of place technology in the 22nd century, and the defenses of it are even more absurd.

Technology isn't abandoned, it's perfected. If the Romulans are using ships that can masquerade as anything here, they wouldn't just go back to conventional ships by two centuries later. More likely is that ALL ships in the 24th century would be shapshifting ships, with a "space race" centered on who could out-stealth and out-defeat stealth each other. The Enterprise, -A, -B, -C, -D, -E would all be shapeshifting ships.

Same logic goes for remotely piloted ships. If it could be done here, it would only have been perfected in the two centuries since, not abandoned. By the 24th century, ALL combat ships would be remotely piloted drones.

That's CLEARLY not what he have in the 23rd and 24th centuries.

That this ridiculous stuff could be done in the 22nd century, but a ship than can separate its saucer section and its drive section is state of the art two centuries later, is laughable.

Next ►Page 1 of 34
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.