Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 33 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Feb 25, 2010, 4:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

If I read this right, Harry's mistakes are interesting. In the course of the story we see the crash as a result of his first attempt to correct the crash - in fact, his corrections from the future could be what caused the crash in the first place!

As suggested above, it was established in "Future's End" that the temporal police interfere in things which frak up their canonical timeline - so Voyager wasn't fated crash in the prime timeline, obviously.

The real inconsistency is that in "Hope and Fear" they got Slipstream up and running at a moment's notice and maintained it for a pursuit of the faux Dauntless (with weapons discharges) and for a while afterwards. Plus they have knowledge of (related) Borg Transwarp tech to draw on. The Slipstream here was just too hinky to make sense in that context. Let alone that they can get Slipstream, Borg shields, portals to Fluidic Space (the Borg assimilation process re-armoured the hull in "Scorpion," the crew could surely do something along those lines), open at the drop of a hat, fix the guy's Coaxial Drive from "Vis a Vis"...
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Feb 25, 2010, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I like this one a lot. A four star for Voyager fans.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Fri, Feb 19, 2010, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Voyager does classic Trek and it worked well. I like this a lot.

And in 2010 there's talk of a new Cold War. Everything old is new again.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Feb 18, 2010, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

The hour we saw spanned events over several days. The past events they discovered had been going on some time but had heretofore not been germaine to various scenarios we'd seen. It worked for me.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Fri, Feb 12, 2010, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I liked it.

I can't imagine how condemning it because the Treknobabble has no relationship to real science can make any sense! Now that is crazy. Within the logic of the plot it all made sense, that's the point.

There were some nice character interactions. I especially liked B'ellana saying Seven should go because she's a cold-hearted bitch, then Seven was very jumpy and distracted when she actually got on the surface, showing how little B'ellana actually knows Seven. There was the typical Tom-Harry banter (between the "real" Tom and Harry), Dr vs Neelix, Chakotay dressing down B'ellana...

But then, I'm also a big fan of "Course Oblivion."
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Sat, Feb 6, 2010, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Although I enjoyed the ep, I didn't grok Janeway's reasoning - other than simply as a way to have a confrontation between her and Seven. Seven was so clearly correct, versus Janeway's bizarre stance, in the context of what the knew about the capabilities of the combatants and the situation.

I feel the writers could have come up with a more reasonable basis for a fifty-fifty judgment call leading to a disagreement between the two where Seven should clearly have deferred to Janeway's command authority.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Wed, Jan 27, 2010, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I would never have imagined a Neelix-focused episode would be tolerable but this episode was great.

Seems to me that the on-going plot issue is that every time someone "dies" it would be, "Can Seven / the Doctor use the Borg nanoprobes to fix them?" It also raises the question given the Doctor et al were already thoroughly familiar with nanotech (Wesley was playing around with it in TNG) as to why the Federation wasn't doing this stuff already.

Then again, that's always been a Trek problem. Magical tech that should make things utterly different mysteriously leaves the players still philosophically and emotionally stuck in the late 20th Century in all the important ways.

(IMHO, Voyager gets too much flack for ignoring Trek Tech implications and concentrating on story on character. It's my favourite Trek precisely because they tried to play to the characters and it often worked very well.)
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Jan 21, 2010, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

Don't worry, the plot doesn't make any sense at all - and it doesn't have to. The crew of the Timeship are "outside time." Think about it, how can it be that the action aboard the Timeship is synchronised with action aboard Voyager? How can they have been on their mission for 200 years but not aged at all? 200 years worth of subjective memories? 200 years worth of "incursion" calculations?

You should have paid more attention when the man said people don't understand Time.

Time travel simply doesn't make sense and arguing about what did or didn't happen is even more pointless than arguing about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.

If it happens, it must be true.

I found the two eps highly entertaining, great character moments, and the SFX were pretty special.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Wed, Jan 20, 2010, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I enjoyed it, a lot of fun. I liked the binary pulsar. The real plot flaw was that the aliens would surely have sabotaged the Doctor very early on in the proceedings, way before the events depicted.

Jeri Ryan was awesome, as ever.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Mon, Jan 18, 2010, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

The plot was entirely to service the character interaction and set the mood, I thought the piece worked great so long as you just let yourself concentrate on the character interaction. Jeri Ryan was, as ever, great. I like it a lot.

It's not necessarily the case shuttle was actually lost, it was undamaged. If they did leave it behind Voyager should have destroyed it to stop the tech falling into Bomar hands. (Standard procedure in the current US military for a lost craft/vehicle that cannot be recovered is to destroy it to prevent use by the enemy.)
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Fri, Jan 15, 2010, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

No surprises but entertaining and engaging.

Seems to me Seven's thorium producer-thingy and the thorium tech is needed by Voyager. Since the thorium is used to generate power and Seven's magic thorium generator makes thorium then either: it doesn't work because they use thorium to make the thorium in first place or, even if they do use thorium to make thorium in the first place they get more energy out than they put in and, presto, something for nothing - no more worries about running out of fuel.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Wed, Jan 13, 2010, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

The ep worked pretty well IMHO. Tho the Kes transformation did come across as somewhat precipitous, who's to say how random non-human aliens should behave?

The Kes character might have looked amusing on paper when the series was being put together but I don't think it ever worked. She was too alien for it to really matter what arbitrary stuff happened to her, whereas the Seven of Nine character could be (was) used to make all sorts of analysis of the human condition.

As for the common complaints re Seven's skin-tight costume styling, latterly Kes was sporting the skin-tight catsuit look, and TNG and DS9 were heavy on the spandex... it's just that Jeri Ryan fills out a catsuit in a more memorable manner.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Mon, Jan 11, 2010, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Although the character inter-play was nice, the basically non-sensical nature of the plot weakened the story fatally.

If the comms array was so crucial, why didn't the Dominion simply nuke it from orbit? Why don't they have any Armoured Fighting Vehicles? Artillery? Why didn't the holograms have phasers? Where was all the body armour? The ubiquitous force fields and dampening fields? And so on. The ray guns were always going to make it hokey but it was made even worse by the Treknobabble anti-personel mines that should have killed everyone long ago. It really needed to have been visualised very differently to make it work.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Jan 7, 2010, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

I found it entertaining. I liked the Bellana/Tom interaction. I get the impression the plot was built around Bellana/Tom dialogue more than anything else.

Tom was rather nonchalant at -20, presumably degrees C but I suppose it could be some other measurement scheme. (Although I believe Trek uniforms are supposed to have some kind of heating/cooling mechanism built in, I recall a TOS episode where the landing party were ordered to adjust their suit temperatures and they were simply wearing the standard stuff.)

I expect that Robert Beltran having a big chunk of running about on Voyager precluded fitting him into the other scenes.

I rather liked the conceit of Nyrian philosphy of prosecuting war without hurting the adversary, it's an amusing angle on the militarist, high handed moralising of the "peaceful" Federation. (Why don't Voyager do some of the beaming an adversary into a brig rather than shooting at them?)

Given the limitations of 50 minutes of TV, it worked well enough for me.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Jan 7, 2010, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

"fortyseven" needs to do some more reading - for instance, some of Wolfram's stuff on cellular automata, then reflect on the fact that Voyager's computer core runs faster-than-light in a warp bubble. (A process can be unpredictable and yet deterministic.) In this particular case, the computer also had the data taken from the Voth specimen they had - and who knows what else other extra. Note also that in the Trekverse, The Chase is canonical, therefore Voyager's computer is using that as the basis of its analysis. Amongst all the implausibilities and impossibilities of Trek Science, given they're actually being consistent in their logic here, IMNSVHO it is bizarre to suggest this is a plot hole.

I found the episode engaging. The Voth prosthetics were great and the actors did well with it. One of Trek's better efforts.

The major logic flaw in plot terms is that the Voth, it would seem, have tech far in advance of even the Borg (Voyager weaponry and Treknobabble was dispensed with as a trifle). And, specially given the improved performance of Transwarp tech and the friendly Voth scientist who hung around with them at the end, one might have expected Voyager to benefit a great deal more from the encounter than transpired in the story.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Mon, Jan 4, 2010, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

They did tie the two stories together: it amusingly juxtaposed the "real" jeopardy of Tom - who, obviously, was always going to be alright - with the "simulated" holo-tragedy. I thought that an amusing conceit by the writers. It even puts the question, 'Do we really care about fake people?' inside a Voyager hall of mirrors. Real emotions, fake people, fake people, real emotions... TV vs real life...

Note, the shuttle got beamed back aboard Voyager, including the special plasma Tom captured - so Voyager has more power, or something.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Wed, Dec 30, 2009, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

Although the shuttle craft crash in large numbers, presumably Voyager can recover at least some of the bits for re-use. And, in any case, later on they build the Delta Flyer - twice - and that's only a special effort because they design it themselves from the ground up.

More mysterious is how they make so little of retro-engineering the Doctor's C29 mobile emitter and the Borg tech from the various Borg corpses and encounters they've had.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Fri, Dec 25, 2009, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

There had been a hint of Vorik-Torres-Paris in "Alter Ego," if you go back and check.

Entertainment is the point of TV. A good episode, tho the fight was a bit disappointing.

If the fight had been in a larger arena, with a bit more throwing around of bodies, it might have been a little more complete. Neither Dawson nor Enberg particularly looked much like fighters - tho I suppose it's a bit much to expect better than the customary Trek Fu. Otherwise, the acting was fine and the characters all played to type. Dawson turned in a charismatic performance, as usual.

Seems reasonable to me to put in a nod to "Amok Time." There's no pleasing some people.

The aliens managed to be integral to the plot and not simply an excuse for space battle of the week.

They were repairing Voyager and talking about that being an on-going concern. It foreshadowed the Borg plots, Torres-Paris for the future. 3 and half stars I'd say.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Mon, Dec 21, 2009, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Just watched it. Quite entertaining. Reference was made to the macroviruses collecting the crew members in the Mess Hall and Cargo Bays (presumably it saved on extras, not having to have the entire Voyager crew in one scene). It's safe to assume Neelix was carried off to be parked in a cargo bay.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Sun, Dec 6, 2009, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

The Borg Queen issue isn't really, here's how. We posit the Borg Queen is the single attention point of the collective consciousness of the Borg - she is the ego of the Borg. Embodying herself in a particular place then, is purely situational. And if that particular body - which is really simply a waldo - gets destroyed, it doesn't destroy the Borg Queen because she is the Borg and you can't kill them all.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Tue, Dec 1, 2009, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

The Omega Glory - surely that should get minus 4. How did it get even 1?!
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Tue, Dec 1, 2009, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

Spock's Brain - why does everyone diss it so much? It worked well for me when I was a kid back in the seventies and, for all its faults, it's highly entertaining. Sexy alien woman steals Spock's brain - how could it be wrong!

The Empath - great performances from everyone, a real old school sci fi story aliens vs humans trope, and the staging was genius.
n
Turnabout Intruder - hysterically funny performance from the Shat and, again, thoroughly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Thu, Feb 5, 2009, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

I don't understand why they're in quite such a hurry to leave Earth without some serious archeological investigation, at least a comprehensive search for public records and databases. Even a mention of Cavil's forces being likely to find them if they didn't keep moving putting some kind of fire under somebody's ass (maybe the Cylons who are with them even who've been largely invisible so far, could have suggested it's an urgent issue) would maybe have helped. It's hard to see how a planet nuked two millennia ago that they were OK to wander about on wasn't habitable in large areas in spite of residual atmospheric radiation. The storytelling is getting a bit slack, IMHO.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Tue, Jan 20, 2009, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Solid entertainment and accessible to SF fans and non-SF fans thanks to its themes. One of things I like about "Voyager" is that (admittedly this is anecdotally from people I know that I've chatted with) it's the non-Trekkies favourite Trek precisely because there's a level of comprehensibility built in because of what you call "derivative" but I could call "cultural references." The "Voyager" writers generally erred on the side of the obvious in terms of story and plot. For popular entertainment that is not really a bad thing, even if it's not high art. DS9 may be more satisfying artistically in some ways because of the way its stories and arcs were carried forward throughout a season but it also made it less accessible to non-Trekkies and occasional viewers.
Set Bookmark
John Pate
Tue, Jan 20, 2009, 11:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

I agree they didn't quite make this as good as it seems it ought to have been but it was still a lot of fun with some impressive production design.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.