Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 970 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 39
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, May 11, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@alcoremor

Am I tagged in your comment as a dissenter? Coz I agree with you.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Fri, May 10, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Good episode another great job of casting -Montalban is perfect as kahn.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Spock:Im shouting and I dont know why.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Wed, May 1, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Great episode with only one minor nitpick,They shouldnt have shown the reason kirk behavior that early in the show,it would be interesting to string the viewers along as long as they can,thinking that kirk really had lost his mind.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Great episode, there we have two civilizations , they need war but dont like the messiness of it so they come up with a logical solution.BTW Fox's face may not look familiar but his voice should , he did many narrations for documentaries in the 70's.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Great episode as long as you dont take it seriously, time travel show are always a mess of science and logic.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Jammer

So the first line reads "The star rating represents a general summary of my thoughts and feelings overall."

My main comment was simply that your written reviews seem, to me, quite at odds with your star ratings for this series (by and large). Maybe there's a reason for that, maybe it's an overstatement on my part.

That's my opinion. Just like reviews are an opinion..

If you like the show more than I do that's fine but if one reads the text alone I believe you'd probably assume a lower average score.

But let me be clear. I respect your insights, thoughtfulness and integrity. Your reviews are always expertly written and this is hardly a damning indictment of your work!

And yes, admittedly, I'd probably be less inclined to notice (let alone point out) any such discrepancies if my scores on this series more closely followed yours. I mean, you have an average of about 2.75/4 where I'd be closer to 1.5/4. In your words: "Poor" :)
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Nah, I'll back @Bryan and @Mitch.

The reviews of Discovery seem at odds with the star ratings, by and large, and the bar set for other shows reviewed in the past.

But that's Jammer's prerogative.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

The big difference between the effects of The Orville and Discovery is that I’m actually impressed with the effects of the Orville, despite Discovery constantly trying to provide the biggest spectacle.

When I watched that hour long battle in the season 2 finale of Discovery, it was actually giving me a headache. Star Wars prequel level space battles aren’t interesting. They’re mind numbing and boring.

The Orville brilliantly combines real physical model shots with CGI and it looks great. When I saw the sequence of the ship going into the planet’s rings and hiding on a chunk of ice, with the Kaylon ship passing overhead, I actually said “wow” out loud. The sequence had a great sense of scale and awe and you knew what was happening and it looked great.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

One of my favorite and one of the best, Its a shame windom hated his character.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I gotta agree. Paying attention does not make this show more enjoyable. You have to pay as little attention as possible to get any kind of surface level enjoyment from it.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Are we actually supposed to believe this is an acceptable way to write out the spore drive? Was there any evidence that Starfleet didn't plan on implementing it in more ships? We saw in season one that Discovery wasn't the only ship working on a spore drive. Stamets got it to work.

Considering how technological progress happens in humans, when we discover a technology that irrevocably changes our society, we don't just mothball it if it seems a little dangerous. We work the problem until it's fixed.

It's entirely unbelievable that Starfleet would discard all information on this fantastic technology and never try to develop anything like it ever again even though it cuts travel time around the universe down to zero. Humans just don't work that way and technology progresses, it never regresses.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Alan Roi the season is over my dude. You're constantly replying to every negative comment about this show like it's your job.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

These are basically all the thoughts I had while watching the episode. Don’t blame anyone not wanting to read all of this, or just wanting to skim, but I figure it’s best to put everything in one comment rather than spam a bunch.

Well I’ll start with the good. It was cool seeing Starfleet HQ. Future San Francisco looked neat.

Ok, now that that’s out of the way. That’s seriously all the writers could come up? This whole season Alex Kurtzman has been saying that by the end of the season it would explain away all the canon inconsistencies. And their best shot is “everybody kept it a secret”? That made me actually laugh out loud because I wasn’t sure if it was a joke or not. An entire season, tens of millions of dollars spent just to ultimately say “everyone just pinkie promised to not talk about it”? It’s almost impressive what a middle finger that is to the audience.

So it turned out Michael Burnham was the Red Angel all along after all. Kinda makes that whole couple of episodes about her mom pointless. Also, was anyone expecting anything else? It was obvious from the first episode of the season it would turn out to be Michael Burnham, based on nothing else than the fact that the writers love making her the most important person in the universe. And the show treats that moment like it’s a shocking revelation. We were all ahead of the show there right?

Speaking of, I guess Discovery just happens to have the ability to replicate an Iron Man suit? I didn’t even know they had replicators. But they sure built that super advanced time traveling space suit in no time like it was nothing.

The non stop space battling was nauseating. It was full on Star Wars prequel white noise. I’m sure a bunch of animators were underpaid to create all those space battles that I had to close my eyes during because it was giving me a headache. This type of action is mind numbing and frankly, boring. Throwing more stuff at the screen isn’t exciting. For that matter, overly long scenes of people just punching each other isn’t exciting either. All I can think of is how intense and exciting Wrath Of Khan still is, and it was only two ships battling like they were slow moving submarines and not a single punch was thrown between Kirk and Khan.

And during the battle I noticed the Enterprise deployed a bunch of Star Wars repair droids that looked like Skeletor’s hover bots from the old Masters Of The Universe cartoon. Didn’t know they had those.

Admiral Cornwell’s death was ridiculous. So the only way to close the blast door was manually from the inside. Good thing the Enterprise designers created that room to be as dramatically convenient as possible. Why could they not beam her out of the room exactly? Also, this photon torpedo, that had the destructive capability of turning the Enterprise’s saucer section into a crescent shape was held off...by a blast door...is that what we’re being asked to believe? If the door was open, more of the ship would have blown up. But that one singular tiny door was so capable of holding that blast, Pike didn’t even flinch even though he was only a few feet away from it.

Leland wasn’t actually a bad guy right? Am I wrong there? His body was taken over by Skynet, right? It really bothered me how much the show reveled in the sadism of his death...this guy who was really just a victim.

Noticed they couldn’t resist ending another season without a “this is Starfleet” moment.

Security Chief what’s-her-name saying “yum yum”. I cringed out of my skin and now I’m a skeleton.

Didn’t really like Spock monologuing about how Michael Burnham is so great that she’s the reason he is who he is. I can’t believe how much the writers love making her the center of everything. No wonder she has this hero complex. Can’t really blame her. It would have been a missed opportunity not to have a goodbye between them though, so I can’t fully blame them there.

Seeing the bridge crew in the end, with the shots of the Enterprise in space dock was a neat TMP homage. And I appreciate Ethan Peck giving his all in the character, but boy howdy does the full Spock look not look good on him at all. Sad to say it was another laugh moment for me. I felt sorry for him. I also felt sorry for Rebecca Romijn in this. Her wig looked terrible. She herself was great though. I laughed again when she actually gave her name as “Number One”, but I’m sure that was an intentional joke moment.

The ending is intriguing in theory. Taking Discovery to the future frees up the show from a lot of constraints. However, it’s also emblematic of the writing problems in this show. The writers are literally having the show run away from what they think are its problems. They think taking the show out of prequel territory and eliminating all canon inconsistencies will fix the show, but that wasn’t the problem at all. The core problem is the writing style. Style over substance, weak characterization, lightning fast pacing, and boring overextended mystery box plots. Taking the show far into the future won’t fix this show alone. The writers need to fundamentally change how the show is written and structured for it to have a chance of really being good. Otherwise they’re just going to keep wasting tens of millions of dollars on fancy effects coupled with writing on par with bad fan fiction. We’ll see.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

SPOCK: Interesting. Where would you estimate we belong, Miss Keeler?
EDITH: You? At his side, as if you've always been there and always will. And you? You belong in another place. I don't know where or how. I'll figure it out eventually.
SPOCK: I'll finish with the furnace.
EDITH: Captain. Even when he doesn't say it, he does.
Great episode.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Very good episode ,forget the hard to swallow solution at the end .Its interesting to note that a year later a movie called 'whats so bad about feeling good' came out starring george peppard and mary tyler moore,which has pretty much the same story line.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I have a question...if this show didn’t have the Star Trek brand attached to it, would anyone care about this? I see people doing mental gymnastics to excuse the sloppy writing and I just can’t imagine this show would have ever made it past season one if it weren’t for the strength of the Star Trek brand alone pulling in subscribers.

This show is objectively a mess, writing wise. I’m honestly floored that this show is written by actual professional Hollywood writers. Maybe it’s because of all the mess this show has had behind the scenes for the past two seasons. Or maybe it’s the Alex Kurtzman influence, who has a particular talent for failing up in his industry. Every script he’s written has been awful and he’s brought down multiple franchises.

It seems like they’re preparing for a major change of scenery for the series, as if that fixes all the problems. I just don’t know if can be fixed if the next season is going to be another season long mystery box story arc with nonsensical plotting. If this season finale is meant to “fix” the canon issues Discovery has with the rest of Star Trek, it just means they wasted an entire season “fixing problems” they made themselves. The show should be called Star Trek: Course Correction, because that’s what this season feels like. If they want to iron out the kinks of the show, they need to get rid of Kurtzman’s influence completely and hire writers who can actually do sci-fi and good character work, as opposed to soap opera melodrama.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

I dont what it is about this episode I find very uncomfortable to watch.
Set Bookmark
John Dark
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Marina -- Still hot!
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Love this episode and as usual am surprised at the bad reviews, I grew up with star trek so I guess my opinion is biased by the sweet memories I have.Gary seven was so cool and Im guessing the cat was some type of bond reference.Of course there is plenty of goofs, ,seven can fight of a whole group of people and is even immune to spocks neck pinch but is knocked out by a metal cigarette case that roberta clunks him with, but then again they got somethings right, spock said there will be an important assassination and there were two, MLK and RFK.My only real complaint is the going back in time to witness something, I guess they didnt have any books or video on past events, a much better idea IMHO is that the enterprise is near earth and when they accidentally intercept gary sevens beam it drags the enterprise back in time with him.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Bread and Circuses

A fine episode ,am very surprised at the bad reviews,on another note I always thought a good episode in the B&C vein is to have kirk and co land on a earth parallel planet and have the dinosaurs not gone extinct.No asteroid killed them off and they are the rulers and they look upon mammals as inferior.
Set Bookmark
John Dark
Tue, Apr 9, 2019, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I hope Seth can eventually get every cast member of Voyager and Enterprise to do cameos. But if he wants Jennifer Lien, he's going to have to get somebody to go pick her up, drive her to the set, and bring her home when the day's over. What I'm saying, Jen, is that you HAVE to stop driving without a license. Crossing my fingers that Fox picks up The Orville for a third season.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

So whats so ultimate about it?? it diesn seem to do much beyond what computers now can do.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

Starts out quite good but then hits the iceberg and sinks.
Set Bookmark
hifijohn
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 11:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

Good episode but why not just inject them with something that would just knock them out???Its hard to believe only 4 kelvans could take out a crew of over 400.
Next ►Page 1 of 39
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.