Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 913 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 37
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Dom

Yeah good choice and good willpower. If you didn't like season 1 (like me) you won't get much from season 2.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Great episode,the idea that a creature could be so ugly that one look will drive you mad is very interesting,but if beauty and ugliness subjective, then kollos would have very different effects on different people.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 2:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

As usual, this show doesn’t hold up to the slightest bit of scrutiny.

It tricks you into thinking it’s making sense in the moment, but after it’s over and you start thinking about it, it all falls apart.

First off, they’re just doing the Terminator. Control is Skynet. That’s the best these writers can come up with? A concept done a million times in sci-fi? Hell, The Orville just did “Evil AI wants to kill all sentient life” just a few weeks ago.

They build this up over the entire season like it’s huge and important and different, and it’s just evil AI. I can’t help but feel back in the day this would have just been a cool two-parter, so the show could have variety and other adventures. Stupidly stretching out a weak idea over an entire season is what’s wrong with modern tv writing.

As a positive, I really enjoyed Spock telling Burnham the whole universe doesn’t revolve around her, but then Airiam literally told her the whole universe revolves around her so, yeah. Burnham is definitely the Red Angel. Ugh.

If they had spent time developing Airiam this whole time, I would have really cared that she died. Her death caused me to feel nothing, because I still have no idea who this person is or was. But also they said all her memories were downloaded into discovery so I’m guessing she’s not really dead. Death means nothing in the Kurtzman Star Trek world (magic blood?).

Focusing more on character is always a good thing, but the show still has a long way to go before it can even be considered competently written. I dare say it needs to be a completely different show.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I always wondered, how many of the obelisks were there?? Im assuming there had to have been many scattered all over the planet to take care of any asteroid coming from any direction.And one more, how did the enterprise know the obelisk deflector has become defective?? Other than a few plot holes ,its a very good episode.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

As that old saying goes-it could be worst, ill take spocks brain any day over The Alternative Factor.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Yair

One person's integrity is another's inflexibility.

At any rate, I appreciate jammer's reviews and the general quality of their content and composition (far better than anything I could ever do). I just didn't think it was worth pointing out everything I hated about this episode, as others have already said it.

And, if I'm honest, I feel strangely sad at how much my views on this season differ with jammer's. Pretty pathetic.

I really just need to stop watching this show. The fact that I effectively get it for free is a complete curse.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Jammer

FYI someone just hacked your site and gave the Star Trek Discovery episode "If Memory Serves" a 4 star rating. They even tried to ape your style and wrote a full review.

Changing your password more often might prevent this happening again? Not sure, I'm not an IT expert.

Cheers
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Fun episode, but as mentioned by other posters, it takes a very long time for everyone to make the connection between their thoughts and the people and things they find.Also the kirk/finnegan fight goes on for far too long.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

Good episode but too illogical.Crime fight even now is very sophisticated Im sure it will be 1000 times better in a few hundred years and yet anton has no past before kodos' death and everyone who was a witness except reilly and kirk have been killed and the Shakespearean troup were always close by , and goodgod nobody after 20 years could figure this out???
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Wow. I thought for sure this would get 2 stars at best. I mean it’s just an hour or bad service, information we already know, and it took 8 episodes just to tell us the entire universe is at stake...again. Not to mention the laughably bad drama between young Spock and Burnham is that she just “White Fanged” him, which is so overdone it’s just self parody these days.

I have no idea why people from Section 31 are taking orders from Starfleet when they’re supposed to be above oversight, but then they also act like the can give orders to Pike which also makes no sense. Why is Leland keeping Georgiou around? She’s clearly trying to massively screw him over. She’s Starscreaming him at every turn. There’s no logical reason for him not to get rid of her or kill her.

Saru allowing the fight to happen was bad Star Trek, and having Pike bring it up as bad doesn’t excuse it.

Just too many baffling questions. I just can’t abide this new Star Trek made from writers who used to work on soap operas and CW shows.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Great review as always. Seems about right. There were kernels of interesting stuck inside many layers of nonsense.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

Forget that pollard was almost 30 and miri was almost 20, or that the clothes dont look too bad for being 300 years old,this is a good episode.Of course we still have the problem that how did these kids feed themselves??With so few kids around and the food supply exhausted centuries ago we really only have one conclusion...Cannabilalism .
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So what do the Talosians actually do for Spock and why do they need to see an old memory as payment?

The Culber stuff was mostly good. The rest felt like an over engineered waste of time (at best).
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Carmel is great as the pretend swashbuckling pirate,and the premise is interesting, is the pill real?? or have they just convinced themselves to believe they are beautiful??
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I knew the reveal of why Burnham and Spock were estranged was going to be disappointing, but wow. They literally went with the first thing they thought of huh? It's just the "yell at your dog to stop following you" trope. Or "break his heart to save him" trope.

It's ridiculously hackneyed soap opera bullshit that's nothing but self parody at this point.

It shouldn't even count as a fight, because it's not. The fact that they're estranged because of that, when Spock knew the whole time she was just trying to protect him, is laughably absurd. It ruined an episode that, up to that point, wasn't completely terrible.

And now they're saying this """"'fight""""" is the reason Spock is so logical? Michael Burnham is literally the reason Spock is who we know him to be? Fantastic. Just...great.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 7:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

"But I'm not holding my breath for this show to ever prove it has any other ambitions than to be a lightweight romp of sci-fi nostalgia."

Is that bad? I mean, I'm ok with it. It's fun, it's funny, I care about the characters as people. This show has made me laugh, cry, stare in shock, and actually think when it's an episode About Something ™. And it often does have very intriguing sci-fi concepts.

I'll take that any day over something that depresses and confuses me with its awful internally inconsistent writing like Discovery.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Absolute mess of an episode.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Cue headache
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@Max Yes
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Wow. I'm shocked at the rating. Especially after reading the review. Certainly didn't come off as the review for a near perfect episode.

I found this one just too boring and far too dumb to enjoy. All the logic gaps you mentioned were too much for me. None of the situation made any sense whatsoever. If the Not Armuses used to be the prey to the Kelpiens, then how did they ever evolve to develop space travel? How did they do it without the Kelpiens finding out or co-opting it?

The ending was just too rushed and awful. Literally zero time is spent reflecting on the decision that was unilaterally made for an entire species, by an outsider, and that nobody on the planet had knowledge of. So what happens now? Do the Kelpiens become bloodthirsty predators again? Yay?

The design of the Not Armuses was cartoonishly stupid too.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I think the show already knows what it wants to be. It’s a mix of comedy and drama. It can have purely lighthearted episodes, or full on serious ones. The focus will always be on the characters first. I think it accomplishes what it sets out to do very well.

This episode was intriguing and kept my attention the entire way through. Everything about it felt different, down to the more natural lighting shining through the ship on the planet. This episode had its share of heartfelt moments, and hilarious moments. Bortus asking for the corner piece of cake had me in stitches. It had great tension, real stakes. Isaac’s betrayal meant something, because the actually got the audience to fall for him the same way Claire did. The fact that Seth McFarlane said this was planned from the very beginning says a lot.

The only part of the episode that didn’t play for me was Ty leaving the ship the way he did. Both my wife and I spoke up at the same time about it not making sense. I didn’t mind the catacombs of skeletons. Yeah sure, you could say it would make more sense for them to completely incinerate all the remains and you could have the Orville crew find out this information in a more dry, clinical way, but they chose the option that had more visual and emotional impact. It was the sobering gut punch the episode needed to thrust us into the rest of the story.

I dunno. When I first watched Scorpion, I never thought it was that great. For Voyager, I can see why it got a high rating. I think with each show, you grade on the curve that show sets, but even then I never found Scorpion very compelling. It made the Borg boring.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Last week's episode was 3 stars so this one should be what, 5? :P

If so, I would sort of agree, just my scores would be out of 10..
Set Bookmark
John Witte
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I liked the episode a lot and I thought it is one of the best episodes of the series. I didn't think about the Cylons from BSG, but it definitely had a Borg/BOBW vibe from TNG. I will say this for McFarlane. He definitely is going big with these episodes. I also like how he faked everybody out a bit by everyone assuming that the Moclans would be the troublesome species for the union and instead it's the Kaylon.

I did have a couple of issues with this two part episode. The first revolves around its timing. Given the stakes in the episode, it almost feels like these two episodes would have been a better season ender rather than sticking it in the middle of the season. I sort of feel like a big Reset button is going to be pressed in the 2nd part.
Also, this episode is two episodes after "A Happy Refrain" where the Finn/Isaac relationship was established and now it appears that this relationship has been reset rather abruptly. Delaying this episode to later in the season would have given their relationship a little more significance so the feelings expressed by Claire would have felt more real to me. For now, it almost feels that AHR was pointless considering how quickly things have changed with their relationship.

Which is to say nothing about the relationship with the Kaylon and the Union after their hostile takeover of the Orville and their plans to eradicate all of humanity on Earth. It sure seems like that no matter what happens, Isaac's relationship with everyone is going to be irrevocably changed. That would have also been another benefit of this two parter being the season finale: it would have created a greater sense of mystery with Isaac's fate with the Orville. As it stands now, we figure that SOMETHING will be worked out to resolve this.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

“This isn't a show for 8-year-olds.”

No, but it’s written like it’s for 14 year olds.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

There's also fewer episodes per season, so they're trying to cram 26 episodes worth of ideas and plot into 13 and it shows.
Next ►Page 1 of 37
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.