Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 93 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Quibbles they also had the line of officers seeing off Worf in TNG. Voyager ripped it off. Though it’s a military tradition in Star Trek it seems.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

“Judging from Peter Macon's comments, you might be right.“

@Dave In MN, what comments did he make?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Great review as always. I don’t think it will ever aspire to be a truly great sci-fi series unfortunately.

Wasn’t the “urinating once per year” thing referenced in season 1?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I liked it. Character driven and funny. My wife watched with me and laughed out loud in several parts, most notably the drive by scene.

You just have to accept this show for what it is. It's not trying to be groundbreaking sci-fi. The sci-fi Trek inspired elements are just the window dressing for the characters and buffoonery.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Saw the new trailer for season 2. Spock says:

“Something is going to kill all sentient life in the galaxy”

Cool, so glad they’re doing another season long plot about a hilariously, impossibly huge catastrophe. It can’t be something small. It always has to THE END OF EVERYTHING every time. That’s Alex Kurtzman for you.

Also glad to see everyone knows what Section 31 is and that they have their own Starfleet shaped badges, despite not being affiliated with Starfleet in any way and not actually being an organization so much as a handful of lone operating domestic terrorists.

These writers/producers/show runners have no clue. Expect nothing new in season 2. Star Trek is no more and will never be again
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 3:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

After that short, I’m utterly convinced that they have the worst writers in Hollywood working on Discovery. They just do not know how to write Trek.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Nov 11, 2018, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@methane from what I’ve read CBS tried to sell the shorts to Netflix for $40,000,000 so they could get more money and they would be available in foreign markets but they wouldn’t bite
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Nov 9, 2018, 8:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I was really looking forward to Calypso. Even in a short, the idea that it's 1,000 years in the future and is a guy stuck with an AI has the potential for some good sci-fi.

Instead it was crap. They did nothing with it. Guy shows up to ship, wants to get to home planet, AI says it can't leave, they spend some time together, then AI gives guy a shuttle. That's it.

It shouldn't even count as a story. Stories usually have plots and turns, even short ones. Calypso was literally just a guy hanging out on the ship for a bit with no troubles and then leaving.

I have to ask, where did that AI come from? It wasn't in season 1 and the ship still looks brand new. Are they saying the Discovery always had this canon breaking AI? Why did the ship still look the same after 1,000 years? Actually I can answer that. Because these shorts were filmed desperately and quickly during season 2 as a way for CBS to try and gouge foreign markets for money (that almost nobody took them up on) so they didn't have time to redress the set.

Dude didn't even bother to ask what happened to the crew? Also it's 1,000 years in the future and humans are basically the same as we are now? Social structure and everything? No hint as to what the Federation might look like that far in the future?

It pains me that Calypso was so nothing. Absolutely nothing happened. It was a waste of 20 minutes.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Patrick D well said
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Yeah this doesn’t seem like a good idea. Oversaturation and watered down Trek is what killed it in the first place.

Jammer, I wouldn’t blame you one bit if you skipped reviewing this new animated series
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Oct 25, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

And now they've announced that a Star Trek Animated series similar in tone to Rick and Morty from one of its writers is coming out.

What the hell is going on over there???
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Oct 13, 2018, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

So how about that first short? It sure was terrible.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 3:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I keep checking the sure every few days hoping Jammer will have begun his limited review project. I can't wait to find out what it is
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jun 29, 2018, 9:51am (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I’m not a hardcore Star Wars fan by any means. I’m a hardcore movie fan though. TLJ was just a badly made movie.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, May 29, 2018, 1:41am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I was skeptical at first, but I thought this episode was great. The premise was clever and made sense with established Trek continuity. It was fast paced and exciting and well shot and written.

My favorite part is Archer struggling with the decision to shoot the assimilated aliens out of the airlock. He doesn't even have to say exactly what to do. He looks at T'Pol and she knows what he means. And the show treats this decision as difficult for him. The lingering shot right after it happens of Archer's face in close-up with a thousand yard stare was excellent.

That's some good drama
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 25, 2018, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

All I could think of was how it was a worse version of Three Amigos
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 25, 2018, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

This will be the first Star Wars movie I don't see. Disney has killed Star Wars for me with how mediocre to terrible the new movies are
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, May 20, 2018, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I was expecting to hate this episode based on your review. I quite loved it. I thought it was endearing and it was nice to a Vulcan in this series not being obstinate for no reason.

At first, I thought that kid was going to stumble upon their ship and find out they were aliens. And with his love of space I swear I thought they were going to reveal the kid’s name was Gene Roddenberry and I was getting ready to destroy my television. I missed when they said what year it took place though, and luckily they revealed the kid’s name quickly haha.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, May 13, 2018, 2:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

The most interesting thing about this episode is that both of the main Suliban guys previously played Vorta in DS9
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 11, 2018, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Wow. I must say I’m surprised with the review. I felt it was barely more tolerable than the prequels.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 2:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oops, missed the comment where you said this counted as the season recap too
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"It's been great reading your commentary this season in the comments. You are a thoughtful bunch, and I appreciate your contributions to the discussion."

Likewise, good sir. Will you be doing a season recap like back in the day?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Well, the word stupid comes to mind. And simple. This ending to the season was ridiculous and like a children's book.

I wanted to believe this series would come together by season's end and the writers knew what they were ultimately doing, but I'm convinced that they're just really really bad at their jobs. It's actually kind of astounding that they got paid to write this.

I can't even fully wrap my head around everything wrong with this episode. I guess it's fitting that this war ends in about as dumb of a way as it ends. Written by people who don't understand how complex war is, or what causes it and ends it. We were promised an in depth look at this and we got shallow comic book storytelling.

And then you watch After Trek and see all the writers patting themselves on the back and it's both embarrassing and gross.

And don't even get me started on that Enterprise redesign, complete with random holes in the hull struts to make it look like a freaking bicycle frame. Do the designers not realize the hull struts are solid for the turbolifts to go through???
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 12:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

So...how did the ISS Discovery switch places with the USS Discovery? It didn't have a spore drive. We're told that the only spore tech in the MU is in the emperor's ship.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Jan 31, 2018, 1:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

"Star Wars is deeper, philosopically, and politically I think"

Surely you meant to say "Star Trek" here right? Because otherwise that sentence makes no sense.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.