Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,130 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 46
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 9:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Sigh2000's analysis there is really great ^

I like the tying of human nature to a more considerate perspective on Janeway's actions. Some dislike the writing in this episode, but I think it's difficulty makes it a classic.
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 1:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I love the fact that we are able to discuss ideas freely here. Whatever "side" you are on, communication is the only way forward. Cheers to Jammersreviews.com for keeping this discussion alive for so long.
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Boomer - the death rate for Covid-19 is nowhere near the rate of the Spanish Flu or Small Pox, Ebola, etc. I had it, my entire family had it. Yes, it sucks. You get healthier and move on. Will some people die? Yes, of course. This happens with every other type of disease too. It does not justify lock downs. 5 Years ago, I had two older friends, in their 60s, die of the regular Flu. Nobody was demanding the whole world close down because of it. My grandfather died in 2004 of Pneumonia, it was very sad and if I could back I would not have allowed him to live in an old folks community where he acquired the disease. But the world did not shut down.

You cannot bring up the low flu numbers yet complain about huge spikes in Covid, that makes no sense. Either we mitigated the spread of diseases, including Covid and Flu or we didn't. I'm in Florida where there is currently a huge spike in cases. Where are all the regular Flu cases? No, the reason Flu numbers are down is because it is a common event that happens during pandemics. One virus basically takes over the human population while the other one goes into hiding. We'll probably get Flu again once Covid peters out, if it ever does.

Do not bring up New Zealand. What they are doing is short-sighted and they will suffer in the long run. Do you really think you can stop a virus forever using lockdowns? They will have to open up eventually and when they do, cases will go up. That's just the way things work, unless they perpetually live in a state of lockdown, and what kind of life is that? "Yay, I'm alive but I can't do anything except sit in my PJs watching Netflix forever." Sorry, buddy, but that's not life.

We should have just let the virus run its course, protect those most at risk (if they choose too) and move on. My nephews and daughter, all young kids, got this disease and it was like a cold.

I'll tell you what, if YOU want to stay home and mask up while driving alone in your car, feel free. How about leaving the rest of us alone to live our life?

Regarding there being a massive conspiracy. I do not think there is a specific, concerted effort, but there are millions of people who think alike and will do what they think "is right" in spite of human freedom or the law. We saw last election that people from various voting precincts, who were not in communication with each other, still pull the same tricks to cheat the election. Things like that happen all the time. Imagine now, you get a group of "medical professional" who all graduated from liberal universities, they all watch the same propaganda news sources, and run in similar leftist circles. Do you not think that they would be capable of pushing the same lies themselves, even without speaking to each other? Of course that happens.
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 12:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I have never commented on here before but this episode seemed especially relevant today, so I felt I needed to share.

Gaius Maximus - There was no attempted coup. There was a group of trespassers walking within the velvet ropes of Congress. To claim this was some legitimate coup attempt is just a lie. No weapons, no deaths (aside from Ashli Babbitt who was killed by a guard and a lady who was accidently trampled) and only minimal damage. The protestors who entered the Capitol during the Kavanaugh hearings were more aggressive, not to mention the previous bombing by the Weather Underground and others.

Even worse is to blame President Trump for the event. He was over a mile away and specifically told his followers to peacefully assemble. Even Alex Jones was at the Capitol telling people not to enter the building. To just nonchalantly claim that President Donald Trump attempted a coup is a downright lie, and shows your ignorant bias.

The River Temarc - Joseph Sisko was actually correct in being resistant to getting his blood drawn. It was a shame they had him change his mind eventually.

Blood test didn't work, just like masks don't work.

Do you remember Sisko asking how long the supposed "emergency order" would last? Weeks, Months, Years? Well here we are, coming close to 18 months of "two weeks to slow the spread." DS9 was right; it is very difficult to gain freedoms back once they have been taken away. Very few governments willingly relinquish power. The ending was perfect; We need to live our lives in spite of supposed threats. If everything we love and enjoy about life is taken away, what are we really living for?

Don't lump people who disagree with arbitrary lockdowns and "safety" protocols with Qanon larpers. Doing so is just a quick and unfair way of shutting up genuine dissenters.
Set Bookmark
John Carter
Sun, May 9, 2021, 11:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I think you’re all nuts. This was a delightful episode in an excellent series. When I look at the “trek” we're being offered 25 years later, it makes me appreciate DS9 even more. Even the worst episodes in the series are light years beyond anything that’s been produced since ENT ended in 2005. “Let He Who is Without Sin” is a wonderful piece of nostalgia. How I miss that world of the mid 90s...
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 6:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

"The real problem with the current style of discourse, is that it politicizes everything. What's currently going on in the world (and in the US in particular) is terrifying, and one does not need to be affiliated with any political party to openly state this.

We are slowly but surely deteriorating into a "1984"-style dystopia. This scares the heck out of me, and at this point I couldn't care less about right-wing or left-wing ideologies. Those quibbles could wait after this crisis is over. At this point, I simply want this nightmare to stop, and I would support any public figure - regardless of their political affiliations - who decides to fight these worrying trends. "

But you've already politicized it. When you remove the politics, stop watching the news channels and listening to the media, there's nothing "going on in the world" - It's just you sitting in front of your computer, believing in stories and feeling fear.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 4:50am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I've read all your comments Boomer about the show and can't find any spoilers. I doubt I'll finish season 4 anyway. The decline since around season 2 has been rather dramatic. It started with some interesting ideas and presentation, notably in a way that made you believe this could be an actual possible future of humanity, and turned into a "hero main characters vs everyone" show, simplistic and cheap.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 12:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jammer I’d be down for some kind of patreon or tip jar service. These reviews have provided invaluable entertainment for nearly 30 years. And I love that you are enjoying getting back into regular reviewing. There’s a lot of shows I’d love to read your thoughts on and I know others would too.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 6:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“the Expanse doesn’t say anything about the human condition.”

@Dom are you sure you watched the same show?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 12:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“ TAS has been a back-burner would-be review project for nearly 15 years (ever since I got the DVD box set, still unwatched), but I was never able to motivate myself to start with everything else going on. Eventually.”

It would be great to get reviews on TAS. I genuinely love it. I mean there’s an episode of a kids cartoon from the 70’s where the heroes meet the actual Satan and it turns out he’s actually the good guy and the chilled dude around. I love it.

@Jammer, I’d love to hear your thoughts on Star Trek Continues as well. I know it’s a fan project, but it’s easily the best Star Trek fan product ever made. The TOS ship recreation is impeccable, its full of actual professional actors, there’s even Star Trek and other sci-fi tv cameos. In my head it is TOS season 4, it’s that well made.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 6:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I'm not sure why people are asking for more technobabble concerning the Nexus. We have dozens of Trek episodes proving that never helps. What makes this the best TNG movie isn't the budget, the acting or the cast, it's the central question: "if you could take advantage of a phenomenon that inserted you into a heaven-of-sorts where all your deepest wishes became your experience, would you do so?". As a sci-fi premise, it's a great one, even though I find the final argument "no, because it's not real" lacking.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 7:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“The Orville couldn’t maintain its network audience and has no production schedule for a third season with somewhere else yet. I wouldn’t call that a success.”

The Orville shifting to Hulu was a result of Disney buying Fox. Everything got shifted around. Their production delays have been due to COVID. Also it’s just straight up a better show than Discovery.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 5:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

nBSG was bleak, but at its core there was a real hopefulness about the resiliency of humans. And you had those main characters that at their core were just good people. That’s what you need in bleak sci-fi, characters that feel like real, good people to ground it and keep people interested.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 4:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming I don’t know if Expanse is all that depressing. It’s dreary and bleak, but the main characters are good people trying to do the right thing which gives the series the hope and humanity it needs. Of course I’m only early into season 2.

Watching the pilot, I feel like Discovery tried to rip off The Expanse in its first season. Both shows start off with a first officer undermining their captain to do what they feel is right and getting almost everyone killed. The difference is this was well done in The Expanse. Both main characters frequently put the weight of the world on their shoulders, but the difference is in The Expanse it makes sense and feels earned. And in that show, other characters call Holden out for this.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 1:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer, I think you’d love The Expanse. I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but it’s genuinely great modern sci-fi. It would be amazing to get reviews on it from you, but even if you didn’t do that I think you’d enjoy the show. The characters make sense and feel like real people, the motivations make sense, the world building is extremely thought out, it doesn’t rely on mystery boxes and ridiculous narrative twists. I can’t recommend it enough.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 1:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

“Will season four make better efforts to explore the Federation and the 32nd century? I sure hope so, but that's what I hoped for this season. Maybe this season was simply to get us here and next season will be committed to living here. One can hope, I guess.”

It feels like we all keep saying this every season. Like, maybe next season will be better and more developed. But it never happens. At some point it’s our own fault.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 8:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

This episode's title is the perfect encapsulation of what's wrong with Discovery: it's cute to separate a two-parter by a entire season, but it makes no sense.

This series values spectacle and empty platitudes over plotting and logic. It wants to look interesting without doing the work of being interesting. It wants to be deep and say something, but does so without substance. It's depiction of Emperor Georgiou (a mass murdering dictator whose accepted as a member of the crew) suggests a show with an immature sense of morality. It mistakes forced Trek references for a worthwhile continuation of the franchise's legacy.

Discovery Season 3 is my last as a regular viewer. Maybe I'll binge season 4 after the fact, but I won't be paying CBS a monthly subscription to watch the episodes as they drop.
Set Bookmark
Larry Pettyjohn
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

The fact that this place was based on a poorly written basically cheesy novel, that should have given you the reason for the cheesiness of the episode The Players already in the casino had set rolls that they had to follow per the book. that in itself explains why the away team had few options for exit. I do wish they had came up with a more scientific way out, Like finding a power source and after deactivating it, so no other space travelers could become trapped, had to be beamed out at a precise moment after deactivation and before the planets atmosphere reached them.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 3:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Thanks Booming. I'll stick with it, and I'm already seeing signs of things opening up, with seeing more of the UN, characters like the mormon, the sex worker and the cop's partner. Different motivations and purposes. At first it reminded me more of the monotone Caprica, which I wasn't a fan of. And yeah, Holden is a weak point, but no show is perfect. I'm liking what I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 1:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Actually, I would say Discovery has done a good job with creating characters with different personalities. Tilly's attitude, speech and behavior is noticeably distinct from say, Stamets. The show hasn't done a whole lot with those characters, but saying that they are all the same is just not accurate. Relative to other current shows and the temptation to make everyone the epitome of 'cool', spouting one-liners and mouthing off at everyone else, that's something.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 1:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

After all this talk about The Expanse, I watched the first 2 episodes. There are plenty of good things, and it's already provided far more substance and vision than Discovery could hope for. However, I don't find the characters any more diversified; each one only differs in how much more cynical, hostile and unfriendly they are than their peers. Even the UN lady is going around torturing people to death.

For some reason, some time around nuBSG this became the sci-fi norm, and the idea of characters with different personalities was abandoned. Why is this? I yearn for the return of the Spocks, the Datas, the Roms, the Delenns. Even a Neelix-like character would be welcome, just for the contrast, and who would have thought we'd be saying that 20 years ago?
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Mal

"@John, I think we can safely think of Discovery & Picard as something like Season 5 of Babylon 5. "

They really couldn't be further apart. If Picard was able to achieve that level of resolution, the deepening of its characters, the reflecting on what came before combined with a few new elements thrown in, and the gentle and mature winding down towards a beautiful conclusion, I would have been thrilled. It wouldn't have needed to be perfect, as long as it was made with love. We got the tiniest of glimpses in the Picard/Data scene of what that might have looked like, but precious little else.
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 7:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I can see the reaction now.

A lot of fans - Hell yeah, that hallways scene was better than all three sequels combined! And OK, the CGI was a bit dodgy but we can let that slide.

Some fans - God dammit, why must they continue to bring in old characters instead of letting this show stand free of all that baggage?

Other fans - How DARE they split apart Mando and Grogu?!! I'm canceling my Disney+ subscription and burning all my Star Wars stuff. Also, I though Spock was permanently dead after Star Trek II and all those Marvel heroes were coming back after Infinity War.
Set Bookmark
John
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 10:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Re: The opening sequence. I think it's the idea that counts, and it's an old idea. When Babylon 5 did it for the Season 5 Psi-Corps episode I don't think much was changed, but seeing the "Trust the Corps" slogan come up instead of the usual "Babylon 5" was amusing and even quite shocking if you were watching it without foreknowledge.

Still, while we're waiting for DIS to come up with an original idea of its own, you could hardly pick a better show to.. erm.. "borrow" from.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 7:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Re: The idea there's "nothing new to talk about in sci-fi anymore". That's always going to be the view - people were probably saying that before Asimov, before Dune, before TOS and HG Wells.

This current focus on trans issues just highlights for me the potential around the discussion of identity. How much we define ourselves based not only on gender, our bodies, but what we do, what we perceive ourselves to be. How about an episode about that? How about giving us a future in 900 years where we aren't still using stale old notions of "what I am" based on my employment, my upbringing, my body, my past, OR my gender. I imagine those legendary sci-fi writers of the past would have seen the current trans issues as the first step to envisioning a new way of perceiving ourselves, and be willing to explore that deeply.
Next ►Page 1 of 46
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.