Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,070 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 43
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Oct 25, 2020, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

It would only be wrong to talk about a character's weight gain if having a large body is seen as wrong. Could you imagine the same reaction about a hairstyle change?

-"Burnham's hair has grown so much since last season"
-"I don't appreciate you talking about that, please stop it"

Still, I'm aware of the historical association between large women and ugliness, and I don't expect ignoring people's sensitivities will erode those ideas. If someone asked me to politely not mention it, I'd oblige them.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

The Inner Light, Darmok, Tapestry, The Visitor, Duet, Tuvix, Dear Doctor... the old Star Trek sure as hell didn't have any emotional, empathy building episodes, did it?
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Not bad! I liked this episode, and I was one of those who didn't think much of last week's. I'm almost wishing the crashed ship scenario could remain for a few more episodes without reuniting the crew with Burnham just yet. I liked watching the teamwork, the crew dynamics and different personalities, and less action oriented plot which felt much more classic Trek. Hopefully most of that will stay and the first episode was an exception.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Jammer

Excellent review. Helps that I agree with pretty much all of it :)
Set Bookmark
JOhn
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Booming "I don't see Star Trek as a brand"

Me neither in certain ways, but it doesn't matter how we see it. If Discovery was called "The Adventures of Michael Burnham in the 32nd century" and had no association to the Star Trek label, how many people do you think would watch it?

@Ubik

I don't think it's quite fair to say that TNG and DS9 both did their own thing off-brand, while VOY and ENT were a product. Voyager was set totally outside the Federation while Enterprise was set before it. Those aren't really "let's just do the same thing and give the fans what they want". I can see how they were formulaic in other ways, but not in the concept ideas.
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I would have expected the opposite, and it surprises me that anyone becomes a new fan of some of the older Trek shows anymore. I don't know anyone who hasn't already seen the whole of, say, Voyager or Enterprise, would have the patience to sit through them today. At the time when they were released you had to wait for the weekly episode, there were slim pickings when it came to sci-fi TV. The weekly anticipation was a big part of why you watched them - you set aside an hour of your schedule at a certain timeslot each week and generally stuck to it. If I was streaming Voyager today for the first time, by season 3 at the latest I'd be such saying "screw this, there are better things to do/watch". It's highly likely I wouldn't have got past S1 of TNG either.
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 6:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

It's more the manner in which Burnham reacts I found unrealistic. She emotionally breaks down when she's told the Federation is gone. But so what? If someone told a time traveler from the 1920s that the League of Nations didn't exist anymore, and they started bawling, they would look pretty foolish when subsequently told "...it's been replaced by the similar and mostly improved UN". At the very least you'd want to find a little more about the situation, wouldn't you?

It's the same feeling I had with ST: Picard's "fucking hubris" admiral and "I like science" Spock. Substituting rational explanations with drama in the belief that viewers are either no longer intellectually capable or are uninterested in the nerdy stuff.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

It's hard to say whether our expectations are all wrong for anticipating anything that would resemble science fiction. As far as I'm aware, the two current writers of the show only have experience in writing fantasy, horror and adventure stories.

The single interesting part of the episode came in the last few minutes. Potentially, there could be a story there for rebuilding the Federation. Convincing now independent worlds that it would be in their interests to unify, change their economies, change their relations with other races. So they can come up with some good ideas. But to work, that storyline would require writing on the level and scale of Asimov's Foundation, of Babylon 5. We need to be shown the larger picture, the fate of entire worlds, of fleets, of galactic empires. That can be done with character-based emotional writing and not in an impersonal way, but the gravitas of what Burnham is presented with calls for more Shakespeare, less Joss Whedon. Based on what we've seen of Discovery, with these writers i'm expecting more fistfights, laser gun chases and magical sea monsters.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Third Season Recap

If you're expecting the Dominion to become more threatening in seasons 4, 5, 6 and 7, you're going to be disappointed. Mostly we get Sisko standing around in a room exchanging tedious words with various diplomatic representatives. DS9 was a dull show, especially compared with its contemporaries.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 7:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I'm gonna watch this. I know I am. Why do I do this to myself?
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

If you want to be really academic here, medicine (the other field Booming mentioned) isn't a science either, but a practice which seeks to cure people using scientific means.
Set Bookmark
Johnny D
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I am enjoying it! (Braces for rage attacks)

Having a show with a comedic core allows them to view the Star Trek universe through a different lens, and I'm glad they are trying something new and different. Star Trek is for everyone, and if all the references to the other series get someone to got back and see what they missed, then its a win!

Its fun to see new ship designs, and all the other aspects of starship travel that never got explored during the TNG heydey. Looking forward to cetacean ops!

All the previous episodes of all the other series are still there to watch, so there is an incredibe library to view and enjoy if the new show isn't your thing.
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

"Radical" seems the norm nowadays. I just read today that Biden was a "radical leftist".
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

Maybe I was in a bad mood or something when I watched this one, but I don't understand all the glowing reviews about this episode. This is the first episode that I can honestly say that I didn't enjoy. Don't get me wrong, there were some positive aspects to it, it wasn't all bad. I that Kirk's poker gamble was extremely gutsy and well-played. But, this episode just dragged on too long. Trying to extend a limited plot for 50 mins just didn't work. There should have been a subplot alongside it to keep the pace going.

And that ending was cringe-worthy lol. Sorry, but it was.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 4:43am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Maybe the reason some posters have suspicions of the new posters who have suddenly appeared with high praise for the episode, is from comments like "it appeals to a wide audience". That is how executives and corporations think. And what's with all the personal attacks? I can't think of a single reason to be so defensive about the first episode of a show you have no investment in.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I would be more impressed by this episode (which I haven't seen for years) if it did depict a psychotic break, with Troi encouraging Timothy to explore it. That was a theme being explored in the psychiatric literature of the 1990s, with the re-characterization of psychosis as a harmful state to be suppressed with medication, towards viewing it as a spiritual emergency which when explored in a supportive environment confers vast benefits upon a successful resolution.

It may not turn out to be a valid approach based on how it's depicted in the episode, but this is science fiction and based on the current science it's a perfectly valid topic to explore as a possibility. Handheld medical devices emitting magical blue healing rays are far more unlikely.

But then, I'm probably in the minority in thinking the decline of Trek is very much linked to its unwillingness to question current paradigms of thinking.
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Boomer - Many highly qualified therapists will get their clients to explore traumas, and some will tell you it's the only way to resolve them.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Isn't the Hugo awards about science fiction?
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Latter-Day Saints? I hope you're not referring to LSD, because if anything, the creators of this show would certainly benefit creatively from a few tabs.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

This is what I expected. Couldn’t agree more with everything you said regarding Trek just being a soulless product now.

There’s nobody at the helm trying to preserve the soul of Star Trek and keep it going. It’s all money men looking to make as much cash as possible as quickly as possible before the audience burns out on this era of Trek. That’s all that matters. Anything else these producers and execs say is a lie.

The Lower Decks trailer was painfully unfunny. I don’t blame you for not wanting to review it. I do hope that you’re able to review something else in the near future. Your reviews are just as entertaining to read and interact with as the thing you’re reviewing, sometimes more so. Whether Trek related or not, it’s always great to have something new to read on this site.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

I didn't understand the ending at all. How could you beam Christopher back into his cockpit without him running into his younger self? How could you beam the military soldier back to the Nebraska base without him also running into his younger self?

Why did the younger version of the Enterprise in the sky suddenly disappear at the end so that Christopher ended up seeing nothing? Why did that younger version of the Enterprise not lock on its tractor beam to the jet and beam him aboard again? Why did the Enterprise not beam up the Nebraska military base officer again after the older version of the Enterprise beam him back days earlier? I don't get it.
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Jul 1, 2020, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

TH - In a way, the Kazon could be viewed as irrational on an evolutionary perspective, but you could say the same about Klingons - they've been exploring space for a how long now, and they're still eating worms and brawling? And in my book that's fine, because in the 'real world' we only know of one species who has developed advanced technology - humans. We don't know there's any such thing as a 'natural' course of development, from from unevolved and earthbound to somewhat enlightened and reading books and learning and building things, to becoming enlightened space-faring travelers through Western physics and chemistry. That's a Trekkian theory, and it's fiction.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Isn't it more likely that she was there as an extra and some Paramount exec caught a glimpse of her and said "hey, our ratings are dropping and we need some T&A in the show. What about her?"
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

https://screencrush.com/fawlty-towers-racial-slurs/
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

This episode is rubbish. So boring, and hackneyed overlong dream sequences with other crewmen popping up to speak uncanny dialogue is usually Trek at its lamest.

The chaotic space subplot is too perfunctory to even mention. This is a very dull episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 43
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.