Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Sun, Dec 2, 2012, 11:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

I dunno. I think the fact that it was made over 25 years ago, was the first new Star Trek episode on tv for almost 20 years and there were very few other space sci-fi shows around at the time are the main things that give it any 'magic'.

Was it more significant than Broken Bow? Of course. Was it of better quality, even for it's time? For me, no.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Wed, Nov 28, 2012, 2:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Easily my favourite of season 7.

Yes, that includes All Good Things...
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Tue, Nov 27, 2012, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jammer, I see nothing in your review to warrant 1.5 stars.

If I hadn't seen the score I would have guessed you'd given this zero to one.

Which, incidentally, is what I'd give it.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Wed, Nov 21, 2012, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Terrible.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Wed, Nov 21, 2012, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

So you're "jaded from all these folks around me today that seem incapable of sitting down and thinking things through from every perspective" and yet are ok with making a moral decision based on your "gut" instincts..
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Fri, Nov 2, 2012, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

I pretty much agree with Jammer on this one except I think 3 stars might be a fraction high. Kudos primarily for the production values.

Worst pilot of the 5? Please, this isn't even close to the supreme crapness that is 'Farpoint'.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Wed, Oct 24, 2012, 12:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I have to disagree with you a bit Jammer.

What this episode offered that was new was a more in-depth focus on Bashir's lonliness, which fits with how he's changed (and yet not changed) over the years and the direction they end up taking with him.

Yes they'd touched on the loneliness before (more as a way of tying up the Jadzia story) but this showed how easily he was able to slip into a blind and moderately unethical relationship with a patient that is struggling to come to terms with a new world and a new life.

That said, I agree with a lot of your other points.

Around 2.5 or 3 for me.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Sat, Oct 20, 2012, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I'm surprised no one has mentioned how brilliant Avery Brooks was in this. He was a very hit and miss actor (pun intended) throughout the series for me but occasionally his take on Sisko's fire and passion worked an absolute treat.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Sat, Oct 20, 2012, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I think Ezri is quite good and breathed some much needed life into the old DS9 crew.

This episode is quite an excellent introduction for her.

And the scene where she and Sisko are discussing Worf being intimidated by him was awesome.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Fri, Oct 12, 2012, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Irony 1: A show that's about equality for Ferengi women ends up being the most overtly sexist thing ever seen on DS9. I might've considered this a 1-star episode if it stuck to being just dumb and unfunny.

Irony 2: (I just finished watching this for the 1st time - it was the only one I inadvertantly missed back in the 90s.) The last unseen episode I will ever watch of DS9, arguably the most character-driven and thought provoking Trek (and also my favourite), is this piece of insipid and offensive trash.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Thu, Oct 11, 2012, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Your post is a fine example of meticulous exactitude, Yakko. Well done.

PS. This episode sucked.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Fri, Oct 5, 2012, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

I will concur with a couple of others: I didn't predict that Worf would fail to complete the mission. And felt that the conclusion fit in well with his character development.

About 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Thu, Oct 4, 2012, 6:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

Nah, this one was too stilted and cliched to really mean anything for me.

But it's obvious why they chose O'Brien for the part. I thought that worked fine on both dramatic and logical fronts.

Some of the other choices, however, didn't work. Why is the weedy guy not a 'witnessed' man and O'Brien is? Why does the Vorta reveal himself at all? And why does O'Brien confront Bilby with the truth?

In these cases the answer is forced drama with logic taking a back seat.

Overall this episode feels like nerds writing about crime figures. Which is what it is. Could be worse. Could be nerds writing about relationships.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Thu, Sep 27, 2012, 4:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Agree with you pretty much 100% Jammer.

Ironic that, like the semi-related 'Duet', the last scene should have been removed. Or at least severely altered.

I'd just like to add that I enjoy the way the writers never made Dukat particularly.. well.. smart. I mean, compared to Weyoun or the Changelings or Eddington or Sloan or even Winn (etc, etc) he wasn't really portrayed as a classic evil mastermind. As Garak once put it, he's a "swaggering, self-important Gul with too much vanity and not enough ability." I think that actually made him much more real and much more human.
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Paul: Yeah that Troi/Riker scene was painful.

The only demographic this episode should appeal to is 10-15yo males - That’s how old I was when I first saw it.

And yet I still remember thinking it was tacky and boring back then.

If it wasn’t for Patrick Stewart this would barely be worth 1 star. S’pose that could be said for far too much TNG…
Set Bookmark
John (the younger)
Thu, Jun 28, 2012, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Ah, the lonely man's wet dream.

Probably one of the best examinations of Picard in the whole series. Stewart is phenominal in this.

And I even laughed in a couple of places. Outrageous!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.