Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,054 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 43
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Boomer - Many highly qualified therapists will get their clients to explore traumas, and some will tell you it's the only way to resolve them.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Isn't the Hugo awards about science fiction?
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Latter-Day Saints? I hope you're not referring to LSD, because if anything, the creators of this show would certainly benefit creatively from a few tabs.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

This is what I expected. Couldn’t agree more with everything you said regarding Trek just being a soulless product now.

There’s nobody at the helm trying to preserve the soul of Star Trek and keep it going. It’s all money men looking to make as much cash as possible as quickly as possible before the audience burns out on this era of Trek. That’s all that matters. Anything else these producers and execs say is a lie.

The Lower Decks trailer was painfully unfunny. I don’t blame you for not wanting to review it. I do hope that you’re able to review something else in the near future. Your reviews are just as entertaining to read and interact with as the thing you’re reviewing, sometimes more so. Whether Trek related or not, it’s always great to have something new to read on this site.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

I didn't understand the ending at all. How could you beam Christopher back into his cockpit without him running into his younger self? How could you beam the military soldier back to the Nebraska base without him also running into his younger self?

Why did the younger version of the Enterprise in the sky suddenly disappear at the end so that Christopher ended up seeing nothing? Why did that younger version of the Enterprise not lock on its tractor beam to the jet and beam him aboard again? Why did the Enterprise not beam up the Nebraska military base officer again after the older version of the Enterprise beam him back days earlier? I don't get it.
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Jul 1, 2020, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

TH - In a way, the Kazon could be viewed as irrational on an evolutionary perspective, but you could say the same about Klingons - they've been exploring space for a how long now, and they're still eating worms and brawling? And in my book that's fine, because in the 'real world' we only know of one species who has developed advanced technology - humans. We don't know there's any such thing as a 'natural' course of development, from from unevolved and earthbound to somewhat enlightened and reading books and learning and building things, to becoming enlightened space-faring travelers through Western physics and chemistry. That's a Trekkian theory, and it's fiction.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Isn't it more likely that she was there as an extra and some Paramount exec caught a glimpse of her and said "hey, our ratings are dropping and we need some T&A in the show. What about her?"
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 8:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

https://screencrush.com/fawlty-towers-racial-slurs/
Set Bookmark
John
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

This episode is rubbish. So boring, and hackneyed overlong dream sequences with other crewmen popping up to speak uncanny dialogue is usually Trek at its lamest.

The chaotic space subplot is too perfunctory to even mention. This is a very dull episode.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

There's another trick though, which is using the fear of authority for mistrust of everyone and everything in the name of freedom.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Elliott

"Hey, I live in the United States. But I also only live in the place that I live. The daily lives of rural Alaskans are as foreign to me--actually, probably *more* foreign to me, culturally, than people living in Germany. Living in a place does not magically give one insight into trends; we are myopic creatures and must rely on data, which everyone has access to, to make reasonable generalisations."

Well, I've seen enough examples of the way data is used to know that it's often anything but reasonable. Like how governments have been forever using GDP as a marker of a nation's happiness, and an excuse to pollute rivers and bulldoze indigenous caves so they can build a mine which will "create jobs". And not surprisingly, it's the people living there that are affected, and not the data analysts sitting in an office somewhere. Could you get any more myopic than that?

So, let's say I'm happy to assume your data is accurate. What now? What do we do with it? Any suggestions?
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Cody B - I'm personally learning a lot from Booming's learned discourses. For example, I've just learned today that losing my job is a big threat to me. I mean, I haven't had a job for years and in that time have never been hungry or homeless, but now I know my experience must be wrong. I'm going to make sure to try and feel more fearful and threatened starting tomorrow. Some things you just really need to be an academic to know.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Brundlevix - haha! Can you imagine, him all warped, trying to drag Kes into the transporter, then The Other Guy, Tom has to reach for a shotgun. Try putting tjat episode out at 6pm.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Ha! I love Voyagers divisive episodes! Didn't know that this was one, but it makes sense. I enjoy that Trekkies are still coming back years later like one epic conversation (odd comments about bukakke aside).

I remember my first watch, being thrilled that there was another version of the crew, then the slow doom of realising they will likely fall to bits before they can confirm their legacy, their purpose. Watching clones, in this case a cosmic accident, try and come to terms with the hopelessness of their existence, is really quite profound. For a show slammed for it's reversion to the mean, it could be really quite... well, mean, sometimes!

Totally understand it is too bleak for some. I guess it depends whether you intellectualise stuff like this to process it, or get stuck in the empathy and sadness of it. Jurassic Bark is actually a good analogy. I was furious after Jurassic Bark, because it's a fricking cartoon. I prefer the doom of Course: Oblivion because it sets itself up honestly and engages with themes of eternity, futility, and oblivion. Jurassic Bark just pulls a last minute switch to trick you. To kick your ass going out the door. Give me the Luck of the Fryrish any day.

By the way - I love the scene where Tom tells a ribald comment to Neelix about the honeymoon, and the shocked delight on Neelixs face is wonderful, like he had never heard a rogueish joke before. Ethan Phillips doesnt get enough credit for making Neelix very the guileless sort that he is.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Jason R

"The black representation is way over the actual representation in the US based on 1990 census figures, as is the Asian representation.

So racially, DS9 was over-diverse in its main cast in terms of both primary and secondary regulars. "

I'm not sure it makes sense to compare current US census figures against demographics in DS9. For a start, DS9 isn't a vision of a future United States. It's not a NASA outpost. In a future where the world is supposed to be united, is it realistic that the vast majority of people on a station are white? I mean, if we're going to take depiction of race seriously, which is something I think DS9 aspires to, shouldn't the number of Chinese we see outnumber the whites 2:1?
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 5:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Elliott

Oh, I could see how Brooks might have an influence over casting choices. Let's not forget he was also a director on the show, and seems very outspoken about his views. I'm not an expert about how casting works in the industry, but if he had a choice over his own relationships it's not a stretch to think he had an influence over Jake's.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I would have probably endorsed the executive theory, but I seem to remember something in the recent DS9 documentary where Avery Brooks mentioned he was responsible for those casting choices.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 31, 2020, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The governments Mal refers to usually are driven by some kind of profit, though. Would the US have gone to the moon if not in competition with the USSR? A group of people banding together doesn't make much sense unless there is some other group of people somewhere else. World government probably won't happen until there is another "world" of Vulcans and ETs whom we can fight, bargain with.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 31, 2020, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Are they even aiming for satire? Space Force seems like it would be a good idea for short one-off show, mocking Trump's idea. But a whole series? If you do that then you're limiting how satirical you can be, and it becomes about 'likeable characters' etc.

American TV tends to overdo things anyway. How many seasons was the US Office show? The Brits only needed 3.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, May 22, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Had trouble liking this episode.

Didn't buy Wang's grumpy Harry act. He even deepened his voice and walked around frowning lest we don't notice that time has left him bitter. Bless him, but he is not the premier actor on the show by a long way.

It is indeed another time anomaly and fake/finite stakes episode. All sorted by the 45th minute.

For me, just dulllllll. 'They're having sex'. Grumpy Harry wants a slap.

The Seven stuff at the start was the best bit. Says it all about who can carry an episode.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 10, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This episode is rubbish.

8472 donning human skins, talking in idiomatic English, spouting dialogue like 'You can't trust them! Theyre seducing you!' Everyone wrapping up genocidal conflicts while strolling between the meeting room and the bridge....

These are beings from another type of spacetime. We get all their complexity piped through the character actor awshucks rhetoric of a cameo.

Rubbish.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Hey Jammer, do you think you might go back to that short review idea you had last year after discovery was over? I’m still curious what it was going to be.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 3:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
"if you wan to use an authority argument, at least use sources that are leading in their respective fields and not some guy who has probably a bigger shot at getting shot in eastern Ukraine than the Nobel Prize. "

You are a sociologist, no? In the hard sciences, it is the research work and only the research that is important, not the name of the scientist or the university. I suspect that might not be the case in the humanities, although it should be. Still, I agree that human bias means journals are probably more likely to take notice of work done at major universities.

I don't know if any of this is relevant anyway since we're talking about AI studies, which is a multidisciplinary field of which philosophy is a major part.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

OMG!!! I love the series but get mad at some of the things the writers do. Just does not make any sense. Why would they kill Trip off at the end of the show, so dumb. Why not have them all go to the big speech and trip is sitting with T'Pol hold there cute little elf ear baby and our blue friend with his baby and the Captain gives an amazing speech and end it like that.

But no, they have to get the aliens that can travel past warp 4 and somehow beam on the ship, it just feels forced and unreal. It’s sad really; this series was great and had so much more potential. With all that said I really enjoyed the series and sad to see it end. The ending was good with the 3 captains talking about going where no man has been before.

If you get time stop by and say hi to me on YouTube, (dot com forward slash johndaniels) my fellow Star Trek enthusiast I am going to be doing a video at some point on Star Trek Holacracy. Take care, it was awesome getting to read Allan's reviews and all of your comments, I wish you all the best.

Live long and prosper,

-John
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Finally Archer grew a pair :)) I like it when he shot that reptile who tried to kill him and blow uf the ship. I wish the regular show was more like that. In the other universe the reptile could kill half his crew and destroyed half his ship he would have given him a little peep speech and took him home, lol.

I like this universe, but they need to not make them seem so evil just more balls and less PC correctness. If a ship is trying to kill you feel free to kill them, because if you don't they are going to kills other innocents people and that will be on your weak hands.
Next ►Page 1 of 43
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.