Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Jan 14, 2013, 7:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Watching the last few eps of this season reminded me of reading a book that you have long since grown tired of and yet feel desperate to finish as you've invested all this time in it and somehow hope against all hope that seeing it through to the end will at least give you closure.

I was entertained at times. I wanted to see what happened next. And yet the moment the screen went blank I realised how little I cared.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sun, Jan 13, 2013, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

I would generally agree with Marco P and wildcolonialboy.

Issues aside, one of the better ones this season.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sat, Jan 12, 2013, 11:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Maybe I was expecting too much from this episode but I just can't feel the love as much as everyone else. Maybe I was hoping too much for this to be the start of the meat of this season and it ended up feeling like too much of the same.

- What kind of listening post requires 4 hours to send a message? Kind of pointless isn't it? And in 4 hours, with only 3 occupants, surely anyone being 'listened' to could go in and take them out without killing them.

- Archer's rational for going in alone on a suicide mission is poorly justified, though I appreciate the references to past episodes. He just comes across as bone-headed and weak, and it telegraphs the fact that he'll be captured and be forced into diplomacy.

- Why does Daniels wait until this point in the piece to make the big reveals? Because there would be less action if we learned of it earlier, that's why. No logical reason whatsoever. For that matter, why didn't Starfleet send out 2 ships into the Expanse - 1 to try the diplomatic angle and a second to back them up militarily if they failed? Instead we get this Voyager-like, go it alone bull.

- Why does Archer further antagonise the Reptilian commander? There is no tactical advantage here. Sure, he wants the guy to kill him and be done with it, but then he must know if his ship is captured they'll be less likely to be spared if the Reptilian commander is provoked.

- Some of the speach-making was cringe-worthy and lame. Degra's at the start and particularly Archer's towards the end. The acting in general was far too overplayed for me. Bakula was ok in smart-arse mode but that's about it. Still not digging Degra.

- Other issues have already been mentioned.

I harp on about the negatves because most others seem to have really liked this episode. Ultimately I thought it was probably one of the best things since Twilight but I guess that's not saying much.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Thu, Jan 10, 2013, 7:07am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I didn't mind this one. But then Phlox and Porthos are my 2 favourite characters on Enterprise.

Just thought the 'twist' at the end was there for the sake of it. Didn't particularly fit (like Sixth Sense or Fight Club) but then it wasn't bad either and they built it up farily well. My reaction was simply - ok so T'Pol was all in his mind, fair enough.

2.5
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Thu, Jan 10, 2013, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Terrible. One of the worst of the season so far.

Some of the continuity works ok and I'm hoping that it stacks up more as I continue to watch season 3 play out. I hear it gets better. Here's hoping.

Great review Jammer. You only missed the bit where Malcolm's 'team' constitutes a linguist, a pilot and the ship's engineering and science officers.

1 generous star.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Pretty much all the series had episodes where the ship/station gets taken over a bit too easily. For me, it's just unfortunate for Enterprise that it is the last/latest show, as now we the viewer (mostly) have less patience with it. Myself included.

I mean, you're in the middle of a we-must-prevail-at-ANY-cost scenario and yet you allow a newly met species into critical areas of the ship. I don't think so.

But ultimately the main issue, as Jammer states, is the over-simplified, pointless allegory.

Sure there are religious tensions on Earth that have started out on minor differences but they're always about something more that has happened over time. None of that is even suggested here. It strikes me as a very convenient way of looking at extreemists; that all their arguments are laughable and none of the grievances they have are part of a bigger issue.

In effect, they say the bad guys are bad because they see things in black and white, and yet we, through the good guys, are encouraged to also view things is such limited terms.

So yes, there is some entertainment value here, but I just can't accept this story as plausible, responsible or terribly interesting.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Happy 20th Anniversary DS9!
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 3:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Enjoyable trickery.

Althougth there's certainly more range here than usual, I still don't care much for the character of Degra or Randy Oglesby's portrayal.

Everything. Must. Be. Yelled. Clearly. And. Precisely.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Jan 8, 2013, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Nice one.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Jan 7, 2013, 1:53am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Interesting debate.

Like a few others here, I'm not too sure what to make of it.

- Good idea; Poor science.

- Occasionally moving; Occasionally too easy.

But ultimately, I think it's still better than the average Enterprise ep to this point.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sun, Jan 6, 2013, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

FIREFLY* RIP-OFF!

That's all I could think of for most of this episode.

Though given that it's written by David Goodman I guess he'd claim it's an Original Series homage. And I suppose the production does count for something here. The Sheriff and Bennings were also pretty decent.

But ultimately I agree with Jammer; A high-concept show that doesn't realise it should be a comedy. Just what you'd expect from the guy that brought us Precious Cargo.

*I've only seen the first 5 episodes before getting bored.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Very routine but still probably the best of the season so far.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Jan 2, 2013, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

I would generally agree with everything you've said Jammer.

Something no one has mentioned yet: What do temporal brain parasites have to do with the anomolies being zapped out by the spheres in the Expanse? It felt like a bit too arbitrary a contruct for me.

I also felt the action escalated too much and they tried too hard (as usual) to make the action take front and centre. Eg. Humaity has survived 12 years post-Earth and yet coincidentally, just now, as Archer is trying to effectively go back to his time, humanity is finally being wiped out for good.

It's this focus on action, when the characters are doing a great job on their own and should remain the focus, that keeps this from being truly first rate for me.

Having said all that, I'd still rate it as one of the better episodes of the series to this point.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 7:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

The problem with the kind of story arc progression we're getting so far this season is that it's more neat than deep. It's like slowly placing pieces of a puzzle rather than actually developing anything or progressing characters.

With the A story, I like what they were going for with lonely alien and Hoshi but it just falls flat for me.

I love that mind-reader dude cannot figure out the right things to say to Hoshi. If you could read someone's mind you'd think you'd know what they want to hear and mount a more persuasive argument. The story gives Hoshi and no reason to stay on the planet with this guy, relegating the drama to Voyager-like irrelevance.

Also nice how Hoshi realises pretty early on that this dude is creepy and may be interested in her yet decides to throw on a skimpy dress and heels.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Jan 1, 2013, 12:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

A Trek zombie movie is a bit like watching pornography that doesn't have any nudity in it.

Also, aren't Vulcans meant to have 3 times the strength of humans? Even a mildy 'sick' T'Pol is weak as piss.

Also, how has the Vulcan ship not been pulverised by asteroids by now?

Also, all the other criticisms people have made.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 31, 2012, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Not sure what was so good about this one. Other than it being a little better than the season opener and a little darker.

I'm not sure how a human body would recover from the kind of bending and wrenching we see the ship take.

2.5
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Mon, Dec 31, 2012, 1:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Dear god.

0.5 stars for the inflatable jaw gland things.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sat, Dec 29, 2012, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

I like the idea of non-humanoids in Trek.. but the Separatists.. I mean Xindi council.. seem kinda lame.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Sat, Dec 29, 2012, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Another fine example of well-produced tv that doesn't amount to much.

1.5-2
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Thu, Dec 27, 2012, 8:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

Even in the 20th Century the US had (and still has) the nuclear arsenal to wipe out much of the planet (through direct bombing and resultant nuclear fallout). For a space-faring species like the Xindi surely they could poison Earth's atmosphere without too much trouble (presuming the Earth's planetary defences are still minimal, as evidenced by this episode).

I dunno, I guess this is a problem with other Treks too. Especially where you have aliens with cloaking technology.

Anyway, good review Jammer, I mostly agree with you here.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Dec 19, 2012, 8:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Agreed: A nice little story that all works out neatly in the end. Naw..

I would also agree with Cloudane who made a comparison between Phlox and Picard. I think John Billingsley's delivery saves this episode big time; much as Patrick Stewart did for many a TNG outing.

2.5
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Wed, Dec 19, 2012, 8:28am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I thought this one was ok. Which, amazingly, makes 3 in a row!

But.

But I agree that it was very pedestrian (the bar-fight was particularly silly and predictable).

And I also found the technology continuity to be an issue.. Ie. They go from Warp 1 in astronaut suits to Warp 5 with 'hull plating' and particle weapons in what 10 years? Are you saying cargo ships have all been going around at Warp 1 all these years (Travis being born in space)? That's 4 years from earth to the nearest star system.. Maybe that could be solved by people using cryogenics.. Like Kahn..

2.5-3
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Dec 18, 2012, 3:39am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I would rate this as better than Insurrection or Nemesis.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Dec 18, 2012, 2:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

I concur: Silly but fun. Probably 3rd or 4th best episode of the season.
Set Bookmark
John the younger
Tue, Dec 18, 2012, 2:36am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I agree that this episode contains good action and has a clever premise that is well executed.

The last quarter unfolds a bit too much like 'Shockwave, Part II' where convenient scenarios must play out in order to allow our heros to win the day.. but otherwise it flows along nicely.

Continuity? Whatever. There wasn't much continuity from 'Q Who' to 'First Contact' regarding the Borg so I don't care much about it here.

But I do feel that the Borg are one of those enemies that need to be used very sparingly. Not Enterprise's fault but Voyager killed the Borg for me.

3-3.5 (probably the series' 3rd or 4th best episode to this point)
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.